We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Definitely not 5 stars”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center
Ranked #11 of 127 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Definitely not 5 stars”
Reviewed 13 September 2012

The hotel itself is rather nice but there are some rooms that are simply disgusting. Our room number was 236 and as I understand once it was a staff room. The room wasn't reconditioned for a long time, it was stinky, the furniture was in a bad shape. The balkony was almost sticking into the mountain behind the hotel so we had no sunlight at all. It's very important to say that most of the rooms do look good and were recently reconditioned.
The food was rather good but it was almost the same every day.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,305 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    563
    468
    181
    64
    29
See reviews for
385
628
19
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

This was our first time at this Hotel, it is officaly rated a 5*, however it is not in our opinion but a 4* in Greek standards, please do not let this put you off, because it is a good hotel. The staff were very helpful and friendly. We booked a double room sea view, on arriving we were given a large superior sea view, very spacious you can see that it has been renovated to a more up to date standard, however the balcony gave this away, very old and tired looking, bed linen and towells changed every day. We were- on Half Board basis, the restaurant was very clean and the food was very good with plenty of variety. We cannot comment on the entertainments, but I think it was low key, but we went out most evenings for a drink. There is a roof top bar on the 8th floor, we found this very relaxing looking over ixia bay in the evening. We found the pool was very clean, there are plenty of sunbeds, but for us very congested too close for comfort. We were informed on our last day by a member of staff, there is a quiet area near the tennis courts, they sometimes put sunbeds there for people. Everything considered, it was a good value Hotel.

Room Tip: Sea View rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amigosManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

Booked this hotel not having been to Rhodes before and a little nervous about what a Rhodes town hotel would be like. The Olympic is in Ixia which is about 5km outside Rhodes town. Really easy to get into Rhodes town by bus which stops at the end of the drive and costs 4euros or by taxi which is 8euros but there are always plenty of other couples willing to share which brings it down to cost of bus. The hotel is pristinely clean -bedding changed daily and the pool area the same. The food is not gourmet but is good and plentiful and if you are not a very fussy eater there is always plenty to choose from. The restaurant manager is an absolute star and the flexibility of being able to change between lunch and dinner daily if you are half board is fantastic. We changed every other day and ate in Rhodes old town which is exquisite. Would particularly recommend Eros restaurant which gave us the best value meal we had . The owner will provide you with a selection of Greek starters and mains and the service we received here was second to none. Also try Le Gourmet in Ixia. Maria will take you through the menu but let her take the lead at least one night . It won't be the cheapest meal you have had but it will be more authentic and beautifully cooked. Sebastian's bar, Glory Days and Keep it simple are great bars within 5 mins walk of the hotel. Word of warning - don't book this hotel if you are avid gym buddies. It is very basic with a couple of bikes, a treadmill and 2 multi gym machines but NO air conditioning. We managed for our holiday by road running early morning and finishing In the gym but it's basic at best. We would probably return but have looked at the Amathus Beach hotel next door which is definitely a 5star with a fantastic spa and gym. The Olypmic was a good 4 star but not a 5 as it professes.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill_JUL11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 September 2012

We stayed here for a fortnight and totally enjoyed our stay. The room was clean and spacious on the mountain side (chose not to pay the extra £250 a week for sea view) glad we did as the sun is on the mountainside as the sea views are north facing so we had the chance to catch a few rays in the morning before heading to the beach.

Breakfast was OK with lots of choice between cooked, cereals, toast, fruit etc - my only complaint would be that it's a little luke warm from a buffet when you're used to eating right out of the pan at home however we still enjoyed it.

Dinner was different each night with a fresh theme each day which meant that you always had new things to try. We found that we enjoyed the food most nights with only a couple of disappointments along the way.

The service in the restaurant was first class and we were treated well at every meal. Nothing was to much trouble for the staff who were very friendly.

There is a multi gym but be aware that there are only 2 machines and a bike so if you're like me and attend a modern gym here in the UK you'll be disappointed with the facilities here.

The pools, one outdoor and one indoor, were ok and not too busy during the day. There is a bar poolside and on the ground and eight floors so no worries there.

Wireless internet costs 3 euros per hour and the connection is decent but not cable standard for those of you who like me are getting 60 meg at home - fine for checking emails, facebook and googling etc.

All in all it was a great base to work from and the location is perfect in relation to the beach, bars and restaurants that are nearby. In fact if you're going to Ixia then this is the hotel to book as the others aren't as well located and didn't look as nice.

I hope this helps - have a great time wherever you go :-)

Room Tip: Get a high floor especially if you're booking mountain side rooms - this will improve the view n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjh1874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yaxley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

Arrived at 11:00 pm at the Olympic Palace to watched as be got our cases off the coach by the porter expecting him to take them off us but he looked on regardless. Umm that's unusual especially for a 5* we thought. We checked in still expecting the porter to take our cases to our room but no.....so off we went to our room. Not good first impressions for the hotel. We went all inclusive for the week as this was a 50th Birthday for my wife and thought that she could be spoilt as the last holiday we had was with a Thomsons Gold and was fantastic. Well this hotel after staying here for a week CANNOT do all inclusive. The pool bar which looks like a very run down 3* cafe serves drinks and food with the usual toasties,chips etc. But this is only if you are a paying guest and not all inclusive. We were told if you want lunch you have to go to the main resturant which we did but they do not do any snacks such as sandwiches only main dinner food. To cut a long story short on the food issue is that what ever the hotel serves up at lunch time they serve the same menu up at evening time so you can imagine after a few days this gets very boring and a bit of a joke. We walked out of the resturant one evening only to be confronted by the resturant manager the next night wanting to know why we left so i explained we had the same menu at lunch time and the day before that and the day before that.
The resturant says there is a dress code for the evening with smart casual and no shorts....but this is not the case as some poeple had beach ware on and the occasional football shirt on and this is supposed to be 5*.
One evening we thought we would have a drink at the bar in the lobby only to be told sorry as you are all inclusive you have to drink at the roof bar. It seems that all inclusive guests get treated like 2nd class citizens once they have your money.

GOOD POINTS OF THE HOTEL
SEA FACING ROOM

BAD POINTS
NO BOTTLED WATER IF ALL INCLUSIVE
FOOD BORING AND THE SAME EVERY DAY
THE LIFTS HAVE A MIND OF THERE OWN
THE LOUD MUSIC PLAYING AROUND THE POOL AREA
THE ENTERTAINMENT AT NIGHT
CANNOT GET A LITE SNACK IF ALL INCLUSIVE
THE POOL TOILETS ARE DARK AND DISGUSTING WITH THE DOOR TO THE GENTS WEDGED OPEN WITH A ROUND TABLE FROM THE POOL BAR.....(THIS IS 5* DONT FORGET) AT 5* PRICES.
NO NICE WALKS FROM THE HOTEL ONLY A PATH ALONGSIDE A VERY BUSY ROAD.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are better but do yourself a favour a book a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank ggarlicbread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2012

I have just returned from a fantastic week in Rhodes, staying at the Olympic Palace hotel - I went away with my sister who celebrated her 50th birthday while we were there.
When we booked, we did ask for a sea or pool view, which we didnt get - we ended up in a room at the back of the hotel and from reading other reviews, we didnt want to stay in there. The reception staff said they were fully booked so we stayed in the room and I'm so glad we did. We were on the second floor in the middle and the mountains weren't that bad at all. At least the room was quiet and air conditioned so we sat on our balcony anyway. It did resemble a scene from 'The Hills Have Eyes' at night, but it was a great room.
The staff were great and the food was excellent - we went half board and the choice of food was excellent - they catered for everyone's tastes. The rooms were cleaned every day, with clean towels also. We couldnt fault the service and the friendliness of the staff.
We visited Rhodes old town and new town, which were very pleasant but Lindos is a 'must'. It is about 50km away from Ixia so we went on an organised coach trip. You can go by taxi but this will cost you more. Lindos was beautiful and 10 degrees hotter than Rhodes due to the mountains. The funniest thing we saw were the donkeys carrying people down to the beach or up to the Acropolis - poor donkeys. The size of some of the people they had to carry....lol.
Anyway, I would definately return to Rhodes - we had a good, relaxing holiday and I wished we had stayed longer..........

Room Tip: Many reviewers will say not to have a room at the back of the hotel, but they are not that bad. We h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

Stayed at the Olympic for 7 nights with the wife Aug 2012, our experience was a good relaxed rest and we would rate this holiday as one of our best in the Med, the room was sea view 7th floor and a delight at any time of the day it was good spacious, clean room with tea/coffee facilities ( but only for one day so take your own. They charge 1 euro per day to refil ) it had a fridge which was very handy to keep water/pop cold. Had good air-con. Rooms cleaned daily with fresh towels and bedding.
There are two large pools and a kids pool with plenty of sun beds and brollies - best place we found was in front of the tennis court a bit quieter there and away from the kids, the food is good with a choice of up to 12 salads with variety of meats at evenings, the breakfast was English and continental but did lack cooked toms, mushrooms and good English sausage. The head waiter is called Paris he was without doubt the best we have come across all you have to do is ask him on entry to the dinning room if there is something you fancy and he will have it served for you.
There are towels available for your use so no need to take towels with you.
Lifts are a little slow and they have no air-con which at times was uncomfortable.
The Thomson rep Temi was very good, helpful with the knowledge of Greece and the area, very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The best rep we have come across in a long time.
Overall would recommend this hotel to others and would go again ourselves.

Room Tip: Ask for 5th - 7th floor for the best rooms so you get the best view of the sunset/sunrise. Pay that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rhodes Town
1.0 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 127 in Rhodes Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,488 reviews
0.2 mi away
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
#10 of 127 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,953 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
#13 of 127 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Electra Palace Rhodes
Electra Palace Rhodes
#2 of 31 in Ialyssos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,427 reviews
0.1 mi away
Amathus Elite Suites
Amathus Elite Suites
#4 of 127 in Rhodes Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
2.9 mi away
Mitsis Grand Hotel
Mitsis Grand Hotel
#7 of 127 in Rhodes Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center

Property: Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center
Address: Iraklidon Avenue, Rhodes Town 85100, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Rhodes Town
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Rhodes Town
#10 Luxury Hotel in Rhodes Town
#16 Family Hotel in Rhodes Town
#28 Romantic Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center 5*
Number of rooms: 342
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover refined elegance and genuine hospitality. Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center, with its unique architectural structure most recently renovated in 2008-12, welcoming and gracious with contemporary and chic interior design, offer's attentive service, upscale amenities, and blissful tranquility. Tastefully designed for comfort, 65% of our guest rooms are sea view with amazingly large verandas, ideal spots to take advantage of the amazing first rays of the sunlight or indulge in the enticing sunsets dipping in the Aegean Sea. Relax in our attractive and spacious gardens, or simply 'chill out' by the swimming pool, and enjoy a warm welcome from our genuinely friendly and hospitable staff. Alternatively you can take a stroll down to the beach and enjoy a swim in the crystal clear blue waters of the Aegean Sea and capture the breathtaking scenery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Traveltool, S.L.U., Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olympic Palace Ixia
Hotel Olympic Palace
Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center Rhodes/Rhodes Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing