We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, beach not as much, prices not at all”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
Ranked #14 of 126 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Overall great stay at this hotel. Pleasant, peaceful and elegant. Good food, spacious rooms, attentive staff and large pools. Minutes from Rhodes city.
On the cons side:
1. Free internet only in small area of the lobby. Internet is limited to 45 minutes each 30 minutes. Only one connection is allowed and therefore, family members can not simultaneously use the free service. We are in 2013. This feels like 100 years ago
2. Breakfast is until 10:30. This means that guests can enter the dining area until 10:30. However, the staff starts picking up all the food right on 10:30. This does not make sense. Food has to be available at least until 11:00 for those entering at 10:30
3. Dinner does not include beverage. This means you have to purchase it. No tap water is available. Only bottled mineral water for the astronomic price of EUR 3.50. Just for comparison, a 6 pack 1 litter mineral water costs EUR 2.40. This to me is outrages. The hotel can not force people to purchase water for this price. It is basic in any restaurant to offer tap water for free

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Moshe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,791)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

822 - 828 of 1,791 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2013

This hotel is overpriced and not a 'real' five star! Rooms are not that big and the facilities are average at best. I didn't like the location as it was far from the old centre of Rhodes so getting a taxi everywhere proved expensive. The breakfast buffet is amazing though!

Room Tip: Rent a car
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theodoros F, General Manager at Sheraton Rhodes Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for the time you have taken to post your feedback on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us at the Sheraton Rhodes Resort.

We are glad that you found our breakfast buffet to your complete satisfaction.

The Hotel is in Ixia which is the touristic area nearer to the center of Rhodes. All other resort areas are much further away. Near the town you can only find city Hotels and public beaches.

We look forward to another future opportunity of welcoming you back to the Sheraton Rhodes Resort.

Yours sincerely,

Theodoros Frangos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

It is the first time we've been to Rhodes, Greece.. we came for the weekend (3 nights). The hotel is very very clean and the service every place you go is realy good. Realy make you feel like home. The pools are clean and with enough room for everybody. The food is great also and waiters are very nice and welcoming... 20 minutes from the airport and 15 minutes from the center. Also you got verynice resturants near by the hotel for lunch and even couple of car rent... Enjoy friends!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ami_Chen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theodoros F, General Manager at Sheraton Rhodes Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to send us your wonderful comments following your recent stay with us at the Sheraton Rhodes Resort.

We are glad that overall you enjoyed all the aspects of our hospitality and especially proud you found our staff very nice and welcoming. It is great to read such positive comments when all our efforts are focused on providing a memorable experience to our guests.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to the Sheraton Rhodes Resort in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Theodoros Frangos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Do not be taken in by the Brand name Sheraton this hotel lets the name down badly. I would say just think of Fur Coat No Dr**s as a quote. The lobby and public areas are very nice and welcoming, but step in the lift to be greeted by hospital like corridors bare walls no accessories and badly stained carpets. Rooms well maintained but not luxury by any means just as all other standard hotel rooms but much more expensive. Food is abysmal very little choice cheapest cuts of meat, if you are vegetarian think twice as you will starve!! Don't bother using the other restaurant as that is no better and you will pay much more
The food is far better in the local taverns for choice and cost. It was mentioned to staff at the hotel but nothing changed very disappointed as Greece is usually high on our good for food holiday places. No entertainment a piano there for show but "Do Not Touch!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tash061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theodoros F, General Manager at Sheraton Rhodes Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at the Sheraton Rhodes Resort.

We are glad you found our lobby and public areas to your satisfaction.

Concerning your negative comments we regret the inconvenience you experienced and first and foremost wish to apologize for failing to meet your expectations on the occasion of this visit.

With regard to your reference about vegetarian meals kindly note that our Executive Chef is always more than delighted to assist with special meal requirements. You are right that we do not have a pianist but we do offer entertainment four times a week with different shows.

We hope to be given the opportunity to welcome you back to the Sheraton Rhodes Resort and show that we can offer you a memorable experience.

Yours sincerely,

Theodoros Frangos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We enjoyed our stay here. It is a large hotel but because of the way it is designed on different levels we did not feel over whelmed by a large number of other guests. Our room was very clean with a balcony and sea view. Bath robes and slippers are provided. We found all staff to be extremely helpful and there was a good range of food at the breakfast buffet. The pool areas were very attractive helped by the fact that the hotel provides beach towels to give a more sophisticated feel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Although the hotel is much larger than we normally select, because this was a last minute 7 day break, we decided to go based upon Trip Advisor Existing Comments and the Sheraton Reputation, having stayed in other Sheratons around the world.
Room selected was a Deluxe Sea View Room with a Balcony and we were allocated a room on the 12th floor and had no reason to change rooms, which we often do when rooms do not meet the provided description or our expectations.
As we arrived late at night and missed dinner, the Dining Room Staff did provide us with some delicious Pea Soup and some Bread rolls, despite the fact that they had virtually cleared the Buffet Tables.
Breakfast the following morning, was therefore the first full meal we had and we were not disappointed, except for having to queue to be allocated a table.
We ate in the Main Dining Room that evening for the Buffet Dinner. Although the food was interesting and varied, it was predominantly cold by the time one was back at the table to eat it.
We discussed our disappointment with Alex Mousios, Director and Food & Beverage and he invited us to eat at the a la carte restaurant instead.
The food was beautifully prepared, excellently presented and (because it was hot) tasted just delicious.
If you are travelling as a couple, the Reception Staff advise you to stay around the second swimming pool on the 6th floor during the day as it is a much quieter environment.
The Main pool is surrounded by beautiful gardens but also is frequented by many many families with the expected noise. We were so pleased to have received the advice about where to sit.
We also had a late flight out and Alex arranged for us to have a late check out so we might fully enjoy the last day to its full extent.
Our holiday was quite frankly just what we needed .......... a restful few days in the sun with a comfortable room, sunshine, staff who were always pleasant and a very caring Director in Alex, who helped to make our break special.

Only downside is the Internet Availability ........... one could get 45 minutes free in the lobby area and then re-login after a further 30 minutes.
We (and many other guests) felt there should be free wifi throughout the hotel 24/7 .... all the local restaurants, cafes & bars offer free wifi 24/7, so not to have this facility in a 5* Hotel is, quite frankly a nonsense and an inconvenience to the cusomers.
Overall, the hotel is to be recommended.

Room Tip: Either Deluxe Room with Sea View on 12th Floor or Junior Suite with Sea View on 5th Floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rpjmLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

When planning our summer vacations we had a lot of question marks regarding the destination, the period, the hotel, the activities etc.
After 12 days at the Sheraton Rhodes all these worries have vanished and we have only best memories and the satisfaction of a wonderful holiday. Everything was just perfect, from the elegant room with such a beautiful sea view until the genuine friendliness of the well trained staff.
We enjoyed our vacation very much and for this reason we shall always recommend Sheraton Rhodes as a hotel where anyone can really have the time of his life

Room Tip: Great sea view from top floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank andreifrimescu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theodoros F, General Manager at Sheraton Rhodes Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

We really appreciate the fact that you took the time to post your kind review on TripAdvisor after your recent stay at the Sheraton Rhodes Resort

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our property exceeding your standards. We are also pleased to receive your positive review about our associates’ friendliness. Your comments have been shared with our personnel as everyone works hard to provide a professional and efficient service.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sheraton Rhodes Resort and ensuring you have an even more memorable stay with us .


Yours sincerely,

Theodoros Frangos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rhodes Town
0.7 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,933 reviews
0.2 mi away
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
#12 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,243 reviews
2.3 mi away
Rodos Park Suites & Spa
Rodos Park Suites & Spa
#6 of 126 in Rhodes Town
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37.9 mi away
Atrium Prestige Thalasso Spa Resort and Villas
0.3 mi away
Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center
0.2 mi away
Amathus Elite Suites
Amathus Elite Suites
#4 of 126 in Rhodes Town
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Rhodes Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Rhodes Resort

Address: Ialyssos Avenue, Rhodes Town 85100, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Rhodes Town
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Rhodes Town
#8 Family Hotel in Rhodes Town
#13 Luxury Hotel in Rhodes Town
#16 Romantic Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range: £77 - £264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Rhodes Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 401
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the island of Rhodes, only a few kilometres from the historic town of Rhodes, Sheraton Rhodes Resort offering global travelers, families and honeymooners alike the best of resort amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, TravelUp, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), LateRooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Rhodes Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Rhodes Hotel Ixia
Hotel Imperial Rhodes
Sheraton Rhodes Resort Rhodes Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing