We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old but good”
Review of Mitsis Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mitsis Grand Hotel
Ranked #32 of 126 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Reviewed 13 April 2014

I stayed at this hotel in 2004 and 2008 on a family holiday, and I intend on going back with my partner in 2015.

I'll start with getting the cons out of the way first. This hotel is very dated as it was built in the 60's. Some views from certain rooms you will see a lot of air con units on roofs. cracks in the walls and ceilings. The rooms are pretty standard. The beds are pretty comfy but nothing amazing and like anywhere you will have the Germans laying towels on beds at 6am.

The pros.
The hotel itself is pretty big. Reception always looks amazing. Clean and well lit. the staff are ALL brilliant on both occasions. The room maids do a good job. We always had fresh towels and bedding daily.
The Food in the main restaurant is great. Its all giant buffet style and there is always something to choose from a big variety.
The location is one of the best parts. Your about 400 meters from Rhodes town and there's bars restaurants and shops literally around the corner of this hotel. There are 3 pools here 2 outdoor salt water and 1 indoor chlorine pool. all are well looked after.

In all I will go back this hotel due to its location. food and staff.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,541)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,055 - 1,061 of 2,541 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2014

We have stayed at this hotel for a week with all inclusive basis. Initially we have booked a different hotel from Mitsis group, however, since its only the beginning of the season we were moved to Mitsis Grand Hotel, and I would say, I was very impressed.
The hotel is very nice and clean, great and helping staff. We had some issues with the room and they were efficiently fixed within a few minutes time.
Having travelled a lot in the past and stayed at various 4-5 star hotels, I can honestly say I have never had such nice food at a hotel! There was something for everyone and the variety of food was such that we could not resist but have a huge three-course meal everythime when going to the restaurant. The choice of drinks at all inclusive bar was reasonable as well and the barmen would be happy to make a cocktail for you that is not listed on the menu.
Room quality great, rooms cleaned daily and the room fridge was stocked up with water everyday.
Also, great location, just a few minutes from the city centre and you only need to cross the street to get to the beach.
We didn't use the gym as it was 9EUR for a single visit, quite expensive considering a lack of gym facilities with just a few treadmills and dumbbells.
All in all, I will definitely be coming back to this hotel in the future!

Room Tip: Try and book a room overlooking the sea, the view to the blue sea and mountains in the horizon is to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DovileVa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

We had a lovely time. The staff were really accomodating - they especially kept the restaurant open as our flight came after it would have closed. The hotel was beautiful. There was free wi-fi in the lobby.

We had a premier room on the 3rd floor overlooking the sea. The beach was lovely.

We would definitely come back! Well done Mitsis

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
6  Thank Bhalvinder V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Only one comment that says a lot about this hotel. I saw that there were cockroaches in my room and they did not find it necessary to accept my desire to move to another room.

Niels Christian Jørgensen
4800 Nykøbing F, Denmark

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
28  Thank K2235HDChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We chose the Mitsis Grand as we wanted a good hotel right near Rhodes Town and with easy access to the beach. This is exactly what we got ! The food (all inclusive) was great, especially their breakfast, you must try the hazelnut praline! The bell hop that helped with our bags was named Dimitri and he was so so so helpful ! As we had to walk to the bus stop to catch the bus to the airport, he helped us with our bags all the way up the road and to the bus stop and didn't even want a tip for it! The only thing I would say is that the room is from the 80s and whilst clean, does need a revamp desperately. Other than that, good resort to stay at.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Lovefood134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

My sister and I stayed at the Mitsis Grand Hotel, Rhodes town, from 19th – 26th October. We had originally booked another hotel in Ixia resort nearby, but the hotel manager decided a few days before our holiday that the hotel would be closing early! So we were transferred to the (more expensive) Mitsis Grand instead. We were so glad! Ixia was more or less closed for the season already, whereas the Mitsis Grand is right in the centre of Rhodes town where everything was open. We were also upgraded free of charge from B&B to half board, which was a great bonus.

The hotel was lovely, good food, nice rooms, and very clean. We had a room each, one at the front of the hotel (sea facing) and one at the back (garden and pool facing). The garden facing room had sun in the morning and well into the afternoon. The sea facing room had a lovely view of the sea and of Turkey in the distance, provided you ignored the flat roof of the restaurant just below, and it did not get any sun. The aircon unit for the restaurant was just below my room and roared into action about 4.30 pm, staying on until about 9.30, so it drowned out any lovely surf noise. I was happy to have the sea view despite this, but glad I didnt pay extra for it. I assume the ones that you pay extra for are higher up which would cancel out most of these minor problems.

There was a very strong wind blowing from the sea towards the front of the hotel for part of our stay. During the strong winds if the sea facing balcony doors and the room door were open at the same time, it caused the doors to bang violently shut! However, the wind was only strong for a day or so at the beginning and a day at the end. In between, the weather was perfect, warm and sunny and calm.

There was not much in the way of entertainment at the hotel, just one man on a keyboard, singing. He was in or just outside the all-inclusive bar so not really available to other guests, but to be honest, that was fine with us! There was another bar at the other side of the lobby which was very nice, and of course lots of local bars within a few minutes walk of the hotel.

All in all, a very enjoyable holiday.

Room Tip: If you want a sea view, ask for a room on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank SnoopyFan53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

The view from the bedroom was pretty poor - flat roofs and air conditioners - see below. Fantastic pool and easy to walk to Rhodes Town.

The staff were helpful and food was generally good. I was expecting lots of slouvaki, but their favourites on the grill are always burgers and sausages (to be fair sometimes pork or chicken). Lovely salads. The waiters and waitresses are a little slow in topping up your drinks in the restaurants but that is because there were so many holidaymakers and the restaurant couldn't cope with them all. Go for the earliest sitting and you won't be disappointed, leave it for 40 minutes and expect a wait. The restaurant is self service and at busy times your food will be cold before you sit down.

I have graded the room as poor because of the view and the rust around the plug (see photos)

Go for all inclusive and it is worthwhile.

Room Tip: If you want a room facing the sea, tell them whether you want to be directly opposite or a diagonal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rhodes Town hotels
2 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,939 reviews
2.8 mi away
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
#12 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,244 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mitsis Petit Palais Beach Hotel
Mitsis Petit Palais Beach Hotel
#20 of 126 in Rhodes Town
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mediterranean
Hotel Mediterranean
#15 of 126 in Rhodes Town
1,071 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel Plaza
Best Western Hotel Plaza
#22 of 126 in Rhodes Town
717 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
#13 of 126 in Rhodes Town
1,799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mitsis Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitsis Grand Hotel

Address: Akti Miaouli 1 | Papanikolaou, Rhodes Town 85100, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Rhodes Town
#9 Spa Hotel in Rhodes Town
#10 Family Hotel in Rhodes Town
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Rhodes Town
#18 Romantic Hotel in Rhodes Town
#27 Luxury Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range: £82 - £242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mitsis Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 405
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GRAND HOTEL, the only 5-star all-inclusive beach-front city hotel in Rhodes, is synonymous to first class hospitality. Located in the city of Rhodes, at a short distance from the medieval town, the hotel is fully renovated and offers its guests all modern facilities. It has 405 luxurious guestrooms, most of which have a sea view and of which 5 are suites that stand out for their exceptional grace and comfort. The hotel has a fully equipped gym with an indoor swimming pool, two outdoor swimming pools and a variety of sports activities for both adults and children. Two conference rooms of a capacity of 600 and 200 people respectively and an impressive ballroom, equipped with technology fit the most demanding communication requirements. GRAND HOTEL offers at its 6 different restaurants a variety of gourmet experiences for the most discerning palates and offers snacks throughout the day at the Creperie - Gelateria and its wooden stove. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Alpha Holidays Limited, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mitsis Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mitsis Grand
Mitsis Grand Rhodes Town
Grand Hotel Rhodes
Rhodes Grand Hotel
Mitsis Grand Hotel Rhodes/Rhodes Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing