We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“five star hotel - don't think so!!”
Review of Mitsis Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mitsis Grand Hotel
Ranked #7 of 127 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“five star hotel - don't think so!!”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We arrived late and were delighted with the meal that had been left out for us. We were allocated a room on the fifth floor with an excellent sea view in the "Grand building" which looked a bit sad when compared to other parts of the hotel. Our room was adjacent to two lifts one of which was out of order. In the morning we were wakened at 0600 with the non stop noise of the doors opening and closing until 0830. We asked to be moved but were told the hotel was fully occupied. We considered our position and for a number of reasons decided to stay in room 543. A few days later the second lift was switched on and the noise from that was unbearable - it was obvious that something was wrong with it and that later proved to be the case. Again we asked to be moved and again our request was denied. We asked to speak with the DUTY MANAGER but he refused to meet and discuss the problem with us. The matter was resolved when we contacted the maintenance man and suggested to him that the lift be switched off. He agreed there was something badly wrong with the lift and did as we suggested.
The room (543) that we had was spacious but needing some attention - the bath had lost bits of enamel and was rusty along the edge and bottom to such extent that we were disgusted and didn't use it. However we were able to use the shower.
The foregoing apart the food was excellent and the staff friendly and efficient.
The entertainment consisted of a singing keyboard player every night and that was it!!!
The indoor pool was fine but fairly deep.
The dining room was very well organised but the noise was loud.
Apart from the foregoing we enjoyed the time we were in Rhodes and should we go back we would look for another hotel

Room Tip: Stay away from the fifth floor in the Grand Building - other guests complained about the noise from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank r_david51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,006 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,004
    586
    237
    118
    61
See reviews for
559
956
43
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (487)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

We think that this hotel was awarded its 5 star rating many years ago and should be reassessed by today's standards!
The location is good with easy access to the old town.
Being an old hotel, the bedrooms, bathroom, and balcony were larger than would be expected in a new hotel, and they were kept very clean by the staff.
On arriving we found that the fridge did not work, but that was fixed the next day. Also the toilet would not flush, but we fixed that! There was a small safe in the room, which cost €25 for a week.
There was little or no information available in the room, and the receptionist was very curt when asked for any help or information.
The staff in the dining room were very good, but tables were so close together that you sometimes rubbed elbows with the adjacent diner. The food was good quality, but as service was buffet style, and there was always queuing so often some of the meal was cool by the time you sat down to eat!
Overall we think this hotel should be assessed as 3+ star

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

I stayed at the Grand Hotel for 4 days.
I highly recommend it for couples. though not so much for families with small children, as there's not enough activities in the hotel for children (at least this time of the year).
The food was very good! a lot of options!!!
Also, as a person with sensitivity to gluten - the staff was extremely helpfull and provided gluten-free bread, cereal, soups and ect...
The location is perfect, 10 min from the old city, 2 min from the center and from the port :)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ulele-Olala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We just came back after a fortnight stay at this Hotel.
The first imnpression was great with a very friendly helper who took our luggage to our room.

The room was fine, though somewhat worn down. I know it is the end of the season and we expect the Hotel to be upgraded during the winter. The refrigirater did not work.,They tried to fix it but it was never full capacity. There were wholes in the carpet and several places in the room were not up to standard.
We were on half board. The breakfast was fine and the buffet also expect for the crowd. Some times it was almost impossible to get a table or to get to the food. The cooks were very friendly and I think that everybody tried their best.
In the afternoon we went to the bar and were served by the very friendly and serviceminded Litsa. She was so busy but never too busy not to smile and give us good attention.
The persons in the Reception were not always very friendly, but I guess they were busy and at the end of the Season.
All in all a good stay in Rhodes, but as of now, not a 5 star Hotel. I guess my review would be a more positive one at the beginning of the Season.

Room Tip: We had a room with a view of the pool and the sun in the morning. It was fine for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OsloGoggen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

After suffering a seven hour flight delayfrom Manchester we arrived at the Grand Hotel t be greeted by friendly and sympathetic staff who provided us with meal even though the arrival time was very late. Throughout our stay we enjoyed the lovely facilities and atmosphere of the hotel. Could not find a fault despite the comments in reviews I consulted prior to going. Not one complaint. I would have no hesitation in recomending this hotel

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view and a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dennis190729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

My sisters and I stayed at the hotel for 4 days and we enjoyed every minute!!
The staff was helpful and friendly, especially at the reception.
We arrived the hotel at 21:30. greeted us Maria Koumouli with a big smile and with alot of patience. she and the other staff helped us during all days of staying and we are gratful for that.
The hotel is in a great location, its a walking distance from the old city and the new one, close to the beach.
We will sure recommend for this hotel and will be back again!!

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank einav m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We visited for a week in September. Hotel was great. The staff were outstanding.
The downside side was too many people saving sunbeds and some days not arriving at them till mid afternoon. Not great. Food not really Greek enough for us. You did not feel you were in Greece. We ate in a Taverna on the last night and that was what we missed, hot food, Greek Food and great atmosphere. Will probably go back to booking a room and getting out into Greece. But would highly recommend this hotel if you just want regular eating and free alcohol on all inclusive basis.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank L_Cannings943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rhodes Town
2.0 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 127 in Rhodes Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,488 reviews
2.8 mi away
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
#10 of 127 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,953 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
#13 of 127 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mitsis Petit Palais
Mitsis Petit Palais
#19 of 127 in Rhodes Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mediterranean
Hotel Mediterranean
#15 of 127 in Rhodes Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
5.7 mi away
Mitsis Alila Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mitsis Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitsis Grand Hotel

Property: Mitsis Grand Hotel
Address: Akti Miaouli 1 | & Papanikolaou, Rhodes Town 85100, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Rhodes Town
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Rhodes Town
#6 Luxury Hotel in Rhodes Town
#6 Business Hotel in Rhodes Town
#12 Family Hotel in Rhodes Town
#18 Romantic Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Mitsis Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel 5* is a member of Mitsis Hotels and is located at Rhodes Town, just few meters from the commercial city center, the Old Town and the port. Grand Hotel consists of 405 rooms and it offers luxury accommodation with view to Aegean Sea or the garden of the hotel. An excellent choice also for winter getaways or for business trips as the hotel operates all year round. The entertainment is an element that you won’t miss at Grand Hotel. The Lobby Bar is a meeting point for both the local community and the hotel’s guests. A cozy and hospitable environment where our guests can enjoy their coffee or drink as the Bar operates until late evening. Hotels’ Facilities: Reception 24hrs with currency exchange service, Concierge, Porters, baggage hold, TV room air conditioned, Cards room air conditioned, High speed internet access point with personal computers, Free Wi-Fi internet in Lobby – Bar area, High speed Wi-Fi internet in all hotel areas at an extra charge, Shopping arcade with mini market, souvenir shop, 6 Lifts in the main building, Guest Parking, free of charge, Daily evening live music entertainment ,Bilingual staff, Car rental office, Motorbike and bicycle rental, 24hrs medical cover. Doctor on call, Florist on call, Laundry service, Baby-sitting on request, at extra charge, Beach & Pool towels against deposit, Food and Beverage Facilities: Main Restaurant ‘’ACANDIA’’, air conditioned, serves Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner, specializing in Greek and international cuisine with extended show cooking, An excellent Italian restaurant offering very delicious Italian dishes, pasta, pizza and meat specialties prepared in front of the clients, without extra charge, reservation at the reception one day before. ASIAN restaurant, top quality from China and South–East Asia, prepared in front of the clients, reservation at the reception one day before. GREEK STYLE RESTAURANT “ELLINADIKO” Discover traditional Greek appetizers! This restaurant is an excellent choice for all day dinning for guests seeking to enrich their meals. MEXICAN this pool side restaurant serves tacos, fajitas and nachos as Well a large selection of other Mexican food. PITTA - BURGERS Taste the traditional pita bread and a great variety of juicy burgers. GELATERIA-CREPERIE Serving crepes sweet or savories and delicious ice-cream. PIZZA OVEN BY THE POOL is the ideal spot to enjoy a delicious pizza between your meals. LOBBY BAR in the entrance of the hotel serves indoors and outdoors, Coffees, refreshments, exotic cocktails etc. Live music, makes the bar very popular. POOL BAR operated on a superb open air terrace, serves coffees, refreshments, exotic cocktails etc. MINI FRIDGE WITH REFRESHMENT CENTER Consist of Mineral bottled water and soft drinks, refilled every second day. TEA and Coffee making facilities in the room. Sport & Leisure Facilities 2 outdoor swimming pools with sea water , Sun terrace & loungers, Indoor pool with fresh water, At the pools, sun beds and umbrellas free of charge, Daily Light Sports animation by the pool. Tennis court and equipment free of charge, Fitness centre, massage services at extra charge. Water sports center near to the hotel (with charge), Scuba diving (with charge), Boat trips (with charge), Games room (with charge), Children’s Facilities, Separate children pool with sea water, Internet and Games corner (with charge), Children’s light animation during the morning and the afternoon. Infants’ Facilities, baby cot, baby high chairs in the restaurant, Special food upon request. Business Services, Conference rooms for 700 and 200 persons respectively, Separate lounges for up to 150 persons for any occasions and events, Superb ballroom for gala dinner, wedding parties, banquets for up 900 persons, Conference equipment, Translate rooms, Telephone and fax services, Photocopy service, Wi-Fi internet access from Conference rooms & lobby area free of charge , Distances Airport 13 Km, Port 2 Km, Rhodes Town 0,5 Km, bicycle path to the city, Beach 10 m, Bus stop in front of the hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Bookgreece.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mitsis Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mitsis Grand
Mitsis Grand Rhodes Town
Grand Hotel Rhodes
Rhodes Grand Hotel
Mitsis Grand Hotel Rhodes/Rhodes Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing