We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honest Opinion”
Review of Hotel Solemar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Solemar
Ranked #90 of 126 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Honest Opinion”
Reviewed 2 February 2014

This is a very late review however stayed here a year ago with my Fiance. We fancied a late get away and picked this hotel. We spent all day down at the beach, we found the pool to busy and its much more relaxing at the beach. The drinks are ok like any usual all in standard however they came in a reused plastic cup. Why they diidnt just give glass I do not know. Food, im not a fussy eater however I found it very hard to find a meal in the afternooon and evening that I enjoyed. It was very repetitive and at times very bland ( I understand that there is always repitition when it comes to AI but the standards are low) we ate out most lunch times a the lovely greek resturants next to the hotel. The rooms are very basic but ok to sleep in. Entertainment was ok Jasmin does try really hard. I recommend hiring a car we did and drove around the island in a soft top visiting all the Blue flag beaches was brilliant. What made our holidaay was the amazing frennds we made. However if you want luxury and decent food I would definatly pay more. I would say that people who do not reqiure all inclusive and whom just need a bed to stay in this hotel. The sights and things to do you are never bored, Rhodes town is amazing and has some beautiful sights.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank IERITCHIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    200
    171
    62
    89
See reviews for
166
284
26
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Described to us as a fun get away with a good range of drinks and entertainment this was none, the rooms where tiny and even when cleaned where still dirty, the air conditioning was broken and often leaked and staff were unfriendly and rude and often started arguments with us and tried to blame hotel faults on us. The food was alright and changed daily but lacked presentation skills. Corridor carpets were manky and looked mouldy and there was only 2 plug sockets in the entire room. bath or shower are tiny and not easy to wash without flooding entire bathroom.
The swimming pool and swimming pool area need some serious TLC and looks as though haven't been cleaned. ever

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank emily_drewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rhodes Town hotels

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

the solimar is three star hotel but the staff are great the food very good the hotel isspottles cant fault it i dont know why people complain i stayed in a four star hotel and it was terrible people book in three star hotel then complain just to get a better holliday in fopur star for the price of three star the solamar is handy for the bus and you can get any where from there

Room Tip: i like the sea veiw have always been very happy with the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ann d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontefract, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Stayed at this hotel in September for one week, thank goodness, this was definitely enough. The room was okay but getting to sleep was a nightmare for the dogs barking and the birds aviary next door. The pool area was in urgent need of TLC, sunbeds were tired looking and parasols thick with dirt, clearly not been cleaned for a long time. The girl on reception was very pleasant unlike the barman who was more interested in the fact that you had to get in the queue for a drink than anything else! The restaurant, if that's what it was, was unbelievable, bad food and very little of it, had to eat out on numerous occasions and the staff were struggling to even smile! Lift broke on one occasion falling one and a half floors with people in it, unfortunately the manager didn't know how to fix it, so those poor people were stuck there for one and half hours. We will definitely go back to Rhodes, such a beautiful place, but certainly not back to this hotel!! The impression we got was of a hotel coming to the end of a season, and not really bothered about their guests, the Greeks are lovely people but I have never come across any like the staff here, sorry.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Susie2911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We found corridor carpets badly stained and worn sunlongers broken and covers bad state cane funiture in lounge broken. The food was terrible we were A/I and first time we had to eat out more than at hotel costing us a lot extra. We ve done A/Ibefore but neverr had such a bad experience.the staff were lovely and helpful . What a real let down when Rhodes is so beautiful. Poor value money especially if your all inclusive

Room Tip: Go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jenny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

My partner and I arrived at this hotel at around 4.30am, and once we'd checked in, we had to walk past a couple of houses to get to the 1-bedroom apartment we'd been given, which looked fantastic at that time of the morning. Once we'd had a good sleep, we checked out the views in daylight. Our balcony overlooked a garden and the hotel itself, which seemed a long way away, though you could get to it via the pool area, which was perfectly clean, and the pool was very nice, if a little deep, even at the shallow end by the steps. Our front area looked onto the back of other buildings, but given that we don't go in for "sea views", we didn't care, and the numerous resident cats were always there to greet us.

We particularly liked the extra living space we were given, and the fact that we had a kettle and toaster, so we could make tea and coffee whenever we felt like it, and only ventured into the hotel area once. When we did, we tried out the pool bar, which made little impression on us, as the staff did not seem very friendly, and there were used coffee cups and cigarette ends on every table. Still, it was our choice to use it or not. We were also unimpressed by the fact that the main hotel bar was only open from 6pm to 2am, so resolved not to use that facility either.

I'm giving this 4 stars simply because the apartments were fantastic, and cleaned every day except Sunday, which was not a problem, and we were given extra towels on one occasion. OK, the shower was small, but how much time does one spend under the shower on holiday???

As to whether we would return, it is possible, but it would only be to visit the cats and hear the dogs and birds making a racket in the neighbouring property. We would not consider staying in the actual hotel, and judging by other reviews, I'm so glad we didn't!

Room Tip: We had Apartment 12 on the upper level at the side of the hotel. Unless you can put up with people...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sophie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

we arrived at hotel for our 1st AI holiday, we were very let down, don't get me wrong, the girls on reception, EVA & IRENE couldn't do enough for you , the lady cleaning the rooms , gaby on the bar, the girl on the snack bar were all lovely, BUT the canteen were people ate ( it was no were near a restaurant ) was terrible, the waiters had two speeds slow and stop, l did not get they names but the youngest man was very rude & is in the wrong job, the breakfast was yuk, fried spam, fried egg, scrambled egg that was your choice & hard toast, we did get butter at 1st then it disappeared ,it must have been rationed, we did get some after complaining, which u shouldn't have to do all the time , lunch was ok ( sometimes), dinner, no comment, Pool area needs a lot of TLC, Rooms not bad,sheets & towels changed regular, Bathrooms ok BUT shower heads could do with a good clean, a change of shower curtain ( grubby & dirty),and the balcony could do with a clean of cigarette ends,and you were kept awake at night with dogs barking and there is an aviary at the side, facing the rooms, The girls doing entertainment were lovely,not that there was much on,(on a night time). The drinks from the bar were a big let down, beer or what ever it was, yuk, all the shorts tasted the same, people were bringing they own in,( who could blame them), This hotel is in the middle of the airport & Rhodes town, the bars that are there are sports bars not every ones choice, certainly not mine, This hotel is 3 star l would give it 2 at a push .

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter or so l was told .
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yvonne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rhodes Town
2.8 mi away
Kalithea Sun & Sky Hotel
Kalithea Sun & Sky Hotel
#17 of 20 in Kallithea
641 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nathalie Hotel
Nathalie Hotel
#6 of 126 in Rhodes Town
645 reviews
0.7 mi away
Belair Beach Hotel
Belair Beach Hotel
#30 of 126 in Rhodes Town
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sunday Hotel
Sunday Hotel
#41 of 126 in Rhodes Town
135 reviews
9.2 mi away
Meliton Hotel
Meliton Hotel
#1 of 2 in Theologos
539 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lito Hotel
Lito Hotel
#24 of 31 in Ialyssos
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Solemar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Solemar

Property: Hotel Solemar
Address: Sotiros 99 | Ixia, Rhodes Town 851 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 126 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Solemar 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com, Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Solemar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solemar Hotel Ixia
Hotel Solemar Rhodes/Rhodes Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing