We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A SWEET EXPERIENCE” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of S. Nikolis Hotel & Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
S. Nikolis Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #30 of 129 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Certificate of Excellence
NYC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A SWEET EXPERIENCE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2009

We enjoyed our stay in this beautiful hotel - and especially getting to know the wonderfully friendly and hospitial hosts, Marianne and Sotiris. If you are looking for a quiet, elegant and most unusual experience - this is for you.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SANDJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    31
    7
    5
    5
See reviews for
35
128
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2009

We booked a double bed room with patio and view for three nights in this family run hotel which is conveniently located inside the walled part of old Rhodes town. The owner, Maria is a charming lady who made us feel instantly at home. The hotel is 800 years old, and Maria showed us photos of a Roman pediment weighing ten tons with five skeletons underneath they unearthed in their back yard during renovations. The hotel also has five resident tortoises. Our room was a bit dark, and the bathroom small but it suited us. If you want something bigger you should consider upgrading. The towels were a bit threadbare. The view from the patio was excellent. The rooftop breakfasts were nothing to write home about but were adequate and the views sensational. Considering the location and age of the building we were very pleased with our stay and would definitely recommend it to others. The staff/owners in all the hotels we stayed in during our three weeks in Greece were friendly and helpful but Maria was the stand out; she is a charming lady. If arriving by taxi be sure to check with the driver before you start that he will drive inside the wall to drop you at the hotel door, otherwise you will have to drag your bags over very rough pepple stone streets.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BoscoBritish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2009

Charming hotel in a very good location. The owners were very kind and friendly. They gave us helpful information and ideas for our trip. The rooms were clear and the breakfast delicious. We will definetely come back soon. Thank you.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juliePire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alice Springs
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2009

St Nikolis Hotel and its welcoming owners, was a highlight of my trip to Rodos. The warm reception, charming room and courtyard were reflective of the love and pride the owners have for this unique, historical piece of Greece. The thoughtful attention to my needs, suggestions of and assistance with some amazing day trips and tours, all combined to make my stay in their home, simply unforgettable. The rooftop retreat was a favourite spot, not only for the wonderful views and sumptious breakfast, but a place to enjoy a view of the cruise ships lit up at night, write up my journal and reflect on this corner of the world, steeped in history. It is very conveniently located to the hub of the Old Town and the gates to the "outside" world. I enjoyed the best Greek Salad ever at the wonderful resturante on site. I highly recommend the St Nikolis and will return. Tops!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AliceSpringsSmiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington,Virginia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2009

My wife and I honeymooned on Rhodes 30 years ago so we decided to commence our 9 week vacation there. We like staying in places with 'character' so we were intrigued by a property that featured a 700 year old roof over your head built by medieval knights. We were not disappointed. And Marianne, the owner, is a lovely and most helpful person. And Georgia will not disappoint you with the scrumptious breakfast she prepares for you every morning on the rooftop overlooking the old town.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2009

We came to Rhodes for honeymoon and the friendly owners' daughter give us a ride from the airport and greet us in a very manner in a late evening.

Room is very nice and location is perfect, it's inside the old town and the view is very good. Toilet and shower is a little bit small but I guess it's the same across Greece.

Nice breakfast outside the garden and the owners gave us a ride to the port when we were leaving.

Very good hotel indeed!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jacobckso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2009

I have had the pleasure of staying at S. Nikolis twice. The first visit was with my husband and friends for 4 nights in June 2007. It was our first introduction to Greece; after a 13 hour trip from California, to end up in Rhodes (the old town) at S. Nikolis was like a dream come true. It was more than the lovely historic building, friendly, helpful and welcoming innkeepers, charming and romantic rooms, lovely garden, and great location, but the whole atmosphere of the hotel set as a jewel in Rhodes that completely captivated us. During our stay Marianne and Sotiris gave us restaurant and sightseeing recommendations, helped us rent a car, made telephone calls for us and even helped us arrange transportation for the next leg of our trip to Crete. Waking up in the morning to the amazing views including cruise ships that almost looked close enough to touch, having a delicious Greek breakfast on the rooftop, just inside the ancient city walls...it was unforgettable. Over a year later I found I missed Greece so much that in September 2008 I took our daughter back and of course our first stay at was S. Nikolis in Rhodes. We were greeted like old friends, had the same charming room, and another wonderful experience. Having been to Greece twice, I would recommend anyone to make sure that Rhodes is a must-see, and to stay at S. Nikolis. You will not be disappointed.

Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Plums-n-Roses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rhodes Town hotels
0.2 mi away
Evdokia Old Town Hotel
Evdokia Old Town Hotel
#31 of 129 in Rhodes Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
0.2 mi away
Avalon Boutique Suites Hotel
Avalon Boutique Suites Hotel
#23 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kokkini Porta Rossa
Kokkini Porta Rossa
#4 of 129 in Rhodes Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Camelot hotel
Camelot hotel
#32 of 129 in Rhodes Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
0.2 mi away
In Camera Art Boutique Hotel
In Camera Art Boutique Hotel
#2 of 129 in Rhodes Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rodos Park Suites & Spa
Rodos Park Suites & Spa
#12 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to S. Nikolis Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about S. Nikolis Hotel & Apartments

Property: S. Nikolis Hotel & Apartments
Address: 61 Ippodamou | Medieval Town, Rhodes Town 851 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Rhodes Town
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Rhodes Town
#20 Family Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:1 star — S. Nikolis Hotel & Apartments 1*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built on the 2000-years-old remains of the Ancient Agora S. Nikolis is an intimate, charming sandstone hotel located on a guiet, cobblestone street in the beautiful Crusader part of the Medieval Old Town. The Old Town of Rhodes bursts with activity day and night. The maze of narrow streets, stone arches, huge ramparts and original moats create a truly unique experience. The hotel offers restaurant facilities for lunch and dinner, breakfast on the roof garden with superb view of the old town and harbour. As well as a unique bar with a variety of drinks and cocktails. This bar area also has a room with an original 800 year-old built in fireplace which offers a very cozy and warm atmosphere for winter guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your S. Nikolis Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
S. Nikolis Hotel & Apartments Rhodes/Rhodes Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing