We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Laid back luxury at Olympic Palace Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center
Ranked #10 of 126 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 June 2013

We've just had a really good holiday at the Olympic Palace in Ixia Rhodes. I'd call the experience 'laid back luxury'. From the moment we entered the hotel and went to into the impressive reception lounge, a helpful friendly atmosphere was apparent and lasted throughout the holiday fortnight. The reception staff were efficient and friendly and we were quickly signed in an off up to our room. The sea-view balconies are expansive, the food very good with a great choice, the entertainment team really good and had everybody laughing around the pool. The daily cleaners also happy, friendly and good (as were all the staff). The pools and garden areas are also well-maintained; there is a really good mini-golf course at the front of the hotel. This is a great holiday experience, certainly will return ( they also have a loyalty scheme).

Room Tip: The best rooms are the sea-view rooms the others are good, but they make a great holiday fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David_AllanJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympic Palace H, Public Relations Manager at Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you ever so much for taking the time to review our hotel on Tripadvisor as well as for your positive comments.

We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay at the Olympic and that you were satisfied with all aspects of the hotel.

We will be very happy to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Olympic Palace
Customer Services Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,538)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

711 - 717 of 1,538 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2013

Just returned after 2 week holiday at the Hotel 22 May-5 June.Hotel is very good and certainly 4 star.
Seaview rooms are a must, as those at the back of the Hotel are dull and drab.We had a large seaview room at the front of Hotel and view was amazing.Rooms are large and well appointed and towels and linen changed daily.
Food at both dinner and breakfast is excellent with large choice of good quality food.If you can't find something you like here,then you have a problem.Staff throughout the Hotel are very helpful and friendly and a special mention to Kyriakos,our waiter in the restaurant,as he was excellent.
Outdoor facilities pools etc meet all requirements.
I would recommend half board as opposed to AI,as bar on the 8th floor is a bit boring.Better choice of bars 5 mins walk along the strip.Drinks in Hotel pricey, as you would expect.
The only thing that lets down this Hotel are the lifts.4 small lifts only taking 4 persons and one was out of commission during the whole our stay,so be prepared to walk!However,the views from the higher floor rooms makes it worth the trek.Also lack of a courtesy room for late departure is a disappointment, if you are not allowed to keep on you own room,which incidentally costs 40 euros.The alternative of showers at the pools isnn't a great one.Women like to have a bit of privacy and perhaps use a hair dryer.
Overall the pluses greatly outweigh the minuses and I can't believe this Hotel only comes in as tenth out of 30 Ixia Hotels.The first nine must be quite something.

Room Tip: Higher floor seaviews are a must.If you go for the cheaper option of a mountain view room,at the bac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank manbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympic Palace H, Public Relations Manager at Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share you experience on Tripadvisor.

We are very pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us and would like to thank you for the favorable comments made.

Kindly note that Olympic is an official 5* hotel although certain tour operators choose to sell it as a four in order to facilitate the sales process.

We would also like to clarify that twin mountain view rooms share the exact same amenities and décor as sea view rooms as they both had been renovated during the same period and based on the same standards. Of course a good view is always a big asset for any room, in any hotel.

Thank you ever so much for praising the hotel’s cuisine; we will be happy to relay your positive feedback to our Cher and his team.

At this point, we would like to apologize for any inconvenience caused due to the absence of one of the lifts; unfortunately damages occur in all hotels and certain issues sometimes may take longer to resolve when third party companies are involved. Apologies again for any inconvenience this issue may have caused.

Courtesy rooms are provided in the hotel when there is availability as this is the case with most hotels; as you can appreciate the hotel was completely full at the day of your departure and still runs at extremely high occupancy rates.
\
Rankings on Tripadvisor are calculated based on the average score of all reviews submitted, even those prior the renovation at the Olympic. We believe in our product and feel especially happy to read that the majority of our clientele has a very enjoyable stay with us.

Once again we would like to thank you for bringing your feedback to our attention as well as for sharing your experience.

We hope to see you soon at the Olympic should your future travel plans call for a trip to Rhodes.

Best Regards,
Olympic Palace
Customer Services Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We have just returned after a week half board. We were satisfied with the accommodation and all the staff were helpful.The 3 rooms we booked were clean on arrival and serviced daily. The cleaners did an excellent job throughout the hotel.There was a good choice of food for breakfast and evening meal. The pools were good including a fresh water pool for children.A busy main road was between the hotel and the beach which was difficult to cross at times.
Two bad points were the hotel internet computers didn't work all week also the poorly equipped gym only had one cycling machine working. This was was very disappointing for two of our group who would have gone to the gym in the mornings.

Room Tip: Sea View for brighter room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 277Georgina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympic Palace H, Public Relations Manager at Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to bring your feedback to our attention.

We are pleased to read that overall you had an enjoyable stay at the Olympic and would like to warmly thank you for the kind comments made in regards to our housekeeping staff.

The hotel relies on third party companies to service both facilities mentioned in your review and can only apologize for any inconvenience caused during your stay.

As we speak the hotel’s internet corner is fully restored and we are waiting for the suitable replacement parts so as to repair any faulty gym equipment.

Once again thank you for sharing your feedback with us and very much hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back in our resort.

Best Regards,
Olympic Palace
Customer Services Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Delightfull room with a side sea view, comfortable bed and nice and clean. Very good location Ixia is good for an eve walk after a very good buffet dinner and before visiting the 8th floor bar for drinks and entertainment. Breakfast buffet was varied and plentiful, and the staff are very attentive( special mention to Andreas and his team) Pool area is excellent with plenty of sun beds and the pool bar is a nice touch. A lively animation team were friendly and enthusiastic but not to pushy if you just wanted to chill, A few little things let this hotel down( air con and extractor in room not working, reported but not fixed and we had to ask every day for tea and milk to be replenished in room) However, this did not in any way spoil our holiday and enjoyment of the hotel and Rhodes.
ps they also have a very good crazy golf course ( I won :) )

Room Tip: 5th floor was a good option,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Avalon1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympic Palace H, Public Relations Manager at Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you ever so much for taking the time to review our hotel on Tripadvisor.

We are thrilled to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us and would like to thank you for the positive comments made.

Rest assured that we will investigate further the issue with the air-conditioning and the malfunctioning extractor; although not an excuse we rarely have any incidents in regards to this aspect and would like to apologize for the inconvenience this may have caused.

We very much hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back at the Olympic should your future travel plans call for a trip to Rhodes.

Best Regards,
Olympic Palace
Customer Services Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013 via mobile

Very good quality hotel,very spacious,we had a room with a sea view which the view was beautiful.
Like on many holidays you go on,you tend to find the food at meal times do get monotonous as its pretty much the same every night so for that reason I couldn't give 5 stars,I also found that the restaurant lacked personality and found meal time abit of a chore,but saying that there's plenty of good restaurants to just outside the hotel,so I would advise not doing all inclusive here.
Highly recommended and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Toonarmie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympic Palace H, Public Relations Manager at Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to bring your feedback to our attention.

We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that overall you found Olympic Palace to be a good quality hotel, which you would recommend and return to.

Your observations regarding the food variety and serving times have been noted and forwarded to the hotel’s general manager for further evaluation. Having said, we would like to stress that the hotel enjoys very positive comments as far as its cuisine and variety is concerned and feel sadden to read that your personal experience was slightly different.

We very much hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back at the Olympic should your future travel plans call for a trip to Rhodes.

Best Regards,
Olympic Palace
Customer Services Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a week in Rhodes and we were very pleased with the hotel,
We arrived after midnight and the night porter was so helpful, as by the time we had settled in to our room the bar had closed, but he pointed us to a small kiosk across from the hotel where we could pick up some water/refreshments.
The room itself was of a very good standard and was very clean and comfortable with a nice view of the sea and also the pool,

The cleaners did an excellent job throughout our stay in maintaining the high standard of cleanliness in our room and throughout the hotel

The food in the restaurant was excellent and there was a variety of dishes which changed every night, the breakfast was also to a very good standard with plenty of choice for everyone. Although the waiting staff were always very busy they maintained a high level of service at all times and were very friendly.

I really can't find any fault with this hotel the only small point would be that the road in front of the hotel is extremely busy and you do have to be very careful when crossing to access the beach.

We are already planning to come back to this hotel next year as it is excellent value for money and a beautiful place to stay

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympic Palace H, Public Relations Manager at Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you ever so much for taking the time to review our hotel on Tripadvisor.

It is always rewarding to read such positive comments from our guests and would like to take this opportunity and warmly thank you for doing so.

Rest assured that we will relay your praises to all staff members involved in making your stay a very enjoyable one.

We look forward to welcoming you back at the Olympic next year.

Warm Regards,
Olympic Palace
Customer Services Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

We stayed at the Olympic Palace in September last year. On the whole we found it to be a very good family orientated hotel in a good location. The food was good, with plenty of choice, and the staff in the restaurant were excellent (those that served us). We stayed on a half board basis, so we were able to go out and try out the local bars and restaurants as well, of which there are plenty.
Our room was fine, clean and comfortable. We had a view over looking the swimming pool. I would advise people to avoid getting a room with a mountain view if possible, as its exactly what it says it is, a mountain view. All you’ll see is a sheer rock face from your balcony.
The Hotel pools were fine, although quite busy. Alternatively, there was a small stretch of beach opposite the hotel which was reserved for guests that was also available.
On the whole, I don’t think anyone could go far wrong staying here, providing you’re not expecting luxury accommodation and fine dining.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cavalier7_61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympic Palace H, Public Relations Manager at Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Tripadvisor.

We are very pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay at the Olympic and that you found all aspects of the hotel to be of good standard.

Thank you also for praising our restaurant’s service level as well as for the comments made in regards to the cleanliness and comfortableness of your room.

We very much hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back at the Olympic Palace in the not so distant future.

Best Regards,
Olympic Palace
Customer Services Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rhodes Town
0.2 mi away
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
#12 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,244 reviews
1 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,939 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
#13 of 126 in Rhodes Town
1,799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Oceanis Hotel
Oceanis Hotel
#17 of 126 in Rhodes Town
1,675 reviews
3.9 mi away
Elysium Resort & Spa
Elysium Resort & Spa
#1 of 20 in Kallithea
1,744 reviews
0.1 mi away
Amathus Elite Suites
Amathus Elite Suites
#4 of 126 in Rhodes Town
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center

Address: Iraklidon Avenue, Rhodes Town 85100, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Rhodes Town
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Rhodes Town
#8 Luxury Hotel in Rhodes Town
#13 Family Hotel in Rhodes Town
#28 Romantic Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range: £76 - £231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center 5*
Number of rooms: 342
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover refined elegance and genuine hospitality. Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center, with its unique architectural structure most recently renovated in 2008-12, welcoming and gracious with contemporary and chic interior design, offer's attentive service, upscale amenities, and blissful tranquility. Tastefully designed for comfort, 65% of our guest rooms are sea view with amazingly large verandas, ideal spots to take advantage of the amazing first rays of the sunlight or indulge in the enticing sunsets dipping in the Aegean Sea. Relax in our attractive and spacious gardens, or simply 'chill out' by the swimming pool, and enjoy a warm welcome from our genuinely friendly and hospitable staff. Alternatively you can take a stroll down to the beach and enjoy a swim in the crystal clear blue waters of the Aegean Sea and capture the breathtaking scenery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olympic Palace Ixia
Hotel Olympic Palace
Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center Rhodes/Rhodes Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing