We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (102)
Filter reviews
102 results
Traveller rating
48
33
6
8
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
48
33
6
8
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old town within walking distance buffet breakfast rhodes cleanliness
Filter
Updating list...
47 - 52 of 102 reviews
Reviewed 9 November 2012

I have been to Rhodes six times and stayed at Cava d'Oro five times (they were renovating during one of my visits.) I always enjoy staying here because it is an historic building and it's on the quiet side of the old medieval town. They serve an ample breakfast which you can eat on the outside terrace. The location near the port is handy if you are going to do day trips to the islands or Turkey. The rooms are very clean and I had a small balcony which is always nice. I love the bells from St. Catherine's right down the street that ring before services. Don't miss going in to take a look at the frescoes and light a candle. Beautiful. As mentioned in other reviews, the owners are terrific and they have done a wonderful job in renovating the buildings to make them comfortable but still invoking the historic past.

Room tip: There is no restaurant for lunch or dinner and there is no fitness center and this rating chart should have an option for N/A. It is not terrible that they have neither.
Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cherie100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012

We returned to Cava D'Oro again this September and were delighted. We were welcomed warmly and with a half-bottle of sparkling wine. As before Brigit and her stafff were very pleasant and helpful. We had rented a car to facilitate transfer and daily access to the east-coast beaches which we find more accessible than the windy, shingly ones in Rhodes Town itself. Faliraki is ok for this but Brigit told us about Tasambika a few miles further south. We found this very pleasant with all the facilities and easy parking and it became our daily haunt.
Our evenings were spent wandering round the ever fascinating old town which is very tranquil, once you get away from the frenetic commercialism, fascinating in it's own right, immediately round the port entrance.
Last year we enjoyed our stay but the upstairs room was a bit cramped. This year we specifically requested one of the larger rooms and were very pleased. The room, still compact, was full of character and charm but had enough space to be comfortable and a fridge too! The room was downstairs and faced the quiet street but there was no noise to disturb us.
Brigit's generosity continued as she gave us a lovely bottle of olive oil and a bottle of Ouzo as we left. This year we felt the holiday to be perfect for us and had no hesitation in booking "Our Oasis" again for next September.

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

Fantastic. Medieval style hotel set within the walls of Rhodes Old Town. Lovely rooms; ours had a little loft with another double bed, and an o-so-tiny balcony, which we didn't expect. Lovely breakfast setting, outside against the original walls. Lovely breakfast also. I climbed the little ladder here and had a good look over the walls towards the sea. The people were lovely also. We really recommend this hotel, so pleased we stayed here and not in a normal hotel in town. (Town was only a short walk, great for shopping here and hiring a car.) However, from our hotel in the Old Town we were able to wander through the old streets everyday, lots of touristy shops, but with lots of character also. Close to the waterfront, in fact, close to everything. We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Room tip: All the rooms are good.
Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Amyntas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012 via mobile

O.k. We stayed there some years ago. Yet the feeling of mediaval age of the eooms were astonishing. But more, more important than that was the attitude of the German lady, the owner. We were there without any reservations; yet she found a solution everytime we said we want to stay one more day. The island is an excellent experience, and Cava d'oro is the only address we would be back. To have your late afternoon spirit on the city walls was a dream. although she didn't appear very friendly at first sight, she made our holiday a dream come true. Thank You.

Date of stay: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank geissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

We just returned from the very crowded island of Rhodes, but our hotel made our trip marvellous! It is located in the beautiful old city, but it is away from the crowds and the noisy bars. And yet, it is minutes away from all the medieval sightseeings. The building dates back to 1290, but it is renovated and as comfortable as it can be. It is very clean and the stuff is very helpfull and polite. I will definately choose this hotel again!

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank StellaRapti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews