We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“charming old town hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of S. Nikolis Hotel & Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
S. Nikolis Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #26 of 129 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“charming old town hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

we spent 3 nights in this lovely hotel. the rooms are small - well thats the way they constructed houses in the old times. (when you book a hotel in a medieval city dont expect to have a new built 5 star hotel with suites and other needless stuff)
the owner was always warm hearted and very willing to give restaurant tips or other useful information. rooms are kept very clean.
dont miss the breakfast on the rooftop terrasse with a wonderfull view over the hole city and the harbour.
resume: next time we travel to Rhodes, we will surely book S. Nikolis again. - Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stef l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    31
    7
    5
    5
See reviews for
35
128
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zürich, Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
491 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

after we spend 10 days on other island, other hotels on greek islands we enjoyed our last destination rhodos. not noisy like other central hotels, no charter tourists, no kids running around or a beds where you cant sleep.

the cosy small hotel, run by a danish/greek couple was a good choice: even our small room arranged by the travel agency (we could had upgrade easy, was offered by the arrival) was top, nice decor and furniture as over the whole place (i had several looks in other rooms when the room made was cleaning). it was quiet and in the heart of old town, as on other parts of rhodos is just party live but in 5 minutes walk you are in the living shopping or restaurants street and of course the mayor sights.

the owner was always helpful, ready in a very friendly way with tips for going diner, day excursions or what ever. we felt like home.

having breakfast on the roof in the morning wind over view the old town always a great start in the day. well for a longer stay you would maybe wish a bit more change in the breakfast, but it will be individual served on your table, not just a buffet as in other places.

we will be back if come again to rhodos for sure!

Room Tip: all are nice, depends your need of space, or if like your own balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reto G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

There is only one place to stay in Rhodes, as far as I am concerned, and that is with Mariana at the St Nikolis hotel.

We arrived early in the morning and when we were initially told our room would not be ready, Mariana came to our rescue, offering to upgrade us to a better room that was available immediately. She got our laundry done, rented a car for us (an automatic in high season that she found on the same day) and planned our daily excursions around the island. Sit in the lobby for 10 minutes and you will hear her laugh with all of her guests as she drifts fluently between English, German, Spanish, French and Greek and probably many more languages that I did not get a chance to hear.

It also helps that the hotel is beautiful. Enjoy a drink in the amazing garden and breakfast up on the terrace overlooking the city. The hotel is located in the middle of Rhodes town, making it easy to step outside and walk around to see the shops and nearby restaurants. We stayed in the "honeymoon" area and the room was spacious and comfortable.

I can't wait to come back to Rhodes again and stay at this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Evan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

Had a wonderful week with Marianne and Sotiris as the hosts of the hotel. From the moment we stepped into the hotel they made us feel more than welcome and treated us as their family! The rooms were kept very clean and the delicious breakfast was laid out for you as soon as your sat down on the roof for your breakfast and what a view from the roof of the harbour!
Our second week was spent in Lindos but we missed them so much that we popped back to the hotel specifically to say our 'thank-you's again. A truly lovely place to stay to enjoy Rhodes!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CarolineSid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

Only stayed one night. Drove up from Pefkos. The hotel is beautiful, very Bijou, old and traditional. The location is excellent, right within the city walls and within a 2 minute walk of everything. The lady on reception was very helpful and friendly, I think her name was Maria. The room was quite small but fine for the 2 of us. They do have much larger rooms available but obviously at a much higher price.
The breakfast was excellent and well worth getting up for
All in all a boutique hotel that does what is says

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

This hotel is in a quiet spot in Rhodes old town, yet only 5 minutes from all the tavernas and shops. The rooms are lovely and very traditional and ooze character. The bathroom was a good size and very clean. We had a little courtyard outside our room just round the corner from reception. We only stayed for 2 nights as we were island hopping, but we wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank europetraveller7211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

During the Rhodes leg of our honeymoon in Greece, we stayed a few wonderful nights at the St. Nikolos Hotel. The hosts, Marianne and Sotoris, were a lot of fun. We enjoyed their hospitality and matter of fact ways. They really embrace the history of the old town and share interesting stories of some interesting archaeological discoveries they dug up as they were excavating and restructuring the hotel.

Our stay was truly amazing. We splurged on a fantastic, romantic suite that was equipped with a dressing area and a whirlpool tub! The architecture and decor are Turkish so it was interesting to immerse in another layer of historical Rhodes. Realizing we love history, they suggested a walking tour with a lovely woman named Katarina who was also a linguistics teacher. We really hit it off with them, like others have said, and my husband ended playing guitar with Sotoris in the street across from the hotel. Looking forward to going back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deAnna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rhodes Town hotels
0.2 mi away
Evdokia Old Town Hotel
Evdokia Old Town Hotel
#31 of 129 in Rhodes Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
0.2 mi away
Avalon Boutique Suites Hotel
Avalon Boutique Suites Hotel
#24 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kokkini Porta Rossa
Kokkini Porta Rossa
#4 of 129 in Rhodes Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Camelot hotel
Camelot hotel
#32 of 129 in Rhodes Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
0.2 mi away
In Camera Art Boutique Hotel
In Camera Art Boutique Hotel
#2 of 129 in Rhodes Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rodos Park Suites & Spa
Rodos Park Suites & Spa
#12 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to S. Nikolis Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about S. Nikolis Hotel & Apartments

Property: S. Nikolis Hotel & Apartments
Address: 61 Ippodamou | Medieval Town, Rhodes Town 851 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Rhodes Town
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Rhodes Town
#20 Family Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:1 star — S. Nikolis Hotel & Apartments 1*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built on the 2000-years-old remains of the Ancient Agora S. Nikolis is an intimate, charming sandstone hotel located on a guiet, cobblestone street in the beautiful Crusader part of the Medieval Old Town. The Old Town of Rhodes bursts with activity day and night. The maze of narrow streets, stone arches, huge ramparts and original moats create a truly unique experience. The hotel offers restaurant facilities for lunch and dinner, breakfast on the roof garden with superb view of the old town and harbour. As well as a unique bar with a variety of drinks and cocktails. This bar area also has a room with an original 800 year-old built in fireplace which offers a very cozy and warm atmosphere for winter guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your S. Nikolis Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
S. Nikolis Hotel & Apartments Rhodes/Rhodes Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing