We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overall Good but lessons to learn and things to change”
Review of Mitsis Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mitsis Grand Hotel
Ranked #7 of 127 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Certificate of Excellence
Saxmundham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Overall Good but lessons to learn and things to change”
Reviewed 3 November 2011

Good Points: Hotel lovely, central, goood rooms/facilities, great food and staff in the main

Bad points: Hard to get a drink at meals (waiter service) very slow, lucky to get a drink before you finish your meal. Need to have self service drinks. I dont want to get drunk but a couple of glasses of wine with a meal would be good.

Cleaning staff are light fingered. DO USE YOUR SAFE. I had money stolen out of a purse in a drawer of clothes, so they obviously go rifling through your stuff, also jewellery missing. Did I report it - NO - because quite simply they would have said it should be in safe. Bit sad when your own staff are thieves.

Two bars - one lovely (paying) and one cafeteria stye outside for the all inclusive. AI drinks are not a patch on the other bar. Watered down and cheap squash, rather than proper Orange Juice. Bar staff lovely though.

Only enterntainement was a chap singing with keyboard for a few evenings - that was it.

Overall a good holiday as long as you want a nice quiet one - good value for money - just look after your things.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank val f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,998 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    997
    585
    237
    118
    61
See reviews for
559
952
43
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (486)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

The hotel:Huge hotel, good facilities, three pools (although a bit cold at first!), nice reception area, and good selection of restaurants/food. All staff really friendly, especially the staff in the all-inclusive bar, the Acandia restaurant and the cleaners. Also fantastic location - close to old town. Everything we could have wanted.
The food/drink: Good choice of food at the buffet restaurant, from salads, to pasta, meat and desserts. Not sure where the other reviews who said no choice of food were staying. Breakfast was great. Staff very friendly. Also a really good idea to have a choice of chinese and italian a la carte restaurants. All inclusive bar had a selection of snacks which was great, as well as good selection of drinks - the lager was excellent, and the San Francisco cocktails were too. Again staff very friendly - specially Panos and Martina.
The room: would have been nice to have a sea/pool view as our room (499) only looked out onto a back street. However, we werent in the room much anyway. Sheets were a little tatty and not keen on the carpet, however the room was clean, tidy and a big room. Bathroom was really nice too.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maria3915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Got a bargain with this one! It's a lovely hotel. Negatives: room view was poor but guess that's why the room was cheap, all inclusive bar too small both inside and outside seating limited, inside pool not warm, have to pay for a not very inviting looking gym! Positives food excellent, 3 lovely pools, great service, lovely decor, great location, all inclusive drinks til 12 with good choice of spirits and good quality of guests! Not sure it's a five star if it is it's a tired 5 star! More amenities would make it a current 5 star, but compared to the 3* we stayed in on Rhodes earlier in the year a veritable 6*! we loved it search out a deal and you won't be disappointed!!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wb1889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2011

We started our holiday at Mitsis Petit Palais in Rhodes Town and after 7 days we were told that the hotel was closing down for the season and that we had to move to Mitsis Grand.

I did not like this hotel as the staff at Petit Palais are brilliant, but the reception staff are rude, ignorant and really bad at the Grand. We had a full day of our holiday ruined waiting to get a room. I then asked for a safe key and was told that I would have to pay, I told them that I already paid for a 2 week safe key at the Petit Palais, they demanded my receipt, which I did not have as I did not know that I was moving hotel, I ended up getting a safe key but only after causing a fuss.

The food was slightly better than the Petit Palais but the staff were really dissappointing. The manager was arrogant and did nothing to help with any problems as he was not interested, and was very ignorant.

We had a room on the floor far too near the lift and right outside the cleanes cupboard, overlooking the pool and entertainment area. We went to Petit Palais for a very quiet and relaxing holiday. We did not get that with the Grand. The music was on until midnight everynight and you could hear it inside the room and you could also here everyone partying until 2 or 3 in the morning and then just as you get to sleep the cleaner arrives at 7am and opens the cleaning cupboard and the noise starts again. Asked for a room change and was told by the receptionist with the dyed blonde long hair that we were lucky to be in a 5 star hotel and no change of room.

The highlight of the hotel was the female cat and her 4 kittens.

This hotel is not a 5 star hotel, the food was around 3-4 star, the staff are 1 star.

The cleaner on the 4th floor though was really really nice, it wasn't her fault that she had to start work so early.

Room Tip: Ask to go the highest level and ask for a room to the front of the hotel if you want to sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jcqdnld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2011

We stayed in this Hotel for 10 days at the begining of October on All Inclusive, it set off badly with a 12 1/2 hour delay and a further 2 hours before our cases came, when we finally got to the hotel at about 3 am and there wasn't even a drink of water offered or any food. We were shown our room which was fine and where we requested as we have stayed in this hotel 4 years before. The standard of food in the restaurant has gone down hill a long way since the last time we stayed, bacon one morning , fried tinned ham the next not what you pay a lot of money for, cheap cheap cereals, diluted jucies, the list was endless. You had no choice of where you wanted to sit you were put where they said, if you wanted a drink with your meals All Inc you had to wait until you were almost finished your meal before it arrived, a saving then you didn't get 2, The all Inc bar was separated from the paying bar, you were not allowed to fill a water bottle with the All inc water you could only have that in plastic cups 2 per guest at a time, great for carrying upstairs, it was also out of the tap, i saw them filling bottles to put on the All inc bar top, the day time staff of the All Inc were very rude (2 ladies with fair hair) ,you were not made feel welcome to have anything, towards the end of our stay there was a lot of arguing and shouting amongst themselves and the staff from the pool bar, one day i could hardly hear to ask for a fizzy water, the shouting was so loud. On the other hand the night staff Panos and Efi were really nice.
The last Monday were were there we were sitting in reception with our son about 11.30pm having a drink when a RAT ran through the main doors across towards the paying bar my son and husband went to find the manager he came out walked around a bit and left it at that, we sat another hour but never saw the rat leave.
I don't think we will be back to this Hotel again, they want to make their minds up All Inclusive or half board . We have stayed at several Mitsis hotels before..

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank fish55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2011

We have been in Grand Hotel for 5 days in the middle of October (out of season).From outside the hotel looks goon but the things change inside. I believe that after Margaret Thatcher in 1988 they stop maintaining the hotel. We had second floor room 260 in the "Summer Palace" wing. It was a big room with a huge bathroom and a nice view to sea, swimming pool and parking lot. Tin the room is a carpet that stinks, so we sleep with the doors open. The mattress is hard, I think the inside filling is made of stones or cast iron. I think that is better to slip on the floor. For 5 days we didn't have hot water and water pressure. So mostly we use deodorants to cover the lack of hot water. We stayed in this room because of the view, but this is good only out of season. In summer you can hear all the noise from the swimming pool or parking lot. It's better to ask for a higher floor. The room was cleaned (also vacuum) each day, towel and bed sheets changed by two charming ladies who made all the efforts to help us. The bath room in huge. In it you have a bathtub of 25 cm from ground but…with 2 Ionic columns and big arch between them. The shower is something from a museum but when is no water it's insignificant. The furniture is rotten in different places and so is the parquet in the corridors. The Wi-Fi is available only in a small corner of the lobby. The breakfast and dinner are buffet. They are served in Acandia Restaurant which is the super crowded. In out of season period you need to a 15 minutes que.It's too small' the distance between tabled is 15cm. This is no privacy; you can hear the stories of other people and taste freely from their plates. The food is good and plenty of it. The tap water is another story. It seems that all the tap water is forbidden "because you can get sick". At breakfast you have at least 3 types of so called juice made of added tap water cooled by ice made of tap water (not iceberg ice) .All that in order to take high prices on the drinks served at dinner. A bottle of 1l mineral water, served warmer than the warm water in my shower costs 2.5€. At this price you can buy the same mineral water at 0.5€ in a shop 15 meters around the corner, if you ask for ice you'll receive the same frozen tap water ice cubes "good for your health". The can of Pepsi is 3€. All the drinks and food can be found around the corner (15m) at fair prices in a lot of shops. You can order dinner in the Chinese or Italian restaurants instead of the dining room. You need a reservation one day before. It's nicer, not crowded but the choice of food is very limited. Again I must mention that all the personnel we meet were nice, kind and polite. They give their best under such stress and difficult conditions. The lobby is another story. The check in is at 14:00. If you arrive earlier, they keep your luggage in the lobby which is transformed in an ugly store room. The people waiting don't have places to sit, so all looks like a big nomad courtyard. There is no help for families with small children or for older or disabled persons. There are no signs pointing to the rooms or hotel facilities so guess! I didn't feel any bad feelings from the lobby's staff. The ladies were nice and kind but all the time under pressure. I strongly recommend not coming earlier than 14:00 because of the situation in the lobby. Think about 200 people waiting for 3-4 hours in the lobby with no facilities or help – so choose your flight wisely. I want in the end to thank Mrs. Stella for her future remote (Athens) "cut and paste" answer, which as always will not change anything.

Room Tip: A room vith a sea view on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Popica65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MitsisHotels2011, Internet Sales at Mitsis Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 25 October 2011
Dear valued reviewer,
thank you for taking the time to post your review, even though your post do not exactly give us joy.
We have mentioned in previous revious that we are scheduling to replace the mattresses and anything else that is required. We apologize for the pressure of the water and the hot water. It was a bad incident. The restaurant Acandia is our main restaurant and it's our hotel's policy to arrange the sitting according to the persons, companies, families arriving. Otherwise only half of you could enjoy dinner or breakfast.

Since you've made a comment to me, I take this opportunity to inform you that no way my replies are copy paste. We treat our reviews as unique but in case we deal with same mentions we reply accordingly. As for the fact that I am located in Athens, it has nothing to do with the fact of whether I am aware of things or not. Our headquarters in Athens are in constant contact with our hotel in Rhodes and believ me it does change a lot!

Finally, once again thank you for your review and we wish you a nice winter!
Regards from all the Mitsis Grand Hotel Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2011

we stayed at the grand from 31aug to7sept in room 151 and can honestly say the staff were exellent from the cleanerto the maitrede the beds could do with upgrading,but the place was spotless so many thanks from the rae family from scotland it was a pleasure meeting the staff and staying at the grand hotel

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lilliane r r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rhodes Town
2.0 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 127 in Rhodes Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,483 reviews
2.8 mi away
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
#10 of 127 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,949 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
#13 of 127 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mitsis Petit Palais
Mitsis Petit Palais
#19 of 127 in Rhodes Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mediterranean
Hotel Mediterranean
#15 of 127 in Rhodes Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
5.7 mi away
Mitsis Alila Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mitsis Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitsis Grand Hotel

Property: Mitsis Grand Hotel
Address: Akti Miaouli 1 | & Papanikolaou, Rhodes Town 85100, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Rhodes Town
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Rhodes Town
#6 Luxury Hotel in Rhodes Town
#6 Business Hotel in Rhodes Town
#12 Family Hotel in Rhodes Town
#18 Romantic Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Mitsis Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel 5* is a member of Mitsis Hotels and is located at Rhodes Town, just few meters from the commercial city center, the Old Town and the port. Grand Hotel consists of 405 rooms and it offers luxury accommodation with view to Aegean Sea or the garden of the hotel. An excellent choice also for winter getaways or for business trips as the hotel operates all year round. The entertainment is an element that you won’t miss at Grand Hotel. The Lobby Bar is a meeting point for both the local community and the hotel’s guests. A cozy and hospitable environment where our guests can enjoy their coffee or drink as the Bar operates until late evening. Hotels’ Facilities: Reception 24hrs with currency exchange service, Concierge, Porters, baggage hold, TV room air conditioned, Cards room air conditioned, High speed internet access point with personal computers, Free Wi-Fi internet in Lobby – Bar area, High speed Wi-Fi internet in all hotel areas at an extra charge, Shopping arcade with mini market, souvenir shop, 6 Lifts in the main building, Guest Parking, free of charge, Daily evening live music entertainment ,Bilingual staff, Car rental office, Motorbike and bicycle rental, 24hrs medical cover. Doctor on call, Florist on call, Laundry service, Baby-sitting on request, at extra charge, Beach & Pool towels against deposit, Food and Beverage Facilities: Main Restaurant ‘’ACANDIA’’, air conditioned, serves Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner, specializing in Greek and international cuisine with extended show cooking, An excellent Italian restaurant offering very delicious Italian dishes, pasta, pizza and meat specialties prepared in front of the clients, without extra charge, reservation at the reception one day before. ASIAN restaurant, top quality from China and South–East Asia, prepared in front of the clients, reservation at the reception one day before. GREEK STYLE RESTAURANT “ELLINADIKO” Discover traditional Greek appetizers! This restaurant is an excellent choice for all day dinning for guests seeking to enrich their meals. MEXICAN this pool side restaurant serves tacos, fajitas and nachos as Well a large selection of other Mexican food. PITTA - BURGERS Taste the traditional pita bread and a great variety of juicy burgers. GELATERIA-CREPERIE Serving crepes sweet or savories and delicious ice-cream. PIZZA OVEN BY THE POOL is the ideal spot to enjoy a delicious pizza between your meals. LOBBY BAR in the entrance of the hotel serves indoors and outdoors, Coffees, refreshments, exotic cocktails etc. Live music, makes the bar very popular. POOL BAR operated on a superb open air terrace, serves coffees, refreshments, exotic cocktails etc. MINI FRIDGE WITH REFRESHMENT CENTER Consist of Mineral bottled water and soft drinks, refilled every second day. TEA and Coffee making facilities in the room. Sport & Leisure Facilities 2 outdoor swimming pools with sea water , Sun terrace & loungers, Indoor pool with fresh water, At the pools, sun beds and umbrellas free of charge, Daily Light Sports animation by the pool. Tennis court and equipment free of charge, Fitness centre, massage services at extra charge. Water sports center near to the hotel (with charge), Scuba diving (with charge), Boat trips (with charge), Games room (with charge), Children’s Facilities, Separate children pool with sea water, Internet and Games corner (with charge), Children’s light animation during the morning and the afternoon. Infants’ Facilities, baby cot, baby high chairs in the restaurant, Special food upon request. Business Services, Conference rooms for 700 and 200 persons respectively, Separate lounges for up to 150 persons for any occasions and events, Superb ballroom for gala dinner, wedding parties, banquets for up 900 persons, Conference equipment, Translate rooms, Telephone and fax services, Photocopy service, Wi-Fi internet access from Conference rooms & lobby area free of charge , Distances Airport 13 Km, Port 2 Km, Rhodes Town 0,5 Km, bicycle path to the city, Beach 10 m, Bus stop in front of the hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Bookgreece.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mitsis Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mitsis Grand
Mitsis Grand Rhodes Town
Grand Hotel Rhodes
Rhodes Grand Hotel
Mitsis Grand Hotel Rhodes/Rhodes Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing