We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a good hotel!”
Review of Mitsis Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mitsis Grand Hotel
Ranked #33 of 126 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Reviewed 9 August 2012

My partner and I have just returned home from a two week stay at the Grand. We had a brilliant time! A combination of a large clean room with a sea view, friendly attentive staff, great position in Rhodes Town, and very good food, made this a hotel we didn't want to leave.

The hotel is on the west side of the island which is known as the " Windy Side". What a godsend this was, although it did drop for a few days in our second week, and we fried.

The food- typical hotel buffet food which does get a bit boring after a while. However, there is the most fantastic Chinese and Italian restaurants that you can use as many times as you like, as long as you book up the previous day. The food quality, especially the Italian, was superb. We used both restaurants three times each.

A lot a reviews on this site debate whether the hotel is a 5,4 or 3 star. All that is irrelevant! Is a very nice hotel.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,542)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,259 - 1,265 of 2,542 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2012 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for one week all inclusive with my partner both late 20's, on first arrival the entrance to the hotel and the reception are quite impressive and check in was fast and efficient, our room was a pool view which we like, it was very clean couldnt find a fault with the cleaning staff and the job they did, there was a good size balcony with small table and chairs, small fridge good for keeping water in, the air conditioning was good as it could be left on in the day so your room was lovely and cool when you returned in from the intense heat, the bathroom was a good size nice shower. There is plenty of wardrobe space and a good size dressing table with a large mirror and plug sockets for hairdryer etc the television in the room has a few English channels news but we don't go on holiday to watch tv so not a problem. The food at this hotel was some of the best all inclusive we have had, the main restaurant is very large and cool there are also two other restaurants the Italian and the Chinese you can eat in both of these once in the all inclusive which was brill, you do have to book at reception a day in advance thow. Men have to wear trousers in the evening but it is air conditioned, the buffet style breakfast is plenty full full English, full continental fruits etc the lunch buffet is perfect salads, pastas, cold meats, hot food, soups and a huge selection of breads with fruits and desserts also. The evening buffet is amazing the selection is huge but all fresh we loved the kebabs which they cook in front of you with handmade pitta breads there was a different choice every night and we did go back for seconds the dessert choice was good as iv found that in other hotels/countries dessert is an after thought and not very exciting but not at this hotel they cook fresh crepes in front of you and you can top them with chocolate sauce fruit etc very yummy the Italian restaurant has a 3 course menu to choose from and is very good I had pasta and my partner had pizza which he still raves about the Chinese restaurant was also very good and authentic and has beautiful views of the sun setting over the Aegean sea this is where my fiancé proposed to me on our last night :) you pick off a 3 course menu the deep fried ice cream for pudding is definatly different!! There are two lovely pools we didn't use the one at the front during our stay we prefered the one at the back which is close to the all inclusive bar where they serve a good selection of local drinks and some cocktails you can also get ice creams and hot snacks during the day from in here. There is a nice seating area outside next to the bar with trees giving a welcome bit of shade in the hot afternoon sun we would sit under here with a cold beer and play cards around 4pm which was lovely. There was always plenty of sunbeds and umbrellas and it wasn't overcrowded, we didn't use the gym or the indoor pool but were both of a good standard, there are also a few computers with Internet but we could pick up the wi-fi in the outdoor seating area on our phones which was good. There wasnt any entertainment as such at this hotel there was a guy who came in a couple of times and played the keyboard and sang but that was it if u want alot of entertainment this hotel maybe isnt for you but saying that we normally want all the bingo music etc but not having it didnt ruin our holiday at all. The hotel is opposite the beach which is very windy as its the Aegean sea you can see over the water to turkey but a walk up to the right is a huge beach with beach bars and water sports, to the left of the hotel then left again is a street with lots of little shops, restaurants and bars that do good 241 cocktails. If u go right out the hotel then right again and walk for 10 mins u reach the harbour which is stunning then walk along the water front down into the old town which is very picturesque lots of lovely restaurants that all have roof top dining which was amazing looking out over the views of the sea and old town. On the walk back to the hotel we found a good sports bar which had large beers for 2.50 euro and showed the grand prix! We booked a trip to the island of simi on a boat which was a nice day out but the boat was a big ferry type thing and not very comfortable seating ( plastic chairs) and it took a long time to get there 2-3 hours but the island is beautiful crystal clear warm waters perfect for swimming. We thoroughly enjoyed our holiday to Rhodes and would stay at this hotel again definatly.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank amiej1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

We recently stayed at the Grand hotel , this was never a 5 star hotel or even a 4 star it was very clean, the room spacious but there were not enough facilities for the size of hotel not enough pool lounge area we went to the beach instead. there are three pools two outdoor both salt water and an indoor.The food was ok but very repetitive over the 2 weeks, dining room not big enough for all the diners so we had to queue to get in regardless of what time we tried. And to top it off we were robbed whilst there ,the rooms are not very secure at all nor the safe as we found so beware,

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Angela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We just arrived last week from amazing holiday at mitsis grand hotel
the room was big as we booked family room for me wife and my two daughters
with all inclusive we've got three meals a day plus the all inclusive bar
the food was great and fruits are fresh,i loved the cream puy
the hotel it self very clean and our room been cleaned every day
the beach is just oppisite the hotel and wasn't busy we can find a sun bid every time we been there
the town very close to the hotel juts 5 mnts walking
if you ask me to go there again yes i do

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank 1976sam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

I have travelled to Rhodes many times but never stayed in this hotel before and would not recommend this experience to any one. The room that they put me in had an a terrible smell from the bathroom reeking of sewerage, the basin not draining properly added to the stench. The carpet and curtains were filthy (i had to wear slippers the whole time) and the quilt cover almost cracked as i folded it down. The towels were worn and nearly tattered. The decor was seriously dated and the room (even though it was non smoking) smelt of stale cigarettes. The corridoors were very noisy and scattered with old furniture indicating that they were in the middle of some kind of rennovation on that floor. The veiw from my room was onto a concrete structure and the television did not work. It may have been a 5 star hotel 30 years ago but now it is (quite frankly) a total dump. The only good things about this hotel was the food- excellent buffet style food, clean and good quality. They should seriously update the star rating of this hotel. I would hazard to even give it a two.....

Room Tip: Consider a room that had been recently rennovated if you dare
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank anna s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

We just came back from our "all inclusive" vacation.
We were upgraded to the Grand and got a room with a view to the roof of a staircase and an old shopping center…
The crew is very nice. Smiles all the time and the reception clerks are very good and they know everything they should (and more…) and helped us with anything we asked them.
The pools are very nice and sunny (2 outside pools with sea water and 1 inside with fresh water).
The sea is right across the street and also the entire city of Rhodes which is very nice.
The food was less good: There is a variety of dishes in every meal, and everyone can find something he loves. But the taste isn't as good… most of the main courses are medium, some poor. At dinner It is highly recommended to go to the Italian or Chinese restaurant instead of the regular buffet dining room. The restaurants are very good at what they do and it's no extra charge for that. Just remember to make reservation one day in advance.
The all inclusive bar next to the pool offers 14 hours a day cold drinks, cocktails, and coffee. Those were good, but the food they offered was very poor: dry sandwiches, very oily Schnitzels, synthetic ice cream, re-warmed pizzas etc. Don't count on it as a snack between meals and eat at the main dining room.
Overall we enjoyed although the food wasn't excellent and the room was medium because we came to have a good time together and we did.

Room Tip: not room 134...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank elad l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

This is the esecond time we have stayed at the Mitsis Grand Hotel in Rhodes. It is absolutely ideal for us as it has everything we need and more. The location is superb, the food is plentiful, varied and tasty and the staff are incredible.

We came back to get engaged at this hotel and the staff bent over backwards for us. I'd like to thank both Nassia and Popi for making it a night to remember.

There are plenty of sunbeds, the bar has plenty of drinks on offer and the on-site Italian restaurant was one of the best meals I had eaten in a very long time. The rooms were cleaned daily, spcaious and well equipped. The sea view is definitely worth it and balconies are also a good size.

The pools are cold but thats a welcome feeling after a few hours of sunshine. I understand what people are sayig about the lack of entertainment in the hotel but this suits us as we don't really like to go out partying etc. They have a singer on a keyboard and it's just pleasant enough background entertainment. There are plenty of pubs and clubs a short walk away if thats your thing.

We went as a couple in June and have booked to go again in August with the parents. I'm extra excited as it's a fantastic hotel and I know we will have an awesome time and be very very well looked after. No worries about staying here at all, why book the unknown? Rhodes town is beautiful, beach is fanastic, there are busy and quiet spots, watersports and sun loungers. Rhodes for us have everything and the Mitsis Grand is a fantastic base to see it all from.

See you in 4 weeks Nassia and Popi!!!!!!!!!

Kirsty & Nigel Curtis

Room Tip: Sea view rooms definitely worth it and I preferred being higher up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank KirstyNigelCurtis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rhodes Town hotels
2.8 mi away
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
#12 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,244 reviews
2 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,939 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mitsis Petit Palais Beach Hotel
Mitsis Petit Palais Beach Hotel
#21 of 126 in Rhodes Town
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mediterranean
Hotel Mediterranean
#16 of 126 in Rhodes Town
1,071 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
#13 of 126 in Rhodes Town
1,799 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bellevue Suites Hotel
Bellevue Suites Hotel
#39 of 126 in Rhodes Town
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mitsis Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitsis Grand Hotel

Address: Akti Miaouli 1 | Papanikolaou, Rhodes Town 85100, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Rhodes Town
#9 Spa Hotel in Rhodes Town
#10 Family Hotel in Rhodes Town
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Rhodes Town
#18 Romantic Hotel in Rhodes Town
#26 Luxury Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range: £83 - £241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mitsis Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 405
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GRAND HOTEL, the only 5-star all-inclusive beach-front city hotel in Rhodes, is synonymous to first class hospitality. Located in the city of Rhodes, at a short distance from the medieval town, the hotel is fully renovated and offers its guests all modern facilities. It has 405 luxurious guestrooms, most of which have a sea view and of which 5 are suites that stand out for their exceptional grace and comfort. The hotel has a fully equipped gym with an indoor swimming pool, two outdoor swimming pools and a variety of sports activities for both adults and children. Two conference rooms of a capacity of 600 and 200 people respectively and an impressive ballroom, equipped with technology fit the most demanding communication requirements. GRAND HOTEL offers at its 6 different restaurants a variety of gourmet experiences for the most discerning palates and offers snacks throughout the day at the Creperie - Gelateria and its wooden stove. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Alpha Holidays Limited, Booking.com, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mitsis Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mitsis Grand
Mitsis Grand Rhodes Town
Grand Hotel Rhodes
Rhodes Grand Hotel
Mitsis Grand Hotel Rhodes/Rhodes Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing