We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing stay, wish we could have stayed longer!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Atlantica Princess Hotel
Ranked #9 of 127 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Certificate of Excellence
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Amazing stay, wish we could have stayed longer!!”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We stayed at the Atlantic Princess for 10 days at the end of May to the start of June.

This is by far the best holiday I have had in a long time... I couldn't complain about a single thing!

The staff were absolutely outstanding, especially the waiters - Aspostolis and Nikhos. Christina on the bar was also absolutely amazing. The waiters really made our holiday... once they saw our drinks were nearly empty, they brought new ones over before we had finished! Great service... Shots and allsorts of different drinks were brought to us throughout the evenings and they really made us feel special.

The enterainment team were pure class... no day or evening was ever boring. They did the best to make sure nobody was ever bored. They are so friendly and really do go the extra mile for you.

Our room was great, nice décor and a lovely view out to the sea. It was cleaned everyday, even when we hadn't put the make up room sign on our door.

The food was also at a high standard for an all inclusive hotel... there was a lot of choice and you would never go hungry. however, some of the meat I did find myself being a bit careful of. We did visit the Al a carte restaurant and found this to be a bit disappointing. The main meal was more like a mini BBQ, not what we expected.

We spent most days relaxing by the pool, enjoying the sunshine and the entertainment... taking part in aqua splash and the poolside quiz daily... you never had to struggle for a sunbed and if you wanted to sit somewhere quiet, without being pestered, there are plenty of areas for this.

We really did have such an amazing time. We met some lovely people and made some good friends... We would most definitely come back again.

Room Tip: Book a sea view room on a high level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Katie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theocharous, Manager at Atlantica Princess Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear guests,
On behalf of the entire Atlantica Princess team, I would like to thank you for your lovely feedback on TripAdvisor.
It gives us great pleasure to know that we were able to deliver an impeccable holiday experience as this is what we are here for and this is what we love doing.
Your praising comments will certainly be shares with the whole team as such comments work as a great motivator.
See you all very soon,
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    344
    145
    44
    7
    6
See reviews for
268
191
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We stayed at Atlantica princess and found it to be a massive let down.

On arrival at the hotel we were greeted by a male receptionist, he was not very pleasant as soon as we walked in. The hotel provide a few snacks which were in fact stale.

On going into the room itself we were not overly impressed, we looked out onto our balcony with the view of 2 blue shipping bins, past that was a better view of the ocean.

When my husband and I were ready to go to sleep we found red hairs on the pillow cases and in the sheets themselves, I called down to reception to get a possible room change due to cleanliness to which he rudely said, "this cannot be done", we then offered to pay more for a room upgrade and were told to speak to reservations in the morning. We then asked if we could have some clean sheets to which he replied "there are no house keeping available". I explained to him that I was not willing to sleep on dirty sheets, he then said he would send someone up with clean linen. When someone did arrive he bought along with him 1 single sheet and no clean pillow cases, when we did ask for these he gave myself and my husband a look as though we were asking for the world and made us feel like we were being unreasonable.
This member of staff turned out to be the waiter of the bar and throughout our whole holiday we observed him greet every holiday maker with a warm greeting and complementary coffee ouzo, whilst myself and my husband were ignored by him and did not get the same service as the other guests. Whilst we were sitting in the bar area he would also keep giving horrid looks to us both.

Hotel food was very nice in flavour however, the food was always served cold except for the al a carte. This was disappointing as the food had the potential to be very good, however we were a bit apprehensive at times as meat should be served piping hot.

It wasn't all terrible as the Thomson rep Keeley was very welcoming and really tried to ensure that our holiday was the best it could be within her control. In addition the pool side bar had a lovely bar lady called Kristina who was one of the few hotel staff that really made us feel welcome in their hotel. The other member of staff was Maria who worked on reception and was very helpful. The other receptionists need to smile as they are the first point of contact for the hotel.

The beach is nice but make sure you wear some kind of foot wear as it hurts to walk on.

The shop in the hotel itself is more expensive then the shops on the outside of the hotel. The shops outside have extremely friendly staff and they are willing to go out of their way for you. They tend to give you free samples of ouzo, honey and olives.

There is also a restaurant worth going to, it's called Kaliva and it had the most beautiful mouth watering authentic greek food. It is on the beach up the road from the hotel and the staff are brilliant. After we had paid for our meal they gave us free drinks. Our safari tour guide recommended this restaurant.

We did some excursions, the tale of 2 and a half cities which was good and the symi trip which was beautiful when you go for lunch the guide takes you to a restaurant that they recommend, don't go to it expensive and the food was either bought out incorrectly and well over priced, look around and find somewhere nicer. Also use rhodes land rover safari tour, you can find them on trip advisor.

All in all I would have to say I have never stayed in a hotel were I have wanted cry on the 1st night. I would never stay in this hotel again, we went passed the Electra hotel and that looked amazing, whereas the atlantica isn't much to look at scenery wise.

I read all the reviews for this hotel constantly before we went away and I am so surprised how horrid it was considering the comments are very fantastic.

Room Tip: The suites are lovely worth the upgrade as this is what my parents had. However the evening entertai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Hari1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theocharous, Manager at Atlantica Princess Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
The entire team of the Atlantica Princess was regretful to read that your perception of our resort did not comply with your expectations. We are sorry that we were not able to make your stay a big success as we have done with thousands of other guests as well as with your parents and that is why they have chosen to come back to our hotel again as repeaters.
After the unfortunate issue on the first day, we took all the necessary actions right away as to ensure you enjoy your holidays with us. During the rest of your stay, as you have not expressed any inconvenience or further issues to our hotel staff or to your holiday adviser Keeley, we assumed that there were no further points in your stay that didn't meet with your requirements.
As it is our policy here at the Atlantica Princess hotel to strive for our guests satisfaction, we could of course assist in any aspects, if we were informed.
From your review we got the impression that your main disappointment was not being able to provide the complimentary upgrade to a family suite similar to your parents which you requested on the day of arrival. Regretfully the hotels availability was extremely limited on those days preventing us to move you to a family suite free.
We would be delighted to have the opportunity to change your opinion of our hotel and would look forward to welcoming you again here at the Atlantica Princess.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Princess September 2013 16adults 3children what a fantastic place. This holiday was a wedding holiday with my now wife getting married at Kalithea Spa (Another out of this world place) the staff at Atlantic were amazing and made us feel special not just on the day of the wedding but for the whole two week stay. The food is amazing and the staff are fantastic. The entertainment team are brill with a special thanks to Maria and Marcus. This is the place to be in Rhodes.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Matthew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theocharous, Manager at Atlantica Princess Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of your stay here with us at the Atlantica Princess.
It is a reward to all our staff to read that their efforts went a long way to enhancing your holiday and your wedding experience.
Our target is to satisfy all our guests needs and to exceed guests expectations whenever possible.
It will be our pleasure to welcome you and your family once again to our hotel.

All the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biggleswade, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We went to Rhodes on a family holiday during the May half term week to celebrate our mum's 70th birthday. Nine of us all ages from 10 upwards had a fantastic time and could easily have stayed for another week. All the staff and reps were so friendly and couldn't do enough to help us during our holiday.The facilities were spot on and we managed to get sunbeds together everyday without too much trouble. There was plenty of entertainment day and night which you can join in if you like or if you prefer there are plenty of quiet places to chill out. We had three rooms a two , a three and a family room for four all of which were superb, well looked after with great views.Had a day out at lindos and Rhodes Town which we really enjoyed in fact i would like to come back and spend some more time exploring the Island. Highly recommended :-)

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the sea which i enjoyed having an early morning coffee and watching the bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarkHarvey34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theocharous, Manager at Atlantica Princess Hotel, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear Guests,
I would like to thank you for your positive comments about our hotel in TripAdvisor.
It was a pleasure to know that our team in all departments have managed to create a truly nice holiday experience for you.
We will be looking forward in welcoming you back to the Atlantica Princess in the near future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Stayed here for 2 weeks in May with family. We arrived quite late in the evening due to flight delay so we'd missed the evening meal. However the hotel had provided a selection of cold snacks and drinks for us which was much appreciated.
Our room was very spacious, comfortable and had a great sea view. I had emailed the hotel prior to travel and asked for an allocated room suitable for a disabled family member and this was all arranged with no problem.
The food was excellent, great choice and different themes throughout the week. The drinks service in the bar was second to none, the staff couldn't do enough and were friendly, efficient and entertaining. The restaurant staff were also very attentive and friendly.
The entertainment team were the best I have encountered. They provided something for everyone, kids and adults alike and didn't pester you. They worked really hard.
Our only negative about the holiday was our last night and this wasn't the hotel's fault. When booking, the travel company should make it clear that you need to book a late checkout, otherwise you have to checkout by midday. Thankfully the hotel were very accommodating and we were able to keep one of our rooms. Also there are no pool towels provided so take/buy your own. Not a major issue but nice to be prepared. Otherwise everything you could want for a relaxing enjoyable holiday. I would certainly recommend a stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RachelWorcester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theocharous, Manager at Atlantica Princess Hotel, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear Guests,
I would like to take the opportunity, reading your comments in TripAdvisor, and thank you for your positive and valuable comments about the Atlantica Princess.
It gives us great pleasure to read that you have enjoyed your holidays with us. At the same time it gives us the power to go forward and improve more our services to the benefit of our valued guests.
We are looking forward to welcome you again in our hotel in the near future.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highcliffe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We have used 3 hotels during our Rhodes Island hop during May 2014 and Atlantica Princess Hotel was our first. Great staff, especially Stephanie on front desk. Huge constant smile what ever your question. In fact whoever we spoke to just went beyond the norm to help.
We had a great room and nice food. Our greatest disappointment, the sea view we paid extra for. It simply was waste land with digging machine working from early morning. In fact we also had the view of a 30 metre long old shipping container below us and also blocking the sea view from the restaurant. Thomson our travels agents should be ashamed, especially as it was our 40 wedding treat!
Outside the hotel the Greek government should be ashamed. Broken pavements, rubbish and broken bottles plus very old half finished building and overgrown areas everywhere. As far as the airport it must be the worst in the EU. The publicc toilets had broken taps-even laying on the floor, no toilet seats or paper, tape round all urinals-not to be used. You even had to pick a tap top from the floor to put in position to try and get water running to clean your hands. Finally, no paper towels and warm hand driers were not working. Shame on the Greek governments efforts, when hotels and businesses are investing to bring in tourists.
We would not go back until the Greek government got it's act together. Finally, never get in a taxi you will take your life into your own hands. You will be doing 80 mph through small villages with drivers using mobiles in one hand and cigarette in the other.....We are still shaking!
Great Greek people was the high point of the holiday.

Room Tip: Forget the sea view- unless you close your eyes and imagine what you may see!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank perrypressure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theocharous, Manager at Atlantica Princess Hotel, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for sharing your holiday experience on TripAdvisor.
We appreciate all our guests feedback as this aids us to achieve the highest level of customer service.
We are very happy that you were in general satisfied with the hotel services.
We regret to know that you were dissatisfied with the sea view due to the land and the containers in front of the hotel. We would like to inform you though, this is a private owned land which we do not have access to it.
As far as the comments about the infrastructure of the island be assure we will pass your comments to the local authorities for taking action.
We hope that this will meet to your expectations and we hope to welcome you back to our hotel once again.
Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We returned home from a two week holiday at the Atlantica Princess Hotel last week. This hotel is absolutely superb! I went with my partner & two children & my sister-in-law & husband & their baby & my brother-in-law & his girlfriend. There were 9 of us including the children.

Rooms
I stayed in a family suite with my partner & 1 & 2 year old children. The room was fantastic, extremely clean, modern design, very spacious. The family suite is set over 2 floors with 2 bathrooms, the children slept upstairs in the quiet sea view room & we had the downstairs room overlooking the pool. This could be very noisy at night (we didn't stay to watch all the entrainment as our two babies were too tired by 9 or 10pm at the very latest), we were right over the bar but the entrainment finished at 11pm sharp & the noise did not affect the children at all. Each room had a balcony with chairs & a clothes airer downstairs for beach towels etc. There was a fridge both upstairs & downstairs & a kettle was also supplied. There is a large power shower upstairs & a bath with shower downstairs, both bathrooms had hair-dryers on the wall & they also supply shower gel dispensers & hand wash dispensers which is a nice touch, wouldn't have taken so many toiletries if I'd known shower gel was supplied!

Food - Half-Board
We stayed on a half-board basis which included buffet breakfast with tea, coffee etc. & buffet evening meal where drinks were extra. The food was fantastic! I am vegetarian & the choice was excellent, the rest of our party all agreed the food was of a very high standard. There was a different theme every night & so much choice. The food was always very hot & fresh, they had a chef cooking fresh pancakes & waffles each morning & every evening there was always something being cooked freshly in certain areas of the dining room. There was even a gluten free section at breakfast!

Staff
All of the staff were extremely friendly, polite & smart. Everyone from the hotel manager to the maintenance staff greeted you with a smile. The dining room staff were lovely & so efficient, we always had to have a large table at dinner as there were 9 of us, but we were always able to be accommodated even when the restaurant was extremely busy. Our second week overlapped into the half term holiday & the hotel did get noticeably busier but even so the dining room was run very effectively. The bar staff were also very friendly as were reception who were also extremely helpful with local information. The maids were lovely & always made a fuss of the children, I loved the way they would line my children's teddy bears up in their cots & lay the bed clothes out, lovely touch! The rooms were cleaned immaculately too, with daily service, even on Sundays. The entertainment staff were fantastic, so friendly & enthusiastic, I think they got to know everyone in the hotel, excellent! The management also held a 'meet the management night' with free cocktails & canapés which was a lovely touch & shows they really do care about & want to get to know their guests. It is also lovely that both a member of management & some of the entertainment staff are always there to bid you farewell, even helping with bags etc. & saying individual goodbyes & all waving you off, such a nice touch!

Facilities
The main pool was lovely, very clean & well kept & a good size too, it was cold but we did go in May & it did warm up the second week! It was busy on the second week as it fell within half term, but that said there were still enough sunbeds to go around. There is also a kids pool with two slides & a covered baby pool too. There is a large pirate ship climbing frame with wavy slide etc. a smaller, but still good sized Little Tikes toddler climbing frame with 2 slides & another smaller one with a single slide. There is a football pitch, pool table, tennis table, air hockey machine, driving arcade game & a grabber machine. There are computers in the lobby which were coin operated, didn't use these though as the hotel had free Wi-Fi which was great! There was also a lovely play room for toddlers near to the climbing frames, down the steps & to the right opposite the conference room where the welcome meetings are held with the reps. This was a large free play room called the 'Play Hotel' it had a small kitchen & utensils, lots of play tools which my little boy loved & a stage in one corner. There was also a soft play area for babies, balls, board games, electronic toys which all worked & there are also toilets in this room. This was a regular for us after breakfast before the kids had their sun cream on, they burned off a lot of energy in this room!

The Local Area
Being half board we felt much more flexible with going out for the day to explore the island. A few of the all inclusive guests did say they were more reluctant to go too far from the hotel as everything was included & they didn't want to have to pay for food etc. when they had effectively already paid for this at the hotel. We went into Rhodes old town twice (don't do the bus if you have a pushchair! A taxi is only 12 euro & worth every cent!) We took a glass bottom boat (the Orca speed boat) from the harbour which was well worth the 10 euro each (children were free). The old town is beautiful, plenty to see, very impressed!
We also went to Lindos twice which is a must, the beach is spectacular! The first visit we went up to the acropolis (by Donkey!), fabulous views, wonderful history! the second visit we went purely to the beach because it was so nice, it was crystal clear water, sheltered cove & nice a shallow for the kids, just beautiful! We did not book through our rep but used a company down the road from the hotel called Holidays Essential, they also had an office in Rhodes town.
We also took a taxi to Faliraki which was nice but much more commercial than Ilyassos.
Other people in our party did the scuba diving which they really enjoyed & also the valley of the butterflies which again we were told was very nice.
There are some lovely bars & tavernas down the road from the hotel in Ilyassos, if you are not all inclusive. The Knights of Olde bar was very good value & food & a nice warm welcome, there are a few other nice places to eat too.
Taxis are very reasonable & all work off a set tariff so you know exactly what you are paying (you pay 2 euro extra if the taxi is booked by phone rather than at the taxi station or if flagged down).

All in all this was a fantastic holiday at an absolutely wonderful hotel on a beautiful island & I hope to return there again soon!

Enjoy your stay, we did very very much!

Room Tip: Rooms over pool are loud at night (until 11pm). The Family suites are wonderful & spacious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank zoe w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theocharous, Manager at Atlantica Princess Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear guests,

Thank you so much for sharing your holiday experience on TripAdvisor.
It gives us great pleasure to know that we were able to deliver an impeccable holiday experience as this what we are here for and this is what we love to do.
I will be sure to share your comments with all the staff members of our hotel and praise them for their outstanding service and being able to create a positive impression.
Hope to see you soon at the Atlantica Princess,
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rhodes Town
2.0 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 127 in Rhodes Town
2,561 reviews
1.2 mi away
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
#10 of 127 in Rhodes Town
1,998 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
#13 of 127 in Rhodes Town
1,602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center
1.3 mi away
D'Andrea Mare Beach Resort
1.1 mi away
Electra Palace Rhodes
Electra Palace Rhodes
#2 of 31 in Ialyssos
1,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantica Princess Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantica Princess Hotel

Property: Atlantica Princess Hotel
Address: PO Box 4101 | Ialysos, Rhodes Town 85101, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Rhodes Town
#7 Luxury Hotel in Rhodes Town
#7 Romantic Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Atlantica Princess Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Atlantica Princess Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantica Princess Ixia
Hotel Atlantica Princess
Atlantica Princess Hotel Rhodes/Rhodes Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing