We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent get what you pay for gabriel top guy”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Solemar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Solemar
Ranked #84 of 129 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent get what you pay for gabriel top guy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2011

Me an my girlfriend stopped at the solemar wc the 5th oct everyone we meet was brill the staff an the food an bar staff was great gabriel the bar man made it for us top man made you feel welcome meet a man who as been back 20-30 times called john(nice guy) so must be good get what you pay for food could be warmer but plenty of choice only trouble was we booked with olympic an what a joke, say they are ment to help booked for 14 nights had to move after 10 coz they didnt take the time to ask when the hotel closes what a joke dont book with these please but with the solemar is fine or with someone else.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank olympicnightmare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    192
    165
    61
    84
See reviews for
161
273
25
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2011

Would just like to say I cant fault the Solemar at all. My husband and I stayed in the studios self catering and I must say it was spotless, cleaned every day and also clean towels. The staff were always pleasant and helpful and we found the air con extremely cheap compared with what other holidaymakers were paying in their hotels. We didnt spend a great deal of time in our room but who does when they are on holiday. We were right across from the cockrels and I must be in the minority here but I loved their racket added to it all for me. It was so central to everything and bus stop right outside. Great holiday, great weather and great people roll on next year :)

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mel0171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2011

My partner and I had a fab time at the solemar hotel, my partner is a very picky eater and there was always something for him to eat and plenty of it so we thought the food was very good, the rooms were basic but clean and adequate. The pool bar and pool area could of done with being updated but the staff behind the pool bar compensated for that (they were very friendly) and we spent quite a few full days round the pool :-). The entrance to the hotel was lovely and clean, the luna bar and seating area at the front of the hotel was non-threatening and great for a chilled out night. Ixia is a great base as it is a very short trip from Rhodes town and is a shorter distance away from a nice little town called Trianda. I have been to many places in Greece so i have a comparison and i didn't feel there was any major issues with the hotel it was kept clean the staff were helpful and friendly, You will always get creepy crawlys wandering in from out side in warm climates as you do in your own home despite the climate and most places iv been in Greece iv seen cockroaches and generally what people think are cockroaches arn't, along as you dont see them in the dining-room or where food is being prepared a wouldnt worry to much, oh and there were cats all over Ixia not just the the hotel but there are cats like that in a lot of holiday places its just one of them things unfortunately. So in conclusion we thoroughly enjoyed our holiday and would go back. Thank you solemar

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lisa b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2011

Me and my best friend went on a girlie holiday to solemar, weather was gorgeous and all staff realy helful and kind.
The food was amazing the presentation and the storing of food was good it was all chilled on ice plates or piping hot.
The baklava was to die for and the home made pittas were out of this world.
The room was adequate the shower was tiny and a real pain, there was maid service 6days per week.
The air cond is NOT included in your stay you have to pay 6 euro per night.
The hotel has lots of cats and kittens running about i loved them but i guess some wouldnt.
Pool was nice but basic and the pool bar didnt have a great selection but juice was always cold.
Had a great holiday and going into Rhodes Town is a must.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bexx1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2011

We had a family/ couples holiday for the first time and it was fantastic, i didn't know what to expect as i had never been to the med.
I am a very picky eater but the food that was on each day was of many varieties so you can pick and choose and try new things mmmmm giro pittas were lush. food was of good standard and not swimming in grease as others say, were cooked in olive oil.
I thought the beds were a little firm but got used to them and rooms were cleaned daily and did the job, just to sleep as we didn't spend all day in them, we spent our time touring the island taking advantage of the sun 11+ hours of the day :-)
Staff were very helpful and polite and bar staff made excellent cherry brandies and coke, We had went the same time as kerry and her wedding party, which were all bubbly, lively people and lifted the atmosphere around the hotel/ pool area.
The entertainment on the nights was fun with 'oh my god i can't believe it' jon and the shieky shieky song haha.
I think some people need to get their in to their pockets and spend the money to go five star so they don't complain but if they can't afford it just shut up and stop being pety, a holiday is what you make of it, yes there may be bugs about but it 30 degrees its a different country, go with an open mind.
Oh one final thing the swimming pool was not murky, im not a fantastic swimmer but we all had a swim and enjoyed it plus the beautifull dragon flies would fly about you while you were swimming in all different colour from 1pm till 4-5pm.

Room Tip: i would choose a lower level room as spiral stairs can be a challenge + lift maybe full.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Steven J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2011

Our family of 5 ( 3 children) was on a 3 week vacation through Turkey and Greece. We were not traveling 5 star however when we arrived at the Solemar, we felt like we got to see the 0 star. From our first hour there, we were told that our children's room was down the hall and around the corner from ours, they split us up, then the key would not work in our children's room, the lock was clearly broken, (another woman down the hall complained hers did not work well either) They called for maintenance, and he did come promptly, however he used WD40, a very temporary solution, as the locks were old and ineffective and clearly the rooms were not well secured. Needless to say we did not let our children stay on there own. Our agreement for the hotel said two seaside rooms, only one of which was seaside, at the lady at reception just chuckled. The pool was murky and although our children are avid swimmers we did not want them in that water. We saw a very large cockroach by the computers in the lobby. The one night we stayed was not pleasant, the beds uncomfortable and the room very old, dated and in desperate need of some serious changes and cleaning. The dining room which offered breakfast and dinner, offered food that looked unhealthy and sitting in grease. The next morning we left and forfeited our next two nights, as we had pre-paid. We wanted to enjoy our stay in Rhodes and by moving hotels we managed to save this part of our holiday. I would never recommend this hotel. The manager did not care to discuss any amount of refund, we were not asking for the total, we were hoping for some token amount to help offset our expense of paying for a new hotel. Anyhow, I want to save anyone from going to this place. Our family nicknamed it: El DUMPO MAXIMO!!
This is the only hotel on our trip that we complained about,

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TalyaZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rhodes Town hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Stockton-on-tees
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2011

I recently have come home from rhodes, we stayed at the solemar hotel in ixia, there was 22 of usand we were all there for mine and my partners wedding. We arrived late because the flight was delayed, the staff on reception could not do enough for us, the food was of good quality and hot, i was quite worried about this hotel as the reviews made it seem a bad place to stay, all i can say is tha people who put bad reviews about this hotel need to think what they are paying for. If you want 5* luxury then pay for it... I had the most fantastic wedding day this hotel provided for me, as i left the hotel to get married the staff and guests all applauded me, when we arrived back for our recepetion tables were laid out at the front bar and our wedding cake was there ready to serve our guests, we were then asked to go to the restaurant for our eveing meal, they had laid the table for us and put cravats of wine there also, my new husband had left the restaurant when they brought out more wedding cake and 3bottles of champagne all of which was not asked for or requested,so i asked one of my nephews to go and get my husband. The entertainment is what we asked for that was kareoke and the whole hotel got up to sing and dance, then once our hotel was closed we went to valentino's cocktail bar where we received pink champagne and we partied till the early hours.Yes that was one perfect day but we were all there for a fortnight and nobody complained about food, cleanliness, pool, beer, atmosphere, i am now friends with all the staff on facebook excellent hotel will recommend to any one
mrs kerry finch

Room Tip: recommend the a/c unit because you can close doors at night and not get bitten by insects, rooms on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kerry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rhodes Town
0.3 mi away
Nathalie Hotel
Nathalie Hotel
#6 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
2.8 mi away
Kalithea Sun & Sky Hotel
Kalithea Sun & Sky Hotel
#13 of 15 in Kallithea
3.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
9.2 mi away
Meliton Hotel
Meliton Hotel
#2 of 2 in Theologos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sunday Hotel
Sunday Hotel
#37 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.7 mi away
Belair Beach Hotel
Belair Beach Hotel
#28 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lito Hotel
Lito Hotel
#23 of 32 in Ialyssos
3.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Solemar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Solemar

Property: Hotel Solemar
Address: Sotiros 99 | Ixia, Rhodes Town 85100 , Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 129 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Solemar 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, HostelWorld, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Solemar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solemar Hotel Ixia
Hotel Solemar Rhodes/Rhodes Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing