We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“really good hotel and location”
Review of Mitsis Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mitsis Grand Hotel
Ranked #10 of 126 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Reviewed 11 September 2013

me and my boyfriend recently stayed at this hotel (aug 2013) and thought it was absolutely lovely. reception staff were very helpful, we called a local rep to book trips who was brilliant, he explained where everything was etc. The hotel is very clean, the cleaners were very polite and the restaurant staff work very hard.The buffet restaurant is really good for an all inclusive deal, it can get a bit samey but its the best buffet we have been to, we had dinner out in old rhodes town one night and used the two al a carte restaurants in the hotel which are really nice!! our room was cleaned and made up everyday. the pools were salt water and always pretty quiet. getting a sunbed was never a problem no matter what time of day. the only downside of this hotel was the lack of evening entertainment. were are both only 21 years old so we ended up going to local bars etc for cocktails. these are literally a 2 minute walk from the hotel. the beach out of the front of the hotel is pretty but not ideal for swimming in as the waves are quit rough! if you keep walking to the right of the hotel theres a lovely beach that is alot calmer! we went on 2 day trips, one to symi island which is beautiful and a day of scuba diving (with a company called waterhoppers) which we would highly recommend! I wouldn't say this hotel is ideal for children though as there's no entertainment, the pools aren't really shallow enough for young kids and they seemed a bit bored! of course there is always slight things that could be improved, but that is just being extremely picky!! overall this holiday was absolutely amazing and i cannot fault the hotel or staff! we both feel that going all inclusive was completely worth it and saved us loads of money and stress!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lisawhitley1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,407)
There are newer reviews for Mitsis Grand Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,002 - 1,008 of 2,407 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2013

We arrived at the Hotel for the first part of our journey we were booked in for one night before we boarded our cruise the following day. We would then be returning for a further 6 nights after our cruise. Family of 7 . Our travel agent had requested a sea view which we never got infact we had booked two rooms one a 4 berth and one a 3 berth. Both rooms only had 3 beds so I had to ring reception. We waited but no one came. I went down to reception and they told me the housekeeper would set up a pull up bed. This I was not happy about pull up beds are ok if you have a free child place but my youngest is 10 not a small child and I had paid for a bed ?? Anyways didnt want to argue for 1 night stay. The bed was put in and it was not too bad . First impression of restaurant ok, all inclusive drinks package not impressed at all. All sodas from the fountain were not good and my children were not impressed at all. Cocktails were all pre made they would just add a bit of whatever they fancied and passed it off as some sort of cocktail plus all warm. They wouldnt even give you bottle water in the bar ?? you had to take a bottle from the room which we got 1 per person in the fridge and the bar would fill it up ?? The water was left in plastic cups on the bar through the day not even cold. In fact most of the drinks were warm only the beer was cold and as for the coffee well try if you dare ??
We went on our cruise with an open mind and asked the reception if possible could we have a sea view and the receptionist ackinowledge my request I even offered to pay, she would see what she could do was her parting words. The reception staff were helpful but their attitude was alot to be desired. Off we went on our cruise thats a different review on cruise critic but absolutely fabulous.
After 1 week we returned to the hotel again with great positivity after the experience we had on the cruise. We were assigned our rooms we had been put in further back from the sea in fact our view was not even of the gardens it was onto the street . This got our backs up straight away and obviously thought she was being funny ??
Open minded the food is very good though no system and I still think only the British queue even my son aged 11 was being pushed out of the way . As I said food very good maybe one night or two but it was the same thing for lunch and dinner day in day out . A few hot dishes changed but nothing else, I had the same meal for the 6 days. No choice for children at all thank god for the onsite Chinese and Italian restaurants unfortunately you could only use once.
The restaurant has a kebab turning and you have to wait for the chef to cut it every night I went for kebab meat and every night I was told it wasnt ready for 6 nights it wasnt ready on our last night I lost my patience ?? Desserts are not very nice they all tasted the same they look nice but taste wise not good. Again same thing day and night. The restaurant staff are lovely though and very efficient . One snack bar in the hotel but was not included in the all-inclusive drinks package snacks would be available in the all inclusive bar. I wish I had taken photographs as I would not feed them to a dog again nothing for kids, this is my first all inclusive to a hotel and I do understand why families do it but I had been told that some hotels offer snacks throughout the day burgers chips etc etc. Our snacks consisted of half bread rolls with some kind of meat on and a slice of tomatoe absolutely disgusting. The bar staff also are not very nice and very rude and as I mentioned before drinks were bad I did get used to the vodka after a while but the kids refused to drink the fountain drinks and I dont blame them.Also you order a beer and they fill half of the glass whats that all about. All inclusive they have had your money so they serve you crap drinks . This hotel has put me off all inclusive other than on our cruise this hotel needs to take a leaf out of their book. Drinks and food unbelievable your order a diet coke you get a can of diet coke ??? happy kids .

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carolyn287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Large hotel very friendly and efficient staff even at busy times spare sun beds at all times,rooms ok air con bit loud but can live with that food good and lots off it does get very busy at dinner sometimes a queue at some stations but get that anywhere that's all inclusive

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SandieJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Overall good hotel, very good and various food at restaurant.
Very good location, not far for city center, on the Agean Sea. I recomand the Elli Beach for position on the Mediterranean Sea. On the Agean Sea in the front of the hotel it' s very windy.
Very few channels on tv, no channel for kids. No playing places for kids.
Warm hotel staff.
Worst free wi-fi ever.
Sea view it's a must

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Popexxu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

I stayed here for one week all inclusive with my partner and my ten year old son. The hotel was exceptionally clean and the food was excellent. Plenty of choice and the restaurant is run very well. I did find the bar staff quite rude though and they always ignored my son if he tried to get a drink. There is also no evening entertainment apart from a someone sitting in the corner of the bar playing a keyboard and singing along. We booked this to be a relaxing holiday away and it just about ticked every box we needed.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amanda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

First of all I have to say that It is not the kind of hotel which fits to me, huge buildings a lot of rooms and people.
Anyway thisHotel is not 4 stars Hotel, needs to be refurbished, the moquette is old and dirty, as I arrived in the Hall i smelt a bad smell (I think coming from the toilette), receptionist were not nice to us, I had to change the room because air conditioning did not work properly, the toilete was bad.

Room Tip: I have no idea if tehre is any good room
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1stravagante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

There are a few things you need to take notice of this hotel that caught my attention, we stayed there a week and altogether it's a good hotel...BUT...

The hotel is pretty big (two pool areas) though there's only one(?) bar for the all inclusive guests, and the bar can get a bit crowded and the staff can appear to be a bit over worked.

Beach towels are collected at the main entrance which seems a bit odd since my suggestion would be that these should be collected close to the reception or at the pool area.

Dining can be a bit crowded and beverages are served separately, which I found a bit annoying since I expected the beverages to be ordered once the table was assigned. This would be way more effective since it took a while before the beverages were served.

The A/C unit in our room was LOUD and out of the question to have on during the night.

The hotel is altogether nice and my conclusion is that it all depends on what you payed for your stay and what your expectations are. I expected more since it was advertised as a 4-star hotel, which in my opinion should be a 3-star hotel.

It needs a bit of touch up and does show some wear and tear, but nothing out of the ordinary.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nicklas_thoren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rhodes Town hotels
2.0 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,822 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
#14 of 126 in Rhodes Town
1,731 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mitsis Petit Palais Beach Hotel
Mitsis Petit Palais Beach Hotel
#17 of 126 in Rhodes Town
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
#13 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,173 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rodos Park Suites & Spa
Rodos Park Suites & Spa
#6 of 126 in Rhodes Town
395 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mediterranean
Hotel Mediterranean
#18 of 126 in Rhodes Town
1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mitsis Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitsis Grand Hotel

Address: Akti Miaouli 1 | Papanikolaou, Rhodes Town 85100, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Rhodes Town
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Rhodes Town
#6 Business Hotel in Rhodes Town
#9 Luxury Hotel in Rhodes Town
#12 Family Hotel in Rhodes Town
#18 Romantic Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range: £66 - £209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mitsis Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel 5* is a member of Mitsis Hotels and is located at Rhodes Town, just few meters from the commercial city center, the Old Town and the port. Grand Hotel consists of 405 rooms and it offers luxury accommodation with view to Aegean Sea or the garden of the hotel. An excellent choice also for winter getaways or for business trips as the hotel operates all year round. The entertainment is an element that you won’t miss at Grand Hotel. The Lobby Bar is a meeting point for both the local community and the hotel’s guests. A cozy and hospitable environment where our guests can enjoy their coffee or drink as the Bar operates until late evening. Hotels’ Facilities: Reception 24hrs with currency exchange service, Concierge, Porters, baggage hold, TV room air conditioned, Cards room air conditioned, High speed internet access point with personal computers, Free Wi-Fi internet in Lobby – Bar area, High speed Wi-Fi internet in all hotel areas at an extra charge, Shopping arcade with mini market, souvenir shop, 6 Lifts in the main building, Guest Parking, free of charge, Daily evening live music entertainment ,Bilingual staff, Car rental office, Motorbike and bicycle rental, 24hrs medical cover. Doctor on call, Florist on call, Laundry service, Baby-sitting on request, at extra charge, Beach & Pool towels against deposit, Food and Beverage Facilities: Main Restaurant ‘’ACANDIA’’, air conditioned, serves Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner, specializing in Greek and international cuisine with extended show cooking, An excellent Italian restaurant offering very delicious Italian dishes, pasta, pizza and meat specialties prepared in front of the clients, without extra charge, reservation at the reception one day before. ASIAN restaurant, top quality from China and South–East Asia, prepared in front of the clients, reservation at the reception one day before. GREEK STYLE RESTAURANT “ELLINADIKO” Discover traditional Greek appetizers! This restaurant is an excellent choice for all day dinning for guests seeking to enrich their meals. MEXICAN this pool side restaurant serves tacos, fajitas and nachos as Well a large selection of other Mexican food. PITTA - BURGERS Taste the traditional pita bread and a great variety of juicy burgers. GELATERIA-CREPERIE Serving crepes sweet or savories and delicious ice-cream. PIZZA OVEN BY THE POOL is the ideal spot to enjoy a delicious pizza between your meals. LOBBY BAR in the entrance of the hotel serves indoors and outdoors, Coffees, refreshments, exotic cocktails etc. Live music, makes the bar very popular. POOL BAR operated on a superb open air terrace, serves coffees, refreshments, exotic cocktails etc. MINI FRIDGE WITH REFRESHMENT CENTER Consist of Mineral bottled water and soft drinks, refilled every second day. TEA and Coffee making facilities in the room. Sport & Leisure Facilities 2 outdoor swimming pools with sea water , Sun terrace & loungers, Indoor pool with fresh water, At the pools, sun beds and umbrellas free of charge, Daily Light Sports animation by the pool. Tennis court and equipment free of charge, Fitness centre, massage services at extra charge. Water sports center near to the hotel (with charge), Scuba diving (with charge), Boat trips (with charge), Games room (with charge), Children’s Facilities, Separate children pool with sea water, Internet and Games corner (with charge), Children’s light animation during the morning and the afternoon. Infants’ Facilities, baby cot, baby high chairs in the restaurant, Special food upon request. Business Services, Conference rooms for 700 and 200 persons respectively, Separate lounges for up to 150 persons for any occasions and events, Superb ballroom for gala dinner, wedding parties, banquets for up 900 persons, Conference equipment, Translate rooms, Telephone and fax services, Photocopy service, Wi-Fi internet access from Conference rooms & lobby area free of charge , Distances Airport 13 Km, Port 2 Km, Rhodes Town 0,5 Km, bicycle path to the city, Beach 10 m, Bus stop in front of the hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Mitsis Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mitsis Grand
Mitsis Grand Rhodes Town
Grand Hotel Rhodes
Rhodes Grand Hotel
Mitsis Grand Hotel Rhodes/Rhodes Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing