We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above and beyond our expectations!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
S. Nikolis Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #31 of 126 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Certificate of Excellence
Fountain Hills, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Above and beyond our expectations!”
Reviewed 28 September 2010

Marianne and Sotiris, the owners, are the best hosts ever! They accomodated all our needs and beyond. The hotel is beautifully furnished. The breakfast was yummy! The location is perfect. We had a wonderful stay and plan to return.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    32
    7
    5
    5
See reviews for
35
135
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2010

"You gaze in wide wonder at the joy you have found." It awakens the kid in you with its magical beauty, and you find yourself awestruck that such a place still exists, in such incredible condition, in our world. Our first night we left the french doors (of the 700 year old arch in our room) open to the courtyard, and I heard the most beautiful music playing, echoing through the old stone walls of the Medieval city. So, naturally I got up to explore. I followed the sounds through a labyrinth of streets towards the Turkish Baths, and found a local dive where I hung out until 5AM, then returned to see the sunrise over the Aegean Sea, and the Medieval city below me, from the roof top breakfast area at S. Nikolas. And that was just the first few hours. Marianne took incredible care of us, we felt like family right away and cried when we left her. You could walk this city and the tops of its walls for days, exploring the Palace, and stay at the S. Nikolas forever, it seemed. Lost in time, and thankful for it. Marianne, we will be back someday.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mksheridan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amorgos, Greece
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2010

You can’t stay at a more attractive and stunning historic hotel on Rhodos or probably anywhere else in Greece. It is steeped in history. You do not need to go to a museum you are staying in one. Sotiris & Marianne have, through a labour of love, renovated these medieval buildings into an incredibly special, extremely comfortable place to stay. Their attention to detail is amazing. This is a unique opportunity to stay in the crusader section of this world heritage listed town. You are just minutes away from all the sites.

Your hosts are delightful and attentive. The rooms are immaculate. The bar is charming including a 800 year old stone fire place which must be incredibly cosy in the winter. The restaurant looked very appealing but during our very short stay we didn’t have time to dine there. The court yard is a particularly attractive place to sit. And all so quiet. A car can get to the door of the hotel but it is not exactly a road it is a very narrow cobbled street and only the very brave would drive down it.

If you are looking for karaoke and bingo nights, swimming pools full of screaming children, false ‘Greek’ nights and staff who don’t care about anything this is not the place to stay.

If you want peace and quiet, in a charming family run (and renovated) homely, extremely comfortable historic establishment then there is no doubt it is the S.Nikolis hotel for you.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2010

We spent a few day in Rhodes for our honeymoon, and absolutely loved the S. Nikolis. Marianne and her husband, Sotiris, have built this from the ground up, and they lovingly look after every detail and guest. The rooms are romantic and capture the spirit of Old Town Rhodes. The courtyard is absolutely lovely and is filled with beautiful flowers and trees. If you are traveling to Rhodes, you should definitely stay in Old Town. Just keep in mind that it's not the type of place where you're going to get all the modern conveniences you might be used to, like a huge bathroom or a gym. Just enjoy the spirit of Rhodes and stay in this romantic place and walk around Old Town. You'll love it.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emc8760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McLean, VA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 July 2010

This is a fabulous little boutique hotel. It was built by the owner, Sotiris and his wife Marianne. Marianne and Sotiris made us feel like family. We couldn't have asked for two nicer people to spend time with. Their recommendations for places to eat and sights to see were key in making our stay ever more memorable. If you want a real treat and not a cookie cutter chain hotel this is the place to go!!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoeyMcLean_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2010

We had two lovely rooms accessed from an outdoor wooden staircase off the pretty lower terrace. They stood on their own so were very private and had a landing area with table and chairs at the entrance to the rooms. Inside, you felt as though you had stepped into a medieval castle and great attention to detail had been given to the fitting out. Good-sized bathrooms with spa baths, extra chairs and side tables in the rooms, plenty of towels, bathrobes, a small fridge in the room - one of the rooms even had an extra small room with wardrobes and plenty of space for our suitcases.
What really stood out about this hotel was the owner, Mariana. She was helpful in every way and really made us feel that she enjoyed having us as guests. Nothing was too much trouble and she went out of her way to organise anything we asked for. All her restaurant recommendations were great as was the hire car she arranged for us for a day when we drove around the island. We would go back tomorrow.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arriveinstyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2010

My family and I just returned from a trip to Athens, Rhodes and Santorini. We spend the first full week of our vacation in Rhodes and, on the advisement of friends who had stayed at this hotel 10 years earlier, booked our accommodation at the S. Nikolis Boutique Hotel in Old Town Rhodes (within the walls of old city). We have traveled extensively in Europe and stayed in castles, farms, old watermills and other boutique hotels but the S. Nikolis hotel and its owners have earned a special place in our hearts.

The S. Nikolas hotel sits on top of and has incorporated into its architecture the 800 year old remains of old arches, wells and other fascinating architectural features found on that site as the owners, Marianne and Sotiris Nikolis began their labor of love thirty years ago in building this establishment. In every aspect of this hotel, from its rooms to the reception hall with the peek-a-boo see through hole cover to the ancient remains below the reception hall and to the lovely court yard decorated with items found during the dig at the hotel, the artistry and love of the owners for old town Rhodes and their piece of it comes through.

Our children and my husband and I occupied two adjacent suites that were absolutely lovely in decor, spacious (including Jacuzzi tubs in the bathrooms) and fully fitted with all necessary amenities (TV, small fridge, extra pillows, bottled water). What made these rooms so memorable however were the ancient architectural features, jewel toned silk bedspreads and pillows as well as other extraordinary decorating details all of which created the feeling that you were staying in a Byzantine palace.

In addition to the lovely rooms, the warms and hospitality of the owners and their lovely daughter Maria made this trip unforgettable. We were not only picked up at the port upon our arrival to Rhodes but Marianne also took us to our ferry at 4 am in the morning on the date of our departure and prepared a "goodie" bag for us so that we would have breakfast and lunch for our ferry ride to Santorini. Marianne also secured our car for us on those dates when we needed it - having the car rental person come to the hotel for the necessary paper work and advised on the really wonderful day excursions to other islands as well as local sites on Rhodes. The service staff equally impressed us with their hospitality and prepared an elaborate breakfast every morning (remembering my family's special preferences such as my son's desire for chocolate milk) which was served on the rooftop terrace, with a view over old town Rhodes and the harbor. The staff even accommodated some of our excursion needs by serving breakfast an hour early one morning so that we could catch a ferry to Tilos.

These owners and their staff truly are the most hospitable staff we have ever encountered. For fellow travelers who love to experience something authentic, warm and engaging this hotel is ideal. We benefited from the recommendation of our friends and very much want to advise others of this jewel in the heart of old town Rhodes. The Jolly Family from Jacksonville

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JollyEmma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rhodes Town hotels
0.2 mi away
Evdokia Hotel
Evdokia Hotel
#37 of 126 in Rhodes Town
93 reviews
0.1 mi away
Zacosta Villa Hotel
Zacosta Villa Hotel
#47 of 126 in Rhodes Town
186 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rodos Park Suites & Spa
Rodos Park Suites & Spa
#8 of 126 in Rhodes Town
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Nikos Takis Fashion Hotel
Nikos Takis Fashion Hotel
#42 of 126 in Rhodes Town
202 reviews
0.2 mi away
In Camera Art Boutique Hotel
In Camera Art Boutique Hotel
#2 of 126 in Rhodes Town
258 reviews
0.2 mi away
Avalon Boutique Suites Hotel
Avalon Boutique Suites Hotel
#23 of 126 in Rhodes Town
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to S. Nikolis Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about S. Nikolis Hotel & Apartments

Property: S. Nikolis Hotel & Apartments
Address: 61 Ippodamou | Medieval Town, Rhodes Town 851 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Rhodes Town
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Rhodes Town
#20 Family Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:1 star — S. Nikolis Hotel & Apartments 1*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built on the 2000-years-old remains of the Ancient Agora S. Nikolis is an intimate, charming sandstone hotel located on a guiet, cobblestone street in the beautiful Crusader part of the Medieval Old Town. The Old Town of Rhodes bursts with activity day and night. The maze of narrow streets, stone arches, huge ramparts and original moats create a truly unique experience. The hotel offers restaurant facilities for lunch and dinner, breakfast on the roof garden with superb view of the old town and harbour. As well as a unique bar with a variety of drinks and cocktails. This bar area also has a room with an original 800 year-old built in fireplace which offers a very cozy and warm atmosphere for winter guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your S. Nikolis Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
S. Nikolis Hotel & Apartments Rhodes/Rhodes Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing