We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a good day?”
Review of Spot Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Spot Hotel
Reviewed 24 September 2010

I'd been recommended this hotel and heard good things but must have caught them on an off day. The rooms are beautiful and the hotel is centrally located (on the otherwise forgettable Jewish Martyrs' Square), but there was renovation from 8am on 22 Sep 2010 and no wi-fi access. The owner/staff are somewhat gruff.

Stayed: September 2010, travelled solo
Thank grusl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (188)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 188 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2010

We found the Spot Hotel using TripAdvisor and found the previous reviews spot on. This Hotel is in the best Location in old Rhodes Town. All the best tourist sights and restaurants are very close, within a 5min walk. We arrived by ferry from Santorini and made the easy 15min walk to the hotel. If coming from Marimas the walk to the hotel is only 5min. The Hotel is very clean and comfortable. Lee, the hotel owner is very approachable, friendly and helpful. The hotel is quiet and has a lovely roof top garden.
The prices charged are also very reasonable.
If you want to swim, you can walk 3min to the port and swim at the little beach where the locals swim. The water is clean and warm during the summer months.
Thanks Lee for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philliz2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2010

We chose the Spot Hotel based on reviews at Tripadvisor. When we arrived at hotel we were glad to be able to confirm every point stated in the website.

Location is in a quiet street inside the Old Town so it's a great place to start sightseeing. The double room we got had enough space to move around, handle the bags and use the desk.

Best thing about the place is the cleanliness. You may think for the price range there's a lot of places that leave much to be desired. That's not the case with the Spot Hotel. The owner said the personally makes sure every room have no dirty to be found.

Also, he arranged us a car rental to explore the rest of island. We had researched a little before and fount the price to be the same the agencies outside the old town were charging not considering the convenience of the rental agent to go where you are to sign the papers.

When we return to Rhodes will be surely looking for the Spot Hotel once again.

Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank edsony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2010

First things first! The hotel owner is AWESOME!!! Lee, Thanks for everything! The hotel is very quaint & CLEAN. I felt like I was at home. We stayed in a triple room, which was a double connected to a single! We had 2 bathrooms each with a shower. One shower was small, but still okay to use. Each room had a key for entry & a door to separate the room if we wanted to. Great location in the old town! I think the beds were comfortable. I slept good! There roooms are standard European size! There are no more words to say. Check out my pics!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ldrn40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2010

My family and I spent four wonderful days in early June at the Spot which I had found highly recommended on Trip Advisor. The hotel is on a narrow stone pedestrian street/alley inside the walls of Old Town and steps away from restaurants and shopping. You feel totally immersed in the medieval atmosphere of the old town. The common areas of the hotel are clean and funky in the best possible way--interesting furniture (antiques) and decor, lovely lounge on main floor decorated in Turkish style, nice breakfast room, marble stairs, rooftop garden perfect for late night beers! The guest rooms are adequate size, decorated in the same fashion, comfortable beds, lots of clothes storage places, very clean. The bathrooms are small but adequate with loads of hot water. We opted for the AC for both rooms and it was money well spent. Lee is a wonderful host, as so many other reviewers have noted. He gave us good restaurant recommendations and general info. Breakfasts are fantastic--loved the Greek yogurt and never found any as good in the rest of our 2 week stay in Greece. Really enjoyed talking with Lee and felt as though we made a real connection with Lee and folks at the restaurants he directed us to. (My boys refer to Lee as the uncle they wish they had!) Whole point of travel after all--learning and making connections. Spot is great base for both. Fantastic value for the room cost! We all would absolutely stay here again!

Thoughts--

If you take a cab from harbor or airport, make sure they take you inside the walls of the Old Town and drop you at the Square of the Jewish Martyrs. Very short walk to Spot. By the way, it's a pretty long walk to/from ferry, especially in heat.

Don't miss walking between the layers of different walls surrounding Old Town--beautiful.

Rent a car. Rhodes is a beautiful island with diverse geography. Don't miss Kastellos--an almost deserted medieval castle ruin. Stop in the village of Siana for Souma--local liquor, not bad. Monolithos is amazing. Lots of nice quiet beaches between Monolithos and Lindos. Lindos is amazing and beautiful. The old town there seems more Turkish with lots of elegant courtyard restaurants off the stone paths.

Be sure to eat at Myrivallos (sp?) in the Turkish quarter in Rhodes. Great meat dishes, especially sausage and owner Anastasia is a delight!

Some of Rhodes is really touristy but so much is not. Get lost in the streets of old town Rhodes, especially in Turkish Quarter---it's like going back hundreds of years in time.

Have a great time in Rhodes and at the Spot--we sure did!!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank missesthebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2010

The location is excellent - couldn't be better - right in the heart of the Old City. The hotel is extremely comfortable, clean and and our rooms were more than adequate - spacious, with good bedding, aircon, and spotlessly clean bathrooms. The terrace is a lovely spot to relax and escape the heat. Lee, the owner, is a charming person - very warm, friendly and made us feel at home right away. Breakfast was really good - in the small breakfast room, with a couple of 'extras' especially for the children. A lovely touch! We received some bad news and had to cut our stay short very unexpectedly, and he was extremely helpful and understanding. He has a great knowledge of Rhodos and readily recommended services to us. We would love to come back to Rhodos and would stay here again without a doubt.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DANSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2010

I agree with all the positive comments in other reviews. The hotel is unpretentious, well located in a quiet street and very good value for money, particularly if you don't use the air conditioning. We were lucky enough to have the room with a small terrace outside and this, together with the roof garden, made all the difference. Lee, the owner, could not be more accommodating or welcoming.

Don't expect luxury but do try this hotel if you want a place to stay in the Old Town which is welcoming, comfortable and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BookwormOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rhodes Town hotels
4 mi away
Sunday Hotel
Sunday Hotel
#40 of 126 in Rhodes Town
153 reviews
0.1 mi away
Camelot hotel
Camelot hotel
#31 of 126 in Rhodes Town
306 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sylvia Hotel
Sylvia Hotel
#65 of 126 in Rhodes Town
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Evdokia Hotel
Evdokia Hotel
#35 of 126 in Rhodes Town
110 reviews
0.8 mi away
Atlantis City Hotel
Atlantis City Hotel
#49 of 126 in Rhodes Town
473 reviews
1.1 mi away
Panorama Hotel Apartments
Panorama Hotel Apartments
#111 of 126 in Rhodes Town
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spot Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spot Hotel

Address: 21 Perikleous, Rhodes Town 851 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 55 Speciality Lodging in Rhodes Town
Price Range: £18 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Spot Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in Rhodes, just 100 metres from the scenic Old Town, Spot Hotel features a furnished roof garden with views over the town. It offers air-conditioned rooms with free WiFi. The rooms of Spot are fitted with antique-style furnishings and patchwork-style bedspreads. Each is equipped with a fridge and a safe. The private bathroom is stocked with a hairdryer and free toiletries. Several restaurants, bars and shops are within a short walk from the property. A sandy beach is accessible within proximity. Rhodes Port and a bus station are a 10-minute walk away, while Rhodes International Airport is 16 km away. Ammoudes Village and its beach are at a distance of 11 km. Car rental services can be provided and free parking can be found nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Agoda so you can book your Spot Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spot Hotel Rhodes Town
Spot Hotel Rhodes/Rhodes Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing