We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Safe Bet” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Minos Pension & Roof Garden Lounge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Minos Pension & Roof Garden Lounge
Ranked #79 of 129 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A Safe Bet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013

We stayed 2 nights at Minos Pension in the old town and we were pleasantly surprised as a pension was not on our list before. A warm and genuine welcome, clean and fresh room and helpful owner made it special. The room had a cook-top, kettle and clean, compact bathroom/toilet. Special care was taken with our laundry. Friendly faces everywhere. Located within the city walls meant we carried our packs out onto the outside roads to get a taxi on check out but that was made up for by the thrill of history and winding narrow streets. Rooftop garden has a terrific view and breakfast was good. Coffee is above average for Rhodes. Bar service was a little bit lack lustre but this was not a big issue. Overall, I recommend to fellow travellers for that good balance between quality and price.

Room Tip: All rooms look good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SparkyRomulus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    53
    19
    6
    7
See reviews for
9
68
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
NEWCASTLE
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

We are a couple in our late 60's who preferred to stay in the Old Town and explore the many narrow lane ways and have an 'authentic' experience. We chose to stay at Minos which from its rooftop bar/cafe , offers the most panoramic views over Old Rhodes Town.
The rooms can be compact but we upgraded to a suite to enjoy extra space. Our room was serviced daily and linen was changed every second day. We appreciated he fact that there was a fridge. double hot plate, crockery and cutlery which could allow for self catering , we however preferred to eat out.
The hosts make it a five star experience and you feel part of a family of which we met four generations including 97 year old patriarch . You feel welcome from the time you arrive and nothing was a bother. They were able to help with laundry, taxi hiring, places to visit etc. Meals can be purchased if you find it too hard to leave the rooftop views.
An important aspect of Minos was that it is accessible by taxi for arrival and departure , especially for departures back to Athens by plane which normally leaves at 6.40 am.
Minos has free WiFi as have most areas in Old Rhodes.
If you are travelling to Rhodes , experience the Old Town for accommodation rather than the resorts which are too far out and require transport to access Old Town Rhodes which is the main reason one should have to go to Rhodes.
Don't forget to visit the museums as they are very interesting and also 'bargain when shopping!

Room Tip: If you are a couple who needs space, the cheaper rooms are very small. Larger rooms are more spaciou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OZTOURERNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

We stumbled on Minos on one of our forays round the streets of Rhodes and came back nearly every day. The rooftop bar is the perfect chill-out spot in Rhodes town, Buy a Greek coffee ( a double for 2.50) or a strawberry mojito in the eveing, sit on one of the sofas and admire the view, enjoy the breeze, watch the cruise ships and ferries coming in or wait for the glorious sunset over the Old Town.

We didnt stay here, but would definitely consider it if we return to Rhodes.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
Helpful?
Thank SalsaJiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Idaho USA
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2013

We stayed in the Minos Pension in February and were the only guests in the facility. The owner and his wife were in the middle of preparing for their son's upcoming wedding and understandably were somewhat indifferent to our needs.

Be sure that you call ahead upon your arrival in Rhodes, either by air or at the ferry port, to make sure someone will be available at the hotel to meet you where the taxi driver drops you...better yet, have the taxi driver call them to get directions. The hotel is hard to find the first go round.

A good place and we probably will stay there again.

Room Tip: Some have a kitchen some apparently don't. The upper level rooms certainly must have a view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BobbyIdahoUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
733 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,282 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2012

Nice location in Old Town, though a bit far from the harbor area.

Room was nice size, tile floor, small refridgerator, with a small bathroom. There was a split a/c in the room, but one night it started to leak on the closet. We had to remove our things, luckily nothing was damaged/wet. There was a bed net for bugs. We would have liked to open the window more but alot of street noise came in. So, we really couldn't. Bathroom needed more room for sure. The shower was a challenge! All was kept clean during our stay.

The rooftop lounge was pretty dirty, with worn cushions/covers. It needed alot of TLC.

The owner seemed to be indifferent to guests. We would most likely look for another place to stay next time.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HawaiiKaiGail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
In transit
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

The room was clean, and was spacious enough. The bed was comfortable. The en-suite bathroom worked. The location in the heart of Rhodes Old Town is excellent (if you don't mind carrying your bags through the streets to and from the hotel, as it's not easy for taxis to get in). The price paid represented excellent value.

On the roof there's a stunning roof garden with views across the Old Town. The beers aren't cheap, but what do you expect?.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2012

Situated towards the top of Rhodes Old Town, Minos Pension is an excellent base for exploring the highlights, with easy access to the ferry port. It's in a quiet area beyond the noisy bars, and just up the road from a square/area of very good, less "touristy" restaurants. The rooftop lounge bar is lovely with comfortable couches and exceptional views.

The Artemis Room is small and looks out onto a wall, but includes a kitchenette. Room was clean and bed very comfortable. This is a pleasant hotel, and very fairly priced considering the location. Recommended for a peaceful, relaxing stay in the Old Town.

Most Old Town accommodation can only be reached by foot via long bumpy cobble stone alleyways: not recommended for people with lots of luggage or with mobility difficulties.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are cost less but look out directly on to a wall. Front rooms overlook the courtya...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jack d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rhodes Town hotels
0.8 mi away
Anastasia Hotel
Anastasia Hotel
#37 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
0.2 mi away
Spot Hotel
Spot Hotel
#62 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Galaxias
Hotel Galaxias
#42 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Evdokia Old Town Hotel
Evdokia Old Town Hotel
#32 of 129 in Rhodes Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
0.8 mi away
Comfort Hotel
Comfort Hotel
#72 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sylvia Hotel
Sylvia Hotel
#61 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Minos Pension & Roof Garden Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minos Pension & Roof Garden Lounge

Property: Minos Pension & Roof Garden Lounge
Address: 5 Omirou | Old Town, Rhodes Town 851 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 129 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Minos Pension & Roof Garden Lounge 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HotelsClick and Booking.com so you can book your Minos Pension & Roof Garden Lounge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minos Pension And Roof Garden Lounge
Minos Pension & Roof Garden Lounge Hotel Rhodes Town
Minos Hotel Rhodes Town
Minos Pension & Roof Garden Lounge Rhodes/Rhodes Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing