We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's not a five star hotel”
Review of Mitsis Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mitsis Grand Hotel
Ranked #42 of 126 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Reviewed 11 November 2011

We stayed at the Grand Hotel for twelve days(HalfBoard) in early Sept 2011 during summer vacation on Rhodes Island.
Room: We got a nice room - standard size with fridge and aircondition, cleaning servise was good. Hotel - public area is old and need of refurbishment (check attached photo of secondary pool).
Services:
Wi-fi is available in large lobby and is free of charge, but has poor quality.. Wi-Fi did not work, even after staff rebooted wifi router. We requested rebbot daily ! The food was very good, we had breakfast and dinner at the hotel, during dinner gentlemen are requested to wear long trousers.
Location: 15 min walk from the old town, 20min from airport (by bus)

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peto78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,525)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,321 - 1,327 of 2,525 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2011

Arrived at hotel mid-day. A really GRAND hotel it is. Got to our room 229 which was nice. Was a bit disappointed with the bathroom. Shower in bath which was a bit tricky and slippery if you were'nt careful. The dining room was magnificent and so was the food. Excellent choice for everyone. I feel the rooms could do with a makeover but all in all we had a great time. Forgot to mention we had a sea view which was great. All the staff were friendly and helpful. Hopefully we will be back next year.

Room Tip: We were in 229 which was perfect. Faced right onto the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2011

Right, let's get a few things out of the way first. This is my review based on our experience. We heard some stories about other guests being evicted from their rooms at short notice (due to dreadful stinks) and being re-homed in another part of the hotel. This didn't happen to us and so I will not comment. Equally we were there at the end of the season, and so a few facilities were not available (like the majority of Thomas Cook tours) and the pool restaurant. However these minor details are of no consequence. Please note the 4 stars above and read on...
Ah, Rhodes, part of the disintegrating Greek Euro experiment. We had no idea what to expect and arriving at the airport and finding ourselves on a coach without the usual chatty transfer rep was a little worrying. But the transfer was smooth and refreshingly quieter and we soon found ourselves in the Grand lobby and being efficiently checked in for our all inclusive stay. First bombshell was the non-returnable safe key fee of 25 euro! Bit pricey. We went to recuperate in the "Helios" lobby bar where we discovered that the prices of drinks in Rhodes were unlikely to be cheap - 4.50 for beer and about the same for the wife's choice of beverage. This is expected now in EU countries and is no doubt a reflection of artificially imposed financial tariffs from other member states. Was this a bad start to the holiday? Emphatically not! We had a lovely room with a balcony overlooking a redundant shopping mall roof - but with the benefit of morning sun, whilst those with the seafront balconies had to wait until the evening. The bed was comfortable, everything was clean and apart from a winged invader or two on the first night (soon despatched to oblivion) we settled in to a cosy happy routine (Ah, "happy", I remember that!). The rooms were cleaned & serviced every day to a high standard. Bathroom could do with some updating, the taps are tired and the loo was one of those back-to-front jobs (if you see what I mean) A lot of pan before the water - won't say anything further for risk of being indelicate!
The restaurant was excellent. Good service, good variety of food, unlimited alcohol of a local variety. Interesting seating system - upon production of your magic card, you are guided to a different table on each visit. Quite refreshing not to have a "set" position throughout. Top tip for AI guests - you have the option of a meal in the "Italian" a la carte restaurant AND the "Chinese" alc during your stay. Do take up these options - the food is lovely and the ambience quite different from the regular restaurant - even though that is just behind the screens.
All Inclusive guests have the use of a quite small bar and outside seating area. This was fine for us, and service was enjoyable (thank you Panos), but I can imagine it being pretty chaotic in the season.
There is always the option of the "Helios" pay bar - and this was where we usually ended up for a nightcap - not over the top really at 8 euros.
Entertainment was in the form of keyboard minstrels providing a gentle rhythmic accompaniment to the evenings R&R.
A benefit of end of season is that everything feels just that little bit more relaxed - and with fewer guests annoying things like waiting hours for the lift don't happen. In fact it was quite fun observing the diminishing number of people (particularly at lunch).
All the staff were friendly and helpful. The downstairs amenities were fine and checked every half hour, and the hotel is very well situated. About 15 minutes stroll to the harbour and Old Rhodes. A bit longer for the hike to Rhodes Acropolis (but very worthwhile). If you do take this walk, look out for a smashing cafe/deli/bar on the junction of Diagoridon and Sofouu Th.
For trips, we took the only TC tour to Lindos, which necessitated getting up really early and cost 20 euros each. Upon reflection, we'd have been better off getting the service bus at 10 euros! Well worth the trip though - although we didn't make it up to the Acropolis; donkey rides not being for us - and by foot it was well worn and slippery stone (and hordes of German tour parties). Far more fun was to be had relaxing in a quiet bar on the beach, and having a spot of lunch later.
Boat rips from Rhodes are recommended - we just had a 1 hour jolly (10 euros) and a trip in the glass bottomed (speed)boat (10 euros). We felt that the cost of the day trip to Marmaris of around 40-50 euros plus port tax of 11 euros was a bit over the top, so I didn't get my promised shave & haircut!
Beer is often the local stuff - if you want Mythos I suggest you get bottled! Local bars are without exception hospitable and helpful. Shops are not a hassle and shop keepers are helpful and friendly, but not pushy. The Old City is a magnet for the many cruise ships, so it's not a bad idea to let the shopkeepers know you're staying on Rhodes.
Overall I felt the Grand was well worth my four star rating. It is a Greek "5 star". In my mind this makes it about a UK 3/4 star. But that is just being picky. I would like to go back when things are a little livelier (but not much!). Incidentally the weather was ideal for unhassled poolside sunbathing at a very acceptable 23/25 degrees C.
Recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank HoToCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2011

Good Points: Hotel lovely, central, goood rooms/facilities, great food and staff in the main

Bad points: Hard to get a drink at meals (waiter service) very slow, lucky to get a drink before you finish your meal. Need to have self service drinks. I dont want to get drunk but a couple of glasses of wine with a meal would be good.

Cleaning staff are light fingered. DO USE YOUR SAFE. I had money stolen out of a purse in a drawer of clothes, so they obviously go rifling through your stuff, also jewellery missing. Did I report it - NO - because quite simply they would have said it should be in safe. Bit sad when your own staff are thieves.

Two bars - one lovely (paying) and one cafeteria stye outside for the all inclusive. AI drinks are not a patch on the other bar. Watered down and cheap squash, rather than proper Orange Juice. Bar staff lovely though.

Only enterntainement was a chap singing with keyboard for a few evenings - that was it.

Overall a good holiday as long as you want a nice quiet one - good value for money - just look after your things.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank val f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

The hotel:Huge hotel, good facilities, three pools (although a bit cold at first!), nice reception area, and good selection of restaurants/food. All staff really friendly, especially the staff in the all-inclusive bar, the Acandia restaurant and the cleaners. Also fantastic location - close to old town. Everything we could have wanted.
The food/drink: Good choice of food at the buffet restaurant, from salads, to pasta, meat and desserts. Not sure where the other reviews who said no choice of food were staying. Breakfast was great. Staff very friendly. Also a really good idea to have a choice of chinese and italian a la carte restaurants. All inclusive bar had a selection of snacks which was great, as well as good selection of drinks - the lager was excellent, and the San Francisco cocktails were too. Again staff very friendly - specially Panos and Martina.
The room: would have been nice to have a sea/pool view as our room (499) only looked out onto a back street. However, we werent in the room much anyway. Sheets were a little tatty and not keen on the carpet, however the room was clean, tidy and a big room. Bathroom was really nice too.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maria3915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Got a bargain with this one! It's a lovely hotel. Negatives: room view was poor but guess that's why the room was cheap, all inclusive bar too small both inside and outside seating limited, inside pool not warm, have to pay for a not very inviting looking gym! Positives food excellent, 3 lovely pools, great service, lovely decor, great location, all inclusive drinks til 12 with good choice of spirits and good quality of guests! Not sure it's a five star if it is it's a tired 5 star! More amenities would make it a current 5 star, but compared to the 3* we stayed in on Rhodes earlier in the year a veritable 6*! we loved it search out a deal and you won't be disappointed!!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wb1889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2011

We started our holiday at Mitsis Petit Palais in Rhodes Town and after 7 days we were told that the hotel was closing down for the season and that we had to move to Mitsis Grand.

I did not like this hotel as the staff at Petit Palais are brilliant, but the reception staff are rude, ignorant and really bad at the Grand. We had a full day of our holiday ruined waiting to get a room. I then asked for a safe key and was told that I would have to pay, I told them that I already paid for a 2 week safe key at the Petit Palais, they demanded my receipt, which I did not have as I did not know that I was moving hotel, I ended up getting a safe key but only after causing a fuss.

The food was slightly better than the Petit Palais but the staff were really dissappointing. The manager was arrogant and did nothing to help with any problems as he was not interested, and was very ignorant.

We had a room on the floor far too near the lift and right outside the cleanes cupboard, overlooking the pool and entertainment area. We went to Petit Palais for a very quiet and relaxing holiday. We did not get that with the Grand. The music was on until midnight everynight and you could hear it inside the room and you could also here everyone partying until 2 or 3 in the morning and then just as you get to sleep the cleaner arrives at 7am and opens the cleaning cupboard and the noise starts again. Asked for a room change and was told by the receptionist with the dyed blonde long hair that we were lucky to be in a 5 star hotel and no change of room.

The highlight of the hotel was the female cat and her 4 kittens.

This hotel is not a 5 star hotel, the food was around 3-4 star, the staff are 1 star.

The cleaner on the 4th floor though was really really nice, it wasn't her fault that she had to start work so early.

Room Tip: Ask to go the highest level and ask for a room to the front of the hotel if you want to sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jcqdnld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rhodes Town hotels
0.1 mi away
Mitsis Petit Palais Beach Hotel
Mitsis Petit Palais Beach Hotel
#23 of 126 in Rhodes Town
787 reviews
2.0 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,933 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rodos Park Suites & Spa
Rodos Park Suites & Spa
#6 of 126 in Rhodes Town
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
#14 of 126 in Rhodes Town
1,791 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibiscus Hotel
Ibiscus Hotel
#11 of 126 in Rhodes Town
541 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mediterranean
Hotel Mediterranean
#16 of 126 in Rhodes Town
1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mitsis Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitsis Grand Hotel

Address: Akti Miaouli 1 | Papanikolaou, Rhodes Town 85100, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Rhodes Town
#12 Spa Hotel in Rhodes Town
#12 Family Hotel in Rhodes Town
#18 Romantic Hotel in Rhodes Town
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Rhodes Town
#30 Luxury Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range: £90 - £251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mitsis Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 405
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GRAND HOTEL, the only 5-star all-inclusive beach-front city hotel in Rhodes, is synonymous to first class hospitality. Located in the city of Rhodes, at a short distance from the medieval town, the hotel is fully renovated and offers its guests all modern facilities. It has 405 luxurious guestrooms, most of which have a sea view and of which 5 are suites that stand out for their exceptional grace and comfort. The hotel has a fully equipped gym with an indoor swimming pool, two outdoor swimming pools and a variety of sports activities for both adults and children. Two conference rooms of a capacity of 600 and 200 people respectively and an impressive ballroom, equipped with technology fit the most demanding communication requirements. GRAND HOTEL offers at its 6 different restaurants a variety of gourmet experiences for the most discerning palates and offers snacks throughout the day at the Creperie - Gelateria and its wooden stove. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Mitsis Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mitsis Grand
Mitsis Grand Rhodes Town
Grand Hotel Rhodes
Rhodes Grand Hotel
Mitsis Grand Hotel Rhodes/Rhodes Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing