We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, Reception and Cleaning let it down slightly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
Ranked #14 of 126 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great hotel, Reception and Cleaning let it down slightly”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

My 2nd visit to this hotel since it changed from Hilton. Again, it remains a great hotel - very quick and easy transfer from airport, easy access to Rhodes town. Quality in the room is great, however sometimes cleaning can be inconsistent (very delayed, 4pm onwards) before room is cleaned, sometimes only 1 towel for 2 is left, sometimes not a proper clean of bathroom and flooring). Public areas like bar, restaurant, outdoor pools, private beach all fantastic. The staff at the bars and restaurant are fantastic, very helpful, very friendly, genuine, I really can't fault. My only real gripe is with reception staff - unfriendly, inconsistent information provided, genuinely unhelpful (sorry). No provision of where entertainment (at pool bar) is provided, we were given a 10 Euro voucher due to our late checkin for missing that days dinner, told to use it for lunch the next day, but on last day when we have late departure, need to pay for the same dinner at 25 euro and have to pay 90 euro to have late checkout. Inconsistent messages from the staff on different days. I've stayed at many luxury hotels, both work and pleasure, and have to say cleaning and reception bring it down to 4 star hotel in my opinion. Starwood, please show some consideration to airline arrivals/timing and how it impacts checkin/checkout, its a horrible unfriendly position you take today. Fix this, I would come back given all the positives this hotel has. PS. The sunset views are amazing!

Room Tip: levels 3 to 5 are best, only need to use 1 set of lifts. levels 1 and 2 give no sea view. higher flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CGHAMIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkosTzamalis, General Manager at Sheraton Rhodes Resort, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to send us your review following your recent stay with us.

I have to admit that I am surprised about our associates’ service as we receive very positive and warm reviews from our guests. I am really sorry for the negative experience you had in our property and I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you have experienced.

I would like to assure you that we have taken your comments very seriously and we will certainly work on improving the areas where you experienced a shortfall during your stay.

I hope that you will actually give us the opportunity to welcome you back to our resort in the near future, for amazing moments to be shared.

Yours sincerely,

Markos E. Tzamalis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,682 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    873
    543
    174
    58
    34
See reviews for
550
736
33
79
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (407)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 June 2014

The rooms were quite clean. I had a patio. Beautiful grounds. The staff was cheerful, friendly and helpful. It takes a little getting used to having reception on the 7th floor and rooms below and above reception, but the hotel is on a hill. I've traveled to more than 50 countries and stayed at some really nice hotels. While it isn't the fanciest I have stayed in, it is every bit as delightful as any other hotel. The rooms are clean, the hotel is clean, and I'd stay there again.

Room Tip: There ones higher up might be desirable. I had a mosquito in the room one night and higher rooms wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank randyabr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoedspruit, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Thank you Starwood! What an amazing hotel! Quite large, but not as large as some resorts in Turkey. It has a private pool for couples (which unfortunately is right by the main restaurant and the bar) and also a separate pool for kids. The private pool is on the 6th floor of the lower building. The main pool, which is quite large and spacious enough, is really great as well - featuring different depths as well. The service from the pool bar is excellent and the animation is VERY soft - you wouldn't even know if they were there :) Good 24hr gym, different room types. Even the forest view rooms are really nice - it's just the view to the forest/woods behind the hotel.
We had a spectacular Deluxe Room with magnificent seaview on the 10th floor - HIGHLY recommendable for every client. The beds - what shall I say - it's Sheratorn/Sherwood - couldn't have been any better than that! A dream to sleep on! The balcony was spacious with 2 chairs - on the Junior Suite they would have even provided Sunbeds! The view onto the ocean is really worth it all.
There are multiple water sport possibilities.
If you want to head out to bars, check out Rhodos City, the old town - by taxi it's about 10minutes, depending on the traffic, and shouldn't cost you more than 8EUR. It was really great to just walk through it, check out the port etc.
There are plentiful bars, restaurants, tavernas etc...
Speaking of food - the restaurant at the Sheraton is great - the food is seriously good. If you want to grab breakfast at around 9.30 - be patient, there might be a line for people to be seated. Dinner buffet is really worth it as well, with local as well as international cuisine being presented in a very lovely way.
If you're there for business, the standard starwood internet policy applies,.
If you're there on honeymoon - enjoy the calmness and privacy of a junior suite or suite on the 10th floor and up.
If you're there with friends - have fun - bars/clubs/restaurants - it's all there :)
If you're there on your own - you will still find something to do.
Just a perfect experience.
thanks again.

Room Tip: Deluxe Rooms, at least on the 10th floor, make it around 1065 - that's where the good views star...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WildChild808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Quality of services, kind personnel. Location quiet with private beach as well, very good since it's only 5 min far from Rhodes center and half an hour from the Diagoras airport. I really loved its modern, elegant architecture. Especially the 6th floor where the bar/restaurant and one of the swimming pools are located offer a nice view to the sea and of sunset too. At the same floor, morings and breakfast seem perfect. Kids and adults both have many activities to participate. Recommended strongly.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lena L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

nice overall , good location, excellent service. Rather huge resort, but it seems that many people prefer it this way! The beach was not the best on the island, and the sea was a bit wavy, but it is near the city with lots of busses and easy access to everywhere.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lord G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We had 2 weeks at this hotel arriving home at the end of May. I agree with other comments the staff,especially the animation team were excellent. Our deluxe room on the 11th floor was exactly what we had expected from a 5 star hotel. The outside facilities were excellent and very well maintained. Unfortunately there was no entertainment in the evenings which was something we had expected.
The downside to the hotel was the food - precooked and then reheated so was consistently
overcooked, very small portions of meat and fish and vegetables soggy and all not very hot.Other people as well did complain to management, one couple describing it as bad canteen food.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 123Reg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkosTzamalis, General Manager at Sheraton Rhodes Resort, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for posting feedback of your recent experience with us on Tripadvisor.

We are happy for your pleasant stay with us and that you found our personnel as well as our facilities to your complete satisfaction.

However, we were surprised with your comments about the food, which most of our visitors highly recommend. We have taken your remarks into serious consideration and our Food & Beverage department will proceed with all necessary actions.

We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again to our premises for you to enjoy the live-music nights at the Sheraton Rhodes Resort , that started at the beginning of June.

Yours sincerely,

Markos E. Tzamalis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Not the prettiest of hotels from the outside by any means but lovely inside and grounds. I was there on business (conference) and found all the staff I encountered extremely friendly and helpful. Food was excellent overall. Numerous pools, tennis courts, good gym but come on guys, €8 Euros to use the Sauna is bit extreme ? Apparently that is for the whole day but like most people, I would only go once in a day. Decent shops on site which were surprisingly reasonable price wise as well. Also had an on site Tailor ! A bit of a jaunt to the main town but a couple of "sell everything" shops within easy walk. Room was clean, spacious and well furnished. Surprised with this standard of hotel there was no iron/board in rooms but not the end of the world :-) Private shingle Beach isn't much to write home about but I'm told the other side of the island has sandy beaches.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkosTzamalis, General Manager at Sheraton Rhodes Resort, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review and very encouraging comments about the personnel at our property.

Αll guests’ suggestions are very much appreciated as we are working constantly in order to improve your future stays in accordance with the Starwood brand standards.

Concerning the iron board, we would be more than happy to assist you, as it is always offered upon request.

We look forward to welcome you again at the Sheraton Rhodes resort, for an even more enjoyable stay.

Yours sincerely,

Markos E. Tzamalis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rhodes Town
0.7 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,736 reviews
0.1 mi away
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
#10 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,111 reviews
3.9 mi away
Elysium Resort & Spa
Elysium Resort & Spa
#1 of 20 in Kallithea
1,621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37.9 mi away
Atrium Prestige Thalasso Spa Resort and Villas
0.3 mi away
Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center
1.1 mi away
Sentido Ixian Grand
Sentido Ixian Grand
#22 of 126 in Rhodes Town
1,489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Rhodes Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Rhodes Resort

Property: Sheraton Rhodes Resort
Address: Ialyssos Avenue, Rhodes Town 85100, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Rhodes Town
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Rhodes Town
#8 Family Hotel in Rhodes Town
#13 Luxury Hotel in Rhodes Town
#16 Romantic Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Rhodes Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 401
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the island of Rhodes, only a few kilometres from the historic town of Rhodes, Sheraton Rhodes Resort offering global travelers, families and honeymooners alike the best of resort amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Bookgreece.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, Starwood EMEA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and Ebookers so you can book your Sheraton Rhodes Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Rhodes Hotel Ixia
Hotel Imperial Rhodes
Sheraton Rhodes Resort Rhodes Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing