We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Moving around the island!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Atlantica Princess Hotel
Ranked #9 of 126 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We have used 3 hotels during our Rhodes Island hop during May 2014 and Atlantica Princess Hotel was our first. Great staff, especially Stephanie on front desk. Huge constant smile what ever your question. In fact whoever we spoke to just went beyond the norm to help.
We had a great room and nice food. Our greatest disappointment, the sea view we paid extra for. It simply was waste land with digging machine working from early morning. In fact we also had the view of a 30 metre long old shipping container below us and also blocking the sea view from the restaurant. Thomson our travels agents should be ashamed, especially as it was our 40 wedding treat!
Outside the hotel the Greek government should be ashamed. Broken pavements, rubbish and broken bottles plus very old half finished building and overgrown areas everywhere. As far as the airport it must be the worst in the EU. The publicc toilets had broken taps-even laying on the floor, no toilet seats or paper, tape round all urinals-not to be used. You even had to pick a tap top from the floor to put in position to try and get water running to clean your hands. Finally, no paper towels and warm hand driers were not working. Shame on the Greek governments efforts, when hotels and businesses are investing to bring in tourists.
We would not go back until the Greek government got it's act together. Finally, never get in a taxi you will take your life into your own hands. You will be doing 80 mph through small villages with drivers using mobiles in one hand and cigarette in the other.....We are still shaking!
Great Greek people was the high point of the holiday.

Room Tip: Forget the sea view- unless you close your eyes and imagine what you may see!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank perrypressure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theocharous, Manager at Atlantica Princess Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for sharing your holiday experience on TripAdvisor.
We appreciate all our guests feedback as this aids us to achieve the highest level of customer service.
We are very happy that you were in general satisfied with the hotel services.
We regret to know that you were dissatisfied with the sea view due to the land and the containers in front of the hotel. We would like to inform you though, this is a private owned land which we do not have access to it.
As far as the comments about the infrastructure of the island be assure we will pass your comments to the local authorities for taking action.
We hope that this will meet to your expectations and we hope to welcome you back to our hotel once again.
Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (649)
There are newer reviews for Atlantica Princess Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

457 - 463 of 649 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2014

We returned home from a two week holiday at the Atlantica Princess Hotel last week. This hotel is absolutely superb! I went with my partner & two children & my sister-in-law & husband & their baby & my brother-in-law & his girlfriend. There were 9 of us including the children.

Rooms
I stayed in a family suite with my partner & 1 & 2 year old children. The room was fantastic, extremely clean, modern design, very spacious. The family suite is set over 2 floors with 2 bathrooms, the children slept upstairs in the quiet sea view room & we had the downstairs room overlooking the pool. This could be very noisy at night (we didn't stay to watch all the entrainment as our two babies were too tired by 9 or 10pm at the very latest), we were right over the bar but the entrainment finished at 11pm sharp & the noise did not affect the children at all. Each room had a balcony with chairs & a clothes airer downstairs for beach towels etc. There was a fridge both upstairs & downstairs & a kettle was also supplied. There is a large power shower upstairs & a bath with shower downstairs, both bathrooms had hair-dryers on the wall & they also supply shower gel dispensers & hand wash dispensers which is a nice touch, wouldn't have taken so many toiletries if I'd known shower gel was supplied!

Food - Half-Board
We stayed on a half-board basis which included buffet breakfast with tea, coffee etc. & buffet evening meal where drinks were extra. The food was fantastic! I am vegetarian & the choice was excellent, the rest of our party all agreed the food was of a very high standard. There was a different theme every night & so much choice. The food was always very hot & fresh, they had a chef cooking fresh pancakes & waffles each morning & every evening there was always something being cooked freshly in certain areas of the dining room. There was even a gluten free section at breakfast!

Staff
All of the staff were extremely friendly, polite & smart. Everyone from the hotel manager to the maintenance staff greeted you with a smile. The dining room staff were lovely & so efficient, we always had to have a large table at dinner as there were 9 of us, but we were always able to be accommodated even when the restaurant was extremely busy. Our second week overlapped into the half term holiday & the hotel did get noticeably busier but even so the dining room was run very effectively. The bar staff were also very friendly as were reception who were also extremely helpful with local information. The maids were lovely & always made a fuss of the children, I loved the way they would line my children's teddy bears up in their cots & lay the bed clothes out, lovely touch! The rooms were cleaned immaculately too, with daily service, even on Sundays. The entertainment staff were fantastic, so friendly & enthusiastic, I think they got to know everyone in the hotel, excellent! The management also held a 'meet the management night' with free cocktails & canapés which was a lovely touch & shows they really do care about & want to get to know their guests. It is also lovely that both a member of management & some of the entertainment staff are always there to bid you farewell, even helping with bags etc. & saying individual goodbyes & all waving you off, such a nice touch!

Facilities
The main pool was lovely, very clean & well kept & a good size too, it was cold but we did go in May & it did warm up the second week! It was busy on the second week as it fell within half term, but that said there were still enough sunbeds to go around. There is also a kids pool with two slides & a covered baby pool too. There is a large pirate ship climbing frame with wavy slide etc. a smaller, but still good sized Little Tikes toddler climbing frame with 2 slides & another smaller one with a single slide. There is a football pitch, pool table, tennis table, air hockey machine, driving arcade game & a grabber machine. There are computers in the lobby which were coin operated, didn't use these though as the hotel had free Wi-Fi which was great! There was also a lovely play room for toddlers near to the climbing frames, down the steps & to the right opposite the conference room where the welcome meetings are held with the reps. This was a large free play room called the 'Play Hotel' it had a small kitchen & utensils, lots of play tools which my little boy loved & a stage in one corner. There was also a soft play area for babies, balls, board games, electronic toys which all worked & there are also toilets in this room. This was a regular for us after breakfast before the kids had their sun cream on, they burned off a lot of energy in this room!

The Local Area
Being half board we felt much more flexible with going out for the day to explore the island. A few of the all inclusive guests did say they were more reluctant to go too far from the hotel as everything was included & they didn't want to have to pay for food etc. when they had effectively already paid for this at the hotel. We went into Rhodes old town twice (don't do the bus if you have a pushchair! A taxi is only 12 euro & worth every cent!) We took a glass bottom boat (the Orca speed boat) from the harbour which was well worth the 10 euro each (children were free). The old town is beautiful, plenty to see, very impressed!
We also went to Lindos twice which is a must, the beach is spectacular! The first visit we went up to the acropolis (by Donkey!), fabulous views, wonderful history! the second visit we went purely to the beach because it was so nice, it was crystal clear water, sheltered cove & nice a shallow for the kids, just beautiful! We did not book through our rep but used a company down the road from the hotel called Holidays Essential, they also had an office in Rhodes town.
We also took a taxi to Faliraki which was nice but much more commercial than Ilyassos.
Other people in our party did the scuba diving which they really enjoyed & also the valley of the butterflies which again we were told was very nice.
There are some lovely bars & tavernas down the road from the hotel in Ilyassos, if you are not all inclusive. The Knights of Olde bar was very good value & food & a nice warm welcome, there are a few other nice places to eat too.
Taxis are very reasonable & all work off a set tariff so you know exactly what you are paying (you pay 2 euro extra if the taxi is booked by phone rather than at the taxi station or if flagged down).

All in all this was a fantastic holiday at an absolutely wonderful hotel on a beautiful island & I hope to return there again soon!

Enjoy your stay, we did very very much!

Room Tip: Rooms over pool are loud at night (until 11pm). The Family suites are wonderful & spacious!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank zoe w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theocharous, Manager at Atlantica Princess Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear guests,

Thank you so much for sharing your holiday experience on TripAdvisor.
It gives us great pleasure to know that we were able to deliver an impeccable holiday experience as this what we are here for and this is what we love to do.
I will be sure to share your comments with all the staff members of our hotel and praise them for their outstanding service and being able to create a positive impression.
Hope to see you soon at the Atlantica Princess,
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

There is no such thing as perfection but I have always felt that, if perfection is the goal then the bits that don't quite happen are fairly inconsequential.

The hotel is catering for the all inclusive customer and this was our first experience of this. I have to say that it is not really my cup of tea but the hotel has managed to get the balance of mass catering vs the sacrifice of quality about right. The food was hearty and hot and offered a range that suited all of our family tastes. A good sign that my kids ate well every evening when historically a lack of range meant that they end up with a plate of plain pasta or some weird concoction involving frankfurters and white chocolate.

Each night offered an international theme (or rather the catering management's interpretation of an international theme) and my only disappointment was the lack of locally inspired food other than on "Greek Night".

The plumbing was interesting too, the showers worked off a mixer arrangement which made them very difficult to get the temperature right. It felt like the whole hotel was using the same cold water feed so at busy times the water could change from ice cold to dangerously hot and back again without touching the mixer. As a grown up getting used to this, you learned to play the game and step out of the water flow when it began to warm up too much but it wasn't really a good idea with kids who had baths simply because we didn't want anyone scalded.

These are minor gripes though in the overall picture, I'm not sure that much could have been done about them without, in the case of the food, offending the taste of the masses and in the case of the plumbing, asking the guests to stagger their showering and toilet habits.

The hotel was meticulously clean, the interior decoration was contemporary and nice (a contrast to the bland functionality sometimes on offer). we had a family suite which offered 2 bedrooms staggered over 2 floors which was fantastic (everyone got a balcony with a nice view).

The restaurants (there were two, a large one for breakfast and dinner, and an al fresco arrangement for lunch which also had an a la carte option) There was a sign up warning guests of busy times but, to be honest, we never had to queue and everything was managed with outstanding efficiency.

This brings me on to the staff, at no point did I see any member of staff operate without a smile on their face. They all went out to their way to look after their guests and even the top end management made their presence known throughout the week. The entertainment team however are the jewel of the establishment, there was only 5 of them but they were ever present from first thing in the morning until last thing at night, they took control of the kids club, the poolside and sporting activities and the evening entertainment (which included a number of very professional cabaret performances). When they weren't directly involved in these activities they would mingle with the guests which meant that we were given the opportunity to get to know them as well.

A really nice touch was the waving off of the guests on departure date, there was a couple of teary eyes on the coach to the airport which, whilst I can't admit to that degree of emotion myself, should endorse the abilities of these guys.

Marcus, one of the entertainment staff probably hit the nail on the head when we were chatting whilst we waited for our transport. He said that this was his second season, his colleagues were like his second family and he couldn't consider working anywhere else. I think that probably hits the nail on the head of the atmosphere that the hotel achieves.

As a testament to the quality

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jimbo37_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theocharous, Manager at Atlantica Princess Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear guests,
I would like to thank you for your comments about our hotel in TripAdvisor.
We certainly take note of all your comments which are of great value to us and give us the power to go forward and improve ourselves to the benefit of our valuable guests.

I hope we will have the opportunity soon to welcome you again.
On behalf of the entire staff of the Atlantica Princess
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Seriously couldn't fault this holiday. Food was the usual buffet style for an all inclusive but every night was a different theme. Every single member of staff was friendly and went out of their way to make our holiday wonderful. Our room was interconnecting with a sea view one side and garden view the other. They were both clean and comfortable.
The highlight of our stay was the TMC entertainment team. From greeting us as we went into breakfast and again at dinner, they ran activities all day everyday. From the highly popular aqua splash aerobics to killer pool, afternoon quizzes and a show every night. They worked tirelessly and were a huge hit with all the guests and especially the children.
Before we'd even left to come home (to which the whole team and hotel manager came to wave us off) we knew we wanted to come back.
Thank you so much to all the hotel staff and entertainment team to making our holiday memorable for all the right reasons. Hope to see you again soon!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheMartinsx3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theocharous, Manager at Atlantica Princess Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear valuable guests,
I would like to thank you for your positive and valuable comments about the Atlantica Princess.
It gives us great pleasure that you have enjoyed your stay with us. On the same time it gives us the power to go forward and maintain and improve even more our serviced to our guests.

Once again i would like to thank you and look forward to welcoming you again to our hotel in the near future.

Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

My husband and I have just returned from the holiday which we went on with another couple. Before we went I was very concerned about the fact the air con only starts in mid June and would not be on whilst we were there but as it was windy it was not a problem (for most of the time). The hotel is very clean, the rooms are a very good size and comfortable. We had a sea view and requested quiet rooms, high floor, which we got. The food was nice, something for everyone but sometimes the dining room is extremely busy but as there was 670 guests when we were there, I think they handled it very well. The staff make this hotel special, everyone we spoke to were wonderful and could not do enough for you, this was from the Manager right down to the cleaners every member of staff are fantastic. It was my husbands birthday while we were there and he had wine and a basket of fruit left in the room for him. The entertainment staff were excellent, constantly trying to please everyone all day and night. When we left not only did the holiday rep (who was great) but the entertainment staff and the Manager came to the bus to see us off , a nice touch to end our holiday. If I had to make a criticism, it would be that the al carte dining experience wasn't what we expected, we thought it would be a special menu from which we could pick a different meal, but this is a minor issue. I would definitely recommend this hotel. Well done to the Manager and your staff.

Room Tip: If you prefer quiet rooms, sea view rooms are the best
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yvonne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theocharous, Manager at Atlantica Princess Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear guests,
Thank you for sharing your holiday experience on TripAdvisor.
Its my pleasure to know that our team members in all departments have managed to create a truly nice holiday experience for you.
As for the A La Carte we appreciate your feedback as this aids us to achieve the highest level of customer service. We ensure that remarks are used to improve the experience for our guests.

We look forward to welcome you again in the near future.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Fantastic choice of food, something for everybody. the staff are wonderful. We were travelling with another couple and my friend was taken extremely ill in the dining room and was airlifted to Athens. The staff at the hotel were wonderful they couldn't have been more helpful. The hotel is in a very good location for Rhodes town. Taxi is 12 euros and bus 2.40 euros bus stop 5 mins walk from hotel. the room was great had a sea view which was good but the balcony is not the sunny side of the hotel which would be good if you are looking for shade on a very hot day but not so good if you are early or late season. the pool side is the sunnier side but much noisier. The beach is pebble but good for swimming and only about 3 mins walk away and very quiet. Windy side of the island which would be good when the temperatures soar!

Room Tip: Sea view side not so much sun! Pool side sunnier but noisy!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jilldt14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theocharous, Manager at Atlantica Princess Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

I would like to thank you for your comments about our hotel in TripAdvisor.
Your praising comments will certainly be shared with the whole team as such comments work as a great motivator.
We all hope your friend is recovering, and hope to welcome you all back to our hotel soon.

With my best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

This was our second visit to the hotel, our first being our honeymoon 4 years ago. My husband, 11 year old daughter and myself received a lovely welcome back by the staff with fruit and wine, bathrobes and slippers in our room.

Rooms: lovely, clean and recently refurbished. Large rooms definitely worth a seaview room. Yes there is a bit of wasteland before the beach but the views are beautiful and the sound of the sea just lovely. We used a mozzie plug in repellent and had no problems with bites. Very comfy beds too, just like home.

Staff: What can I say, they are fabulous, working so very hard all day. So very polite and smiling and will go out of there way to help you with anything. This applies to the hotel reps too, who were fun and energetic.

Food: Where do I start, the food here is really, really very good. Lots of choice for everybody, always fresh and hot and tasty. Everybody was complimenting the restaurants.

Drinks: Really good standard of soft and alcoholic drinks, A/I till midnight, the wine was pretty good, some nice cocktails too. I really enjoyed the chocolate milkshake with Baileys, lovely.

Pool: Large, clean pool with lots of beds available , people do put towels out in the morning but there still seemed plenty to go around.

There majority of the customers at the hotel are Swedish/German with some English. I don't know why more English people don't use the hotel because it's fabulous.

We miss the hotel already and we will definitely be back in the next year or two. If you are going or thinking of going this year, you will have fantastic time.

Room Tip: High floor, seaview rooms are lovely.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank kerri_sweeting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theocharous, Manager at Atlantica Princess Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thank you very much for sharing your holiday experience on TripAdvisor.
It gives us great pleasure to know that we were able once again to deliver an impeccable holiday experience as this is what we are here for and this is what we love doing.
Our absolute pleasure was to know that our team members have managed to deliver a bit of personal care as its our goal to take care of all our guests and our repeaters.
We all look forward to welcoming back to the Atlantica Princess once again.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rhodes Town
2.0 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,822 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
#14 of 126 in Rhodes Town
1,731 reviews
1.2 mi away
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
#13 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
D'Andrea Mare Beach Resort
1.1 mi away
Electra Palace Rhodes
Electra Palace Rhodes
#2 of 31 in Ialyssos
1,637 reviews
1.1 mi away
Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantica Princess Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantica Princess Hotel

Address: PO Box 4101 | Ialysos, Rhodes Town 85101, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Rhodes Town
#7 Romantic Hotel in Rhodes Town
#8 Luxury Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range: £105 - £218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Atlantica Princess Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com, Travel Republic (UK), HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Atlantica Princess Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantica Princess Ixia
Hotel Atlantica Princess
Atlantica Princess Hotel Rhodes/Rhodes Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing