We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's ok” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mitsis Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mitsis Grand Hotel
Ranked #10 of 129 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Certificate of Excellence
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“It's ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012

We were transferred to this hotel last minute because the Mareblue Cosmopolitan could not honour our booking(17-24 Oct - end season). We were all inclusive. The hotel is ok provided you understand that the greek rating system is not as high as the UK's. This is not a 5* hotel and we would argue that it is not a 4* as detailed in the Thomas Cook brouchure. The lobby is clean and looks inviting. The bedrooms were clean and cleaned every day but need a lot of updating. The food was good and plentiful but could get repetitive. The all-inclusive bar was a let down. 2 bar staff only so you can be waiting up to 15 mins for a drink. The drink was of lower quality than the other bar which was a paying bar and always empty! The evening entertainment was a bloke on a casio piano with a mirophone = kareoke. I dont know whether it was because we went at the end of the season but there was no kids club or entertainment for our 4 year old who obviously got bored most evenings. On a plus side, it is in a good location and close to most things. The beach(pebble) is across the road and the old town is about 10 minute walk of 5euro taxi ride. The staff at the hotel were friendly & helpful. The reason why some people experienced difficulties with staff attitudes is because of us brits expecting far too much from essentially a 3* hotel. This is not the fault of the hotel but Thomas Cook for bigging it up to be more than what it is! If we returned to Rhodes for another holiday we wouldn't come back to this hotel but in the grand scheme of things it could have been a lot worse.

Room Tip: Pay extra if you can for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mrsh679
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,795 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    830
    559
    229
    118
    59
See reviews for
497
868
36
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (449)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aldershot, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2012

This hotel is in an ideal location and the hotel itself is quite nice, however calling themselves 5* is very far from the truth. The room service (if you can get it) is very slow, we ordered tea and coffee to the room at a cost of 7.20 euro a go , and were lucky to get within 1 hour if at all!!. The buffet food is terrible, they have a chinese restaurant option if you book it 24 hours in advance, I would say dont bother, the waitress (only1) is in a dizzy dream leaving food getting cold on the side, maybe a good thing as if thats what they think Chinese food is you may as well have Heinz Snack Pot (just add boiling water) it will be hotter and probably more nutritious. We did not try the Italian option after this fiasco(we walked out halfway through it was so bad) but another couple said the Italian was OK. THIS HOTEL IS FAR FROM 5* more like 2 or 3* We did not go ALL INCLUSIVE but pity the poor fools who did, all stuck in a little bar being served 3 rd rate local products which they all had to que for for ages,didnt hear many good things from other people there, rooms with things falling off the walls,showers not working,towel rails on floor and the like. We just came back on the 25 Oct and most of the places were closed down as end of season. Good location but rubbish hotel.

Room Tip: most rooms are sea view (side or frontal) very close to the sea and not noisy,if you get a bad room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2012

My sister and I spent a week on the Island of Rhodes staying at the Mitsis Grand Hotel. This hotel is ideally situated on the beach within a ten to fifteen minutes walk to the harbour area of Rhodes Town and a further few mintues walk in to the Old Town and the historical area. It is possible to spend a whole day exploring and even then may not have covered everything and a further visit may be necessary. The hotel itself is excellent, comfortable spacious rooms, the public area are kept very clean and also spacious. The staff at every level are very friendly and extremely helpful. The food in the restaurant is very good, and there enough choices to suit every palate and nationality. Public transport allows the holidaymaker ample opportunities to visit various resorts on the Island, e.g.Lindos and the Acopolis and others. I would recommend this hotel and the island of Rhodes for a holiday.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank danny038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed in this hotel for one weekend (18-21 oct) on a half board basis. The hotel was O.K, the room was clean and so were the lobby and the restaurant. The location of the hotel is grate; we walked to the new city and the old city by foot on day one and took a car on day two to drive around the island.

The only problem we had with the hotel was on dinner time. On the card we got with our door key it said we cannot bring any drink or food with us to any public space in the hotel. We prepaid for dinner and breakfast (half board) so we accepted to get a full dinner including drinks (no anything fancy just flan tap water). When we got to the restaurant at dinner time, we found out that there is nowhere in the restaurant a place to get water, unless we pay additional many and order drinks from the waiters. When we asked for tap water the waiter said they don’t have any (even though the couple next to us witch ordered drinks got tap water) and we can by a little bottle for 2 or 3 euros. This was very un pleasant to set in a restaurant that in not even willing to give you water.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yaara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2012

have just returned from Mitsis Grand 14th to 24th May it was short staffed the all inc bar was a waste of time 2 staff looking after a full bar 25 minutes to get a drink, the bar for non all inc was empty but could not be used AI. We were put by the lift shaft could not get any sleep so we were moved next day the food was very repetative after fighting to get to the counter, the good points were rooms are a good size and very clean half the staff very friendly the other half long faced not a 5 star but maybe 4 star.Would not go again

Room Tip: keep away from lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank driverdaft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2012

This was our second stay at this hotel. We originally stayed there 6 years ago. I have to say that the standards have gone down. The last time we stayed one of our party was on crutches, so we did stay in and within close proximity to the hotel in the evenings.
As last time the hotel provided very little in the way of entertainment. Over the week a keyboard player/singer played in either the main bar or garden area. He was a decent pleasant singer albeit singing the same songs each night in a different order. I understand a Greek dancing troupe entertained on a night we were out.
The effects of the downturn in Greek economy are evident in many parts of the area surrounding the hotel with weedy concrete, boarded windows providing sites for posters for out of date events.
The hotel itself is ok, but no more than that. The staff are mostly polite and reasonably friendly, though some do seem to have an attitude to the guests. I overheard many people complaining about this.
This was perhaps because the surly faced Manager who seemed to be everywhere was always around. Was he checking up on his staff? Perhaps!
Whatever he was doing, the guy never cracked a smile or said a cheery hello or good morning to anyone. I went past his office one day and he left his door open and there were many certificates of merit displayed. How on earth he won those is hard to understand. I cant see the man making any comment on this review, as he seemed so uncaring for his guests.
The food is edible, repetative, luke warm and difficult to get at due to the considerable number of people surrounding it. It is a self service buffet but not very well organised.
We were all inclusive and so drinks were also included, though it took what seemed to be an eternity at times to obtain drinks due to the considerably long queues. You will extreme difficulty becoming in the slightest merry. Two guys were behind the bar and did their jobs well, the one doing a good impersonation of Tom Cruise in 'Cocktail'. By the way the 'fresh' orange juice is diluted squash.
Overall it was a pleasant seven days, but it is doubtful if we will return to this hotel again.

Room Tip: Try to get a high floor room for the sea views. Also try to get quiet air conditioning unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MalCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hatfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2012

Have just returned from a week all inclusive at the Mitsis Grand, and overall it was'nt a bad hotel.I honestly would'nt put it down as a 5 star hotel, but the rooms were made up every day, cleaned and very neat.
As per previous reviews, this hotel could do with a bit of a refurb here and there but all round very clean.
We were supposed to be at the Mitsis Petit a stones throw away from the Metsis Grand but our travel agent moved us last minute. We went all inclusive and I must say the food was very good, great choices and well presented, only issue was as we were transfered we could'nt use the Italian or Chinese resturants as all inclusive.
Saff were very polite and very friendly, overall a very well run hotel.
Nice clean pool and surrounding areas, would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elvispriceley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rhodes Town
2.0 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,365 reviews
2.8 mi away
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
#9 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,882 reviews
2.6 mi away
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
#11 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mediterranean
Hotel Mediterranean
#15 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
5.7 mi away
Mitsis Alila Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Mitsis Petit Palais
Mitsis Petit Palais
#22 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mitsis Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitsis Grand Hotel

Property: Mitsis Grand Hotel
Address: Akti Miaouli & Papanikolaou, Rhodes Town 85100, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Rhodes Town
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Rhodes Town
#6 Business Hotel in Rhodes Town
#8 Luxury Hotel in Rhodes Town
#12 Family Hotel in Rhodes Town
#18 Romantic Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Mitsis Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel 5* is a member of Mitsis Hotels and is located at Rhodes Town, just few meters from the commercial city center, the Old Town and the port. Grand Hotel consists of 405 rooms and it offers luxury accommodation with view to Aegean Sea or the garden of the hotel. An excellent choice also for winter getaways or for business trips as the hotel operates all year round. The entertainment is an element that you won’t miss at Grand Hotel. The Lobby Bar is a meeting point for both the local community and the hotel’s guests. A cozy and hospitable environment where our guests can enjoy their coffee or drink as the Bar operates until late evening. Hotels’ Facilities: Reception 24hrs with currency exchange service, Concierge, Porters, baggage hold, TV room air conditioned, Cards room air conditioned, High speed internet access point with personal computers, Free Wi-Fi internet in Lobby – Bar area, High speed Wi-Fi internet in all hotel areas at an extra charge, Shopping arcade with mini market, souvenir shop, 6 Lifts in the main building, Guest Parking, free of charge, Daily evening live music entertainment ,Bilingual staff, Car rental office, Motorbike and bicycle rental, 24hrs medical cover. Doctor on call, Florist on call, Laundry service, Baby-sitting on request, at extra charge, Beach & Pool towels against deposit, Food and Beverage Facilities: Main Restaurant ‘’ACANDIA’’, air conditioned, serves Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner, specializing in Greek and international cuisine with extended show cooking, An excellent Italian restaurant offering very delicious Italian dishes, pasta, pizza and meat specialties prepared in front of the clients, without extra charge, reservation at the reception one day before. ASIAN restaurant, top quality from China and South–East Asia, prepared in front of the clients, reservation at the reception one day before. GREEK STYLE RESTAURANT “ELLINADIKO” Discover traditional Greek appetizers! This restaurant is an excellent choice for all day dinning for guests seeking to enrich their meals. MEXICAN this pool side restaurant serves tacos, fajitas and nachos as Well a large selection of other Mexican food. PITTA - BURGERS Taste the traditional pita bread and a great variety of juicy burgers. GELATERIA-CREPERIE Serving crepes sweet or savories and delicious ice-cream. PIZZA OVEN BY THE POOL is the ideal spot to enjoy a delicious pizza between your meals. LOBBY BAR in the entrance of the hotel serves indoors and outdoors, Coffees, refreshments, exotic cocktails etc. Live music, makes the bar very popular. POOL BAR operated on a superb open air terrace, serves coffees, refreshments, exotic cocktails etc. MINI FRIDGE WITH REFRESHMENT CENTER Consist of Mineral bottled water and soft drinks, refilled every second day. TEA and Coffee making facilities in the room. Sport & Leisure Facilities 2 outdoor swimming pools with sea water , Sun terrace & loungers, Indoor pool with fresh water, At the pools, sun beds and umbrellas free of charge, Daily Light Sports animation by the pool. Tennis court and equipment free of charge, Fitness centre, massage services at extra charge. Water sports center near to the hotel (with charge), Scuba diving (with charge), Boat trips (with charge), Games room (with charge), Children’s Facilities, Separate children pool with sea water, Internet and Games corner (with charge), Children’s light animation during the morning and the afternoon. Infants’ Facilities, baby cot, baby high chairs in the restaurant, Special food upon request. Business Services, Conference rooms for 700 and 200 persons respectively, Separate lounges for up to 150 persons for any occasions and events, Superb ballroom for gala dinner, wedding parties, banquets for up 900 persons, Conference equipment, Translate rooms, Telephone and fax services, Photocopy service, Wi-Fi internet access from Conference rooms & lobby area free of charge , Distances Airport 13 Km, Port 2 Km, Rhodes Town 0,5 Km, bicycle path to the city, Beach 10 m, Bus stop in front of the hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Lastminute so you can book your Mitsis Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mitsis Grand
Mitsis Grand Rhodes Town
Grand Hotel Rhodes
Rhodes Grand Hotel
Mitsis Grand Hotel Rhodes/Rhodes Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing