We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“location”
Review of Ibiscus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ibiscus Hotel
Ranked #10 of 126 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2014

The hotel is perfectly located on the tip of the island. A lovely beach is just a few steps away. But be adviced! You will,every single minute of the day, be approached by vendors.
The view from Our famly room was beautiful overlooking the beach. Staff service in the reception was good and friendly.
Rooms are average for tourist hotels, clean and being made every day. The beds are hard as planks as usual. Even the kids complained. Breakfast experience was mixed. Good yoghurt and eggs. "Orange juice" has never been in an Orange! awful! So was the "coffee", wich was like the fluid i get from rinsing my coffee maker.
The alternative was buying coffee in the bar at a very high price.
Must also mention the bar in the lobby area witch had a playlist of techno house on all day. Unbearable after a couple of hours. Wifi in the lobby only, very unstable. All in all an experience as expected with ups and Downs.

Room Tip: choose Beach view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank siidenfarer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (546)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

156 - 162 of 546 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2014

Large room, but filled with excess furniture that made moving around cramped. No internet access in room (said to be coming in a month or two). Only one poorly located electric outlet. Tiny heritage CRT TV. Noisy fridge cycles all night, can't be shut off. Breakfast ample but surprisingly tasteless eggs, croissants, tomatoes, even butter. Tea bags, not tea. The wine wld have been a nice touch if we'd understood it was gratis. Understaffed front desk coped reasonably well. Some of those four stars are brown dwarves, I fear.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Matthew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

If you are used to 4 star hotels elsewhere in the USA or Europe this will disappoint. At best 3 stars. We had previously stayed at the nearby Cactus but unfortunately could not get the required 7 days.

The location is great with the beach right across the road, several mini-marts and souvenir shops nearby, and the Port and Old City a walk away.

When we arrived for our 7 night stay, the reception area was very busy so when the man who checked us in was a bit off-hand we didn't think too much of it. He took our details gave us the room key and that was it. We asked about internet access and were told this was available only in the front bar/lobby area. (The day we were leaving, we learnt from another client, that internet access was available in rooms but at an extra cost. This option was not given to us whether we took it up or not). We assumed all other information would be in the hotel reference book usually supplied - with phone use details, restaurant times etc - no such information was supplied.

I had to call reception to find out how to make an outside call and receive messages. The "red-light" indicator was not working and I was told messages would be passed on. This was not done in a timely fashion. My auntie told me that when she called the phone rang out but the call did not go back to reception. She had to call back to leave a message. As we were out instead of doing what other hotels do and leave a note under the door etc, - here they call you when they get around to it.

We had booked a sea view room and this was the best part of the stay. It was gorgeous. On the surface, the room looked clean. On closer inspection, it had not been thoroughly cleaned from the previous occupants. The hair dryer is in a draw in the living area so hair is bound to end up everywhere. This had not been vacuumed. Neither of us is blonde!

The bathroom and bed linen are quite dated and they, presume, once white towels are grey.

Housekeeping must have been on a budget as toiletries were not replaced. We had to ask for replacements twice and even then, even with the empty packets left on the sink as a hint, not all items were not replaced. Surely they did not think that 4 cotton buds would suffice for two people for 7 days? In the end we went and bought our own supplies.

Food? Breakfast was average. The omelette station was a bonus. Fruit was either whole or canned - no fresh fruit salad. When there was, it was obvious it was the previous nights left overs.
Dinner was a lot better. We did not eat there every night but the couple of nights we did it was fine. The traditional Greek food on offer was pretty good. There was a good variety of vegetarian and other non-meat options. The staff were great.

Another plus was the two women at reception who were quite friendly and helpful with advice and directions etc.

Overall, I would recommend this if you can get a really cheap rate and for its location but not for much more.

Room Tip: sea views are worth the extra and even though on the main road are pretty quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UniversalRoamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

On arrival we were welcomed with a bottle of wine in our room, which is a nice touch even if like us you don't drink.
The hotel is centrally located, very close to old town Rhodes, which on the down side can be a little noisy at night.
Rooms are very clean and are serviced daily. Shower do need updating though.
No wifi in rooms but free wifi in the bar area downstairs.
Food was good and staff were pleasant.
To keep our room because our flight home was late they charged €60 which I think is a bit expensive. But on the flip side their hire of the safe was cheap

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Dawn187069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Excellent location with our room having a view of both the Mediterranean and the Aegean seas. Only about a ten minute walk to the old town which is well worth a visit as it is stunning. Just across from the sea- the Mediterranean is much calmer and perfect for swimming whereas the Aegean is less busy and great for sunbathing. The breakfast was perfect but I recommend going for only bed and breakfast as there are so many good restaurants within a minutes walk, most notably the Arena Bar and Nisos. The only downside was that the room was a bit tired but it was very clean. The staff were friendly and incredibly helpful.

Room Tip: Worth paying the extra for a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sally k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

After reading all the reviews we booked one week half board at Ibiscus Hotel. Upgrading to a seaview was worthwhile and half board produced excellent food both breakfast and evening meal. Plenty of choice and absence of chips was appreciated. Staff were professional and unobtrusive but friendly. Room was a good size and very comfortable and like previous reports the bathroom needed some updating, but all was clean and towels changed each day if required. Plenty of areas to sit near the bar and outside the hotel watching the world go by and no pressure to buy drinks constantly. Minutes from old town, beach bus stops etc and best position hotel we have chosen for years. Loved it and Rhodes itself is very interesting and lovely.

Room Tip: We had room 507 with an upgrade for the seaview - not disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank joan p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

This was our second stay at the Hotel Ibiscus and it was a great holiday . The staff our this hotels greatest asset they are professional and friendly. George is the cocktail maker and he is very laid back but we had a few jokes with him. We booked a sea view which is worth the extra supplement as the room is also bigger. We loved breakfast there is everything anyone could possibly want hot and cold food.We booked our evening meal too as restaurants in the town our expensive but Rusticos and Romeos are worth the money . The evening buffet was varied and tasty lots of choice we definitely will eat there again next time we go. We must mention the restaurant manager who treated us like special guests at every meal.The waiting staff are quick to bring whatever you may need.

Room Tip: Sea view best as lovely and big rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank 6Barker222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rhodes Town hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Mediterranean
Hotel Mediterranean
#15 of 126 in Rhodes Town
1,071 reviews
2.2 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,939 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel Plaza
Best Western Hotel Plaza
#22 of 126 in Rhodes Town
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
#12 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,244 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mitsis Grand Hotel
Mitsis Grand Hotel
#32 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,541 reviews
3.7 mi away
Nathalie Hotel
Nathalie Hotel
#9 of 126 in Rhodes Town
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibiscus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibiscus Hotel

Address: Nisirou 17, Rhodes Town 85100, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Rhodes Town
#33 Romantic Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range: £49 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ibiscus Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 207
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Alpha Holidays Limited, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ibiscus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibiscus Hotel Rhodes Town
Ibiscus Rhodes Town
Ibiscus Hotel Rhodes/Rhodes Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing