We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Holiday”
Review of Mitsis Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mitsis Grand Hotel
Ranked #11 of 126 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

My wife and I spent two fantastic weeks here from 19th April. Lovely, good sized well appointed bedrooms. Everything in the building was very clean and in excellent decorative order. The staff were so friendly and helpful. We enjoyed the extensive buffet meals and spent may pleasant evenings in the Piano Bar, the inclusive local wine and lager were very acceptable but the whisky was terrible
.The two out door pools were really good and loungers were plentiful.
Our only grouse was the Chinese restaurant, it was disappointing, our opinion here was influenced by our having lived in the far east for many years

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,469)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

990 - 996 of 2,471 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2014

We have just got back after a week at this hotel may 14 till may 21st . I can honestly say everything about this hotel was excellent, clean, the service, and the girls at reception was brilliant. There's a great little car hire round the corner for 25 euros a day. And at the back of the hotel there's a sports bar which has 20 tvs to watch all sports. We have just booked for another week in september.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GED4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

My wife and I recently spent a week in Rhodes town which we enjoyed the down side was that we had to go to this hotel to eat our evening meal, the first night was reasonable but we found the food to very greasy. On subsequent nights we endured similar poor food with very little variation to previous nights. By the 5 th day of our stay we could take the food no longer and stuck to salads and soup.
In this hotel there are of other European nationalities who took it apon themselves to organise the food queues until they had forgotten a dish and had to crash the queue, there were a number of 'bun fights'.
This behaviour had a profound effect on us so much so that we will never include half or fullboard options to any future holidays.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank david b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

I just came back from our short beak in Rhodes, where we stayed in Mitsis Grand Hotel with All Inclusive board basis. The room was sea view, very clean and comfortable, the meals had a big variety on flexible hours. They have a gelateria and a creperia opened until 01:00 AM, a Chinese restaurant without extras, the drinks are local alcoholic and non alcoholic, here I was not so happy with the quality, but if u like, u can go to the Old Town to have some very nice cocktails ! The hotel's location is perfect, beach front, 10 minutes walk to the resorts center and about 20 min from the Airport. We payed 22 euros with a taxi from the airport, but we left back with a shuttle, same timing and just 4.6 euros per couple, the bus stop being just 5 min from the hotel.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are wonderful !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Raluca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

stayed here from 7-14 May,all inclusive ,with my sister ,very nice room sea view,all area's were very clean ,
the food was excellent, all the staff were nice.very near the old town.
the drawbacks were you where charged 25 Euro's for the safe for a week,other places are free or a lot cheaper,we arrived at 10 pm so assumed we had the room till our coach picked us up at 6pm
on the day of departure [our 7th day] we had to pay another 25 Euro's to stay in the room till 4pm
I have been to many other countries on holidays but have not been fleeced like this hotel.

Room Tip: pay for a sea view and go all inclusive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank christine r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We had a short three days visit in this hotel and it was mostly nice.
We got a very big room (maybe because while ordering we mentioned we were celebrating). The room was very clean and was clean daily. There was no good view from the room because we were on the first floor. It didn't bother us too much. The shower was big and clean with big bath.We had two single beds put together instead of one big bed which was a little Inconvenient,
The hotel is right on the beach (you just need to cross the road) and is in a 10-15 minutes walking distance to the old city which is just beautiful. It is very convenient. The new town of Rhodes is right outside of the hotel with plenty restaurants and ships. There is a street of bars and clubs right across the street.
There are three pools in the hotel, one is indoors. We didn't try them because the water was too cold for us... but the grounds and pool area is o.k.
We were half board (part of the other guests in the hotel were all inclusive). Breakfast was very nice with a very large variety of food. Dinner also had a large variety but the food wasn't very much for my taste (I am a vegetarian) my husband enjoyed the meat selection.
There are also two restaurants in the hotel (Italian and Chinese) where you can dine instead of dinner (you need to make reservation the day before). We tried the Italian and it was very good.
The Chinese was full every night as well so I guess it is good as well though we didn't try it.
there is a safe in the room but you should pay for it which is a little wired... in many hotel this service is for free, especially in place next to the beach where you usually leave things in the safe.
An extra towel for the swimming pool will require a deposit of 20 Euros. Also, in my opinion this is not very common.
The reception staff are very smiley and helpful
Overall we liked this hotel because it is very close to the city and we could walk to and from it all day long. We visited another hotel in Rhodes in a different trip which was a little better but it wasn't as close to town and we had to spend money for taxies... We will be happy to come to this hotel again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tumi80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Stayed 10/5 to 17/5/14 and whilst I would agree with other comments that this is not quite a true 5-star, i this is a very high standard of accommodation and service for the money you're paying. Have realistic expectations! We would stay again which I suppose is the ultimate test.

Pros - Staff are extremely courteous, friendly and hard-working. They made the stay for us. The rooms, other communal interior and exterior décor are immaculate, everything has been re-painted recently and with the exception of the rooftop and some minor (screened) refurbishment continuing at the pool, flawless. Fridge and daily top-up of water bottles in the room. Free TV. No real problem getting chairs at the pool even though hotel close to full most days. We were all-inclusive and there was plenty of choice of coffee, soft drinks and alcohol available at the bar. Also an ice-cream / cake parlour by the pool, and oven-baked pizza to snack on in the afternoon between meals. The restaurant was bright and cheery and given the hotel was at capacity, efficient service. Lots of choice on the buffet. Two nights we were entertained by the same guitarist in the garden for an hour or two .It's about 20 minutes walk to the main harbour and old town which is beautiful.

Cons - The food was slightly repetitive and many dishes a little bland. We tried reserving a table in the Chinese restaurant which was slightly better but a bit portion-managed. Bear in mind a very mature clientele, hardly anyone under 60. I wasn't conscious of any other organised entertainment or activities laid on. Loud echoey banging of doors (almost unavoidable, really hard to shut quietly!) and noise from the bar areas in your room, however because of the clientele this finished 11-1130 anyway.

To lift this to a true 5-star, you'd need to have full waiter service at the tables, bars and pool areas (impractical for the large, all-inclusive nature of the hotel), activities and entertainments, improved food quality, and more themed restaurants. But this is a really high standard all-inclusive and great value for the money so please don't take any negative comments as reasons not to go - they are constructive suggestions for improvement rather than criticisms.

Room Tip: You may want to try and avoid a room over the bar areas because of noise, and the first floor becaus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CB001_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rhodes Town
2.0 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,886 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mitsis Petit Palais Beach Hotel
Mitsis Petit Palais Beach Hotel
#22 of 126 in Rhodes Town
766 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
#16 of 126 in Rhodes Town
1,775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Rodos Park Suites & Spa
Rodos Park Suites & Spa
#6 of 126 in Rhodes Town
416 reviews
2.8 mi away
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
#13 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,217 reviews
5.7 mi away
Mitsis Alila Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mitsis Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitsis Grand Hotel

Address: Akti Miaouli 1 | Papanikolaou, Rhodes Town 85100, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Rhodes Town
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Rhodes Town
#6 Business Hotel in Rhodes Town
#9 Luxury Hotel in Rhodes Town
#12 Family Hotel in Rhodes Town
#18 Romantic Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range: £58 - £209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mitsis Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel 5* is a member of Mitsis Hotels and is located at Rhodes Town, just few meters from the commercial city center, the Old Town and the port. Grand Hotel consists of 405 rooms and it offers luxury accommodation with view to Aegean Sea or the garden of the hotel. An excellent choice also for winter getaways or for business trips as the hotel operates all year round. The entertainment is an element that you won’t miss at Grand Hotel. The Lobby Bar is a meeting point for both the local community and the hotel’s guests. A cozy and hospitable environment where our guests can enjoy their coffee or drink as the Bar operates until late evening. Hotels’ Facilities: Reception 24hrs with currency exchange service, Concierge, Porters, baggage hold, TV room air conditioned, Cards room air conditioned, High speed internet access point with personal computers, Free Wi-Fi internet in Lobby – Bar area, High speed Wi-Fi internet in all hotel areas at an extra charge, Shopping arcade with mini market, souvenir shop, 6 Lifts in the main building, Guest Parking, free of charge, Daily evening live music entertainment ,Bilingual staff, Car rental office, Motorbike and bicycle rental, 24hrs medical cover. Doctor on call, Florist on call, Laundry service, Baby-sitting on request, at extra charge, Beach & Pool towels against deposit, Food and Beverage Facilities: Main Restaurant ‘’ACANDIA’’, air conditioned, serves Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner, specializing in Greek and international cuisine with extended show cooking, An excellent Italian restaurant offering very delicious Italian dishes, pasta, pizza and meat specialties prepared in front of the clients, without extra charge, reservation at the reception one day before. ASIAN restaurant, top quality from China and South–East Asia, prepared in front of the clients, reservation at the reception one day before. GREEK STYLE RESTAURANT “ELLINADIKO” Discover traditional Greek appetizers! This restaurant is an excellent choice for all day dinning for guests seeking to enrich their meals. MEXICAN this pool side restaurant serves tacos, fajitas and nachos as Well a large selection of other Mexican food. PITTA - BURGERS Taste the traditional pita bread and a great variety of juicy burgers. GELATERIA-CREPERIE Serving crepes sweet or savories and delicious ice-cream. PIZZA OVEN BY THE POOL is the ideal spot to enjoy a delicious pizza between your meals. LOBBY BAR in the entrance of the hotel serves indoors and outdoors, Coffees, refreshments, exotic cocktails etc. Live music, makes the bar very popular. POOL BAR operated on a superb open air terrace, serves coffees, refreshments, exotic cocktails etc. MINI FRIDGE WITH REFRESHMENT CENTER Consist of Mineral bottled water and soft drinks, refilled every second day. TEA and Coffee making facilities in the room. Sport & Leisure Facilities 2 outdoor swimming pools with sea water , Sun terrace & loungers, Indoor pool with fresh water, At the pools, sun beds and umbrellas free of charge, Daily Light Sports animation by the pool. Tennis court and equipment free of charge, Fitness centre, massage services at extra charge. Water sports center near to the hotel (with charge), Scuba diving (with charge), Boat trips (with charge), Games room (with charge), Children’s Facilities, Separate children pool with sea water, Internet and Games corner (with charge), Children’s light animation during the morning and the afternoon. Infants’ Facilities, baby cot, baby high chairs in the restaurant, Special food upon request. Business Services, Conference rooms for 700 and 200 persons respectively, Separate lounges for up to 150 persons for any occasions and events, Superb ballroom for gala dinner, wedding parties, banquets for up 900 persons, Conference equipment, Translate rooms, Telephone and fax services, Photocopy service, Wi-Fi internet access from Conference rooms & lobby area free of charge , Distances Airport 13 Km, Port 2 Km, Rhodes Town 0,5 Km, bicycle path to the city, Beach 10 m, Bus stop in front of the hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mitsis Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mitsis Grand
Mitsis Grand Rhodes Town
Grand Hotel Rhodes
Rhodes Grand Hotel
Mitsis Grand Hotel Rhodes/Rhodes Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing