We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its ok, but not as expected, not 5*”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
Ranked #13 of 126 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2011

We had a room on the fourth floor, with a sea view (we payed extra with thomas cook for this!)
The main parts of the hotel are much better than some of the rooms. The carpet on our corridor was faded and stained in parts.

The room:- itself was much like any other hotel room, although I would definately not say it was 5* the furniture was run of the mill, It had no trouser press or ironing facilities, the coffee and tea were only replaced infrequently, the beach towels were repalced infrequently, as for the robes and slippers provided, my husband has a 38 waist and size 9 feet, he could not fasten the robe nor get his feet in the slippers. The room cleaning is of just an acceptible level, with fingerprints on the glass balcony partiion when we arrived, and they were still there when we left, a faulty sink in the bathroom meant that the water ran straight out, and despite reporting this twice it was still not repaired when we left.

The lifts are NOT air conditioned. Or it was not working.

Drinks in the hotel are expensive, a gin and tonic and a whisky and water cost 22 euros, and a bottle of wine 23 euros.If the hotel reduced their prices maybe more people would use their bars.
The bars were not suprisingly, often more than half empty.

Restaurant:- After staying there for two weeks, I came home 5 pounds lighter, so maybe it does have some good points, in the first week breakfast was good and dinner was also good the food was fine, by the second week I was wishing we had only gone bed and breakfast, the food at dinner time was not as nice and often I ended up with just meat or just potatoes, there was a shortage of vegetables, although salad was always on offer, much as I like salad, not twice a day everyday. The food was very boring and repetative.

The staff:- In the restaurant were excellent, the waiters were nice and friendly and efficient, and the captain was lovely and very hard working. We would like to thank them all for looking after us so well during meal times.

Reception staff were inconsistant, at the end of the holiday we along with other people wanted to keep our room on as we had a late night flight, we were told on the day before we left that this was not possible. OK BUT we asked about the use of a courtesy room, we were told that they would not know if they had one available until the afternoon on the day we were leaving, this caused so much stress, we did not know if we could go and shower before dinner or not, one reception person told me I could use the showers on the first floor, in the toilets near the pool, which often smelled very badly, as you can imagine this not knowing if we could use a courtesy room until the late afternoon, after 5pm on the day we were leaving caused great upset, and the receptionist couldnt care less attitude was certainly not the customer services of a 5 star hotel, in fact they acted like the landladies from hell.

All in all we enjoyed our holiday, we spent lots of time on the man made beach, which is on the other side of the main road, although it is accesible through the underpass.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katzka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonRhodesResort, General Manager at Sheraton Rhodes Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2011

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for the time you have taken to post your comments on TripAdvisor following your recent stay at the Sheraton Rhodes Resort.

We were delighted to note that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. It is the goal of our team here at The Sheraton Rhodes Resort that our guests feel as comfortable as possible, so that their stay will be as pleasant and enjoyable as it can be, which might give us the chance to establish a long-lasting relationship.

We very much appreciate reading your comments, as it is only by receiving such information from valued Guests, such as yourself, that we are better able to see where we stand in certain areas, and what improvements we can make to further satisfy any requirements that you may have.

We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel on another future occasion.

Yours sincerely,


Executive Office
Sheraton Rhodes Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,799)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,058 - 1,064 of 1,799 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2011

We just returned from a 8 night stay. Overall would say it looks 5 star, but several points let it down.

Upon arrival, found the lobby to be beautiful (huge), check in was smooth. We were booked into a large family room (heaps of space), with a very modern ambiance - believe the hotel has just been updated.

As we arrived around 10pm, only room service or the Chinese restaurant was open, so our choice was limited. We waited for nearly 1 1/2 hours to be served our main course (3 dishes only!) and given the time and the fact that we were with 2 kids this was really poor. We had to repeatedly ask when our meal would be served - there were only 2 other tables occupied so it was not at all busy. When it finally arrived we were disappointed by how bad it was - the noodles (18 euros) were like Pot noodle! The bill came to 91 euros (1 starter, 2 main, 1 side and 2 drinks and 2 soft drinks), which we found excessive for the small amount we ate. Do not recommend at all!

Overall, we really enjoyed our stay
- service was generally very good (although very understaffed and the poor staff who are at work rush around like crazy trying to help).
- food, apart from the chinese, was good & tasty (although very expensive, but guess you get that in 5 stars).
- good location - shops, restaurants within 5 to 10 mins walk, so you are not forced to eat in the hotel each night. 10 euros to get into Rhodes, plenty of cabs around. highly recommend Le Gourment Taverna and villa di Mare in Ixia - both 5 to 7 mins walk from the hotel)
- 3 nice pools.


Annoying things
- towels for the pool and beach are left in your room, and you are expected to carry down with you each day - 4 huge towels when you are a family. The point of this is really lost on us - most hotels keep them by the pool! Most days housekeeping forgot to give us these towels, and the small supply at the pool which runs out by 9.30am, meant we had to walk around the hotel trying to find towels, which is frankly ridiculous in a 5 star hotel. Also as peak season kicks in, there is going to be a real shortage of sun beds - nothing available after 9.30!

- very slow service in the restaurants (including the snack bar, where we waited 1 hour to get 2 main meals (one of which was a sandwich), even though there was no one else eating there.

- kids club is very limited in size and the kids are free to leave when they like; this meant we had to stay with them as did not at all feel secure that they would be kept in. also it is only 2 hours in the morning, and 2 hours in the evening. Kids disco in the evening is good fun for the kids though.

-the lift system - you have to get in one lift to get to reception, and then into another one that takes you to the ground level (where the beach, pools, shops, restuarants are). so you end up shuffling between 2 lifts 3 or 4 times a day, which with kids can get rather irritating.

Overall, would say it is a nice hotel and would recommend it, but be prepared for a few annoying bits.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shsh7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonRhodesResort, General Manager at Sheraton Rhodes Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2011

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for the time you have taken to post your comments on TripAdvisor following your recent stay here at the Sheraton Rhodes Resort.

We were truly sorry to hear that we failed to meet your expectations during your visit and please accept our apologies that you there has been a lapse in our usually high standard of services. Although the Asian Imperial restaurant normally has very favourable ratings and is our most popular A-la-Carte restaurant, the Chef and his team have looked into the matter to determine what could have gone wrong on the occasion of your visit. Thank you for your valued feedback which will assist us in improving our product and service in our constant efforts to offer a high standard of service to our guests.

On a lighter note, we were very pleased that you enjoyed the spaciousness and ambience of your room, that you found the food overall satisfactory and that you had an enjoyable stay.

Once again, we thank you for your feedback and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Sheraton Rhodes Resort.

Yours sincerely,

Executive Office
Sheraton Rhodes Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2011

The best thing about Sheraton (former Hilton), is the view it offers to the shore of Turkey / Aegean Sea and its nice garden with swimming pools, and that is relatively close to Rhodes City.

The staff - can be characterized in general in 3 words friendly, helpful, and polite. There are sadly some exceptions, one can be found at the reception office.

The rooms - The room was our biggest disappointment upon arrival. The furniture (closets and doors) and corridor carpets are so, so old and some damaged that you simply forget you are in a 5 star hotel.
Before we have settled on our room we've seen 3 others. The smell in some of them was as if they haven't opened the windows in months.
The cleanliness level is acceptable.
As a general advice one must definitely get a room with a sea view, or you can risk to be left with "a wall" view room (one of the rooms had a wall for a view).

The food - is good and the they really try to vary it - not true 5 star quality but very close.

The pools - are nice but they tend to get overcrowded, and you can find yourself without any place to sit.
An alternative is the hotel's blue flag rocky beach - must were shoes.

Overall the hotel is ok, but could be a lot better as there are quite a few things to be improved, at the moment looks and feels a bit aged and not 5 star.

Room Tip: A sea view room is an absolute must, the best are in upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AndSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonRhodesResort, General Manager at Sheraton Rhodes Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2011

Dear Valued Guest,

We thank you for the time you have taken to post your comments on TripAdvisor following your recent stay here, at the Sheraton Rhodes Resort.

With regard to your comments concerning the rooms and carpeting, we wish to advise that over the last 3 years extensive refurbishment has been made at this hotel and only during the last winter season, all 401 guest rooms were refurbished with new furniture, murals, TV sets, light fixtures, linen, etc. We do hope that we will be able to continue with the refurbishment programme over the next two seasons.

We were pleased to read that you enjoyed the hotel facilities, food, and service generally. Thank you very much for pointing out the 3 great attributes of our staff who try so very hard to deliver the best and highest level of service to all our guests.

We do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Sheraton Rhodes Resort in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,

Executive Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2011

I was slightly anxious to read, after booking this hotel,
there were a couple of not so great reviews, but after 14 nights here, I really need to reflect a previous reviewer who questioned how anyone could have a problem with this hotel!
We got back on Sunday morning and had a really fantastic time. The hotel had everything we needed for a relaxing 2 weeks in the sun.The hotel, grounds and beach are beautiful.
The bedroom was clean, modern and had plenty of room for 3 of us.The beds are amazingly comfortable. We had a great view of the sea from the 9th floor ( weird design meant we couldn't see the pools because of the roof of the balcony below), but that didn't impede our enjoyment.
The pool areas and the beach were fantastic, and the hotel is within easy access of Rhodes.
The food was brilliant, and yes a little more expensive than perhaps it needed to be.
Demetrius and Zafiris at the pool bar deserve a special mention for their helpfulness and going the extra mile top make sure our needs were met, however all the staff, from the housekeepers to the reception staff were exceptional.
There are plenty of places to eat locally, albiet touristy, with photographed menus, but thanks to Trip Advisor we spent several nights at Le gourment, where the food and service were truly exceptional. (See separate review). The access to Rhodes tho negates this.
We really valued the free use of a room to shower and change before leaving for the airport, but just a note to the management - if you are going to offer this facility, PLEASE, try to ensure its cleaned and fresh towels provided before the next guests use it. In the haste to get us in there we arrived to find a pool of wet towels in the bathroom and very few fresh to use ourselves. A real shame.
I could go on, but if you are looking for a peacful, relaxing break in the sun then you can't go wrong here.
Just one other ( small) thing. My daughter and I brought our laptops and signed up for unlimited access to the internet in our room - only one of us could use it at a time. We were told this is just the way it is! This is just the way it shouldn't be. Try sharing the internet with a teenager!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank cityssliker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonRhodesResort, General Manager at Sheraton Rhodes Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2011

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for the time you have taken to post your comments on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us here at the Sheraton Rhodes Resort.

It is always pleasing and rewarding to receive such positive feedback and we thank you for highlighting all the positive points about our hotel's facilities, rooms, food and surrounding areas.

We especially thank you for making special mention of our staff, and in particular, Demetrius and Zafiris. All our staff work very hard to deliver total satisfaction to all our guests and your comments will be much appreciated by them.

We hope your plans will bring you back to Rhodes and to the Sheraton Rhodes Resort in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,

Executive Office.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2011

We have just come back from a 9 night stay at the Sheraton Ixia and enjoyed every minute. The airport is around 20 minutes away. I would recommend booking with Thomas Cook Style as you are entitled to a taxi transfer as part of the package.

The rooms are spacious and I would recommend a room with a sea view.
English channels are limited to your general news channels however there is a german chanel that shows movies. MTV Greece is also available.The bathroom is small however very clean.

Reception speak very good english - all my requests were met within 10 minutes (broken lock on pation doors and requests for wine glasses).

The three pools are bvery clean and we had no problem getting a bed in the morning. The pool on the 6th floor is very quiet compared to the pools located on the 1st floor. The pool bars are also very nice however slightly expensive 5EUROS for an orange juice. Happy hour is 5-7pm which is much more in keeping with local area prices.

The food at breakfast and dinner is very good. Pancakes/cooked breakfast or fruit at breakfast with complimentary orange juice. Evening - vareity of greek dishes and pasta was on offer almost every night. Greek night is a must with the best Gyros on the island!!

The Asian Imperial restaurant is out of this world. Average price for a couple was 70 EUROs whereby if your HB then you can get 10EUROs off per person (this was availble from reception).

The restaurant by the pool was less than satisfactory. The chips were poorly cooked and I think the chef was trying too hard to be different. I would avoid going here for an evening meal.


Overall we loved the Sheraton Ixia and will definately be returning some point in the future.

Room Tip: 402 had the most amazing view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gemma0603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonRhodesResort, General Manager at Sheraton Rhodes Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2011

Dear Valued Guest,

We thank you for the time you have taken to post such a favourable review about the Sheraton Rhodes Resort, following your recent stay with us.

It is most rewarding to read the positive feedback from you about every area of the hotel. We are extremely pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

With reference to your experience at the poolside restaurant, Mediterraneo, may we apologize that on the one occasion you visited, you had an unpleasant memory at this restaurant. We have received many very favourable comments about the Mediterraneo, and we assure you that the Chef has been informed of this lapse in our usually high level of standards.

Thank you once again for your constructive feedback which is invaluable to us in our constant efforts to deliver the best possible service and hospitality.

Sincerely,


Executive Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2011

Stayed here just one night - not long enough to really take advantage of everything this place has to offer. Just walking around you can tell this is a full-service resort, with beach access, a great pool, live entertainment, dance classes, table tennis tournaments, etc. The service was good, and the staff was friendly enough.

The room was a good size and typical Sheraton quality - extremely clean & modern, nice shower/bath, and very comfortable bed.

I did NOT like the chinese restaurant in the hotel - I paid 12 euros for basically a huge portion of ramen noodles in a fancy bowl that tasted ok but I had the same thing for 35 cents in college. My colleagues had other sub-par meals there...In conclusion, the location is good for the hanging out at the beach but I'd go to the old town for dinner.

The beach was very nice & clean, and the sheraton lounge chairs were comfortable.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emandj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonRhodesResort, General Manager at Sheraton Rhodes Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2011

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for the time you have taken to post your comments on TripAdvisor following your brief stay at the Sheraton Rhodes Resort.

We appreciate how many good things of our hotel you noticed in such a short time and we really do hope you will manage to stay with us for your next holiday, and allow us to extend our warm, Greek friendly hospitality to you.

Sincerely,


Executive Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2011

I stayed here for a week, for a conference and then a couple of days holiday. The business facilities were fine but the need to pay for wireless internet access is rather annoying. It is availale in all rooms and should be available on a complimentary basis, perhaps with a download limit if the connection is a slow one.

My major gripe with the place was about the breakfasts. Because of the conference, I ate early and so the room was usually quiet. However, the staff were very slow to acknowledge my presence and getting coffee from them was always an irritatingly slow procedure. When it arrived, the coffee was not the best and the only fruit juice on offer was a poor reconstituted variety. Evening meals were quite different, and the staff were more helpful and efficient. This might have been linked to the need to pay for drinks at this meal, though! Food quality was at a reasonable level and there was very good variety. Drinks are not cheap but not outrageously expensive.

However, when the sun sets (or rises) over the Turkish coastline, the view is magnificent and pretty much makes up for everything else. Not all rooms have a great view (mine, second floor, faced the coast but had a restricted view), so the higher floors might be better. The first floor rooms have small kitchen areas and are very handy for the lower pools.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pete M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonRhodesResort, General Manager at Sheraton Rhodes Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2011

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor following your recent stay at the Sheraton Rhodes Resort.

We are pleased to know that you found our rooms comfortable and that you loved the ocean view. We also very much appreciate your mention of our conscientious staff who try their best to deliver the finest Greek hospitality to all our guests.

We apologize that you have found a lapse in our usually high level of service at the breakfast meal. I assure you that the Department Heads concerned are implementing closer supervision so that there is no recurrence of delayed service. We thank you for your constructive comments and recommendations which are invaluable to us in our constant efforts to deliver total guest satisfaction.

We hope you will visit us again and allow us to extend our warm and friendly hospitality to you and your family.

Sincerely,

Executive Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rhodes Town
0.7 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,939 reviews
0.2 mi away
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
#12 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,244 reviews
3.9 mi away
Elysium Resort & Spa
Elysium Resort & Spa
#1 of 20 in Kallithea
1,744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37.9 mi away
Atrium Prestige Thalasso Spa Resort and Villas
4 mi away
Rodos Palladium
Rodos Palladium
#3 of 20 in Kallithea
1,531 reviews
0.2 mi away
Amathus Elite Suites
Amathus Elite Suites
#4 of 126 in Rhodes Town
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Rhodes Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Rhodes Resort

Address: Ialyssos Avenue, Rhodes Town 85100, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Rhodes Town
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Rhodes Town
#8 Family Hotel in Rhodes Town
#12 Luxury Hotel in Rhodes Town
#16 Romantic Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range: £105 - £273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Rhodes Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 401
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the island of Rhodes, only a few kilometres from the historic town of Rhodes, Sheraton Rhodes Resort offering global travelers, families and honeymooners alike the best of resort amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, TravelUp, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sheraton Rhodes Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Rhodes Hotel Ixia
Hotel Imperial Rhodes
Sheraton Rhodes Resort Rhodes Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing