We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st Experience in Greece”
Review of Spot Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Spot Hotel
Ranked #57 of 127 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“1st Experience in Greece”
Reviewed 21 October 2012

We stayed at Spot for 3 nights in September. The hotel is in a perfect location, Michael is a very obliging owner. The only problem we encountered was the mattress on our bed was a little tired and a little low to the ground. The breakfast was fine. Good to be able to go up onto the roof area with our own alcohol and nibbles. Definately loved staying in the Old Town and we would like to go back and spend some more time in Rhodes. For the price we paid the room was good.
Cheers Brian and Marilyn from Australia

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    41
    8
    1
    4
See reviews for
20
83
20
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

Micheal is very friendly and knowledgeable about the town and island. Very welcoming and an excellent host. The location is great. The place has style. And a good price.

On the other hand. The bathroom was not clean--previous occupants hair on the floor, everything still wet. I asked for it to be cleaned again, it was, right away. But the situation was not much better--basically the bathrooms need a thorough scrubbing--grout is black in the corners, peeling paint. Clealiness issues in the rest of the room as well--stains on bed cover. Rug looked grimy.

When I was leaving I (thought) I had lost the key to my safe. Turns out there was no master key. of course I then found the key--but you would think a hotel would be a little more prepared for disorganized guest like myself.

Strange list of "policies" on the back of door--seemed a bit agressive and defensive in tone. An example was the long explanation of the problems associated with consuming food or drink not bought at the hotel on the property (details not important). This tone seemed completely at odds with Michaels warm and welcoming personality. Possibly was written by former owner (michaels dad) who is something of a character. And in a way the uneveness of the experience added to the quirkyness of the hotel. Would probably try another place next time--but only because there seemed to be a lot of equally great options around town.

Matress was worn out. Did not try the breakfast--which was not included and didnt look great and there were better options nearby.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onthebusagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RhodesBasil, Owner at Spot Hotel, responded to this review, 14 October 2012
Hello to all,I was not shocked,but i was hurt by this review.If it were true my response would have been explanatory and apologetic. We have never been accused for dirty anything especially our sheets and bathrooms,this gentleman as my son would inform me daily,would lose his keys anywhere from 2 to 3 times .We were there to assist him. whenever he needed,so i dont see why he would say we are disorganized. the sign on the back door states info for guests to read when they have settled in. about the food and beverages I state,Dear guests the Hotel is licensed to sell alcohol and snacks ,we are not insisting that you buy from us,If you shop elsewhere please hold on to your receipts in case of a tax department instigation,so that I would have proof that these beverages were bought elsewhere,or else I would have to pay a 5000 euro fine because i would be accused of not issuing a receipt.Break fast is a self served buffet all you can have,no limits. includes abundant coffee, tea, hot chocolate, different herb teas ,hot fresh rolls, pound cake, OJ, cookies,boiled eggs, cheese ,
Cereal, and last but not least I shook this Mans hand once and welcomed him, I dont know why I'm a considered a Character. I guess there is no satisfying some people.


thank you
Lee Michael Mavros
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

We stayed at the Spot Hotel in mid June for 4 nights.

In our opinion the hotel was good but not as great as the rating suggests. If there was a rating between average and very good that would be our choice. Both average and very good are not a fitting rating.

I think alot depends on which room you actually get. We were in number 7 which was small but the other rooms did look a lot bigger.
The bathroom was a little small which is not so much of a problem but the shower was way to small even by european standards.

Breakfast was good, self service type of set up which provided all we needed for a start to the day.

Location was great, with bars and restaurants everywhere although most where very touristy which was no surprise.

The nice beach clubs are around a 15min walk from hotel.

The restaurant Micheal recommended to us was average at best. Had much better meals elsewhere for half the price.

The Travel agency Micheal recommended to us was excellent. We hired a car and drove to Lindos for the day and we also purchased a day trip to Symi Islands and a ferry ticket to Santorini. All where very reasonably priced.

We just think for the price we may have gotten a little bit better room.

Room Tip: stay away from room 7
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank balmainboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Stayed 3 nights in August. Cute little hotel, shower room pretty small but not a problem for us. Michael is really friendly. Breakfast is basic but there are lots of places nearby if you need something more. Was very hot when we were there but soon found the turbo switch on the aircon so this helped a lot at night. We didn't read the notice on the back of the door so didn't realise we needed to hang a notice on the door knob to getour room cleaned so watch out for that if you're there more than one night. We liked the hotel and the little terrace and would definitely go back again. It's so central for everything in the old town.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goldielookinghair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

I simply loved this hotel,it was a pity, I could stay only one night,but I definitely will come back!The whole hotel reminded me of the time of the knights and it was great!! My room was filled up with great painted pictures,rugs were laid down, so it felt really nice and cosy. There is an awesome terrace on the roof.Michael was very helpful and kind! The hotel is situated in the middle of the old town,everything is walking distance there, even the harbor is like 5min walk.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabriella P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marquette, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

I can only agree wholeheartedly with the other reviews published here. The Spot Hotel has got to be one of the best hotels in Rhodes. The location is fabulous -- just a few steps off one of the main squares (The Square of the Jewish Martyrs), yet very quiet. The decor in the public areas is traditional (maroon curtains, cushions, Greek portraits on the stone walls, wooden furniture, little courtyards, and a rooftop sitting area overlooking the Old Town.

When you step into the comfortable, cool lobby after tramping through the hot streets, you find yourself in a homey, cozy atmosphere. I spent some time just lolling around on the lobby couches, watching the news and enjoying chatting with Michael, the manager.

Lee, the father, has now given over the management of this family-run hotel to Michael, his son.

When we arrived, one of the reading lights in our room did not work, and it was quickly taken care of. When we remarked on Lee's amazing English, we learned that he is an American from New York, who returned, like many Greek hotel owners, to run the family business,

Our room (number 8) was a triple, with a large king sized bed, and a twin next to it. We used this for our suitcases. The room, decorated beautifully, with sheer maroon curtains, and a lovely matching spread faced the street, but was completely quiet. The bathroom was small, but everything worked well -- no problems there.

Breakfast was great with a coffee machine giving out as much as we liked, cereals, breads, juices, fruits, boiled eggs, and much else.

The Spot is just moments away from all the major sights of Rhodes Town. We had planned to rent a car and drive into the countryside on our second day there, but there was so much to see -- the Palace of the Grand Masters, the Archeological Museum, New Rhodes, the ancient walls, old mosques, the Jewish quarter, and the many interesting shops -- that we didn't venture outside Rhodes Town. That will happen on our second visit to Rhodes.

When visiting Rhodes Town, be sure and venture into the narrow streets in the interior of the town, beyond the tourist streets and squares. Here you will find many interesting little restaurants (lunches for very low prices), shops, quiet squares and a fabulous old Greek atmosphere. We enjoyed this especially at night, expecting to see a monk with a cowl or a knight passing us by in the dark. Lee told us that Rhodes is a safe city and we were not to worry about crime if we ventured off the beaten path.

Finally, Michael is especially to be commended for helping us when we left on a very early flight by rising at 5 am to call a cab for us and making sure we got off on time. Thank you, Michael.

Room Tip: We loved Room 8. It is of good size and beautifully decorated (although the other rooms look lovely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Katherine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
93 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Chose this on the basis of another member of our group's experiences here 12 years ago, and we were not disappointed. Lee has now moved to the nearby Gate Restaurant, and his son Michael has taken over. He is a pleasant, helpful and considerate host. The location of this hotel is great - literally a few steps from the touristy square, but it feels as quiet as a purely residential area. The rooms are small but comfortable, the breakfast is adequate, the rear courtyard is a great place to unwind over a drink (bring your own) after a hard day's touristing. We really liked Rhodes and this hotel added to our enjoyment without breaking the budget,

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gunya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rhodes Town hotels
0.1 mi away
Cava d'Oro Hotel
Cava d'Oro Hotel
#81 of 127 in Rhodes Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.4 mi away
Zacosta Villa Hotel
Zacosta Villa Hotel
#46 of 127 in Rhodes Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
0.1 mi away
Niki's Hotel
Niki's Hotel
#79 of 127 in Rhodes Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Evdokia Hotel
Evdokia Hotel
#33 of 127 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.0 mi away
Knights Of Old Town
Knights Of Old Town
#72 of 127 in Rhodes Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
0.2 mi away
Petrino Boutique Hotel
Petrino Boutique Hotel
#50 of 127 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spot Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spot Hotel

Property: Spot Hotel
Address: 21 Perikleous, Rhodes Town 851 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 127 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Spot Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in Rhodes, just 100 metres from the scenic Old Town, Spot Hotel features a furnished roof garden with views over the town. It offers air-conditioned rooms with free WiFi. The rooms of Spot are fitted with antique-style furnishings and patchwork-style bedspreads. Each is equipped with a fridge and a safe. The private bathroom is stocked with a hairdryer and free toiletries. Several restaurants, bars and shops are within a short walk from the property. A sandy beach is accessible within proximity. Rhodes Port and a bus station are a 10-minute walk away, while Rhodes International Airport is 16 km away. Ammoudes Village and its beach are at a distance of 11 km. Car rental services can be provided and free parking can be found nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Spot Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spot Hotel Rhodes Town
Spot Hotel Rhodes/Rhodes Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing