We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inconsistent service but otherwise reasonably good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
Ranked #13 of 126 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 June 2011

We've just come back from a two week stay at the Sheraton. We had a nice time generally (believe it or not after reading this!) but the hotel was let down by a few inconsistencies, which were primarily service based. We were at the hotel from the last week in May into the first week in June and the service had definitely improved come the end of our stay - which leads me to think that they were under-staffed in May, or maybe we were just unlucky. But the bottom-line, this should not be the case in a 5* hotel. They need to improve this.

First problem was with house-keeping. Although they were very polite and cleaned the bathroom well they would leave dirt/dust underneath certain spots/furniture - almost as if they couldn't be bothered, or they had targets to meet or something, you got the impression they were always in a hurry. On a wooden floor this dust and dirt soon works its way around. My wife resorted to wearing slippers whilst we were in the room as a result (maybe that's why they are provided??). The second problem we had was with staff in the restaurant - just the fact they were very inconsistent. We did notice towards the end of our stay that there were several staff being trained up in this area. Sometimes we were left waiting for ages for service whilst other times we were seen straight away. It was pretty frustrating at times - and it was also a lot busier in the first few days in June than it was in May.

There was one issue in particular where we were told to vacate our table in a very abrupt and rude fashion! We had sat at a 6-place table instead of a 2-place, but we were waiting on 2 other guests, plus we had a 5 month old and a buggy which took up room. We would remove the 6th chair and would squeeze the buggy into place, which would be less obstructive. This worked very well for us, although on this one occasion it all kicked off! There was obviously some kind of language barrier breakdown and I ended up in a slightly heated argument with this member of staff who had told us to move to a different table, in front of the other guests. It was very unprofessional and not something you would expect to run into on holiday, let alone in a 5* hotel! To make matters worse this chap shouted that 'he could call the manager' if I wasn't happy, in a very saractic way once I had turned my back to him! In the mean time another couple next to us had sat at this other 6-place table - without any hassle whatsoever. This waiter just walked on by as if they weren't even there! I was very angry at this point - I have to say however, that after I complained to the management it was taken very seriously, and I did receive an apology in the manner of a nice bottle of white wine, so this went some way to compensating us. But it has changed our overall opinion of the hotel, up until this point we were having a nice time. I have to say this brings me on to another complaint - the price of drinks. Soft drinks were slightly expensive but spirits were disgustingly priced! A single Jack Daniels and Coke would come in at about £10! We ended up drinking elsewhere most of the time which was disappointing also.

On the plus side (yes there are good things to say) the concierge and reception staff were helpful and polite. The hotel itself is very nice - and generally clean. It does have things going for it - You can see where it still needs some more refurbishment however - some of the carpets were heavily stained. The pool areas were nice as were the pools. But Pool service was shockingly poor once again. Another tick on the poor service box! Food was good every day but it was let down by poor service.

It's a real shame for the Sheraton to be let down by so many inconsistencies. This hotel has a lot going for it - and its in a good central location, albeit next to a very busy road. If only they could sort out the service! We will not be returning.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PhilandFee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonRhodesResort, General Manager at Sheraton Rhodes Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2011

Dear Valued Guest,

We thank you for your feedback on TripAdvisor following your stay at the Sheraton Rhodes Resort.

We are truly sorry to learn that we failed to meet your expectations during your visit and please accept our apologies for the inconvenience you may have been caused. Please rest assured that the shortfalls in our housekeeping and restaurant areas will be taken up with the Department Heads concerned.

However, we were very pleased to read your positive comments about the hotel food, swimming pools, pool areas, cleanliness throughout the hotel and the good and friendly service by our Concierge and Reception Desk.

The total guest rooms were refurbished fully over the closed winter period 2010-2011 and we do hope that a further refurbishment programme will follow very soon.

We would like to thank you once again for your sincere comments and suggestions and look forward to another opportunity of welcoming you to our hotel.

Sincerely,

Igor Buercher
General Manager
(igor.buercher@sheraton.com)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,799)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,071 - 1,077 of 1,799 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2011

I have to admit that before our trip I didn't know what to expect from the hotel. It had a lot of good reviews along with the not so good but I am usually more interested in the more unique and bespoke smaller hotels so I thought I would be a bit overwhelemed and it might be a bit generic but I was really pleasantly surprised. We stayed there for a week at the beginning of a June and had an absolutely fantastic and very relaxing holiday and I definitely didn't want to end by the end of it. I have summed up the positives and negatives of the hotel:

Positives:

- Very large, clean and aesthetically pleasing hotel. The decor and design of the hotel is lovely and very modern and clean. It is a big hotel which is great because you never feel overcrowded or that there are loads of people around.
- Staff are efficient and friendly. All our requests were dealt with immediately and check in and check out were both very quick.
-Four large, clean and different pools. Each pool offers something different. My favourite was the one with bridges and gorgeous palm trees everywhere. There are also two outdoor square ones with are a bit less busy and calmer and then there is an indoor one.
-Rooms. The rooms were very big and spacious and cleaned on time everyday. The bed was possibly the biggest one I ever stayed in and we had a dvd player every night free of charge which was great.
-Good location. very close to Rhodes town as well as the airport. We rented a caras we didnt want to spend all day everyday in the hotel and explored around everywhere which I would definitely reccommend as it gives you great freedom.
-Asian Restaurant. We only ate in the hotel one night as you will see why from the negative section but this restaurant was really fantastic. A lot of the food in Rhodes town is good but very samey so it is nice to have variety and something different. The spot is perfect and there is a gorgeous view out into the sea and the food was really excellent.
-Not many annoying kids around because it was during term time, hoooray!

Negatives

- Price of eating and drinking in the hotel. We were a young couple staying in the hotel on a bed and breakfast deal. Eating and drinking in the hotel was in general, very expensive! In the restaurants a starter was around 18 euros and a main course 27 euros which isnt even what you would pay at some of the top restaurants in London. Drinks were also very expensive which meant we went to a local supermarket and used the hire car. It was a shame because we would have liked to eaten in the hotel a little more. However, Rhodes town is very close with gorgeous places to eat in both the old and new town.

Overall, we had an absolutely lovely and very memorable trip and will think of it in the future if I ever return to Rhodes.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank london_traveller6789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2011

We (family of four) stayed here week commencing 28th May 2011 (half term) and had a very enjoyable time.

Good points:
• Good accommodation with very comfortable beds with 1 notable exception – see not so good points below
• Excellent choice of quality dishes in the evening. Possibly limited if your kids only like plain food with no sauce
• Good buffet breakfast
• Clean and tidy hotel
• Four very clean and large swimming pools (3 external, 1 heated internal)
• Good sun loungers with comfortable mattress
• Busy but not over-crowded (no mass brawl at breakfast / dinner and no mad rush for sun loungers @ 7am)
• Easy and cheap access by taxi / bus to beautiful Rhodes town only 10 mins away. Fixed price of 8 euros for taxi or 2 euros per person on bus – each way.
• Free internet access for 45 mins in reception area. You can keep having 45 mins free but only after half an hour has elapsed. The hotel has PCs (touch screen) so you do not need to bring your own laptop
• Only 15-20 mins from airport via private taxi transfer
• Good gym.

Not so good points:
• Room was not ready when we arrived despite arriving late in the evening i.e. about 10.15pm.
Sofa bed not set up and bedding missing. Waiting for room service after long day was annoying and delayed getting kids to bed
• Mattress on Sofa bed very thin but problem solved by asking reception for additional mattress after first uncomfortable night’s sleep
• Only 2 bath towels in room – problem only discovered the following morning when showering!!. Yet another call to reception
• Hotel food and drink very expensive e.g. Pizza = 13.50 euros, cocktail = 10 euros. However, these are available at local bars 5 mins down the road for 5 and 4 euros respectively.
• Can be noisy if you sit by the swimming pool close to the main road
• Entertainment quite good in evenings but not well supported due to lack of marketing and communication within the hotel
• No maître d’ to show you to a table. Whilst I did mention there is no mass brawl at breakfast / dinner I would like to mention that during busy periods it was quite difficult to find a table and know whether it was occupied or not. Much better if someone could take responsibility for this and make breakfast and dinner a more enjoyable experience for all - especially parents with kids/babies in tow. This is a real shame when it is such a good restaurant
• Not a great beach (shingle) so don't go if this is what you value most

In summary, the Sheraton is a quality hotel rightly deserving its place in the top 3 on the island. It does need to work on some relatively small issues though.

Enjoy !!.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank golfing_mad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonRhodesResort, General Manager at Sheraton Rhodes Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2011

Dear Valued Guest,

We thank you for choosing to stay at the Sheraton Rhodes Resort for your vacations this year.

We very much appreciate your feedback and the time you have taken to post your comments on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to note that overall you have enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you for your constructive suggestions and recommendations which we assure you will be taken into our consideration.

We hope your plans will bring you back to Rhodes and that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to our hotel.

Sincerely,

Igor Buercher
General Manager
(igor.buercher@sheraton.com)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2011

We are frequent travellers in both Greece and other destinations. Highly familiar with the Greek market as I am Greek.

We can honestly say that this is one of the best Hotels we have ever stayed in.

This hotel has the luxury of a city hotel with the amenities of a top resort.

The room was very comfortable and spacy with parquet flooring, the decor was beautiful and the view spectacular. The bed was the most comfortable we have ever slept in and it was very relaxing. The room had tea and coffee making facilities, very nice for a cup of tea or coffee on the balcony after a day out at the pool or beach. Also the room was provided with robes and slippers and fluffy beach towels (beach towels were also available at the pools). The rooms are very well insulated as we did not hear a sound from other guests.

The pools are lovely and the sunbeds have thick comfortable cushions which makes it very relaxing!! The pool staff were very helpful and the the restaurant serves tasty food at lunchtime. We are aware that the hotel has a beach, but to be honest we were to lazy to leave the comfort of the pool!!

The restaurant has excellent quality food and service and eating ouside on the terrace is particularly enjoyable. The restaurant staff could not have been more helpful.

The public areas of the hotel are open and comfortable and the terrace outside the bar has lovely chairs and couches.

The hotel is ideally situated near Rhodes Town and the Airport.

Check in and Check out were fast and efficient.

All in all the hotel is run very professionally and the staff is very well trained.

We can't wait to go back next May!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Dinos1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonRhodesResort, General Manager at Sheraton Rhodes Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2011

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your very favourable review of our hotel and we really appreciate you taking the time to post it on TripAdvisor.

I was delighted to read that you thorougly enjoyed your stay here at the Sheraton Rhodes Resort and that you have highlighted every detail of our services, facilities and hospitality with a positive note. Thank you.

On behalf of all the team at the Sheraton Rhodes Resort, I would like to take the opportunity to say how much we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Sincerely,

Igor Buercher
General Manager
(igor.buercher@sheraton.com)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2011

Me and my family was there for 2 weeks.We enjoyed everything.Staff was really friendly.My daughter wants to come back again because she enjoyed the time to restaurant and have fun with one of Waiters Ilias.He was really friendly and served us very good.Also and the other staff of restaurant and hotel.Maybe next year we'll be back again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BiancaBel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2011

Bit of an initial glitch as we were given a room as requested near the lift... this deluxe sea view room (1213) from the bed looked out on to a wall but as bad was the dreadful noise coming from the hotels ventilation shaft. A quick call to the very helpful manager was all it took to ensure a successful change of room. The room had a great sea view,although this was slightly marred by the noise from the road between the hotel and the beach. We stayed half board the food was of a good standard plentiful and varied. Particularly good were the salads and Greek dishes. Costas and all staff in the dining room were very friendly and attentive at the same time they were keen to ensure that we were enjoying the food provided. Good varied entertainment provided of an evening. Had a great pedicure reasonable price but ended up paying 50 Euros for about 20mins reflexology the price was not in the brochure ,however, I was not in a mood to question this ...it just put me off having any more treatments...not sure of the name of the girl carrying out treatments as she did not introduce herself and did not want to engage with me.
Whilst of a good standard IReally think this hotel is more 4 star than 5

Room Tip: Avoid rooms near lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank westie60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonRhodesResort, General Manager at Sheraton Rhodes Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2011

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review and taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor.

It was good to read that overall you enjoyed your stay at the Sheraton Rhodes Resort and that you appreciated the hotel facilities, food, service, entertainment and hospitality.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back to the Sheraton Rhodes Resort in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,

Igor Buercher
General Manager
(igor.buercher@sheraton.com)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2011

Overall we had a very good holiday at the Sheraton. I think the hotel & staff are still trying to find its identity as either a holiday or a corporate destination. The staff on reception seem efficent but not relaxed & friendly. Managers can often be seen walking around in suits looking stressed which is not what you want to see whilst having a week away from the office. The facilities are great & the bedrooms comfortable. We were expecting more from the food available (dont expect juicy prawns & seafood) & the price of drinks within the hotel are crazy, which is probably why you dont see to many people relaxing around the bars. The surrounding area is not very nice with a very busy main road directly outside the hotel.
However, if you are happy to just spend time by the pool with a botle of water then you will have a nice time.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bozwillsfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonRhodesResort, General Manager at Sheraton Rhodes Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2011

Dear Valued Guest,

We thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to post your comments on TripAdvisor following you recent stay at the Sheraton Rhodes Resort.

We are very pleased to read that overall you enjoyed the hotel facities and found great comfort in our guest rooms. We take pride in knowing that our hotel covers the needs of both family and business travellers.

We thank you for your constructive suggestions which we naturally take into consideration in our constant endeavours to deliver total satisfaction to all our guests.

Sincerely,

Igor Buercher
General Manager
(igor.buercher@sheraton.com)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rhodes Town
0.7 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,939 reviews
0.2 mi away
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
#12 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,244 reviews
3.9 mi away
Elysium Resort & Spa
Elysium Resort & Spa
#1 of 20 in Kallithea
1,744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37.9 mi away
Atrium Prestige Thalasso Spa Resort and Villas
4 mi away
Rodos Palladium
Rodos Palladium
#3 of 20 in Kallithea
1,531 reviews
0.2 mi away
Amathus Elite Suites
Amathus Elite Suites
#4 of 126 in Rhodes Town
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Rhodes Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Rhodes Resort

Address: Ialyssos Avenue, Rhodes Town 85100, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Rhodes Town
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Rhodes Town
#8 Family Hotel in Rhodes Town
#11 Luxury Hotel in Rhodes Town
#16 Romantic Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range: £106 - £280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Rhodes Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 401
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the island of Rhodes, only a few kilometres from the historic town of Rhodes, Sheraton Rhodes Resort offering global travelers, families and honeymooners alike the best of resort amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Rhodes Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Rhodes Hotel Ixia
Hotel Imperial Rhodes
Sheraton Rhodes Resort Rhodes Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing