We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Historic Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marco Polo Mansion

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rhodes Town
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Marco Polo Mansion
Ranked #12 of 52 Rhodes Town B&B and Inns
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Historic Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012

If you want to be part of the history of Rhodes this is a perfect place to stay It is a mixture of Medieval Turkish and Italian. The back door leads directly to the Mosque and the Turkish Baths. The front door leads to a tiny Medieval Greek Church,
We slept in the converted stables with fig, olive and pomegranet trees shading our door.
A magical experience.
Do not expect a TV or a pool and the shower is quite basic but the food is superb and the host and hostess wonderful.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alvertonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    14
    1
    4
    3
See reviews for
23
71
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2012

I consider Marco Polo Mansion my friends home as they treat you like a dear friend that is visiting. The food is delicious, the back yard is beautiful and the rooms are full of thoughtful details. Away from the touristy area of Rhodes Town but close enough to have easy access. I have visited Marco Polo several times and toured around the Mediterranean many trips, Marco Polo is on my top 2 list. The owners of Marco Polo are like my friends who I never get to visit enough. Spiro and Effi are wonderful people and the people that work with them are equally wonderful. I miss them already, I wish New York was closer to Rhodes!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AaPF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

We tried to stay here and couldn't get in. The lesson there is: Make a reservation. We were able to grab dinner after making a reservation for the next night. The food and experience were both awesome! It was the best meal we had the entire time we were in Greece. Spiro, Effi and staff were great. The prices were very reasonable and it was a magical dinner in the garden. This is a must go place, if you can get in.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsAMoreno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2012

this was an amazing experience, the rooms were eclectic, gardens were prestine with oranges, lemons, calla lillies, olive trees and hostas. breakfast was fresh with cereal, pastries and homemade preserves from the fruit garden. if you stay, dinner in the garden is a must!

Great food, service, location, value and ambiance.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bumsmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

If you are looking for aircon and flat screen TV this is not for you If its character,top flight service and food then this has to be near the top.
Spiro and Efi couldn't have been more helpful and great location not that anything is very far away in Rhodes,
Ewan and Mandy

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MandyHamnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012

Definitely suggest Hotel Marco Polo for its beautiful atmosphere not only created by the perfect environment but mostly by the wonderful people that work there! We felt really welcome and also if was only one day it will be a dream that I will remember forever. Perfect Location in the Old Town, Charming atmosphere in the room, good food.
A special Ciao to the owner

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mLetig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012

Stayed at Marco Polo Mansion 5 or 6 times since the early 2000's. Always a pleasure !
It's the opposite of "bling", no big screen TV's or the stuff other places brag about.
WiFi is the only modern service.
Just lovely antique furniture and fabrics everywhere. Stayed in "the Wedding Suite" and at the Gallery House, both fantastic ! Efi and Spiros are great hosts who´ll do anything to help you.
Restaurant is great, innovative dishes and great wines!
Will absolutely stay again if we have the opportunity !

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank doublejStockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rhodes Town hotels
0.1 mi away
In Camera Art Boutique Hotel
In Camera Art Boutique Hotel
#2 of 129 in Rhodes Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
0.1 mi away
Evdokia Old Town Hotel
Evdokia Old Town Hotel
#32 of 129 in Rhodes Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
0.1 mi away
S. Nikolis Hotel & Apartments
S. Nikolis Hotel & Apartments
#28 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kokkini Porta Rossa
Kokkini Porta Rossa
#4 of 129 in Rhodes Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
0.2 mi away
Camelot hotel
Camelot hotel
#33 of 129 in Rhodes Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
0.2 mi away
Spirit of the Knights Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marco Polo Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marco Polo Mansion

Property: Marco Polo Mansion
Address: 40-42 Agiou Fanouriou, Rhodes Town 851 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Rhodes Town
Hotel Class:3 star — Marco Polo Mansion 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Marco Polo Mansion Hotel Rhodes Town
Marco Polo Mansion Rhodes/Rhodes Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing