We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel was ok, but staff were GREAT”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center
Ranked #12 of 129 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Hotel was ok, but staff were GREAT”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2012

We came back from 2 weeks at the Olympic Palace, we stayed with two small children (5 & 2) and 2 Adults. The rooms were quite good in size and it was great having a mini bar fridge to store much needed water and milk. We've travelled to Greece several times and every year with little people, so we are all seasoned! Weve always stayed self catering with the children, so for a hotel, I did hope the cleaning would be better, but the cups, etc were rinsed in the sink and the sheets werent changed whilst we were there.
BUT-
The food was lovely! Good variety. Most of the restaurant team, inc. Mary, the lovely seating lady and most of the overworked waitresses were fab! They helped when they realised that the munchkins could be difficult, no request was too fussy. There could be queues, but what do you expect if 2000 people all race to breakfast at the last minute! We had to get room service one night (the hirecar man took the car back early, with all our things in it!) and the lady was just so lovely! The hotel is in a good location , interesting as Im used to the Pefkos/Lindos area. Great for Rhodes town where there were some super activities for the kids, inc. THE MOST BEAUTIFUL Puppet show in the clock tower. Our 2 year old still shouts out 'Puppet show' if we suggest going somewhere!
I WOULD go back here, if nothing else caught our eye, as it would be a good, safe option. Just a quick point, the balconies were perfect for children, great design, and even though we had a mountain view, (we were meant to be moved but with the little people we couldnt be bothered!) The best part was the MOUNTAIN GOATS! This THRILLED our little people and was a brilliant distraction tactic! And the balconies were 99% private too! Handy for post beach stripping! : )
There was a LOVELY kids club who seemed to do lots, but our eldest was too shy and Mr 2 yr old was too young (not that it stopped him joining in shows and taking bows!) There is a supermarket on site, lots of good shops near by, inc a great ice cream/bakery!
Hire a car for a couple of days, some of the villages nearby are truely lovelyand worth a visit.

Room Tip: We had a GREAT family room. Happy with it, and safe for the little people!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    535
    461
    180
    63
    29
See reviews for
376
608
18
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2012

the hotel is very old-school style- big and fancy. the rooms are amazing, very big, comtarble with sea view (thats what we got). there is 2 swimming pool which were very quit and peacfull. the beach is near by- just across the road.
the food was very Varied, the only problem is the line in the entrace and the main problem of the hotel- the lack of Hospitality and service...
so for couples over all is great- from the very lovely room, to the pool to the beach. if thats what you looking for- thats the place for you! the only thing that made me give it 4 points and not 5 is the service..
(also close to the main city, allthough theres nothing to do there..)

Room Tip: first floor (second in the hotel) great viwe and no one can see you.. ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anat t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
117 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

Ive just come back from week away @ the Olympic Palace in Ixia, the hotel itself i would say is a 4star. The rooms are very large, ours had a double sofa bed and 2x single beds. We had a pool view which was great, i would recommend on asking for a pool or sea view as you can be stuck at the rear of the hotel overlooking the excavated hill.
The staff were very friendly and the rooms were cleaned everyday. The pool area was great for the kids and we never had any issue with getting sunbeds, the only downfall for us was the food. We stayed half board and we found ourselves eating out for a couple of nights, the food was very basic for a 5star, nothing wrong with it i just found it basic. Please do not let this deter anyone as we had a great time and found our experiance to be perfect. That perfect we are returning next year for another week.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea or pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kingkenny72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

My husband and two sons stayed here for a week in August. The hotel is really nice, rooms cleaned every day and new towels. Food was fine, we were half board and sometimes opted for lunch instead so we could dine out for a change. 'Le Gourmet' and 'Ville de mare' both nice places to eat in Ixia. Hotel staff were very pleasant and always happy to help. Pool area nice and clean and plenty of sunbeds. My sons loved the daily table tennis, water polo etc and want to go back next year. All things considered, a lovely holiday, only bad point was the gym....never used it myself but my husband does on holiday and he said the equipment was a bit dated...everything else great. Also had trip to Marmaris....don't go with travel reps though...book from Mandraki harbour.... much cheaper about 37euros each...but take extra spending money for the shops!

Room Tip: Sea view rooms def worth paying extra for
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzywuzy18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

good service ,good staff. by taxi to rhodos 8 ero, the room was big 2 adu+ 2ch, the pool great ,the mini golf nice ,food ok not bad
rent a car and go to lindos its must, rent from bagedt 55 eru for day


  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank itamarha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

Large Grand hotel. Approx 25 min transfer from airport. Air conditioned Marbled lobby/ reception. English speaking receptionist. Trouble free booking in. 4 x lifts.... 8 floors..... Our room 721 had fantastic sea views overlooking the Agean and Turkey on the horizon. Room was large with Kingsize bed..... Tea making facilities and fridge. Towels and bedding changed daily. The hotel is used by multinational guests, Good variety choice of food for both Breakfast and Evening meal. Go to the rooftop bar and watch the sunset..... Close (4.5km) to Rhodes Old Town, walk able but make sure you wear a hat and have lots of water. Costs €2.10 on local bus right outside hotel to get there or €8 by taxi.
Only minor problem was the main road you have to cross to get to a pebble beach. Beach/surfing shoes essential.
Very helpful and friendly staff and nothing was too much trouble. We will return.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarge9915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcs
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

Not 5 star. We stayed for 2 weeks. We had requested a sea view for a special anniversary, but were allocated a mountain view. Promises made to try to move us did not come to fruition, resulting in further disappointment. The mountain view is great if you are a goat but otherwise is most depressing. The balcony cannot be enjoyed. I reccommend paying for an upgrade to get the best experience from this hotel.
The rooms are of a good standard and the beds are very comfortable. The air con is most welcome.
Riding in the lifts brings a different experience every day.
The hotel is clean, maid service is good. The dining room staff with the exception of the head man are lovely. (surprising after learning that they earn 1 euro 90 cents an hour and sleep 7 to a room)The dining experience is a little like eating in a tube station, however, the hotel is large and caters for many nationalities (taking into account all funny little habits) thus this can only be expected. Food is varied and meets most needs, hot food cold be warmer. Greek food appears once a week.
Free sunbeds are provided at the pool and the lawned area by the pebbly beach. It goes without saying that you need to be up early. Entertainment in the day is provided for people who dont venture out.
It is worth hiring a car and discovering the rest of the Island. Lindos and tsambiki beach are beautiful. Rhodes old town is steeped in history and is worth a visit.
On the whole a good holiday but lacked a special something. Our party is probably better suited to a self catering experience where a variety of authentic tavernas can be tried.

Room Tip: pay for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank herbiemomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rhodes Town
1.0 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#4 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,390 reviews
0.2 mi away
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
#10 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,905 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
#11 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Electra Palace Rhodes
Electra Palace Rhodes
#2 of 32 in Ialyssos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,400 reviews
0.1 mi away
Amathus Elite Suites
Amathus Elite Suites
#3 of 129 in Rhodes Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
2.9 mi away
Mitsis Grand Hotel
Mitsis Grand Hotel
#9 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center

Property: Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center
Address: Iraklidon Avenue, Rhodes Town 85100, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Rhodes Town
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Rhodes Town
#10 Luxury Hotel in Rhodes Town
#16 Family Hotel in Rhodes Town
#28 Romantic Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center 5*
Number of rooms: 342
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover refined elegance and genuine hospitality. Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center, with its unique architectural structure most recently renovated in 2008-12, welcoming and gracious with contemporary and chic interior design, offer's attentive service, upscale amenities, and blissful tranquility. Tastefully designed for comfort, 65% of our guest rooms are sea view with amazingly large verandas, ideal spots to take advantage of the amazing first rays of the sunlight or indulge in the enticing sunsets dipping in the Aegean Sea. Relax in our attractive and spacious gardens, or simply 'chill out' by the swimming pool, and enjoy a warm welcome from our genuinely friendly and hospitable staff. Alternatively you can take a stroll down to the beach and enjoy a swim in the crystal clear blue waters of the Aegean Sea and capture the breathtaking scenery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Bookgreece.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olympic Palace Ixia
Hotel Olympic Palace
Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center Rhodes/Rhodes Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing