We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lot to be desired”
Review of Belair Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Belair Beach Hotel
Ranked #31 of 126 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lot to be desired”
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Bell air hotel. Travelled to ixia greece with olympic holidays started the holiday with a 6 hour delay at the airport...not a great start. Staff at the Bellair very helpful and friendly,room was ok but broken tiles in the room and on balcony. The room was very dated could certainley do with a refurb but was cleaned every day also clean towels and bedding. Some very noisy russians and germans very late at night.Food ok but the same almost every day, snacks at the bar very poor I suppose ok if you like onion rings as not much else on offer so ended up in the shop buying snacks for kids during the day. Cake and cookies not great either, could not have any spirits to drink until after 6 in the evening which has not happend at the other places that i have stayed at. Hot drinks at pool bar only half cups so had to get two at a time I dont like beer or wine so stayed on tea and coffee all day. Went on boat trip and no rep bothered to turn up as promised when we booked so had to try and understand a russian rep to find out departure time etc from the place we were at. 3 out of 4 of us were ill, had to be our of room by 12 noon and flight not until 13 hrs later, no luggage room so cases left in reception and unable to keep room for any longer as all were booked. Not enough sunbeds at pool as many guests put towels on night before or very early in the morning. Had many days where 4 of us shared 1 sunbed or sat on the floor, most days sunbeds which had towels on were not even in use for sometimes 6 hrs at a time, got so fed up with this that I started to remove towels from ones next to me when they had not even been used for the whole time we were at the pool. There is a small notice in reception stating that sunbeds should not be reserved in this way but this was obviousley ignored. I think the hotel should check that this is not happening.
Paid for seats on plane for us to sit together and this never happened. All in all not a very good holiday. Glad to be home now and will not go back to Greece.

Room Tip: Ask for pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank allen3167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zzgg635613, General Manager at Belair Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 2 May 2013
Dear Madam / Sir

We deeply appreciate your comments about your stay and we are sorry for your concerns about the food & beverage offer that we have at the hotel.

We are also sorry since in a seven days stay in our hotel never mentioned anything to me or any other about your experience in order to solve the issues ( according your comments ) on the spot .

Please also note that in Belair Beach hotel we always try to justify our quality .We will surely use your comments to avoid any future unhappy guests.

Specially this year In order to have the feed back I had personal contact , on a in weekly bases with all the tour operators reps .

I would like to point out that all Tour operators representatives from 22 travel agencies ,three or four times already experienced our food service and quality and know the quality we provide to our clients .!

Finally concerning the claim relative to the bar staff unprofessional attitude we are really surprise since always we receive very good commence

( IN MY POSITION THANK YOU LETTERS FROM CLIENTS WHICH STAY THE SAME PERIOD YOUR STAY IN OUR HOTEL !!!!!)


Kind regards


Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    236
    262
    144
    55
    38
See reviews for
171
373
27
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hitchin, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Friendly, efficient staff. Rooms cleaned/beds made/towels changed daily. Large, comfortable lounge area with large TV to watch Olympics. Food fairly repetitive however Greek and Italian nights were a nice change. Evening entertainment only twice a week - Greek dancing/Elvis Karaoke on alternate Saturdays were both good fun.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank WeFourKings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zzgg635613, General Manager at Belair Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 2 May 2013
Dear Madam / Sir

I would like to thank you for your remarkable comments about your stay at our hotel.
Frankly, and deep heart we thank myself and all the staff for your impressions
Be sure that every day we work to become better and to offer our services to all our valuable customer in a high satisfactory level .
Comments like yours ,support us and provide us energy and courage to continue in this path .
Very much obliged to you and we will be glad to accommodate you again in our hotel .
Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We booked 2 weeks all inclusive holiday at the Belair Beach Hotel in Ixia and were quite concerned when we read the reviews on trip advisor.
There was no need for concern.
Rooms:
Cleaned daily, towels and bed sheets changed daily, TV, Safe (Payable locally), Hair-dryer,Fridge. Air Conditioning, good balcony, bath with good shower.
Plenty of wardrode and drawer space. Beds comfortable and room spot on. We had a lovely sea view and there was no noise from the road outside.
Restaurant:
Buffet style restaurant, food excellent, plenty of choice for the fussiest eaters
Excellent salad bar, fruit bar, desert area.
Pool Area:
Large pool, plenty of sun beds and shade if required.
Poolside bar serving local drinks and snacks.
Facilities:
Games Room, Table Tennis, Tennis Court
To summarise we had an excellent two weeks at the Belair Beach Hotel. It is a lovely hotel and makes an excellent base for exploring Rhodes.
Do not be put off when reading some of the reviews.

Room Tip: Keep the balcony doors shut as the Air Conditioning cuts out when they are opened.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zzgg635613, General Manager at Belair Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2013
Dear Clients
I would like to thank you for your remarkable comments about your stay at our hotel.
Frankly, and deep heart we thank myself and all the staff for your impressions Be sure that every day we work to become better and to offer our services to all our valuable customer in a high satisfactory level.
Comments like yours ,support us and provide us energy and courage to continue in this path .

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Just got back from two weeks at the Belair Beach Hotel in Ixia July 2012. We had read previous reports and we were unsure what to expect. Our experience was good from the start, we found the reception staff friendly, helpfull and courtious. The rooms were basic but air conditioned clean and comfortable with daily maid service. In previous reports the restaurant had been slated but we did not have a bad meal with plenty of choice and the food well prepared and presented, the staff went out of thier way to make meal times a good experience. The pool area and pool side service was good and friendly as was the main bar. We would have liked more in house entertainment but our overall report would say very good and we will certainly be going back again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zzgg635613, General Manager at Belair Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Dear Mr /Mrs
We would like to thank you for your comments for your stay in our Hotel
We all wish to see you again here
Thank you

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saltcoats, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 July 2012

stayed at this hotel in june.the location and cleanliness were excellent but the food let it down. I arrived at 15:30 and didn't get anything to eat until 7 o'clock. I did ask as i had been travelling since early morning and expected an all inclusive hotel to offer something.lunch and dinner were awful but breakfast was good. snacks at pool bad as well and alcoholic drinks consisted of wine,beer and ouzo.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mariant785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

stayed 2nd-9th July 2012.
The receptionists were great, very helpful, the rooms although a tad dated where clean and were cleaned every day by very friendly staff.
The food in the restaurant was great, a little bit samey, and the main courses weren't as hot as I would like.
The pool bar was a bit disappointing as snacks were only served 11-1 and only 4 choices, if you were vegetarian then one choice.
The pool was fantastic, and plenty of loungers and parasols, didn't stuggle to get a place all holiday, no getting up to reserve your place just a saunter down whenever you wanted.
The bar in the evening was a bit of a letdown, the lager was mostly not drinkable, the cocktails were ok, the shorts were strong and mixers not very fizzy but like most people we got coke from the supermarket to make it more palatable.
The entertainment consisted of one bad singer one night and a karaoke one night.
The bus stops were right outside and every taxi driver knew the hotel so we had no problems with that. We found a few nice bars nearby too.
Would I go again? DEFINETLY. well worth it.

Room Tip: We had a beach view, very quiet and always a suntrap.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank daisy_hippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zzgg635613, General Manager at Belair Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2013
Dear Mr .Mrs
I would like to thank you for your remarkable comments about your stay at our hotel.
Frankly, and deep heart we thank myself and all the staff for your impressions Be sure that every day we work to become better and to offer our services to all our valuable customer in a high satisfactory level.
Comments like yours ,support us and provide us energy and courage to continue in this path .

Very much obliged to you .
Sincerely
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

I have just recently arrived back from 7 days at this hotel, it wasn't bad, but it wasn't good at all.
Very old hotel like 80's, food good but not much to choose and repeatable , rooms big enough and clean but doors like from prison, very old building and all furniture without any renovation,staff nice and very helpfull, except one greek lady in a lobby bar, she was very rude. beach in the oposite but you have to cross very busy road, sometimes we were waiting 10 min to do it.Lots of rubish and stones on it. location not very good you have to get to main city rhodes it takes only 5 min by bus 2,10 euro one way, or taxi 8 euro or sometimes they were picking more people so it was cheaper.You can walk but it takes like 30 min. Nothing had happend in ixia, few restaurant but nothing intresting for eavning. Oh and lots of sunnbeds, easly you can find one eaven late afternoon.
I would say definitely not 4-stars hotel. Maby 2 and 1/2.
regards

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dona d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zzgg635613, General Manager at Belair Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2013
Dear
We deeply appreciate your comments about your stay and we are sorry for your concerns about the food & beverage offer that we have at the hotel.

We are also sorry since in a seven days stay in our hotel never mentioned anything to me or any other about your experience in order to solve the issues ( according your comments ) on the spot .

Please also note that in Belair Beach hotel we always try to justify our quality .We will surely use your comments to avoid any future unhappy guests.

With all due respect allow me to explain the following concerning your comment

Relative the food, the main restaurant offers different warm plates every day. Our guests were free to choose a different
meal/combination every day of their stay. Some Greek plates and Italian plates are always part of our buffet. The good quality of our
food and the choice we give has been stated by many of our guests since the beginning of the season !

Our all in inclusive program is according our description .

Concerning the restaurant service and food quality kindly inform you that we generally receive good comments about their kindness and
Friendliness .

Specially this year In order to have the feed back I had personal contact , on a in weekly bases with all the tour operators reps .

I would like to point out that all Tour operators representatives from 22 travel agencies ,three or four times already experienced our food service and quality and know the quality we provide to our clients .!

Thank you and always at your service

Kind regards

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rhodes Town hotels
0.3 mi away
Dionysos Hotel
Dionysos Hotel
#14 of 126 in Rhodes Town
753 reviews
1.0 mi away
Nathalie Hotel
Nathalie Hotel
#6 of 126 in Rhodes Town
643 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oceanis Hotel
Oceanis Hotel
#20 of 126 in Rhodes Town
1,525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Smartline Semiramis City Hotel
Smartline Semiramis City Hotel
#18 of 126 in Rhodes Town
501 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sirene Beach Hotel
Sirene Beach Hotel
#51 of 126 in Rhodes Town
212 reviews
0.4 mi away
smartline Cosmopolitan
smartline Cosmopolitan
#21 of 126 in Rhodes Town
834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belair Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belair Beach Hotel

Property: Belair Beach Hotel
Address: Ialyssos Avenue, Rhodes Town 85101, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Rhodes Town
#24 Luxury Hotel in Rhodes Town
#31 Romantic Hotel in Rhodes Town
#31 Family Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Belair Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Priceline, Bookgreece.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Belair Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belair Beach Rhodes Town
Hotel Belair Beach
Belair Beach Hotel Rhodes/Rhodes Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing