We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“May have been a 5 star once”
Review of Mitsis Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mitsis Grand Hotel
Ranked #41 of 126 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We think that this hotel was awarded its 5 star rating many years ago and should be reassessed by today's standards!
The location is good with easy access to the old town.
Being an old hotel, the bedrooms, bathroom, and balcony were larger than would be expected in a new hotel, and they were kept very clean by the staff.
On arriving we found that the fridge did not work, but that was fixed the next day. Also the toilet would not flush, but we fixed that! There was a small safe in the room, which cost €25 for a week.
There was little or no information available in the room, and the receptionist was very curt when asked for any help or information.
The staff in the dining room were very good, but tables were so close together that you sometimes rubbed elbows with the adjacent diner. The food was good quality, but as service was buffet style, and there was always queuing so often some of the meal was cool by the time you sat down to eat!
Overall we think this hotel should be assessed as 3+ star

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
6  Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,525)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,068 - 1,074 of 2,525 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2013

I stayed at the Grand Hotel for 4 days.
I highly recommend it for couples. though not so much for families with small children, as there's not enough activities in the hotel for children (at least this time of the year).
The food was very good! a lot of options!!!
Also, as a person with sensitivity to gluten - the staff was extremely helpfull and provided gluten-free bread, cereal, soups and ect...
The location is perfect, 10 min from the old city, 2 min from the center and from the port :)

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ulele-Olala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We just came back after a fortnight stay at this Hotel.
The first imnpression was great with a very friendly helper who took our luggage to our room.

The room was fine, though somewhat worn down. I know it is the end of the season and we expect the Hotel to be upgraded during the winter. The refrigirater did not work.,They tried to fix it but it was never full capacity. There were wholes in the carpet and several places in the room were not up to standard.
We were on half board. The breakfast was fine and the buffet also expect for the crowd. Some times it was almost impossible to get a table or to get to the food. The cooks were very friendly and I think that everybody tried their best.
In the afternoon we went to the bar and were served by the very friendly and serviceminded Litsa. She was so busy but never too busy not to smile and give us good attention.
The persons in the Reception were not always very friendly, but I guess they were busy and at the end of the Season.
All in all a good stay in Rhodes, but as of now, not a 5 star Hotel. I guess my review would be a more positive one at the beginning of the Season.

Room Tip: We had a room with a view of the pool and the sun in the morning. It was fine for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OsloGoggen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

After suffering a seven hour flight delayfrom Manchester we arrived at the Grand Hotel t be greeted by friendly and sympathetic staff who provided us with meal even though the arrival time was very late. Throughout our stay we enjoyed the lovely facilities and atmosphere of the hotel. Could not find a fault despite the comments in reviews I consulted prior to going. Not one complaint. I would have no hesitation in recomending this hotel

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view and a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dennis190729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

My sisters and I stayed at the hotel for 4 days and we enjoyed every minute!!
The staff was helpful and friendly, especially at the reception.
We arrived the hotel at 21:30. greeted us Maria Koumouli with a big smile and with alot of patience. she and the other staff helped us during all days of staying and we are gratful for that.
The hotel is in a great location, its a walking distance from the old city and the new one, close to the beach.
We will sure recommend for this hotel and will be back again!!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank einav m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We visited for a week in September. Hotel was great. The staff were outstanding.
The downside side was too many people saving sunbeds and some days not arriving at them till mid afternoon. Not great. Food not really Greek enough for us. You did not feel you were in Greece. We ate in a Taverna on the last night and that was what we missed, hot food, Greek Food and great atmosphere. Will probably go back to booking a room and getting out into Greece. But would highly recommend this hotel if you just want regular eating and free alcohol on all inclusive basis.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank L_Cannings943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

This review must be taken in the context that we only ate and used the facilities of the (5 star) Mitsis Grand Hotel, Rhodes (405 rooms) as we slept at the sister Mitsis La Vita hotel (126 rooms) so I will confine my comments to the restaurant and evening meals.
The dining room sat over 300 and was open from 19.00 to 21.30 serving approximately 1060 people in 2.5 hours. They made a great show of meeting you at the door and showing you to your table but subsequently everything was geared up to get you out as quickly as possible. As one person of a group at a table finished eating the plate was whipped away before the others had finished.
Service was buffet style from a huge rectangular island where there was a lot of queuing and some pushing. It took quite a long time to get served. The only item that was consistently good was the salads which offered quite a comprehensive range of salad vegetables, cheeses, and relishes etc.
The cooked food was however a very different matter. Fresh meat was cooked on a griddle but only ever offered two choices a day and only beef burgers, chicken, liver and very fatty pork throughout the ten days. Each day there would, in addition, be several meat and fish dishes, a couple of choices of vegetables and either chips or potatoes cooked in trays in the oven which were neither roasted nor boiled and invariable under done. Unfortunately none of this food kept as hot as it should have been and as the plates were only lute warm by the time you had queued and got back to your table your meal was cold.
The puddings of which there as a large choice and all looked very elaborate and appetising unfortunately were very bland, all tasted so similar that it was difficult to tell the difference between lemon and chocolate gateaux.
When we go on holiday we like to take our time over a meal, talking, choosing what we are going to have, taking time between courses and having a coffee afterwards. Here it was like a school canteen where you were being rushed out to get the next sitting in before the bell went.
I guess the hotel facilities were just about five star but I would be pushed to give the restaurant three, all very disappointing.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Walker48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rhodes Town hotels
0.1 mi away
Mitsis Petit Palais Beach Hotel
Mitsis Petit Palais Beach Hotel
#22 of 126 in Rhodes Town
786 reviews
2.0 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,933 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rodos Park Suites & Spa
Rodos Park Suites & Spa
#6 of 126 in Rhodes Town
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
#14 of 126 in Rhodes Town
1,791 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibiscus Hotel
Ibiscus Hotel
#11 of 126 in Rhodes Town
541 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mediterranean
Hotel Mediterranean
#16 of 126 in Rhodes Town
1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mitsis Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitsis Grand Hotel

Address: Akti Miaouli 1 | Papanikolaou, Rhodes Town 85100, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Rhodes Town
#11 Spa Hotel in Rhodes Town
#12 Family Hotel in Rhodes Town
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Rhodes Town
#18 Romantic Hotel in Rhodes Town
#30 Luxury Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range: £90 - £250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mitsis Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 405
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GRAND HOTEL, the only 5-star all-inclusive beach-front city hotel in Rhodes, is synonymous to first class hospitality. Located in the city of Rhodes, at a short distance from the medieval town, the hotel is fully renovated and offers its guests all modern facilities. It has 405 luxurious guestrooms, most of which have a sea view and of which 5 are suites that stand out for their exceptional grace and comfort. The hotel has a fully equipped gym with an indoor swimming pool, two outdoor swimming pools and a variety of sports activities for both adults and children. Two conference rooms of a capacity of 600 and 200 people respectively and an impressive ballroom, equipped with technology fit the most demanding communication requirements. GRAND HOTEL offers at its 6 different restaurants a variety of gourmet experiences for the most discerning palates and offers snacks throughout the day at the Creperie - Gelateria and its wooden stove. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Mitsis Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mitsis Grand
Mitsis Grand Rhodes Town
Grand Hotel Rhodes
Rhodes Grand Hotel
Mitsis Grand Hotel Rhodes/Rhodes Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing