We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good hotel”
Review of Mitsis Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mitsis Grand Hotel
Ranked #7 of 127 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Certificate of Excellence
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Very good hotel”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

My sister and I stayed at the Mitsis Grand Hotel, Rhodes town, from 19th – 26th October. We had originally booked another hotel in Ixia resort nearby, but the hotel manager decided a few days before our holiday that the hotel would be closing early! So we were transferred to the (more expensive) Mitsis Grand instead. We were so glad! Ixia was more or less closed for the season already, whereas the Mitsis Grand is right in the centre of Rhodes town where everything was open. We were also upgraded free of charge from B&B to half board, which was a great bonus.

The hotel was lovely, good food, nice rooms, and very clean. We had a room each, one at the front of the hotel (sea facing) and one at the back (garden and pool facing). The garden facing room had sun in the morning and well into the afternoon. The sea facing room had a lovely view of the sea and of Turkey in the distance, provided you ignored the flat roof of the restaurant just below, and it did not get any sun. The aircon unit for the restaurant was just below my room and roared into action about 4.30 pm, staying on until about 9.30, so it drowned out any lovely surf noise. I was happy to have the sea view despite this, but glad I didnt pay extra for it. I assume the ones that you pay extra for are higher up which would cancel out most of these minor problems.

There was a very strong wind blowing from the sea towards the front of the hotel for part of our stay. During the strong winds if the sea facing balcony doors and the room door were open at the same time, it caused the doors to bang violently shut! However, the wind was only strong for a day or so at the beginning and a day at the end. In between, the weather was perfect, warm and sunny and calm.

There was not much in the way of entertainment at the hotel, just one man on a keyboard, singing. He was in or just outside the all-inclusive bar so not really available to other guests, but to be honest, that was fine with us! There was another bar at the other side of the lobby which was very nice, and of course lots of local bars within a few minutes walk of the hotel.

All in all, a very enjoyable holiday.

Room Tip: If you want a sea view, ask for a room on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SnoopyFan53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,004 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,002
    586
    237
    118
    61
See reviews for
559
955
43
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (487)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

The view from the bedroom was pretty poor - flat roofs and air conditioners - see below. Fantastic pool and easy to walk to Rhodes Town.

The staff were helpful and food was generally good. I was expecting lots of slouvaki, but their favourites on the grill are always burgers and sausages (to be fair sometimes pork or chicken). Lovely salads. The waiters and waitresses are a little slow in topping up your drinks in the restaurants but that is because there were so many holidaymakers and the restaurant couldn't cope with them all. Go for the earliest sitting and you won't be disappointed, leave it for 40 minutes and expect a wait. The restaurant is self service and at busy times your food will be cold before you sit down.

I have graded the room as poor because of the view and the rust around the plug (see photos)

Go for all inclusive and it is worthwhile.

Room Tip: If you want a room facing the sea, tell them whether you want to be directly opposite or a diagonal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

The location is great near the Old Town and across from the beach. We had a sea view room which I am not sure was worth the extra as the road was a bit noisy and the gardens and pool must make a pleasant view as well. The staff were very friendly and polite. The Greek dancing and music evening was lovely. Meals are so plentiful always fresh

Room Tip: I would book a NON sea view next time - street a bit noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CathyO55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Very nice location, nice facilities, clean and with polite and friendly employees. Breakfast buffet very rich with a lot of variety but the quality/freshness of food not so great. Also, needs quite a bit of maintenance as it is old. Hotel was closing down for winter and maybe maintenance was planned anyway.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank COSTAS K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kfar Saba, Israel
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

very pleasant hotel. it is bred on the seashore near the old city. tasty and plentiful breakfasts. friendly personnel. it is possible to take the car and to make a pleasant trip on the island. pure beaches

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 14011962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level Contributor
57 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Note that the hotel only provide complimentary water bottle on the first day. As my friend & I were expecting our fridge to be refilled with new bottles, we did not buy any before returning to the hotel in the evening, When we opened the fridge we were puzzled when we couldn't locate them. Was too tired that day so we had an early night. Called up the receptionist the next morning to request for the bottles & they refuse to bring us any & explained that complimentary water bottles are only given on the day of check in. It doesn't really sound logical to me as we paid for two nights but complimentary water is only given on the first night. Doesn't it make sense if we check out and re-check in again then?

Will not really recommend this hotel if not for its great sea view from your private balcony. Service isn't that great but we only paid 101.34EUR/night & hotel provides free breakfast & dinner. Theres a beach right infront of the hotel, thus its rather convenient if you love suntaning & slacking at the beach. The room is very simple & clean but its not exactly a 5star hotel. Would think of it as a resort more accurately. The room isn't sound proof as u can hear voices of people talking along the corridors and when people are closing their doors from the rooms nearby. When we ask how we can lock our safebox in the room, they told us that we have to pay to get the keys for the safebox. Well I thought this is a standard service we find in any hotel? Anyway the hotel allows free parking, so if you're driving its very convenient.

When we were checking out on the last day, we wanted to go out for a walk & intended to leave our luggage with the hotel. (Would think that all hotel has such service too). Note that no ticket/card is issue for that. It looks kinda of scary as they initially asked us to keep our bag in their luggage room where nobody is actually looking after the stuffs left there & the room is not locked! No security at all. A kind receptionist name Dimitris (an older man) offered to put our luggage at the reception & he will be there. He's very helpful and when we ask him about how we can get to the airport by local bus, he explained patiently to us on how to walk to the bus stop. The other staff I could remembered was the blond hair girl with a pony tail at the restaurant where we had our breakfast & dinner. She's the only person I feel who sincerely loves & enjoys her job. She is very polite and always carrying a smile.

In conclusion, there are afew staffs who are really service orientated. I wouldn't mind staying in this hotel again but with less expectations.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jasmine6868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bolton
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Stayed here last July..As most holiday makers say its 5* reception but it stops there...The room was musty and had towels around the fridge which had obviously defrosted, the drinks are of a very poor quality and there is a big difference between inclusive and non inclusive bars.
Plus side of this hotel is the staff, definatly 5* staff and food is quiet good, try the italian and chinese restraunts. THere are plenty of shop around the hotel but Rhodes is beginning to look a bit run down....wont be coming back in a hurry thats for sure..... sorry Rhodes but I think you have had your day....

Room Tip: Go to Rhodes town at night , its too warm thru the day....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cooperman100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rhodes Town
2.0 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 127 in Rhodes Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,485 reviews
2.8 mi away
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
#10 of 127 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,952 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
#13 of 127 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mitsis Petit Palais
Mitsis Petit Palais
#19 of 127 in Rhodes Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mediterranean
Hotel Mediterranean
#15 of 127 in Rhodes Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
5.7 mi away
Mitsis Alila Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mitsis Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitsis Grand Hotel

Property: Mitsis Grand Hotel
Address: Akti Miaouli 1 | & Papanikolaou, Rhodes Town 85100, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Rhodes Town
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Rhodes Town
#6 Luxury Hotel in Rhodes Town
#6 Business Hotel in Rhodes Town
#12 Family Hotel in Rhodes Town
#18 Romantic Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Mitsis Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel 5* is a member of Mitsis Hotels and is located at Rhodes Town, just few meters from the commercial city center, the Old Town and the port. Grand Hotel consists of 405 rooms and it offers luxury accommodation with view to Aegean Sea or the garden of the hotel. An excellent choice also for winter getaways or for business trips as the hotel operates all year round. The entertainment is an element that you won’t miss at Grand Hotel. The Lobby Bar is a meeting point for both the local community and the hotel’s guests. A cozy and hospitable environment where our guests can enjoy their coffee or drink as the Bar operates until late evening. Hotels’ Facilities: Reception 24hrs with currency exchange service, Concierge, Porters, baggage hold, TV room air conditioned, Cards room air conditioned, High speed internet access point with personal computers, Free Wi-Fi internet in Lobby – Bar area, High speed Wi-Fi internet in all hotel areas at an extra charge, Shopping arcade with mini market, souvenir shop, 6 Lifts in the main building, Guest Parking, free of charge, Daily evening live music entertainment ,Bilingual staff, Car rental office, Motorbike and bicycle rental, 24hrs medical cover. Doctor on call, Florist on call, Laundry service, Baby-sitting on request, at extra charge, Beach & Pool towels against deposit, Food and Beverage Facilities: Main Restaurant ‘’ACANDIA’’, air conditioned, serves Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner, specializing in Greek and international cuisine with extended show cooking, An excellent Italian restaurant offering very delicious Italian dishes, pasta, pizza and meat specialties prepared in front of the clients, without extra charge, reservation at the reception one day before. ASIAN restaurant, top quality from China and South–East Asia, prepared in front of the clients, reservation at the reception one day before. GREEK STYLE RESTAURANT “ELLINADIKO” Discover traditional Greek appetizers! This restaurant is an excellent choice for all day dinning for guests seeking to enrich their meals. MEXICAN this pool side restaurant serves tacos, fajitas and nachos as Well a large selection of other Mexican food. PITTA - BURGERS Taste the traditional pita bread and a great variety of juicy burgers. GELATERIA-CREPERIE Serving crepes sweet or savories and delicious ice-cream. PIZZA OVEN BY THE POOL is the ideal spot to enjoy a delicious pizza between your meals. LOBBY BAR in the entrance of the hotel serves indoors and outdoors, Coffees, refreshments, exotic cocktails etc. Live music, makes the bar very popular. POOL BAR operated on a superb open air terrace, serves coffees, refreshments, exotic cocktails etc. MINI FRIDGE WITH REFRESHMENT CENTER Consist of Mineral bottled water and soft drinks, refilled every second day. TEA and Coffee making facilities in the room. Sport & Leisure Facilities 2 outdoor swimming pools with sea water , Sun terrace & loungers, Indoor pool with fresh water, At the pools, sun beds and umbrellas free of charge, Daily Light Sports animation by the pool. Tennis court and equipment free of charge, Fitness centre, massage services at extra charge. Water sports center near to the hotel (with charge), Scuba diving (with charge), Boat trips (with charge), Games room (with charge), Children’s Facilities, Separate children pool with sea water, Internet and Games corner (with charge), Children’s light animation during the morning and the afternoon. Infants’ Facilities, baby cot, baby high chairs in the restaurant, Special food upon request. Business Services, Conference rooms for 700 and 200 persons respectively, Separate lounges for up to 150 persons for any occasions and events, Superb ballroom for gala dinner, wedding parties, banquets for up 900 persons, Conference equipment, Translate rooms, Telephone and fax services, Photocopy service, Wi-Fi internet access from Conference rooms & lobby area free of charge , Distances Airport 13 Km, Port 2 Km, Rhodes Town 0,5 Km, bicycle path to the city, Beach 10 m, Bus stop in front of the hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Bookgreece.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mitsis Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mitsis Grand
Mitsis Grand Rhodes Town
Grand Hotel Rhodes
Rhodes Grand Hotel
Mitsis Grand Hotel Rhodes/Rhodes Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing