We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More like a motel”
Review of Mitsis Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mitsis Grand Hotel
Ranked #34 of 126 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Reviewed 17 December 2010

This is not a five star hotel, probably not a three star hotel. The "queen size bed" was actually two twin beds pushed together with separate bedding on each. The beds themselves were very uncomfortable and it was difficult to sleep. We were there in the off-season during a very rainy period and there were bugs in our room, but no bug spray at the front desk. In the hallways, there were towels strewn about to sop up the numerous leaks. Outside of the bedrooms, the hotel was actually quite nice. The restaurant was good, bar was enjoyable (but overpriced) and the lobby was very pretty (these are the photos they show you). The staff was very friendly and helpful (they did recommend a delicious restaurant and gave out maps). The indoor pool was in a carpeted room surrounded by dining tables and a piano and did not appear to be in use. Because we found this hotel through a package deal, it was very affordable and would be adequate if not for the bugs (which were probably just due to the rain). That said, it is still not a five star hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank nachjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,541)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,435 - 1,441 of 2,541 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2010

We were invited by my parents for a 5 day stay at this hotel with some of their friends. It was our first time in a 5 star hotel, and had a lot of expectations. None of them were met.

First of all the cleaning is just a shame : the room was dirty, the carpet was not properly cleaned, the bathroom had mold spots, we found dust on a lot of places, the furniture was just not working properly. There is no Internet nowhere in the building, except in a corridor next to the bar between the lobby and the elevators.

Then, the service is just a shame... We found ourselves coming back from breakfast into our room finding the household changing the towels, and found ourselves almost insulted because we disturbed her while she's working ! In the restaurant, we wanted to eat all at the same table for diner, but the waitress didn't want to add a seat at the table...

I like to swim the morning to wake me up, whenever I have a swimming pool close by, I tried that swimming pool only once, because it has more chlorine than water... We then wanted to try out the beach in the front of the hotel, but finally changed our mind when we found used syringes between the beach's stones.

Hint: find an hotel in lindos town instead, over there it can't be as bad.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank guyzmal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2010

My husband and I were gifted with a stay at the Grand Hotel for our honeymoon last March. We were absolutely thrilled to go during the "off-season," becase while it was too chilly to swim there were almost no other tourists around. Our room was in the center of the hotel, with a direct view of the Turkish Coast outside our room. We woke up every morning looking at the most beautiful blue water I've ever seen. Our plan included breakast and dinner in the hotel, leaving us free to enjoy the local fare for lunch while never having to worry about whether we'd find something to eat. We rented car from the Budget agent in the hotel one day, for an excellent exploration of the west coast - the rates were reasonable and he even came in from another location to help, though he wasn't scheduled to be there when we wanted the car. The staff was unfailingly friendly and helpful. There is no wi-fi, but the only need we had for computers was the occaisional check of email to tell our families how grateful we were for the gift. The hotel was an easy walk from the Old Town and very near the nightlife in the new town. It was an ideal base to explore Rhodes!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BekahWantsToGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2010

So what if some rooms don't have a flat t.v screen,or minibar?
after my second stay in this hotel, few days ago,I like Grand hotel even more:the big room and teracce,the soft colors and lights in the room,coridors and the big beautiful lobby,the view to the sea or the pool,
the very good and rich food breakfast and dinner,the area and the easy short walk to the old city.


I would also like to thank for a nice and friendly behavier:Katerina Andonara from the receotion
and Dimittris Sarris.All other staff members I met were also nice.
Sure I'll return again,hoping that on the next visit they'll have WiFi also un the rooms'not only in the lobby.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yuda1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2010

I stayed at la vita round the corner but used the Grand to eat and sunbathe,

The entrance/foyer is very nice and very clean, the pool is good and there are a number of facilities including a gym and sauna. It has an indoor pool which is ok and a decent ar (but very expensive)

Would i stay there? Only if i got a cheap deal, its a 3* at best in my opinion, location is good on the beach and near the town. The staff in my experience were poor. No smiles, your welcomes, how can i help you. Queing up at the reception takes an age and when you do get seen you feel like they are doing you a favour rather than helping. I laughed at one point when someone asked a staff member for a en and her reply was 'im sorry this is the only one i have' as she held it in her hand, the bloke only wanted to quickly write something.

Being from la vita i could only eat my dinner between 8.30 and 9.30, and to be honest id rather have a maccies. The food is ok with a decent variety but again staff are rude and being from la vita we have to hand a yellow ticket which they place on your table. If you try to get it off they go mad, ne couple next to us put the ticket in their bag and one of the staff slammed her hand on the table. you do feel like second class citizens at times.

I cant comment on rooms as i didnt stay there but everywhere seemed clean.

watch out for starers, everywhere you go people stop and stare at you all the time, staff and residents!!

Ive done seperate review for la vita and included my views on Rhodes, in short lovely place but can be expensive

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wolvesfc1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2010

My husband & I have just returned home from a holiday in Rhodes & after staying at the Grand Hotel, we can honestly say that it was one of the best holidays that we have ever had! Considering that it is a large hotel, we found very few faults. Unlike some of he previous reviews, we found all of the staff to be courteous and friendly (including the waiting staff in the restaurants). The food was excellent (we ate in all three restaurants and found them all to be superb) & we never queued more than a couple of minutes for a table. In fact, as my husband & I like to dine quite early in the evening, we were able to walk straight into the restaurant and choose our own table. Our room, which overlooked one of the pools was large, spotlessly clean, very comfortable and the shower, fridge & air con all worked perfectly. There were always plenty of sunbeds available around the pool, both in the sun & shade. The only minor complaints that we could find were that a) the room safes were expensive at 25 euros for the week b) the drinks at mealtimes were also quite expensive, c) the 'round' outside pool could do with a clean as the tile grouting was a bit dirty in places d) the tiles around the pool were EXTREMELY slippery when wet (we witnessed one lady slip over & nearly slipped ourselves) So have some flip-flops handy at the edge of the pool for when you get out. Other that these few small criticisms, we found the Grand Hotel to very good value for money, and in a perfect location for beaches & for exploring both the new and the old towns, which are absolutely beautiful!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moo1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2010

We stayed at this resort for ten days. We had beautiful sea view rooms with balconies. For the first few days I have no complaints. After this however we began experiencing problems with the hotels water supply, late morning to early afternoon and the again in the early evening, with the shower either cutting off or turning to a dribble at these times, not exactly helpful when trying to get ready for dinner. The rooms themselves were very clean and comfortable with maid services everyday. I would however say that having your towels delivered up to two hours after the room being cleaned is not ideal as we were having to use our beach towels during this time.

If you are a light sleeper the wave noise from outside is very loud as there is no double glazing, even myself who sleeps through everything had problems the first few nights!

The resturaunt was as you'd expect. Food was nice with a reasonable choice. For the first few days again we have no complaints, but after this as the hotel began to fill up it became clear that the resturaunt was not big enough, with long queues waiting outside to be seated and even longer queues inside for the buffet. The was a lot of "pushing and shoving" during the second half of our holiday. If you are a couple thinking of staying here be prepared to be sat with others as there are no seperate tables for those in pairs.

The waiters here also sometimes left something to be desired with some speaking very little english and drink orders not being taken until we had almost finished our main course on several occasions.

The two pools are lovely, the one out the front being quieter. We did notice that the pool was being shared with the hotel next door meaning that by 9am all sun-loungers were taken.

Rhodes itself we would re-visit, lovely place and very friendly people. The hotel we wouldnt reccommend though.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DeP88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rhodes Town hotels
2 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,939 reviews
2.8 mi away
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
#12 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,244 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mitsis Petit Palais Beach Hotel
Mitsis Petit Palais Beach Hotel
#20 of 126 in Rhodes Town
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mediterranean
Hotel Mediterranean
#16 of 126 in Rhodes Town
1,071 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel Plaza
Best Western Hotel Plaza
#23 of 126 in Rhodes Town
717 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
#13 of 126 in Rhodes Town
1,799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mitsis Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitsis Grand Hotel

Address: Akti Miaouli 1 | Papanikolaou, Rhodes Town 85100, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Rhodes Town
#9 Spa Hotel in Rhodes Town
#10 Family Hotel in Rhodes Town
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Rhodes Town
#18 Romantic Hotel in Rhodes Town
#27 Luxury Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range: £83 - £242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mitsis Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 405
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GRAND HOTEL, the only 5-star all-inclusive beach-front city hotel in Rhodes, is synonymous to first class hospitality. Located in the city of Rhodes, at a short distance from the medieval town, the hotel is fully renovated and offers its guests all modern facilities. It has 405 luxurious guestrooms, most of which have a sea view and of which 5 are suites that stand out for their exceptional grace and comfort. The hotel has a fully equipped gym with an indoor swimming pool, two outdoor swimming pools and a variety of sports activities for both adults and children. Two conference rooms of a capacity of 600 and 200 people respectively and an impressive ballroom, equipped with technology fit the most demanding communication requirements. GRAND HOTEL offers at its 6 different restaurants a variety of gourmet experiences for the most discerning palates and offers snacks throughout the day at the Creperie - Gelateria and its wooden stove. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Alpha Holidays Limited, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mitsis Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mitsis Grand
Mitsis Grand Rhodes Town
Grand Hotel Rhodes
Rhodes Grand Hotel
Mitsis Grand Hotel Rhodes/Rhodes Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing