We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing hotel and good value for money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mitsis Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mitsis Grand Hotel
Ranked #10 of 129 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Certificate of Excellence
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Relaxing hotel and good value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

I stayed here for one week all inclusive with my partner and my ten year old son. The hotel was exceptionally clean and the food was excellent. Plenty of choice and the restaurant is run very well. I did find the bar staff quite rude though and they always ignored my son if he tried to get a drink. There is also no evening entertainment apart from a someone sitting in the corner of the bar playing a keyboard and singing along. We booked this to be a relaxing holiday away and it just about ticked every box we needed.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amanda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,795 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    830
    559
    229
    118
    59
See reviews for
497
868
36
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (449)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
salerno
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

First of all I have to say that It is not the kind of hotel which fits to me, huge buildings a lot of rooms and people.
Anyway thisHotel is not 4 stars Hotel, needs to be refurbished, the moquette is old and dirty, as I arrived in the Hall i smelt a bad smell (I think coming from the toilette), receptionist were not nice to us, I had to change the room because air conditioning did not work properly, the toilete was bad.

Room Tip: I have no idea if tehre is any good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1stravagante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lulea, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

There are a few things you need to take notice of this hotel that caught my attention, we stayed there a week and altogether it's a good hotel...BUT...

The hotel is pretty big (two pool areas) though there's only one(?) bar for the all inclusive guests, and the bar can get a bit crowded and the staff can appear to be a bit over worked.

Beach towels are collected at the main entrance which seems a bit odd since my suggestion would be that these should be collected close to the reception or at the pool area.

Dining can be a bit crowded and beverages are served separately, which I found a bit annoying since I expected the beverages to be ordered once the table was assigned. This would be way more effective since it took a while before the beverages were served.

The A/C unit in our room was LOUD and out of the question to have on during the night.

The hotel is altogether nice and my conclusion is that it all depends on what you payed for your stay and what your expectations are. I expected more since it was advertised as a 4-star hotel, which in my opinion should be a 3-star hotel.

It needs a bit of touch up and does show some wear and tear, but nothing out of the ordinary.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicklas_thoren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

I spent seven days at the mitis grand in july 2013. with my husband and grandchildren, the hotel is stunning and the rooms were not huge but clean.the staff were first class could not do enough for you.my only complaint is that there was no entertainment for the children and only a man playing a piano thing a couple of evening. for an allinclusive the food was very good a bit samie but nice. the snacks inbetween meals was left over breakfast and lunch.rolls with ham and cheese and a toasty machine.the pools are salt water and the indoor pool is not.we spent every evening out as there was no entertainment and this added to the cost of the holiday,it is not a hotel that is set up for young children and i would not go again it was very expensive and should of had entertainment.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pauline h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
250 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

We spent 9 nights in the hotel for family vacation. Rooms are clean, nice, but nothing special. But good enough for a family vacation, no need to spend lots of time in the room. Key information around rooms: Very good beds, private air conditioning. Bathroom was clean, average from equipment. This is a very good 4* experience. Restaurant: We had all-in. Big respect for the restaurants: Highest quality, very good choice, excellent meat, excellent starters, overall: 5*. This was a real impressive experience. The hotel offers 2 restaurants "à la carte", Chinese+Italien. Both even higher quality. They are directly attached to the main restaurant, but still different and nice.
The hotel is not a huge hotel, so everything is a bit more private as in huge vacation hotels. No animation, calmer atmosphere. Still lots of children, so even a chance to find friends for our son.
Location: You can walk to the old citiy of Rhodes, car rental in the hotel, overall really perfect.

We'll come again - highest recommendation.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Alexander Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level Contributor
63 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

We found the location to be quite good, right in front of the beach, 10 to 15 minutes walk away to the harbor and old town. However, it's around the corner from lots of local bars that cater to rowdy crowds, and a strip joint. Not our cup of tea, in fact, there was a very seedy element to that.
The staff was very nice, especially given the clientele, more on that later. They are accommodating, and welcoming.
The rooms, like the hotel, is a bit tired. While the same condition in small island hotels I wood insider it local and charming, but in a massive "five star" hotel, it's just tired. But it feels clean though. We had a ocean view balcony, and the view is amazing.
We were surprised to find upon checking in that this is an all inclusive hotel, meaning all meals, that'd be breakfast, lunch and dinner, and bar drinks are all included. This is both good and bad. The good is the buffet is large, and the breakfast is uncommon for Greece breakfast. You don't have to think about where to eat or which restaurant to sample in town; it's all there for you. The bad is exactly that, because its all inclusive, psychologically it deters you going to try other local eateries. And it's hurting the local economy. The food quality is ok. However, the staff had been very patient and welcoming, given how large the restaurant setting was, and how demanding and sometimes obnoxious the general clientele acted.
So here comes the clientele, if you want to have a truly Greek holiday experience, do NOT come here. If you want an easy, all inclusive, cruise ship like environment, where you line up at the buffet to get food, then come here. Sad to say the worst stereotypes of people were exemplified in this setting. Obnoxiously and self center behaviors are the norm in public areas.
We will definitely not go back here, but it's NOT because of the hotel nor the staff, they were great; but of the fellow travelers, the clientele that this setting attracts is not what I would consider my annual Greek holiday should consist of.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kos, Greece
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013 via mobile

Very preetty hotel, at a great location just enough out of the center, opposite the sea, for a 10 min walk to the 100 shops & the old town! Amazing breakfast with huge variety & great service all round! The rooms are kept clean & all the white interior makes it honestly very Grand! Have stayed at least 3 times & will deffinetly go back!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alikh_26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rhodes Town
2.0 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,365 reviews
2.8 mi away
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
#9 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,882 reviews
2.6 mi away
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
#12 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mitsis Petit Palais
Mitsis Petit Palais
#22 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mediterranean
Hotel Mediterranean
#15 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
5.7 mi away
Mitsis Alila Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mitsis Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitsis Grand Hotel

Property: Mitsis Grand Hotel
Address: Akti Miaouli & Papanikolaou, Rhodes Town 85100, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Rhodes Town
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Rhodes Town
#6 Business Hotel in Rhodes Town
#8 Luxury Hotel in Rhodes Town
#12 Family Hotel in Rhodes Town
#18 Romantic Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Mitsis Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel 5* is a member of Mitsis Hotels and is located at Rhodes Town, just few meters from the commercial city center, the Old Town and the port. Grand Hotel consists of 405 rooms and it offers luxury accommodation with view to Aegean Sea or the garden of the hotel. An excellent choice also for winter getaways or for business trips as the hotel operates all year round. The entertainment is an element that you won’t miss at Grand Hotel. The Lobby Bar is a meeting point for both the local community and the hotel’s guests. A cozy and hospitable environment where our guests can enjoy their coffee or drink as the Bar operates until late evening. Hotels’ Facilities: Reception 24hrs with currency exchange service, Concierge, Porters, baggage hold, TV room air conditioned, Cards room air conditioned, High speed internet access point with personal computers, Free Wi-Fi internet in Lobby – Bar area, High speed Wi-Fi internet in all hotel areas at an extra charge, Shopping arcade with mini market, souvenir shop, 6 Lifts in the main building, Guest Parking, free of charge, Daily evening live music entertainment ,Bilingual staff, Car rental office, Motorbike and bicycle rental, 24hrs medical cover. Doctor on call, Florist on call, Laundry service, Baby-sitting on request, at extra charge, Beach & Pool towels against deposit, Food and Beverage Facilities: Main Restaurant ‘’ACANDIA’’, air conditioned, serves Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner, specializing in Greek and international cuisine with extended show cooking, An excellent Italian restaurant offering very delicious Italian dishes, pasta, pizza and meat specialties prepared in front of the clients, without extra charge, reservation at the reception one day before. ASIAN restaurant, top quality from China and South–East Asia, prepared in front of the clients, reservation at the reception one day before. GREEK STYLE RESTAURANT “ELLINADIKO” Discover traditional Greek appetizers! This restaurant is an excellent choice for all day dinning for guests seeking to enrich their meals. MEXICAN this pool side restaurant serves tacos, fajitas and nachos as Well a large selection of other Mexican food. PITTA - BURGERS Taste the traditional pita bread and a great variety of juicy burgers. GELATERIA-CREPERIE Serving crepes sweet or savories and delicious ice-cream. PIZZA OVEN BY THE POOL is the ideal spot to enjoy a delicious pizza between your meals. LOBBY BAR in the entrance of the hotel serves indoors and outdoors, Coffees, refreshments, exotic cocktails etc. Live music, makes the bar very popular. POOL BAR operated on a superb open air terrace, serves coffees, refreshments, exotic cocktails etc. MINI FRIDGE WITH REFRESHMENT CENTER Consist of Mineral bottled water and soft drinks, refilled every second day. TEA and Coffee making facilities in the room. Sport & Leisure Facilities 2 outdoor swimming pools with sea water , Sun terrace & loungers, Indoor pool with fresh water, At the pools, sun beds and umbrellas free of charge, Daily Light Sports animation by the pool. Tennis court and equipment free of charge, Fitness centre, massage services at extra charge. Water sports center near to the hotel (with charge), Scuba diving (with charge), Boat trips (with charge), Games room (with charge), Children’s Facilities, Separate children pool with sea water, Internet and Games corner (with charge), Children’s light animation during the morning and the afternoon. Infants’ Facilities, baby cot, baby high chairs in the restaurant, Special food upon request. Business Services, Conference rooms for 700 and 200 persons respectively, Separate lounges for up to 150 persons for any occasions and events, Superb ballroom for gala dinner, wedding parties, banquets for up 900 persons, Conference equipment, Translate rooms, Telephone and fax services, Photocopy service, Wi-Fi internet access from Conference rooms & lobby area free of charge , Distances Airport 13 Km, Port 2 Km, Rhodes Town 0,5 Km, bicycle path to the city, Beach 10 m, Bus stop in front of the hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Lastminute and Odigeo so you can book your Mitsis Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mitsis Grand
Mitsis Grand Rhodes Town
Grand Hotel Rhodes
Rhodes Grand Hotel
Mitsis Grand Hotel Rhodes/Rhodes Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing