We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden little gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
S. Nikolis Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #31 of 126 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 March 2013

We had previously had a "day trip" to Rhodes from Fetiye in Turkey & when we visited Turkey again last September (2012) we decided to have a three night stay in Rhodes. We prebooked a room at the S Nokolis for our stay. We actually walked up from the harbour through the old town & had a little difficulty finding the hotel but it was well worth the search. We were greeted by Marianne who was very friendly & proved to be a great host. Our room was very clean tidy & comfortable, we decided to book our breakfast once we arrived,what a treat. Each morning we went up onto the roof garden and our breakfast was brought out to us in very relaxed surroundings. The breakfast was of a high quality and set us up for the day. The view over the old town was great and we could see the boats/ships in the harbour in the distance.
Marianne kindly gave us directions into the town to find an antiques shop,one of our loves,dont think we would have found it without her help.When it was time to leave Marianne very kindly gave us a lift down to the harbour for us to catch the seacat back to Fetiye. A lovely stay in a very pleasing hotel both inside and out.

Room Tip: Stairs are quite narrow in places so staying lower down if you have any mobility problems would be b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NTGYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SNikolisHotel, Manager at S. Nikolis Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2013

Dear Guests.
We thank you so much for your nice review.
You touch the point....we are here to please our
guests. We are glad you felt it and will make all
efforts for future guests to have the same experience.
Thank you again.
Yours sincerely
S.Nikolis' Hotel
Marianne Nikolis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (229)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 229 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2012

We visited Rhodes during the low season and stayed in one of the apartments. It was very well maintained and had a wonderful feeling to it. The location was central and close to the main streets (as quiet as they were). Marianne was the perfect hostess and spent lots of time with us helping to figure out the best places to eat and what to see while we were there. We were glad it was the low season as we were able to spend more time with her. We feel like we have met a new friend. Would definitely return to this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deborah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SNikolisHotel, Owner at S. Nikolis Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2012

Dear both.
It really was my pleasure to have you here with us this winter time.
Thanks for sharing your time.
Wish you a nice trip back home and Merry Christmas.
Sincerely
S.Nikolis' Hotel
Marianne and family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2012 via mobile

The hotel is centrally located and nice enough. Not international delux standard but greek usual appartment style accomodation. Having a hospitality background, it will please people who don't expect 5* service or accomodation.

There are apartments that can be rented close by the hotel. We stayed in a nice little apartment, quiet, clean, reasonably well furnished. Mattresses are not the most comfortable ones but OK to spend a couple of nights.

Check out: BEWARE! Greece has an economic crisis and tax evasion has been comon for a long time (I am Greek). We were asked to pay in cash so that the hotel would be able to pay the maids directly. When asked for the receipt we were told that the accountant was not there. We were promised to receive the receipt as soon as possible by post. The receipt arrived only a couple of weeks later, and only after having asked multiple times via email. This in my eyes is not acceptable. Rhodes is a very touristy place and people need to realize that paying tax will benefit themselves by having a working infrastructure. Therefore I would like to encourage everybody travelling to Greece: No receipt, no money!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alpareisen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SNikolisHotel, Owner at S. Nikolis Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2012

Dear guest.
Thank you for your review.
So glad you received the copy of the receipt. Guess the original got lost.....wrong address.>our fault. We wish you and all the guest at the S.Nikolis' Hotel and apartments a Merry Christmas and a Happy health 2013.
Yours sincerely
S.Nikolis' Hotel
Sotiris and Marianne Nikolis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

First staying in the old town is an experience of itself. The respect that the owners have put in the restoration of the hotel is really ''one of a kind''. Additionally, Marianne, the owner was extremely generous with her time towards us. She told us everything we needed to know. Assisted us with all our arrangements. Had great suggestions and the place is perfect. You see it was built with love and attention. Treat yourself and experience the old town as it was meant to!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chantal_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SNikolisHotel, Owner at S. Nikolis Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2012

Dear both.
Thank you so much, It was such a pleasure to have you here with us.
Wishing you and all former guests a very good winter.
Marianne and Sotiris Nikolis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

A very pleasant hotel,in a quiet part of the Old Town,by the Wall.The top end of the main restaurant area is within 5 mins walk.
Our room in the main building was well furnished and very clean;the shower room was small and a little tired,but again,very clean and well serviced.
There was a small but welcome terrace overlooking the central courtyard.
Breakfast was an absolute delight,taken on the roof terrace overlooking the Wall on one side with the other side a view towards the harbour;the food was lovely (and changed slightly daily,as we stayed some time).
The owners and daughter were kindness itself,and provided excellent advice on where to eat;they booked some restaurants for us.
The owner will,if possible,convey you to the airport (for a charge).
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jhallyday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SNikolisHotel, Owner at S. Nikolis Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2012

The warmest thank you ... for a very nice review.
This is what we are working for. For the guests to have
a good time and to feel taken care of . It is a pleasure
for us to serve you. Thank you so much.
Yours sincerely
Sotiris and Marianne Nikolis
Maria Nikolis and the boys.....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

If you are visiting Rhodes, then this is the only place to stay, don't bother with the 5 star hotels or the B&B's. After checking out another recommended hotel from a friend on Trip Advisor, the site also mentioned the S. Nikolis, a quick read and also check of their website, convinced me that the S.Nikolis was the place to stay. From the moment I sent an email, which was answered within 24 hours by the owner Marianne, I knew I was booking the best hotel. The S.Nikolis is located within the old city of Rhodes, and near the San Fransisco gate as it is called by everyone. We stayed here from Sept 12 to 15. We arranged transfers from the airport to the S.Nikolis, which went without a hitch. Similarly our transfer 4 days later at 5am back to the airport - by Marianne the owner - thankyou so much!!!! Our room was superb, with flat screen TV, air-cond that worked really well and great terrace over looking the inner hotel courtyard, which on to their public bar area. Internet access is provided at reception if you decided not to lug your laptop or iPad with you. Breakfast is on the roof top terrace, which was brilliant, you have a view of the actually walls and also can see the cruise ships tired up at the port. Nothing is too much trouble here, you just have to ask, Marianne even washed some of our clothes, instead of us going to a commercial laundry in the new city of Rhodes. The beauty of this hotel. is that you can walk to everything, and the owners recommendations on where to dine, as they are locals will never disappoint. Being Aussies, it was great to be able to have a cold beer, in the hotel's courtyard, before going out to dinner, after a long day of walking. If you like seafood seek out Nireas. Marianne, her daughter and husband looked after us so well, it was like staying with family! Of all the hotels we stayed at while being away from Oz for 35 days, the S.Nikolis was one of the top 3 !!!!!!

Room Tip: Book room with a terrace over looking the hotels inner courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iggybah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SNikolisHotel, Owner at S. Nikolis Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2012

Thank you so much.
What a review.......all winter time we will rave about you.
A wonderful end to a very hard season, which turned out
to be a season with wonderful guests just like you.
Thank you so much again.
Sincerely yours
Sotiris and Marianne Nikolis
Maria and the boys

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

We found this hotel searching door by door something cheap and clean. At the beginning of August it has been difficult to find something like that, but the kindness and disposability of the owners convinced us that it was the right one. Even if the chamber they gave to us was a little bit over our budget, I can assure that have been money well spent. The apartament is near to the Walls, so it requires a little walk to the centre but guarantees tranquility for the overnight stay.
I want to insist on the kindness and niceness of the owners, Sotiri and Marianna, that made our stay more pleasent than we expected!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank German O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SNikolisHotel, relatives at S. Nikolis Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2012

Dear Guests.
My parents will be thrilled when they read your nice review.
Thank you.
We hope to see you again here.
Sincerely
Maria Nikolis *daughter*

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rhodes Town hotels
0.2 mi away
In Camera Art Boutique Hotel
In Camera Art Boutique Hotel
#2 of 126 in Rhodes Town
287 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nikos Takis Fashion Hotel
Nikos Takis Fashion Hotel
#35 of 126 in Rhodes Town
211 reviews
0.2 mi away
Evdokia Hotel
Evdokia Hotel
#41 of 126 in Rhodes Town
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Camelot hotel
Camelot hotel
#32 of 126 in Rhodes Town
305 reviews
0.1 mi away
Zacosta Villa Hotel
Zacosta Villa Hotel
#44 of 126 in Rhodes Town
193 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rodos Park Suites & Spa
Rodos Park Suites & Spa
#6 of 126 in Rhodes Town
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to S. Nikolis Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about S. Nikolis Hotel & Apartments

Address: 61 Ippodamou | Medieval Town, Rhodes Town 851 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Rhodes Town
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Rhodes Town
#20 Family Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range: £123 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — S. Nikolis Hotel & Apartments 1*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built on the 2000-years-old remains of the Ancient Agora S. Nikolis is an intimate, charming sandstone hotel located on a guiet, cobblestone street in the beautiful Crusader part of the Medieval Old Town. The Old Town of Rhodes bursts with activity day and night. The maze of narrow streets, stone arches, huge ramparts and original moats create a truly unique experience. The hotel offers breakfast on the roof garden with superb view of the old town and harbour. As well as a unique bar with a variety of drinks and cocktails. This bar area also has a room with an original 800 year-old built in fireplace which offers a very cozy and warm atmosphere for winter guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your S. Nikolis Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
S. Nikolis Hotel & Apartments Rhodes/Rhodes Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing