We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food, Lovely Clean Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center
Ranked #12 of 126 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Stayed here for a week all inclusive in June, although we booked a sea view room, we were facing the swimming pool and could only see the sea by looking over the side of the balcony. We arrived after midnight and was told to come back the next day. Room was spacious and clean so decided this was fine. The staff are very friendly especially the restaurant staff, Victor and his colleagues could not do enough for you. Entertainment staff at the pool great, they don't pester you to join the activities leave it up to you. Plenty of sunless, preferred behind the pool bar, a bit quieter, overall great hotel, great food and great staff, would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympic Palace H, Public Relations Manager at Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience following your recent stay with us.

We are very pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay at the Olympic and would like to warmly thank you for all the positive comments made.

We very much hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you back in our hotel in the not so distant future.

Warm Regards,
Olympic Palace
Customer Services Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,477)
There are newer reviews for Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

627 - 633 of 1,477 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2013

I've just come back from this hotel me my mum my nice and my nephew. We've paied 2000 euro with the transport , hotel and demi-pension at the hotel . When i have arrived (18.08.2013) it was ten o'clock and they said to us that we have to wait until 2 o'clock . I was nervous because i was with 2 childrens and they were tired. We left our baggages in a room and we went to the beach . They have 20 sunbeds for a hotel with 5 floors. You broke your legs before get into the water. The beach is full of rocks. We came back at the hotel and we went to the pool . I ate there and a nice waitress said to us to go to Eli's beach . The first day was already lost . In the moorning we went to Eli's beach . It's not a sandy beach but it's not full of rocks. I had to pay 8 euro to a taxi to go there. I forgot to say that the pool is dirty! It's full of leaves from the trees. The food is horrible . You have to stay in line to get something . Every day the same food frite eggs bacon, pancakes.
Frite potatos every day. My stomach ia full of infect food. The staff is brilliant . Oh and don't get wifi in the room or at the pool it doesen't work. For me it wasn't all pink and nice but Rhodos is a nice place don't go in Ixia if you want a nice holiday. Go to Faliraki or Kalithea . Is much better than here .

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zozolyyop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympic Palace H, Public Relations Manager at Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to bring your feedback to our attention.

We were very sorry to read that you did not have an enjoyable stay in our resort and would like to apologize for any inconvenience caused.

Without wishing to be unsympathetic, the official check in time in most hotels all over the world is at 14:00 pm and felt sadden to note that this has caused some level of dissatisfaction.

Wherever availability permits, we do allow guests to check in earlier than 14:00 however do bear in mind that you arrived on the hotel on the 18th of August which is right on the very peak of the season and therefore an early check in was impossible.

The hotel provides a number of complimentary sun beds at its private land in the beach area and feel sorry to read that you perceived them to be inadequate; we rarely receive any complains in regards to this issue as there are countless of subeds and parasols available at the beach rented by a third party individual.

Our swimming pool area is meticulously cleaned twice a day, both first thing in the morning and late in the afternoon and felt rather surprised with the comment made. Having said that, we do not seem to have enough complains to suggest that there is an issue in this area.

As far as the hotel’s cuisine is concerned, we get very strong positive feedback by the vast majority of our guests as shown in most reviews on Tripadvisor and can only apologize if your experience was not in line with what other guests are saying.

The restaurant’s menu has been created in such a way to cater for all regardless nationality and age and this is something we do feel has been achieved as most guest feel that “there is always something from everyone”.

At this point we would like to thank you for your good comments in regards to our staff members; most of them have been with us for many years and consist indeed one of our greatest assets.

We very much hope that despite the issue raised you still had some level of enjoyment out of your holiday with us and that you would choose to return to Rhodes at some point in the future.

Kindest Regards,
Olympic Palace
Customer Services Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We (husband, wife and early teenage daughter) stayed at the Olympic Palace hotel from 7-14th August. Since our flight arrived about 1.30 am (8th early morning), we were concerned about travelling from Rhodes airport to the Hotel at that time of the day. To our surprise, it was one of the smoothest taxi journeys we have done. You cross the road after coming out of the arrival lounge, pick up the taxi, and you are at the hotel with in maximum 20 minutes. It was 17 Euros. The reception desk man knew we were coming at this time - he sorted out the check in with in 5-10 minutes max. We were slightly surprised to being asked to pay for a safe in a Greek 5* (maximum 4* per UK standards) hotel and we had to pay that in cash – 12 Euros. This is something the management needs to consider going forward as lot of people would take that for granted in a hotel like that!
Though we did not get a sea view room initially, we managed to get this after couple of nights – we recommend people to try and get this, as it will make your holiday more memorable as the other view is a mountain that is 5 -10 meters from a small balcony, the sea view balcony is comparatively large. Sea view was superb and we could also see the northern tip of the Rhodes Island from our balcony - the Rhodes town is 10-12 minutes taxi journey (8 Euros). We did a boat cruise to Lindos and it was only 25 Euros per person. It was a good day out (from 9 am to 5.30 pm) and Lindos is something you should not miss if you go to Rhodes!
The breakfast and dinner was really lovely (we had a half board package) and all of us enjoyed. There was lot of choices and plenty of fresh fruits as well. All the restaurant staff were very prompt, polite and efficient. We really enjoyed the evening meals as well. There was a variety of delicious food.
The entertainment team worked really hard day in day out – at the pool during the day and at the 8th floor in the evening from 9.30 to 11 pm. The roof top balcony at the 8th floor has remarkable view and don’t forget to go there for the sunset.
Though the sea is just across a busy road, it is not that difficult to cross the road if you are careful. We did not find this as an issue as some people have commented. There are sun beds for the Hotel guests and we even found 3 sun beds at 1pm one day. We never went at 9 am in the morning to the seaside but always found the sun beds. The sea is nice and warm and generally calm.
There are parade of shops just before the hotel (if you are coming from the airport end) – you can buy anything from these shops from food, any drink to gifts to take home. They are competitively priced as there are more than one mini super market with in 100 meters from the hotel. There are also nice restaurants within the same range. Overall, the area outside the hotel is very lively until mid night or so but not rowdy type of liveliness. It was calm and safe, that is what we felt anyway.
Overall, all three of us had a lovely holiday in Rhodes in a very nice and clean hotel with lovely staff, food and entertainment. We will recommend this hotel to anyone going to Rhodes. Thank You!

Room Tip: Very simple - get a sea view room
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ThilVilD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympic Palace H, Public Relations Manager at Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you ever so much for reviewing our hotel on Tripadvisor; this is highly appreciated by all of us working at the Olympic Palace.

It is always a pleasure to read that a guest of ours had an enjoyable stay with us and that he/she would recommend our property to other holidaymakers. Thank you very much for this as well as for all the positive comments made in your review.

Kindly note that safe deposit boxes are usually on extra charge in most hotels in Greece and felt sadden to note your dissatisfaction in this regard. We update frequently all our online content and provide all travel companies we work with the services that carry additional charges such as safe deposit box or internet access and can only apologize should this was not noticed prior to your arrival.

We did, however, bring your suggestion to the hotel’s management attention for further evaluation.

Once again thank you for your comments; we look forward to welcoming you back should your future travel plans call for a trip to Rhodes.

Warm Regards,
Olympic Palace
Customer Services Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We stayed at this wonderful hotel from 20th - 27th July this year. Having booked our holiday, I like many others do, looked on various reviews here on Trip advisor. They were very mixed and I was unsure of what we had booked.
We arrived at the reception very late but were greeted but the lovely gentleman on the night shift. The interior of this hotel is exquisite from the beautiful decor at reception to the main spiral staircase. I had booked a sea view room as high up as I could as someone had advised on a previous review and it was the best thing I did. Room 711 was beautifully decorated, the nicest I have ever stayed in over the years. Our balcony was enormous and the view was breathtaking.
I have stayed in many hotels when the sunbeds are either broken or seriously uncomfortable. Not only were they comfortable but each pair of beds had a table and parasol. The pools and pool area were beautifully clean. It also has the best in house shop of any I've experienced and staff who are polite.
I have a lactose and gluten intolerance and it was made clear that I could have spoken to the head waiter about this but the meals are superb. Why people have complained about the food baffles me?! The variety each night was incredible and I ate like a queen. The restaurant staff were always polite and friendly despite working incredibly hard. The only slight problem was paying for the safety deposit box in our house as most houses are keypads these days but I have since rad a recent review and understand.
My husband was keen on a cruise this year but even he admitted what a fabulous hotel this is. We have raved about it since our return! A truly fabulous holiday - we will be back!! What a shame you aren't open all year round.

Room Tip: Definitely consider a sea view room higher up - stunning modern rooms.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympic Palace H, Public Relations Manager at Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to warmly thank you for your review; this is really the best way to reward all us working at the Olympic Palace and feel very grateful indeed.

Thank you for mentioning in your review the room standards, staff, food and facilities found at the hotel. We are just very happy to read that you found everything to be in order and that you had a lovely time with us.

We very much hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back soon.

Warm Regards,
Olympic Palace
Customer Services Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Well we had a stroke of luck coming here after originallybeing booked for the cyprotel faliraki. What a result!!
The family room was fantastic for my partner and our 2 young boys, with a door to seperate the rooms and a fantastic view over the ocean.
Our room was cleaned daily without fail, and fresh towels everyday. The room was on the third floor and to be honest the only real issue was the lifts. And that was only when we were going to the roof bar, as its a lot of stairs.
The pools were great and we spent the majority of our week in the shallower pool, by the pool bar. Being all inc, this enabled us to get drinks whenever we wanted, and nikos the bar man was great with the kids, always ready to serve them and never ignored them. Also we had fresh clean glasses every time that came from a freshly sealed plastic container with straws that were fresh also. The animation team were good, although my boys tended to spend most days in the pool, but really loved the club dance. The only bit of advice would be to move the evening entertainment back to the pool area where there is a specific stage. The difficulty with it being upstairs was if we sat outside you couldnt see the activity inside unless you sat inside which was hot. The waiter upstairs was awesome, how he remembered the drinks on busier nights was amazing.
The food was great, well cooked, good variety most days, the maitre d always had a smile for everyone, and the waiting staff were always friendly. We didnt use wifi so cant comment.
All in all a thoroughly great place to stay as a family and would definitely return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank butterflybrains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympic Palace H, Public Relations Manager at Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you ever so much for taking the time to review our hotel on Tripadvisor.

We are thrilled to read all the positive comments made and would like to warmly thank you on behalf of the management and staff at the Olympic Palace.

Rest assured that your suggestion in moving the evening entertainment to the pool bar has been noted and relayed to the hotel’s general manager for further evaluation.

We very much hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back in our hotel soon.

Warm Regards,
Olympic Palace
Customer Services Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Just returned from a last minute holiday with daughter 13. We had read some reviews before travelling which seemed mixed but we have to say we thought that the hotel facilities were very good, crossing the road to the beach would be an issue particularly with young children. Hotel sunbeds were available on the beach but always taken by the early morning 'towel dropping brigade'. We thought the quality and choice of the food was very good and the restaurant staff were very helpful and friendly especially the allocated table waiter whose name we have forgotten but he was football mad. The standard of the room was very good and we requested and got a seaview at no additional charge, the views were great. The evening bar facilities and service on the 8th floor were great and Lazarous the waiter is an asset to the hotel. We were worried that our daughter would get bored but the anmination team made her holiday with the club and group dances and getting everyone involved. In short something for everybody. The only real worry was it appears that plastic glasses and drinking straws in the pool bar are washed and reused and some guests were inclusive and as usual did everything to excess! The Haine family

Room Tip: Great seaviews but also rear rooms have stunning views of the mountains
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dawnhaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympic Palace H, Public Relations Manager at Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

Dear Haine Family,

Thank you ever so much for taking the time to share your experience following your recent stay with us.

We are delighted to read that you found Olympic Palace to be a great hotel with good leisure facilities and friendly staff and would like to thank you once more for all the positive comments made.

Rest assured that we will relay your comments to Lazaros in the roof top bar who has been with us since the hotel’s opening and is regarded indeed as one of our best assets (as the rest of the members of staff of course).

Crossing the road to the beach may cause sometimes a minor delay but the situation has radically improved following the introduction of pedestrian crossings alongside the road. Hopefully more initiatives will be taken by the Municipality of Ialyssos in the near future.

The hotel informs guests at the check in and has signs at the beach area indicating that reserving sunbeds is prohibited but unfortunately there are still certain guests that continue to do so. As you can appreciate this is a popular issue with most hotels around the world. Thank you for bringing this to our attention and apologies for any inconvenience caused; we shall look into ways of resolving this issue further.

As far as the worry described is concerned, we would like to assure you that this is not the case. We have investigated this point and apparently the bartender at the pool bar sometimes foolishly places plastic glasses and straws at the sink until another member of staff passes by to collect them for recycling. We would like to emphasize that no plastic glasses or straws are re-used and would like to thank you so much for noticing this. We have now informed our staff to place items in a tray so as to avoid giving the wrong impression to the guests.

Once again thank you for taking the time to review our hotel as well as for spotting certain minor grippes in your holiday; such feedback is crucial in helping us improve our services and we are indeed very grateful for all the comments made.

We very much hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back at the Olympic Palace.

Warm Regards,
Olympic Palace
Customer Services Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

we had a great 7 nights vacation in olympic palace! we are 4 18 years old girls. the staff was very very nice and helpfull, the beach was really close, the meels where great and we had a lot of choice and variety. we had the 2 floors, family room wich had a beautiful sea view and a big beautiful balcony. the room was clean, but the room was a little outdated and they could pay a little more attention to the details (like the paint on the wall). the hotel is a very short cab ride from a lot of the attractions in rhodos (like the bar street, the old city, the center of the new city), and the buses are very comfortable to ride.
the internet costs 3 euros per hour, but we just went to one of the many bars and restaurants that are 2 min' walk from the hotel and used the free wifi.
the one thing that we did'nt like is that at dinner, the drinks costs extra money!
even water!
aside from that it was a very pleasurable stay in rhodos. (i really recommend on going to the club "colorado". it is one of the coolest places i've ever been in)

Room Tip: try to ask for a seaview room
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tomtom223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympic Palace H, Public Relations Manager at Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013

Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience following your recent stay with us.

We are very happy to read that you had a great vacation with us and would like to warmly thank you for all the comments made; this is very much appreciated by all of us working at the Olympic Palace.

We had already relayed your feedback to our maintenance team so as to investigate any potential issues with the room you stayed in.

At this point we would like to explain that most hotels in Rhodes charge for drinks during dinner; this is a standard practice found in most hotels of the island and can only apologize if this caused any level of dissatisfaction during your stay with us.

Once again thank you for the feedback provided and very much hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back in our hotel soon.

Warm Regards,
Olympic Palace
Customer Services Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rhodes Town
1.0 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,828 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
#14 of 126 in Rhodes Town
1,734 reviews
0.2 mi away
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
#13 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Electra Palace Rhodes
Electra Palace Rhodes
#2 of 31 in Ialyssos
1,643 reviews
0.1 mi away
Amathus Elite Suites
Amathus Elite Suites
#4 of 126 in Rhodes Town
621 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sentido Ixian Grand
Sentido Ixian Grand
#22 of 126 in Rhodes Town
1,551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center

Address: Iraklidon Avenue, Rhodes Town 85100, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Rhodes Town
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Rhodes Town
#11 Luxury Hotel in Rhodes Town
#16 Family Hotel in Rhodes Town
#28 Romantic Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range: £69 - £1,096 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center 5*
Number of rooms: 342
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover refined elegance and genuine hospitality. Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center, with its unique architectural structure most recently renovated in 2008-12, welcoming and gracious with contemporary and chic interior design, offer's attentive service, upscale amenities, and blissful tranquility. Tastefully designed for comfort, 65% of our guest rooms are sea view with amazingly large verandas, ideal spots to take advantage of the amazing first rays of the sunlight or indulge in the enticing sunsets dipping in the Aegean Sea. Relax in our attractive and spacious gardens, or simply 'chill out' by the swimming pool, and enjoy a warm welcome from our genuinely friendly and hospitable staff. Alternatively you can take a stroll down to the beach and enjoy a swim in the crystal clear blue waters of the Aegean Sea and capture the breathtaking scenery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olympic Palace Ixia
Hotel Olympic Palace
Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center Rhodes/Rhodes Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing