We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous location and happy memories!”
Review of Mitsis Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mitsis Grand Hotel
Ranked #13 of 126 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Hull, United kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Fabulous location and happy memories!”
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

We've just arrived back from here and had a fabulous time! The choice of different foods kept our family happy we had different foods every night, no chance to get bored! I particularly loved the chinese restaurant, my children loved the italian one and the creperie/icecream parlour and my husband loved the main restaurant. Our room was on the first floor but we could see the front pool and a glimpse of the sea from our spacious room. The fridge was topped up with bottles of water daily and rooms kept clean. Air conditioning was a little noisy ( but we left it on during day to cool room down and then switched off at night) lots of mosquitos (wd have been ok if we'd taken the plug ins but we forgot). We hired a car from the road to the right of the hotel as was cheapest at 40e a day and we explored lots of the island- the butterfly place, ruins and Lindos, we loved spending time at tsambiki beach-sandy beach with lovely seafront eateries and water sports). During our stay we also went on the open topped bus around the old town and on a speed boat when dark around the lit up harbour. Evening is busy in old town but a little cooler, especially for our children. The front pool was freezing but had a shallower end which was great for the girls. The back pool had all the food choices next to it. My girls loved having the 'tropicelle'non alcoholic cocktail whilst we tried the others! More of an adult hotel than family (as no children's activities but my girls were happy in the pools.)& despite it's size it was relatively quiet and it suited us for a relaxing week away.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank madtigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,296 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,216
    638
    254
    123
    65
See reviews for
677
1,053
54
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (519)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ninove, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

It was our 5th time in the Mitsis Grand Hotel. They made a lot of positive changes for example a Mexican and Greek restaurant also a snackbar with pancakes, hamburgers and ice cream.They even made very good moijto's and daiquiri strawberry's.The staff are very friendy and they do everything for their guests.
The food is so good in all the à la carte restaurants that during our visit of 11 days we didn't have enough time to go a lot to the main restaurant.The changes this year gives the hotel a score from 10 for us.
Next year, it will be for us the 6th time in the Mitsis, the hotel has everything and it's also 10 minutes walking from the old town, the harbour, the new town and next to the sea...what can you expect more...

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ingrid D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Mitsis_Grand, Manager at Mitsis Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Mrs Ingrid,
As already mention, your kind comments give us the strength to continue our efforts to expand our services to our friends.
Best regards,

Kavouklis Nikolas
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor and Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

This is a fabulous 5 star hotel,staff always attentive and pleasant
Rooms spacious with a lovely sea view 10 mins walk to rhodes town
Food was fabulous, the children especially enjoyed the pancakes, the Greek, Mexican and pitta bar all fabulous, didn't have opportunity to try the chinese and italian, but the buffet excellent for choice, something for everyone.
Hotel more suited to couples or families with older children as no lifeguards around pool or animation/kids clubs for those who use them.
Would suggest to stay all inclusive as excellent value plenty of drink choice served in glasses as opposed to plastic cups like most places.

Room Tip: For those who want fast wifi 7days will cost 50 euros
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

The hotel has an excellent location at the northernmost tip of Rhodes (the capital city of the Island). The location allows you to reach west and east facing beaches within a short 5-7 min walk. West is rather windy so we were using more the east side, which is a bit farther (but less than 10 min walk anyway). The hotel has good sea views if you get a room on the west beach side, otherwise is more like pool views. There are three pools (one of them indoors) and a well equipped gym. I am only giving three stars because of the poor room service (almost everyday some bathroom towel was missing and we had to request it from reception). We had half board and the meals were just ok, though I missed some details such fresh juices (not from concentrate) and a wider choice of meats from the grill (it was always either chicken, pork or liver). They offer also the choice of eating in a Chinese and a Italian restaurant as alternative to the buffet (after reservation). We tried the Chinese that was pretty good, although the menu was somehow short for a Chinese restaurant. At the 5-star level they could also offer in-room free wifi and more quiet rooms, but unfortunately loud animation/concerts are common in big beach hotels.

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms facing the inner yard pool & restaurant area.. They have all kinds of very l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank davprez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Mitsis_Grand, Manager at Mitsis Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear Mr davprez,
First we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel to spend your holidays.
I m really surprised that the service of our roommates was not so consistent.
We don’t have animation team in our hotel but following our guest willingness, we have stated different music live shows at reasonable times, after dinner 21:30 until 23:00
Thanks nonetheless for your time to review your experience in order to help us be even better
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tjaereborg, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This is the answer to a perfect hotel! We travelled as a family with a grown up child. Had a double room with a fantastic view to the front pool and the sea.
The room was nice and comfortable with a mini fridge, which was filled with water bottles everyday + the room was cleaned up every day by the nicest cleaning staff.

The location is just perfect. The beach is just right across the road and you only have to walk about ten minutes to come to the old town of Rhodes. It's also easy to find shops and super markets in the streets near the hotel.

We had all inclusive and this is definitely recommended! EVERYTHING was included! A main restaurant which served breakfast, lunch and dinner by a huge buffet. By the pool three other restaurants where located: mexican, greek and pitta/burgers. The food was overwhelmed and the cooks worked so hard all day long.
There where two bars where you could get everything you needed. Drinks, different coffee, sodas and other refreshments.
AND last but not least there where free ice cream, delicious cakes and crepes, also placed near the pool area.
You could not ask for more - and everything was just perfect!

We haven’t met a more friendly staff than here. They worked so hard to make everything perfect - and they still had time to make you feel welcome and give you a fantastic vacation! It’s clear to see, that these guys have a passion for working at a hotel like this!
A great thank you to the staff at Mitsis Grand!

We will definitely come back - maybe already next year ;-)

Thank you from Denmark!

Room Tip: Sea view is worth all the money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Anne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Look no further if you want a great hotel with the most friendly staff . Great location , wonderful food and all the staff could not be more friendly. It is the best hotel In Rhodes and I would genuinely recommend it to anyone who wants to have a touch of class whilst also being served by people who treat you like family .

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank 39inewman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morpeth, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

On our arrival at the hotel we were greeted by wonderful helpful staff and a very attractive reception area. We were the escorted to our room and upon arrival at the lift there was a very strong smell of drains (isolated to that area only) Upon opening the door to the room we were somewhat disappointed to find a rather jaded room - the shower worked well but was hanging off the wall and the whole bathroom should have been refitted and re-tiled some 10 years ago. The fridge (unusual for a 5 star hotel) was only stocked with water - no other drinks - and there are no tea or coffee making facilities, the air conditioning unit sounded like a world war two fighter plane taking off and it was nigh on impossible to sleep with it on - of course in the heat you needed it on to be able to sleep and appeared to be missing one or two panels. Next to the door was the room fuse box which had no cover on, and in it apart from the fuses was what looked like some form of live transformer - don't stick your fingers in it to find out!! The TV was a state of the art Grundig 22" CRT TV - well it was state of the art in 1979 - I would have thought that a five star hotel would have plasma/lcd TVs in the room. Most of the channels were out of tune and the only English channel was the BBC World News.

Many people on here have raved about the food in the main restaurant saying it was the best they had ever eaten - it's not. It is average food that you would get in many a 3 or 4 star hotel - although the staff are very attentive - although there are many health and safety issues here as you help yourself to hot water at the buffet for your morning cuppa them attempt to dodge young children running around and not scald them as you trip over them.
There are two other restaurants in the main area - Italian and Chinese - again very helpful staff but very average food.
Outside there are two pools, one at the front of the hotel the other at the rear. To be able to relax at either of theses pools first you need beach towels to put on your sunbeds to reserve them and if you haven't taken some with you a very nice young lady at reception will relieve you of 20 euros cash per towel as a deposit - and I thought this was a 5 star all inclusive hotel!! The next issue is finding a sunbed as it appears to be the tradition in Rhodes that people staying in other hotels can use another hotels pool facilities and as such come to this one and take up the sunbeds for free - something I had paid for as part of our package.
Around the rear pool is a new development encompassing a range of Greek, Burger, Mexican, Creperie, Ice Cream and Pizza snack bars - these along with the staff were excellent and if you feel the need to stay at this hotel I would highly recommend them as opposed to the main restaurant area.
All in all I would not recommend this hotel - it is tired and pretending to be something it is not. I feel sorry for the staff who work hard in what is starting to become a somewhat run down unit.
Be warned it is certainly not 5 star - 4 stars in some parts and even less in others. ,

Room Tip: We understand that some of the rooms on the fifth floor have been refurbished - avoid the second flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rhodes Town hotels
2.0 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,743 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
#14 of 126 in Rhodes Town
1,686 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mitsis Petit Palais
Mitsis Petit Palais
#18 of 126 in Rhodes Town
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
#11 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,120 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rodos Park Suites & Spa
Rodos Park Suites & Spa
#9 of 126 in Rhodes Town
384 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mediterranean
Hotel Mediterranean
#16 of 126 in Rhodes Town
1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mitsis Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitsis Grand Hotel

Property: Mitsis Grand Hotel
Address: Akti Miaouli 1 | Papanikolaou, Rhodes Town 85100, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Rhodes Town
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Rhodes Town
#6 Business Hotel in Rhodes Town
#12 Family Hotel in Rhodes Town
#12 Luxury Hotel in Rhodes Town
#18 Romantic Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Mitsis Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel 5* is a member of Mitsis Hotels and is located at Rhodes Town, just few meters from the commercial city center, the Old Town and the port. Grand Hotel consists of 405 rooms and it offers luxury accommodation with view to Aegean Sea or the garden of the hotel. An excellent choice also for winter getaways or for business trips as the hotel operates all year round. The entertainment is an element that you won’t miss at Grand Hotel. The Lobby Bar is a meeting point for both the local community and the hotel’s guests. A cozy and hospitable environment where our guests can enjoy their coffee or drink as the Bar operates until late evening. Hotels’ Facilities: Reception 24hrs with currency exchange service, Concierge, Porters, baggage hold, TV room air conditioned, Cards room air conditioned, High speed internet access point with personal computers, Free Wi-Fi internet in Lobby – Bar area, High speed Wi-Fi internet in all hotel areas at an extra charge, Shopping arcade with mini market, souvenir shop, 6 Lifts in the main building, Guest Parking, free of charge, Daily evening live music entertainment ,Bilingual staff, Car rental office, Motorbike and bicycle rental, 24hrs medical cover. Doctor on call, Florist on call, Laundry service, Baby-sitting on request, at extra charge, Beach & Pool towels against deposit, Food and Beverage Facilities: Main Restaurant ‘’ACANDIA’’, air conditioned, serves Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner, specializing in Greek and international cuisine with extended show cooking, An excellent Italian restaurant offering very delicious Italian dishes, pasta, pizza and meat specialties prepared in front of the clients, without extra charge, reservation at the reception one day before. ASIAN restaurant, top quality from China and South–East Asia, prepared in front of the clients, reservation at the reception one day before. GREEK STYLE RESTAURANT “ELLINADIKO” Discover traditional Greek appetizers! This restaurant is an excellent choice for all day dinning for guests seeking to enrich their meals. MEXICAN this pool side restaurant serves tacos, fajitas and nachos as Well a large selection of other Mexican food. PITTA - BURGERS Taste the traditional pita bread and a great variety of juicy burgers. GELATERIA-CREPERIE Serving crepes sweet or savories and delicious ice-cream. PIZZA OVEN BY THE POOL is the ideal spot to enjoy a delicious pizza between your meals. LOBBY BAR in the entrance of the hotel serves indoors and outdoors, Coffees, refreshments, exotic cocktails etc. Live music, makes the bar very popular. POOL BAR operated on a superb open air terrace, serves coffees, refreshments, exotic cocktails etc. MINI FRIDGE WITH REFRESHMENT CENTER Consist of Mineral bottled water and soft drinks, refilled every second day. TEA and Coffee making facilities in the room. Sport & Leisure Facilities 2 outdoor swimming pools with sea water , Sun terrace & loungers, Indoor pool with fresh water, At the pools, sun beds and umbrellas free of charge, Daily Light Sports animation by the pool. Tennis court and equipment free of charge, Fitness centre, massage services at extra charge. Water sports center near to the hotel (with charge), Scuba diving (with charge), Boat trips (with charge), Games room (with charge), Children’s Facilities, Separate children pool with sea water, Internet and Games corner (with charge), Children’s light animation during the morning and the afternoon. Infants’ Facilities, baby cot, baby high chairs in the restaurant, Special food upon request. Business Services, Conference rooms for 700 and 200 persons respectively, Separate lounges for up to 150 persons for any occasions and events, Superb ballroom for gala dinner, wedding parties, banquets for up 900 persons, Conference equipment, Translate rooms, Telephone and fax services, Photocopy service, Wi-Fi internet access from Conference rooms & lobby area free of charge , Distances Airport 13 Km, Port 2 Km, Rhodes Town 0,5 Km, bicycle path to the city, Beach 10 m, Bus stop in front of the hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Mitsis Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mitsis Grand
Mitsis Grand Rhodes Town
Grand Hotel Rhodes
Rhodes Grand Hotel
Mitsis Grand Hotel Rhodes/Rhodes Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing