We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disaster Holiday Made Good”
Review of Mitsis Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mitsis Grand Hotel
Ranked #7 of 126 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disaster Holiday Made Good”
Reviewed 25 September 2011

Arriving at Rhodes airport at 9pm walking to the transfer bus my wife broke 2 bones in her foot!!! Rhodes Hospital staff were brilliant Two weeks in a wheelchair !!!Needless to say we didnt get far !! Taxi into Rhodes town or left turn into the Bar Street The Hotel staff were very helpfull in the Resturant .Pool Service very good. next time will go all inclusive Food choice very good, Italy nights perfect We were on the 1st floor so lifts and wheel chair had to be carefull Only down side paid for sea view all I could see was the roof over hotel entrance but had enough problems so didnt complain Jet 2 rep Kat was brilliant Will go again (without wheelchair)

Room Tip: High Floor for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cookridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MitsisHotels2011, Internet Sales at Mitsis Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 27 September 2011
Dear valued reviewer,
thank you for taking the time to post your holiday experience on Trip Advisor about our hotel Mitsis Grand Hotel in Rhodes.
We hope your wife has recovered from her accident and you are both well.

We thank you for kind words: after all it's our obligation to offer the best possible service especially when in need of extra care. We totally understand how such an accident can ruin one's holidays, therefore it's our great obligation to make you feel as comfortable as possible and make you forget about your worries.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you in the future again and in the meantime we wish you all the best.

Kind regards from all the Mitsis Grand Hotel Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,152
    618
    248
    121
    61
See reviews for
626
1,026
54
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (512)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

We booked through Thomas Cook who rated this hotel as a 4* whilst the hotel shows 5*s. It definitely is a 4 rating. The hotel itself is nice and clean, two pools to choose from and an excellent location to access the old town, bar street and the beach. All in all we have stayed in a lot worse 4*s than this one. The one downside however - which spoilt the stay - is the dining experience. Why the waiters etc have to sit you so close to people, have tables that are practically on top of each other, and not let you choose your own seating is beyond me. It felt like our party of 2 was constantly dining with about 6 others! Needless to say we 'suffered' the dining for breakfast and lunch given that we were all inclusive, and bought the rest of our main meals at restaurants. The solution is either don't go all inclusive, so you don't waste your money, or hope that the hotel changes their awful seating policy. On the whole the staff were okay, some of them were rude, but it could have been worse. I'd never return whilst the dining area remains the same. On the plus side, out of the hotel and left is an excellent bar - the 'friends' bar - by far the best cocktails and service in the town!

Room Tip: We asked for a sea view and didn't get it, although we didn't push for it. We were on the 4t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmmaLBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MitsisHotels2011, Internet Sales at Mitsis Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 27 September 2011
Dear valued reviewer,
thank you for posting your review from your holiday experience at Mitsis Grand Hotel, Rhodes.

We appreciate your comments and just like all comments they are forwarded to relevant department supervisors and managers.

Regarding the issue with the seating policy, we would like to inform you that it's very a common & familiar procedure, used from almost all hotels in Rhodes. If we leave the sitting to the guest's choice, then the most possible result is to end up having all our guests standing and wating in queues instead of sitting and enjoying lunch or dinner in order to be sitted in specific tables and spots of the restaurant.

However, your comment on this is forwarded to F&B Dept.
We trully thank you for your review and we are looking forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Regards from all the Mitsis Grand Hotel team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chesterfield
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

As the review title suggests i would have given the hotel 5 if their had have been a few improvements.

The hotel is rated as a 5 star, i would say more a 4 star having stopped in many hotels over the years.

We stopped for 1 week half board 14-21 Sept. When we arrived we were upgraded to a suite because we had requested rooms together and this was the only way of doing this. The suite was amazing with 2 bathrooms, 3 bedrooms, 2 huge balconies and a massive jacuzzi big enough for 8 people.

There are 2 pools, 1 at the front of the hotel and 1 at the back. Towels are left on beds early and nothing is done to stop this.

The restaurant is extremely busy and is not very relaxing. Lots of queueing and pushing and shoving at busy times. It does state dinner is from 7:00pm but usually opens at around 6:45. You can also go in the Italian and Chinese restaurants once a week. They are both very nive particularly the Chinese. Makes a change from the hustle and bustle of the restuarant.

Improvements to make this hotel even better:-

Firstly the reception staff are not the most helpful and do not go out of their way to assist.
Restaurant staff need to learn to smile a little more, with the odd exception of course.
Would have liked better quality coffee and juice with breakfast.
Sunbeds are not very comfortable, could do with pads.
Entertainment in the day is zero.
Entertainment at night, very poor.
Lift was not working all 7 days whilst we were there.
Rooms are looking a little tired and could do with refurbishing.

I am sure there are probably a few other things as well but i would highlight the above. It really is not as bad as a lot of people make out on here. It is a good hotel and if you have booked it then please do not worry. We enjoyed our stay and i am sure you will love Rhodes particularlry the Old Town.

Room Tip: Higher floor with a seaview worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulc051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MitsisHotels2011, Internet Sales at Mitsis Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 27 September 2011
Dear valued reviewer,
thank you for taking the time to post your review after your holidays at MItsis Grand Hotel.
We would like to inform you that your reviews and suggestions are extremely helpful and have been forwarded to relevant department supervisors.


We thank you for selecting our hotel for your holidays and we certainly look forward to welcome you in the future again.
Best regards from all the Mitsis Grand Hotel Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 September 2011

my wife and I chose this place for our honeymoon,after reading previous reviews, and seeing lovely pictures in all the brochures. When booking, the only thing we were after was a room with a nice view,to look out over while we reflected on our wedding day,that was it. What followed when we arrived was such a huge dissapointment. Imagine our disgust to open the door to a room which overlooked........... a wall, a paint stripped wall. Im not sure who the "blame" lies with here, whether it would thomas cook who we booked with or the actual hotel itself.

On request, the hotel did move us to a room with a slightly better view overlooking the pool. The room had 2 single beds so was not ideal.

The hotel in general is not what i would expect from a 5* star, it was much closer to a 3*. The rooms, as seen in previous reviews, are very dated and run down. The service was nothing short of unacceptable. Working in the retail trade myself, i know what customer service should be expected and this was not it. We would recieve drinks after we had eaten our meals, and asking for milk to go with coffee is like asking for blood!!! If my wife would ask for anything they would always open the interaction with "what do you want lady?"

The hotel is situated in a good location for shops and bars, which is lucky really as there is only so much you can stand of evening enterainment of an old guy, on his keyboard singing the same songs in the same order every single night!!! I see in previous replies from the hotel state the entertainment is small to encourage people to venture out to see the island, but this for a 5*,really??

A dissapointing holiday overall

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richnmandyevans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MitsisHotels2011, Internet Sales at Mitsis Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 23 September 2011
Dear reviewer,

thank your for taking the time to post your personal experience at Trip Advisor regarding our hotel.
We are sorry that you feel like this about our hotel although we are dedicated to offer the best possible service.
Everyone will agree that sometimes things don't go as expected, but please allow us to say that both our personnel and service offered are generally commented with high ranking, besides a few unfortunate incidents, that can happen from time to time. Since you are in retail business you are well aware of this, that you can't keep everyone happy despite the hard try!

As for the entertainment, we have repeatedly replied that we don't have entertaining programme
at the hotel, due to the fact that the hotel is not a village resort and its concept is not to offer wide variety of entertainment, besides some evenings with live music!

We wish you happy and prosperous life together.
From all the Mitsis Grand Hotel team we wish you a great winter!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

We chose this hotel as mum and dad have been going for 20+ years and thought it would be nice for us to join them for their wedding anniversary. Wishing to take no chances we booked well in advance with Thomas Cook but we couldnt book together as we were going for a week and mum and dad two,sister was going from a different airport. Unfortunately we suffered the same experience as the last reviewer and were told that our room was overbooked at the last minute, everyone else was still OK Dad (as a long standing customer)contacted the hotel directly to explain the importance but was told 'we are full'. We were offered a hotel some distance away and in the middle of nowhere obviously this was of no use to us - we also had to cancel but we were given 5 days notice and were fortunately able to rebook independently at another hotel nearby, so at least we could be close. My sister was able to check in - she booked her room after us but said that as she booked in another couple (also with TC) were being sent to another hotel. This holiday was important to my mum and dad and was almost ruined - I do not understand how this hotel is allowed to get away with this again and again. Also how many people who have booked Rhodes Town, a world heritage site, would be happy to switch to a beach holiday.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisadoeseurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MitsisHotels2011, Internet Sales at Mitsis Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 23 September 2011
Dear Valued reviewer,
first of all allow to express our apologies for this unfortunate incident. However, we do feel obliged to put things in order and avoid receivind similar reviews like yours.
The Tour Operator (who is a long standing and respected partner of ours) seems to have overbooked rooms at our hotel without our confirmation and when they sent us the rooming list consisting of more rooms than originally agreed, we couldn't confirm them as we were full.
We asked them to notify guests and make arrangments for these guests at other hotels, as it was their responsibility.
I wish we had available rooms to accept your bookings.
We find it really unfair and sad to know that we are the ones to blame for this instead of the real blamer, although the issue is not to find someone to blame, here!! But the sad part is that we have to defend ourselves as if it were our fault!
Of course your father who is a repeated guest at our hotel and his family do not deserve such behaviour, but if we could only do otherwise we would certainly accomodate the entire family at our hotel.
We trully hope you understand how the situation is and we trully hope that you'll visit Rhodes again!!!
Thank you for your attention..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2011

We booked our holiday months ago with Thomas Cook for 14to21 September. We received a phone call 14 hours before our 0730 flight from Thomas Cook to say the hotelier had overbooked the hotel. They offered us another hotel without sea view not in Rhodes Town but in a very quiet location. Our only options were to accept the hotel or cancel our holiday! We cancelled because we really wanted to be in the town and felt our holiday had been completely spoiled. I hope to be able to go to Rhodes Town sometime but I wouldn't pick this hotel again. I don't think its acceptable that they can get away with this - they obviously don't care about the customer - and I would like to know how it is decided who gets kicked out of the hotel!!!

Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank KarenR274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StellaTsantila, Internet Sales at Mitsis Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 22 September 2011
Dear reviewer,
We feel obliged to explain some things and put things in order.

First of all: you have reviewed a hotel that you never stayed at and you put us in the difficult situation of having to defend ourselves and the hotel's reputation for something that was not our fault on the first place.
It seems that your Tour Operator overbooked our hotel without having our confirmation. We couldn't possibly accomodate your booking and this is why you were advised to switch to another hotel.

We never came in contact with you, you never spoke to anybody from our hotel, so you don't have any experience of our service, facilities and general property. However, you found it very essential to review our hotel and rate us with the lowest rating possible instead of complaining for the real blamer. And believe me: the real blamer is not Mitsis Grand Hotel. The phone call you received was from your Tour Operator and not from us.

To conclude we find it really inappropriate both for you and Trip Advisor to post such inappropriate reviews that mislead and ruin the hotel's reputation and we will do whatever possible to gain our reputation back via world press and forums or travel blogs.
We hope you do achieve to visit Rhodes in the future as it's a beautiful island to spend your holidays.
Thank you for your attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2011

We were in Rhodes (myself with my husband) for the Easter holiday this year .The hotel is very very big and had a perfect location. We had a wonderful sea view, the rooms are clean but the furniture and the bathroom are pretty old I must say .(at least 20 years..)Also the card which we received to enter the room didn't work properly!
But the food was great ,the staff is very very nice and what I liked the most was the all inclusive bar where a very talented singer named Takis enchanted us every night. !Also the people from this bar were very very nice !!
We had a wonderful holiday and we hope to come back in Rhodes one day !

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StellaTsantila, Internet Sales at Mitsis Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 22 September 2011
Dear valued reviewer,
we thank you for your review and comments. We wouldn't like to tire you by repeating same things again in regards to the maintenance or possible refurnishing needed at the hotel.

The procedure will start within the next months, so we are prepared for a new, challenging summer season 2012.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again next year and in the meantime we wish you all the best.

Kind regards from all the Mitsis Grand Hotel Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rhodes Town hotels
2.0 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,660 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
#13 of 126 in Rhodes Town
1,639 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mitsis Petit Palais
Mitsis Petit Palais
#17 of 126 in Rhodes Town
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
#11 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,058 reviews
2.9 mi away
Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mediterranean
Hotel Mediterranean
#16 of 126 in Rhodes Town
977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mitsis Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitsis Grand Hotel

Property: Mitsis Grand Hotel
Address: Akti Miaouli 1 | Papanikolaou, Rhodes Town 85100, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Rhodes Town
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Rhodes Town
#6 Luxury Hotel in Rhodes Town
#6 Business Hotel in Rhodes Town
#12 Family Hotel in Rhodes Town
#18 Romantic Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Mitsis Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel 5* is a member of Mitsis Hotels and is located at Rhodes Town, just few meters from the commercial city center, the Old Town and the port. Grand Hotel consists of 405 rooms and it offers luxury accommodation with view to Aegean Sea or the garden of the hotel. An excellent choice also for winter getaways or for business trips as the hotel operates all year round. The entertainment is an element that you won’t miss at Grand Hotel. The Lobby Bar is a meeting point for both the local community and the hotel’s guests. A cozy and hospitable environment where our guests can enjoy their coffee or drink as the Bar operates until late evening. Hotels’ Facilities: Reception 24hrs with currency exchange service, Concierge, Porters, baggage hold, TV room air conditioned, Cards room air conditioned, High speed internet access point with personal computers, Free Wi-Fi internet in Lobby – Bar area, High speed Wi-Fi internet in all hotel areas at an extra charge, Shopping arcade with mini market, souvenir shop, 6 Lifts in the main building, Guest Parking, free of charge, Daily evening live music entertainment ,Bilingual staff, Car rental office, Motorbike and bicycle rental, 24hrs medical cover. Doctor on call, Florist on call, Laundry service, Baby-sitting on request, at extra charge, Beach & Pool towels against deposit, Food and Beverage Facilities: Main Restaurant ‘’ACANDIA’’, air conditioned, serves Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner, specializing in Greek and international cuisine with extended show cooking, An excellent Italian restaurant offering very delicious Italian dishes, pasta, pizza and meat specialties prepared in front of the clients, without extra charge, reservation at the reception one day before. ASIAN restaurant, top quality from China and South–East Asia, prepared in front of the clients, reservation at the reception one day before. GREEK STYLE RESTAURANT “ELLINADIKO” Discover traditional Greek appetizers! This restaurant is an excellent choice for all day dinning for guests seeking to enrich their meals. MEXICAN this pool side restaurant serves tacos, fajitas and nachos as Well a large selection of other Mexican food. PITTA - BURGERS Taste the traditional pita bread and a great variety of juicy burgers. GELATERIA-CREPERIE Serving crepes sweet or savories and delicious ice-cream. PIZZA OVEN BY THE POOL is the ideal spot to enjoy a delicious pizza between your meals. LOBBY BAR in the entrance of the hotel serves indoors and outdoors, Coffees, refreshments, exotic cocktails etc. Live music, makes the bar very popular. POOL BAR operated on a superb open air terrace, serves coffees, refreshments, exotic cocktails etc. MINI FRIDGE WITH REFRESHMENT CENTER Consist of Mineral bottled water and soft drinks, refilled every second day. TEA and Coffee making facilities in the room. Sport & Leisure Facilities 2 outdoor swimming pools with sea water , Sun terrace & loungers, Indoor pool with fresh water, At the pools, sun beds and umbrellas free of charge, Daily Light Sports animation by the pool. Tennis court and equipment free of charge, Fitness centre, massage services at extra charge. Water sports center near to the hotel (with charge), Scuba diving (with charge), Boat trips (with charge), Games room (with charge), Children’s Facilities, Separate children pool with sea water, Internet and Games corner (with charge), Children’s light animation during the morning and the afternoon. Infants’ Facilities, baby cot, baby high chairs in the restaurant, Special food upon request. Business Services, Conference rooms for 700 and 200 persons respectively, Separate lounges for up to 150 persons for any occasions and events, Superb ballroom for gala dinner, wedding parties, banquets for up 900 persons, Conference equipment, Translate rooms, Telephone and fax services, Photocopy service, Wi-Fi internet access from Conference rooms & lobby area free of charge , Distances Airport 13 Km, Port 2 Km, Rhodes Town 0,5 Km, bicycle path to the city, Beach 10 m, Bus stop in front of the hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Bookgreece.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mitsis Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mitsis Grand
Mitsis Grand Rhodes Town
Grand Hotel Rhodes
Rhodes Grand Hotel
Mitsis Grand Hotel Rhodes/Rhodes Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing