We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The most memorable hotel of our entire trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
S. Nikolis Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #30 of 127 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Certificate of Excellence
Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The most memorable hotel of our entire trip”
Reviewed 8 November 2012

First staying in the old town is an experience of itself. The respect that the owners have put in the restoration of the hotel is really ''one of a kind''. Additionally, Marianne, the owner was extremely generous with her time towards us. She told us everything we needed to know. Assisted us with all our arrangements. Had great suggestions and the place is perfect. You see it was built with love and attention. Treat yourself and experience the old town as it was meant to!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chantal_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SNikolisHotel, Owner at S. Nikolis Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, 12 November 2012
Dear both.
Thank you so much, It was such a pleasure to have you here with us.
Wishing you and all former guests a very good winter.
Marianne and Sotiris Nikolis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    31
    7
    5
    5
See reviews for
35
128
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
saddleworth
Level Contributor
123 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012

A very pleasant hotel,in a quiet part of the Old Town,by the Wall.The top end of the main restaurant area is within 5 mins walk.
Our room in the main building was well furnished and very clean;the shower room was small and a little tired,but again,very clean and well serviced.
There was a small but welcome terrace overlooking the central courtyard.
Breakfast was an absolute delight,taken on the roof terrace overlooking the Wall on one side with the other side a view towards the harbour;the food was lovely (and changed slightly daily,as we stayed some time).
The owners and daughter were kindness itself,and provided excellent advice on where to eat;they booked some restaurants for us.
The owner will,if possible,convey you to the airport (for a charge).
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jhallyday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SNikolisHotel, Owner at S. Nikolis Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, 23 October 2012
The warmest thank you ... for a very nice review.
This is what we are working for. For the guests to have
a good time and to feel taken care of . It is a pleasure
for us to serve you. Thank you so much.
Yours sincerely
Sotiris and Marianne Nikolis
Maria Nikolis and the boys.....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012

If you are visiting Rhodes, then this is the only place to stay, don't bother with the 5 star hotels or the B&B's. After checking out another recommended hotel from a friend on Trip Advisor, the site also mentioned the S. Nikolis, a quick read and also check of their website, convinced me that the S.Nikolis was the place to stay. From the moment I sent an email, which was answered within 24 hours by the owner Marianne, I knew I was booking the best hotel. The S.Nikolis is located within the old city of Rhodes, and near the San Fransisco gate as it is called by everyone. We stayed here from Sept 12 to 15. We arranged transfers from the airport to the S.Nikolis, which went without a hitch. Similarly our transfer 4 days later at 5am back to the airport - by Marianne the owner - thankyou so much!!!! Our room was superb, with flat screen TV, air-cond that worked really well and great terrace over looking the inner hotel courtyard, which on to their public bar area. Internet access is provided at reception if you decided not to lug your laptop or iPad with you. Breakfast is on the roof top terrace, which was brilliant, you have a view of the actually walls and also can see the cruise ships tired up at the port. Nothing is too much trouble here, you just have to ask, Marianne even washed some of our clothes, instead of us going to a commercial laundry in the new city of Rhodes. The beauty of this hotel. is that you can walk to everything, and the owners recommendations on where to dine, as they are locals will never disappoint. Being Aussies, it was great to be able to have a cold beer, in the hotel's courtyard, before going out to dinner, after a long day of walking. If you like seafood seek out Nireas. Marianne, her daughter and husband looked after us so well, it was like staying with family! Of all the hotels we stayed at while being away from Oz for 35 days, the S.Nikolis was one of the top 3 !!!!!!

Room Tip: Book room with a terrace over looking the hotels inner courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iggybah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SNikolisHotel, Owner at S. Nikolis Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, 23 October 2012
Thank you so much.
What a review.......all winter time we will rave about you.
A wonderful end to a very hard season, which turned out
to be a season with wonderful guests just like you.
Thank you so much again.
Sincerely yours
Sotiris and Marianne Nikolis
Maria and the boys
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
puglia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 October 2012

We found this hotel searching door by door something cheap and clean. At the beginning of August it has been difficult to find something like that, but the kindness and disposability of the owners convinced us that it was the right one. Even if the chamber they gave to us was a little bit over our budget, I can assure that have been money well spent. The apartament is near to the Walls, so it requires a little walk to the centre but guarantees tranquility for the overnight stay.
I want to insist on the kindness and niceness of the owners, Sotiri and Marianna, that made our stay more pleasent than we expected!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank German O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SNikolisHotel, relatives at S. Nikolis Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, 11 October 2012
Dear Guests.
My parents will be thrilled when they read your nice review.
Thank you.
We hope to see you again here.
Sincerely
Maria Nikolis *daughter*
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granite Bay, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2012

The S. Nikolis is in the old town of Rhodes and suffers somewhat from the building restrictions and the owners passion for restoring old buildings. In the main hotel some of the rooms are small. We stayed in the "apartments" a short block away which we quite large.The rooftop breakfasts were very filling. While it is clan with beautiful decoration; it's not quite five star in its' appointments but that is far more than compensated for by the charm and the staff. Marianne is the hostess and went out of her way to make sure that our visit was exceptional. She arranged for a rental car and mapped out routes for us that took us away from the tourist traps to some great finds. We wouldn't stay anywhere else. Ask to see Marianne's book of photos of the reconstruction. Location couldn't be better

Room Tip: The apartments are much larger than the hotel rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richgross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SNikolisHotel, Owner at S. Nikolis Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, 6 October 2012
Thank you so much, its wonderful when the old stones and work is appriciated...
It was a pleasure for us to have you here.
All the best to you.
Marianne Nikolis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading,
Level Contributor
174 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Looked at earlier reviews before starting to write this one and was shocked by some of the damning reviews. We did not encounter the male owner who seems to be the main culprit in adverse comments, did not get charged the exorbitant prices quoted in some reviews, nor had any problems with the bill. We can only write as we found so here goes.
The hotel is in an ideal location in the middle of the old town. It is very close to the main street, Sokratus, and 2 minutes walk to Suleiman’s mosque so 5 – 10 minutes’ walk in any direction will get you to most sites in the old Town. The location, however, is surprisingly quiet and we did not experience any undue noise. The hotel itself is beautiful. It is a medieval building which has been tastefully renovated. We came in on spec yet were warmly greeted by Marie Anne despite not having made any advance booking etc. As we only needed a place to crash overnight, we took the small room which met our needs very well. The bed was soft and comfortable, antique furnishings, full sized fridge, air conditioning included in the price, flat screen TV. Yes, the bathroom was small but it was fully functional. We looked at one of the suites and it was fabulous. We would not have left the room if we had booked one of those, very sumptuous bedroom, separate shower and bathroom, lovely balcony overlooking delightful courtyard. Did not get up in time for breakfast and, having seen the pictures, regret this. The small room is obviously small but we have stayed in similar sized rooms in places like New York or London. Would recommend the small room only for an overnight stay but, from what we saw of the suite, would recommend these for a romantic break, honeymoon or if you need lots of brownie points.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brucestalker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SNikolisHotel, Owner at S. Nikolis Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, 20 September 2012
Dear Guests.
Thank you for your nice review of the S.Nikolis' Hotel/
We certainly are pleased. We hope to see you again and will
make sure you meet the male owner, who has created our
hotel, from the beginning in 1980, to what we are today.

And if I may.
I will follow your advice and answer all the reviews back.
To everyone who wrote a review. Thank you so much.
Sincerely
S.Nikolis' Hotel
Sotiris and Marianne Nikolis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Our Host Marianne could not have been more helpful, nor the location more delightful. From roof top breakfast overlooking old town Rhodes to the convenience of exploring the town so easily, this is a great location. Our rooms were very quiet, yet so close to everything. Marianne was able to arrange so kind extras, including laundry service and a ride to our car parked outside the gates so we did not have to carry luggage over the cobblestones.

Room Tip: We stayed in apartments down the street which were not in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Quansoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rhodes Town hotels
0.2 mi away
Evdokia Hotel
Evdokia Hotel
#33 of 127 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.3 mi away
Camelot hotel
Camelot hotel
#31 of 127 in Rhodes Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
0.2 mi away
In Camera Art Boutique Hotel
In Camera Art Boutique Hotel
#3 of 127 in Rhodes Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Avalon Boutique Suites Hotel
Avalon Boutique Suites Hotel
#24 of 127 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rodos Park Suites & Spa
Rodos Park Suites & Spa
#12 of 127 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
0.1 mi away
Zacosta Villa Hotel
Zacosta Villa Hotel
#46 of 127 in Rhodes Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to S. Nikolis Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about S. Nikolis Hotel & Apartments

Property: S. Nikolis Hotel & Apartments
Address: 61 Ippodamou | Medieval Town, Rhodes Town 851 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Rhodes Town
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Rhodes Town
#20 Family Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:1 star — S. Nikolis Hotel & Apartments 1*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built on the 2000-years-old remains of the Ancient Agora S. Nikolis is an intimate, charming sandstone hotel located on a guiet, cobblestone street in the beautiful Crusader part of the Medieval Old Town. The Old Town of Rhodes bursts with activity day and night. The maze of narrow streets, stone arches, huge ramparts and original moats create a truly unique experience. The hotel offers restaurant facilities for lunch and dinner, breakfast on the roof garden with superb view of the old town and harbour. As well as a unique bar with a variety of drinks and cocktails. This bar area also has a room with an original 800 year-old built in fireplace which offers a very cozy and warm atmosphere for winter guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your S. Nikolis Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
S. Nikolis Hotel & Apartments Rhodes/Rhodes Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing