We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For a Rhodes Experience”
Review of Cava d'Oro Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cava d'Oro Hotel
Ranked #75 of 126 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Reviewed 1 September 2012

Fantastic. Medieval style hotel set within the walls of Rhodes Old Town. Lovely rooms; ours had a little loft with another double bed, and an o-so-tiny balcony, which we didn't expect. Lovely breakfast setting, outside against the original walls. Lovely breakfast also. I climbed the little ladder here and had a good look over the walls towards the sea. The people were lovely also. We really recommend this hotel, so pleased we stayed here and not in a normal hotel in town. (Town was only a short walk, great for shopping here and hiring a car.) However, from our hotel in the Old Town we were able to wander through the old streets everyday, lots of touristy shops, but with lots of character also. Close to the waterfront, in fact, close to everything. We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Amyntas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (98)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 98 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2012 via mobile

O.k. We stayed there some years ago. Yet the feeling of mediaval age of the eooms were astonishing. But more, more important than that was the attitude of the German lady, the owner. We were there without any reservations; yet she found a solution everytime we said we want to stay one more day. The island is an excellent experience, and Cava d'oro is the only address we would be back. To have your late afternoon spirit on the city walls was a dream. although she didn't appear very friendly at first sight, she made our holiday a dream come true. Thank You.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank geissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

We just returned from the very crowded island of Rhodes, but our hotel made our trip marvellous! It is located in the beautiful old city, but it is away from the crowds and the noisy bars. And yet, it is minutes away from all the medieval sightseeings. The building dates back to 1290, but it is renovated and as comfortable as it can be. It is very clean and the stuff is very helpfull and polite. I will definately choose this hotel again!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank StellaRapti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

For the third year in a row, I stayed at this hotel (most years more than once during my stay in Greece) and I have always been happy with the value for money, the location, and the accommodating staff. The breakfast is excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank annadev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

we are going back to Cava d'Oro in September having had a lovely week there last September. This is a small hotel with small rooms but full of atmosphere set against the walls of the old town. Although small the rooms are well equipped and the buffet breakfast in the charming courtyard is very good.

Room Tip: The ground floor rooms are a bit bigger and we have booked one of these this year.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Agnescyril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

We stayed at the Cava D'oro for our honeymoon last year and found it to be clean, comfortable and ideally located within the castle walls. Bridget was most friendly and helpful as was Ralouka, it was a pleasure to chat to them every day. The breakfast was great, lots of things to choose from and eating breakfast in the pretty courtyard every morning was lovely. Our little room was nice,it had a little balcony overlooking the front of the hotel, we didn't find this noisy at all. Cava D'oro is a great hotel to come back to after an exhausting day exploring the beautiful old town.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SARAH G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2011

The hotel is very well located to the old town in a very quiet environment.
The breakfast is very very poor, rooms are very small and beds are unconfortable.
The price is significantly high compared to quality, I would recommend to stay at city center.
The german lady which owns the property tries everything to not letting you use your credit card in order to not paying tax.

Room Tip: upper floor is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kivancgorkem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rhodes Town hotels
0.2 mi away
Camelot hotel
Camelot hotel
#34 of 126 in Rhodes Town
306 reviews
2.1 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,939 reviews
2.9 mi away
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
#12 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Avra Beach Resort Hotel - Bungalows
0.8 mi away
Best Western Hotel Plaza
Best Western Hotel Plaza
#22 of 126 in Rhodes Town
717 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
#13 of 126 in Rhodes Town
1,799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cava d'Oro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cava d'Oro Hotel

Address: 15 Kisthiniou, Rhodes Town 851 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range: £62 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cava d'Oro Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cava d'Oro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cava D'Oro Hotel Rhodes/Rhodes Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing