We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (149)
Filter reviews
149 results
Traveller rating
49
62
21
9
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
49
62
21
9
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old city rooftop restaurant every morning short walk turkey kitchenette luggage accommodation rhodes harbour maria greek
Filter
Updating list...
53 - 58 of 149 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We are a couple in our late 60's who preferred to stay in the Old Town and explore the many narrow lane ways and have an 'authentic' experience. We chose to stay at Minos which from its rooftop bar/cafe , offers the most panoramic views over Old Rhodes Town.
The rooms can be compact but we upgraded to a suite to enjoy extra space. Our room was serviced daily and linen was changed every second day. We appreciated he fact that there was a fridge. double hot plate, crockery and cutlery which could allow for self catering , we however preferred to eat out.
The hosts make it a five star experience and you feel part of a family of which we met four generations including 97 year old patriarch . You feel welcome from the time you arrive and nothing was a bother. They were able to help with laundry, taxi hiring, places to visit etc. Meals can be purchased if you find it too hard to leave the rooftop views.
An important aspect of Minos was that it is accessible by taxi for arrival and departure , especially for departures back to Athens by plane which normally leaves at 6.40 am.
Minos has free WiFi as have most areas in Old Rhodes.
If you are travelling to Rhodes , experience the Old Town for accommodation rather than the resorts which are too far out and require transport to access Old Town Rhodes which is the main reason one should have to go to Rhodes.
Don't forget to visit the museums as they are very interesting and also 'bargain when shopping!

Room tip: If you are a couple who needs space, the cheaper rooms are very small. Larger rooms are more spacious and have basic self catering but it's better to eat out and experience Greek cuisine. As Minos is not in centre of town , all rooms are quiet.
Date of stay: June 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OZTOURERNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We stumbled on Minos on one of our forays round the streets of Rhodes and came back nearly every day. The rooftop bar is the perfect chill-out spot in Rhodes town, Buy a Greek coffee ( a double for 2.50) or a strawberry mojito in the eveing, sit on one of the sofas and admire the view, enjoy the breeze, watch the cruise ships and ferries coming in or wait for the glorious sunset over the Old Town.

We didnt stay here, but would definitely consider it if we return to Rhodes.

Date of stay: June 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
Thank SalsaJiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2013

We stayed in the Minos Pension in February and were the only guests in the facility. The owner and his wife were in the middle of preparing for their son's upcoming wedding and understandably were somewhat indifferent to our needs.

Be sure that you call ahead upon your arrival in Rhodes, either by air or at the ferry port, to make sure someone will be available at the hotel to meet you where the taxi driver drops you...better yet, have the taxi driver call them to get directions. The hotel is hard to find the first go round.

A good place and we probably will stay there again.

Room tip: Some have a kitchen some apparently don't. The upper level rooms certainly must have a view of the old city and the port.
Date of stay: February 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobbyIdahoUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

Nice location in Old Town, though a bit far from the harbor area.

Room was nice size, tile floor, small refridgerator, with a small bathroom. There was a split a/c in the room, but one night it started to leak on the closet. We had to remove our things, luckily nothing was damaged/wet. There was a bed net for bugs. We would have liked to open the window more but alot of street noise came in. So, we really couldn't. Bathroom needed more room for sure. The shower was a challenge! All was kept clean during our stay.

The rooftop lounge was pretty dirty, with worn cushions/covers. It needed alot of TLC.

The owner seemed to be indifferent to guests. We would most likely look for another place to stay next time.

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LasVegasMyTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

The room was clean, and was spacious enough. The bed was comfortable. The en-suite bathroom worked. The location in the heart of Rhodes Old Town is excellent (if you don't mind carrying your bags through the streets to and from the hotel, as it's not easy for taxis to get in). The price paid represented excellent value.

On the roof there's a stunning roof garden with views across the Old Town. The beers aren't cheap, but what do you expect?.

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews