We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a nice holiday”
Review of Mitsis Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mitsis Grand Hotel
Ranked #11 of 126 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Reviewed 1 July 2011

I stayed at the Mitsis Grand Hotel last week. In general the hotel ( rooms, pool area, reception etc..) are very clean and one can see the cleaning staff around almost 24 hr/7. Have to admit that the queuing to get a table in the restaurant was a bit annoying. The staff is friendly but there is a lot that could be done to make them even more efficient. Stop giving people one cup of coffee and maybe a second one if they finally catch a waiter - put Thermos' on the tables - during my whole stay I only had real breakfast 2x because of the coffee issue. They are busy cleaning up tables etc... that they don't have time to make "rounds" for coffee. The food ( Breakfast / Dinner) was nice, good choice, but lukewarm. Why did the waiters always insist on having my drink bill paid right away - it could be charged on the room and also leave them more time to do their real duties.
The room I occupied was on the 2nd floor in the main building with a view to the garden, very nice, very clean - towels changed on a daily basis. The only little negative thing about the cleaning is that the carts the ladies use make a lot of noise on the tiled floor so my suggestion would be to change the wheels to rubber instead of plastic.
The sunbeds at the pool area would need replacement as they are partially broken, torn up etc, and not very comfortable. It would also help if the policy from the was that the sunbeds were NOT to be "Reserved" starting 8 AM when people go for breakfast. I personally observed that beds were "booked" but never used once during the day.
In general my stay at Mitsis Grand Hotel was pleasant, thank to the central location, close to the Old Town and that would also be the reason why I would book it again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hiddentalent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MitsisHotels2011, Internet Sales at Mitsis Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2011

Dear valued guest,
thank for posting your review regarding your experience while staying at Mitsis Grand Hotel in Rhodes.
We appreciate your feedback and all your comments have been forward to the relevant departments.
Some things (like paying when in the restaurant, or cups of coffee instead of thermos) are based on the hotel's policy.
As for the pool sunbeds which are reserved: they are not reserved by the hotel but by other guests who throw their towels on the sunbed and then go for breakfast. Unfortunately as many times as we tried to sto this, it keeps going on as some guests do not respect the hotel's operating procedure.

We one again thank you very much and we will be glad to welcome you again.
Best regards,
On behalf of the Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,416)
There are newer reviews for Mitsis Grand Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,317 - 1,323 of 2,416 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2011

Just returned from the grand. We had a great time and enjoyed exploring rhodes. The hotel was spotless throughout, with lovely sea view rooms, getting a bit tired now, chipped enamel in the bath, plugs to light shades held together with tape, ect, but this did not distract from a charming room, overlooking the beach to turkey. There was a big selection of food, although it was always only luke warm, but it didn't bother us, the italian and chinese restaurants were great. the beach outside the hotel was very windy and the sea could be rough, if you turn right out of the hotel and walk to the end of the seafront and turn right, the beach and sea are better there. We never got to experience the pool scene as the sun beds were all taken by 9.00am at both pools. Staff were great and hotel beer prices easily matched the outside bars, even cheaper in a lot of cases, 4.5 euro for half litre of lager. all in all a good experience. would go back

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MitsisHotels2011, Internet Sales at Mitsis Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2011

Dear valued guest,
thank you for taking the time to write your review on your holidays at Mitsis Grand Hotel upon your return back home. We hope you had a safe journey back.
We appreciate your good feedback and we apologize for any inconvenience caused during your stay. As we have explained in previous responses we are in the process of refurbishment which cannot be completed while we are open for summer.
We appreciate your tolerance in some issues which however haven't spoiled your holidays as they are minor fails.
The beach in front of the hotel is considered as one of the most popular beaches for surfing, kite surfing and other water sports relevant to the wind.
However the beach close by - not so windy- is a good alternative. Note: This summer is considerable more windier than any other in the past.

We are looking forward to welcoming you at Mitsis Grand Hotel next summer so you can see for yourself the improvements and compare accordingly.

Best regards,
Stella Tsantila on behalf of the Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2011

Please ignore negative comments about this hotel! My family and I stayed half board for 7 nights here and could have stayed for 7 more. The Grand is spotlessly clean with an army of FRIENDLY staff. Huge buffet choice at breakfast with half a dozen choices of each possible breakfast combination!
The guys who take pictures before the evening meals were nice and not pushy or rude like they were described in another review. If i had to be ridiculously picky and find faults then the evening meal buffet could be a little repetitive so do check out the Italian and Chinese restaurants which allow you to dine whilst looking at the sunset!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Layla_1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MitsisHotels2011, Internet Sales at Mitsis Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2011

Dear valued guest thank you for taking the time to write your own personal review regarding your holidays at Mitsis Grand Hotel in Rhodes. We appreciate your feed back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2011

Just returned from a week at this hotel where my daughter (27) and I had the All Inclusive deal. This is a BIG hotel - 400 rooms in three sections. Three swimming pools. The one in the picture above is at the front and the beach - pebbles - is just beyond it. The other two are at the back; one undercover but with sunbeds all round and the other in an enclosed area with a bar and restaurant on one side. This pool gets very, very busy and the pool at the front is quieter but numbers are controlled by there only being about 50 sunbeds. The beach is very windy which believe me, when it is over 30c, you need it! The whole hotel is airconditioned and beautifully presented. Every meal is buffet-style and for mass catering, the standard is outstanding. The salad bar is kept very fresh and there are so many options, you are spoilt for choice. There are meat and fish dishes that are kept 'warm' but also a fresh meat grill. There must be 50+ different dishes at each meal. We had a great room, overlooking the sea although we didn't pay that rate (we paid for a land view to save). Superb black out curtains, so good in fact that we slept for 12 hours the first two nights!! If I went back, i wouldn't pay for All Inclusive again as the wine is pretty ropey and we couldn't honestly eat 3 meals a day - just too much. I would do dinner, bed and breakfast and buy some food at the local shop for lunch. Wi Fi only in reception.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SC0405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MitsisHotels2011, Internet Sales at Mitsis Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2011

Dear valued guest,
thank you for taking the time to write your review on your return from your holidays at Mitsis Grand Hotel in Rhodes.
We are happy to know that you've had a great time during your stay and we appreciate your comments about the pools or the meal plan one should select (all inclusive or half board or breakfast). The choices are a lot whatsoever at Mitsis Grand Hotel so we can offer many alternatives to every request.

We are looking forward to welcoming you next year and in the meantime have a lovely summer!!
Best regards,
Stella Tsantila on behalf of Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2011

Returned home yesterday after spending a lovely time at the Grand. After reading so many bad reviews we were worried what we were going to find! We arrived to find an impressive hotel on the seafront. Our room which had a seaview was spacious and cleaned every day,
All areas were imaculate, the cleaning staff never seemed to stop!
The dining room was run very well, wonderful choice of food, always fresh and hot.
Plenty of sunbeds by the two pools and garden area. The hotel is situated in a very good location, 10-15 minutes walk to the Old Town which is well worth a visit, especially in the evening (can be very busy in the day) and if you want bars and nightclubs they are just around the corner from the hotel.
Would recomend the Grand to anyone thinking of a visit to Rhodes where they want a central location, good food, and friendly helpful staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a seaview room
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YvonneHereforshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MitsisHotels2011, Internet Sales at Mitsis Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2011

Dear Yvonne Herefoshire,
thank you for your getting to all this trouble to write your review on Mitsis Grand Hotel upon your return from your holidays. We are very glad to know you've spent great holidays in Rhodes while staying at our hotel and thank you for praising our hotel's staff and the effort they put to have everything spotless and in place.
If you ever decide to visit Rhodes again we will be more than happy to welcom you again.

Have a lovely day.
Regards,
Stella Tsantila on behalf of Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2011

We have just returned from a great 10 days stay at this hotel. We stayed in a nice room 581 with a sea view to the front of the hotel (cleaned every day by lovely friendly staff). Good choice of food in the buffet restaurant and you can also choose to dine in the Italian & Chinese so you could rotate your meals (Says you can only use these once per stay but we used them both twice and no issues). Lobby bar is relaxing and good 1/2 price cocktails from 6:30pm - 8pm. Slightly older clientele but your only 2-3 minutes walk around the corner to bars etc .... Boomerang Bar has SKY (if you want to watch any sport) . Buses to Lindos take about 1 hour 15 and cost 10 Euro's return.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view on a high floor!
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlisonBoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MitsisHotels2011, Internet Sales at Mitsis Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2011

Dear valued guest,

thank you for your review.
We are happy to know you've spent some nice holidays at Mitsis Grand Hotel in Rhodes.
We trully hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you again when you return in Rhodes.

Best regards,
Stella Tsantila on behalf of Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2011

Just returned from a week at the Grand Hotel (19/06/2011) and apart from the beds which were uncomfortable I could not fault this hotel. The staff work extremely hard long shifts to provide an excellent service and the hotel is kept spotless. The rooms are cleaned and the towels are changed daily. The variety of food in the restaurant was again excellent as were the staff. There are a total of four swimming pools non of which were over crowded and there was no shortage of sun beds. Pool towels are supplied free of charged but there is a 15 euro deposit per person which is returned at the end of your stay.
So unless you are a serial moaner who complains about the slightest thing do not worry about staying at this hotel as like us you will have an excellent holiday.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank russ500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MitsisHotels2011, Internet Sales at Mitsis Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2011

Dear valued guest,

thank you for your email. We appreciate your kind words and the fact that you recognize the big effort to provide the best possible service.

We are sorry that you were not comfortable enough on the bed. This comment is well noted down and taken into consideration when it's time to renovate and refurbish again.

We are looking forward to welcoming you in Rhodes in the future.
Best regards,
Stella Tsantila on behalf of Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rhodes Town hotels
2.0 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,824 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
#15 of 126 in Rhodes Town
1,734 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mitsis Petit Palais Beach Hotel
Mitsis Petit Palais Beach Hotel
#17 of 126 in Rhodes Town
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
#13 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,177 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rodos Park Suites & Spa
Rodos Park Suites & Spa
#6 of 126 in Rhodes Town
396 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mediterranean
Hotel Mediterranean
#19 of 126 in Rhodes Town
1,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mitsis Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitsis Grand Hotel

Address: Akti Miaouli 1 | Papanikolaou, Rhodes Town 85100, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Rhodes Town
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Rhodes Town
#6 Business Hotel in Rhodes Town
#10 Luxury Hotel in Rhodes Town
#12 Family Hotel in Rhodes Town
#18 Romantic Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range: £66 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mitsis Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel 5* is a member of Mitsis Hotels and is located at Rhodes Town, just few meters from the commercial city center, the Old Town and the port. Grand Hotel consists of 405 rooms and it offers luxury accommodation with view to Aegean Sea or the garden of the hotel. An excellent choice also for winter getaways or for business trips as the hotel operates all year round. The entertainment is an element that you won’t miss at Grand Hotel. The Lobby Bar is a meeting point for both the local community and the hotel’s guests. A cozy and hospitable environment where our guests can enjoy their coffee or drink as the Bar operates until late evening. Hotels’ Facilities: Reception 24hrs with currency exchange service, Concierge, Porters, baggage hold, TV room air conditioned, Cards room air conditioned, High speed internet access point with personal computers, Free Wi-Fi internet in Lobby – Bar area, High speed Wi-Fi internet in all hotel areas at an extra charge, Shopping arcade with mini market, souvenir shop, 6 Lifts in the main building, Guest Parking, free of charge, Daily evening live music entertainment ,Bilingual staff, Car rental office, Motorbike and bicycle rental, 24hrs medical cover. Doctor on call, Florist on call, Laundry service, Baby-sitting on request, at extra charge, Beach & Pool towels against deposit, Food and Beverage Facilities: Main Restaurant ‘’ACANDIA’’, air conditioned, serves Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner, specializing in Greek and international cuisine with extended show cooking, An excellent Italian restaurant offering very delicious Italian dishes, pasta, pizza and meat specialties prepared in front of the clients, without extra charge, reservation at the reception one day before. ASIAN restaurant, top quality from China and South–East Asia, prepared in front of the clients, reservation at the reception one day before. GREEK STYLE RESTAURANT “ELLINADIKO” Discover traditional Greek appetizers! This restaurant is an excellent choice for all day dinning for guests seeking to enrich their meals. MEXICAN this pool side restaurant serves tacos, fajitas and nachos as Well a large selection of other Mexican food. PITTA - BURGERS Taste the traditional pita bread and a great variety of juicy burgers. GELATERIA-CREPERIE Serving crepes sweet or savories and delicious ice-cream. PIZZA OVEN BY THE POOL is the ideal spot to enjoy a delicious pizza between your meals. LOBBY BAR in the entrance of the hotel serves indoors and outdoors, Coffees, refreshments, exotic cocktails etc. Live music, makes the bar very popular. POOL BAR operated on a superb open air terrace, serves coffees, refreshments, exotic cocktails etc. MINI FRIDGE WITH REFRESHMENT CENTER Consist of Mineral bottled water and soft drinks, refilled every second day. TEA and Coffee making facilities in the room. Sport & Leisure Facilities 2 outdoor swimming pools with sea water , Sun terrace & loungers, Indoor pool with fresh water, At the pools, sun beds and umbrellas free of charge, Daily Light Sports animation by the pool. Tennis court and equipment free of charge, Fitness centre, massage services at extra charge. Water sports center near to the hotel (with charge), Scuba diving (with charge), Boat trips (with charge), Games room (with charge), Children’s Facilities, Separate children pool with sea water, Internet and Games corner (with charge), Children’s light animation during the morning and the afternoon. Infants’ Facilities, baby cot, baby high chairs in the restaurant, Special food upon request. Business Services, Conference rooms for 700 and 200 persons respectively, Separate lounges for up to 150 persons for any occasions and events, Superb ballroom for gala dinner, wedding parties, banquets for up 900 persons, Conference equipment, Translate rooms, Telephone and fax services, Photocopy service, Wi-Fi internet access from Conference rooms & lobby area free of charge , Distances Airport 13 Km, Port 2 Km, Rhodes Town 0,5 Km, bicycle path to the city, Beach 10 m, Bus stop in front of the hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Mitsis Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mitsis Grand
Mitsis Grand Rhodes Town
Grand Hotel Rhodes
Rhodes Grand Hotel
Mitsis Grand Hotel Rhodes/Rhodes Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing