We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as before”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center
Ranked #12 of 126 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Certificate of Excellence
East Kilbride
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Not as good as before”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Returned to this hotel after enjoying it so much last year.On arrival our room preference which we requested by e-mail was met.A nice touch was a complimentary bottle of wine and fruit in the room to welcome returning guests.We also received a free drink in the Restaurant on the first evening as a welcome back.
There is a new resident chef and this might explain why the food was not as good as last year.
At breakfast all type of eggs are delivered overcooked with the exception of boiled eggs which are raw.If you are looking for a freshly cooked fried egg sunny side up then forget it.Non cooked items are fine.At dinner main courses are a disappointment with cheap dry cuts of meat and fish,other courses okay.Special mention for Kyriakos who is an excellent friendly waiter and worth his weight ion gold to the Hotel.Many of the returning guests felt that the food had deteriorated.
Sea view bedrooms and well appointed but not cleaned very well.We had dust in our room on fittings and surfaces that looked like it had been there for months.We were also messed around when trying to establish if we could keep on our room on day of departure.We were kept being told to come back later,so decided to forget it and spend the 42 euro cost on a nice lunch and drinks elsewhere.
The Hotel is apparently full until the end of September and prides itself on the volume of returning guests.Our view is that previous standards should be maintained or improved,and they have failed to do so here .

Room Tip: Sea view a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympic Palace H, Guest Relations Manager at Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for bringing your feedback to our attention.

We were very concerned to read your review and would like to apologize should you felt that your stay this year was not as enjoyable as the one in the past.

Olympic Palace has improved and renovated several parts of the resort this year including addressing the most popular issues which were elevators, WiFI as well as the gym. We are very sorry should you felt that standards are deteriorating however the feedback received by the majority of the guests appears to be quite different.

Having said that, this also appears to be the case for the hotel’s cuisine which seems to have improved in terms of customer satisfaction at least as far as the overall feedback received is concerned. We are sadden to read that you felt otherwise and have already relayed your comments to both, the hotel manager as well as to our new chef for further evaluation.
On a positive note, we would like to thank you for praising a member of our staff who would be very happy to know your opinion on the service delivered.

We are also sorry to read that you felt that your chambermaid was under performing and have already relayed this issue to our chief housekeeper for further investigation. Housekeeping has been one of the best performing departments at Olympic Palace, something which is also reflected on Tripadvisor, and can only assume that this may have been an isolated and unfortunate event which we will investigate further. Apologies for any dissatisfaction felt.

As far as the late checkout request is concerned, kindly note it is a standard practise for all hotels to advise of such requests on the morning of your departure date as late checkout is always subject to availability. We are very sorry to read that this may have given you the wrong impression regarding the intentions of our employees however would like to take this opportunity and assure you that this procedure applies to all guests.

Once again thank you for choosing Olympic Palace for your stay; we are very sorry that your experience was not as anticipated and very much hope that you might consider returning to Olympic Palace and offer thus a second chance to restore your faith to our hotel.

Kindest Regards,
Olympic Palace
Customer Services Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,421 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    640
    495
    191
    66
    29
See reviews for
425
685
21
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We where at 25 may 2014
We enjoy a vacation for the second time in a year at hotel Olympic palace.
the room was good and very clean and spacious enough for every day cleaned and arranged the room.
Excellent dining room with lots of selection are simultaneous Buffet
Room service was quick and staff dining room waiters are polite and pleasant willing to help in any
Clean and tidy pool entertainment staff knew excite the crowd.
Excellent hotel for couples and families, respite care Whereunto shall I liken to get to stay at this hotel is highly recommended

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shabtai B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympic Palace H, Public Relations Manager at Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Tripadvisor as well as for your custom.

We are delighted to read that you had a lovely stay with us and would like to warmly thank you for all the positive comments made; this is greatly appreciate by all of us working for Olympic Palace.

We look forward to welcoming you back in our hotel in the not so distant future.

Warm Regards,
Olympic Palace
Customer Services Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We have just returned from a weeks all inclusive at this hotel. I had previously read the reviews and decided to try it out. The Hotel was very big but this did not detract from its good points. We arrived and were checked in pretty quickly by the friendly staff. Our room was overlooking the sea and pool which we paid extra for and it was well worth it. The room was very spacious and had a separate dressing area as well as an en suite bathroom. The actual bedroom was massive and very very clean and we had an enormous balcony. We had a good sized TV attached to the wall and also tea and coffee making facilities which is unusual for foreign hotels and a fridge. There was also a hairdryer.

As mentioned before we were staying all inclusive. The food was really good and the hotel caters for various diets. My husband has coeliacs disease and the head waiter who greeted people as they arrived in the dining room was brilliant. Each time we went in he told my husband what he could have from the buffet as all his food had to be gluten free.[
On only one occasion there was no main course that he could have and the head waiter had already ordered a steak for him. It was all done with minimum fuss which made it much easier for us. There were two indoor bars and two outdoor ones open at various time throughout the day and night where we could get all inclusive drinks including cocktails. The roof top bar had entertainment at night which was ok but not brilliant. All in all we had a brilliant holiday and would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay in Ixia.


[

Room Tip: I would advise anyone who stays here to pay for the seaview rooms as some of the rooms at the rear o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lillian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympic Palace H, Guest Relations Manager at Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you ever so much for taking the time to review our hotel on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to read that you had a brilliant holiday at the Olympic Palace and that you would recommend our hotel to other holidaymakers; your kind comments are greatly appreciated by all of us, managers & staff alike.

Thank you also for mentioning the good accommodation standards found at the hotel as well as for praising the friendliness & helpfulness of our staff.

We very much hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back in our hotel should your future travel plans call for a trip to Rhodes.

Warm Regards,
Olympic Palace
Customer Services Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

We were on vacations there my fiancé and myself. We stayed in a junior suite kindly offered to us by the reception following a discomfort caused to us by the travel agency and not related to the hotel.
The room was huge, very clean and beautiful.
Food was great, every day something new. We really appreciated the kind gesture of the hotel to notify its guests about pork meat. We thought it was very elegant.
The pool area is clean and welcoming, as is the pool itself.
The service is kind and everything is made to make you feel relaxed.
We would like to thank the staff and we sure will be back in the future, maybe with our kids.
Highly recommended!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank MANUZ107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympic Palace H, Public Relations Manager at Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you ever so much for taking the time to review our hotel following your stay with us.

We are very happy to read that you had an enjoyable stay at the Olympic Palace and would like to warmly thank you for all the positive comments made.

We very much hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back in our hotel in the not so distant future
Best Regards,
Olympic Palace
Customer Services Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Towyn
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We are here on our honeymoon the hotel is very nice and clean great food but for what we payed the room is very disappointing and not what I expected on a honeymoon the balcony is very VERY small and dull dark room have looking at a rock we have asked to move rooms but get the same response that they will check in a couple of days. Will not come back again .

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Low17dan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympic Palace H, Guest Relations Manager at Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to bring your feedback to our attention as well as for choosing OIympic Palace for your Honeymoon.

We regret to note that although you liked the hotel the room booked was not as per anticipated which had a negative impact on your stay with us.

Without wishing to be unsympathetic, Mountain View rooms were all renovated at the same period as the sea view rooms and feature exactly the same facilities.

We have noticed that a disproportionate number of guests book mountain view rooms and then request to be upgraded to a sea view room; as you can appreciate a last minute upgrade is always subject to availability as we still need to allocate all guests that have made a reservation for a sea view room first, hence the reason of advising to check back with reception regarding availability.

Whilst we always try to accommodate requests this is not always possible and would like to emphasize that if a guest wants to stay in a sea view room then the safest way is to actually make a corresponding reservation in advance as opposed to requesting it which is something that cannot always be guaranteed as in all hotels around the world.

In closure, we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your honeymoon and very much hope that perhaps you might consider returning to Olympic Palace should your future travel plans call for a trip to Rhodes.

Kindest Regards,
Olympic Palace
Customer Services Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Dont fall for the photoes on the web sites . Once you arrive at the hotel at least half of the rooms are old ugly . Looking like a youth hostel at the best. Food is medium low , kids wont find much to eat there. Service is horrible . It seems as if they do everything to make you unhappy

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank veterez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympic Palace H, Public Relations Manager at Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

We are very sorry to read that your experience was not the one anticipated and can only apologize for any dissatisfaction felt during your stay with us.

Without wishing to be unsympathetic, your statement that half of the rooms are old and that the photos on the hotel’s website are misleading are totally untruthful. We believe that comparing Olympic Palace with a youth hotel really tells a lot about the quality, truthfulness and usefulness of your review to other holidaymakers.

Perhaps the most bizarre of all is that you have visited Olympic Palace back in 2010 and made similar negative remarks, which really brings the question in mind of why revisiting a hotel that you were not satisfied in the first place.

We have now asked Tripadvisor to authenticate this review to prove you are a guest that indeed stayed at Olympic Palace last August, as we have had incidents in the past of agencies in Israel making fake negative reviews as a mean of sabotaging the hotel’s sales. We very much hope this is not the case, yet the situation raises suspicion especially when this comes almost a year following your stay and only a few days since a promotion in this market began.

In any case, we very much hope that you had some level of enjoyment out of your stay with us and that you will perhaps choose to visit Rhodes Island at some point in the future.

Kind Regards,
Olympic Palace
Customer Services Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, England
Level 6 Contributor
305 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

When you first arrive you are impressed, the reception area has acres of marble and glass, stylish furniture, fancy lighting and welcoming smiles from the reception staff. The room is also large with elegant minimalist furnishings and a firm but comfortable bed, sliding glass doors lead to a large balcony with views over the sea to Turkey, and everything is pristine and clean. So far so good but sadly nothing else quite lives up to these first impressions.
This hotel has undergone recent refurbishment and some of it continues so there are only two small lifts operating rather than the four there will be on completion, OK at the minute in shoulder season, but it will be chaos if they're not ready for peak season. It didn't help when one of the two lifts was out of order for a couple of days. Also they have those room cards which you have to put in a slot to power up the room, which is fine until you leave then everything powers down, including the fridge and any devices you are trying to charge, I'm all for conserving power but there are limits!
Declaration of interest, I have never liked buffets, but there good buffets and worse buffets. If you are feeding several hundred guests from all over Europe then inevitably there will be stuff that doesn't appeal to everybody but some of the standards are quite low. For instance the poultry appears to have been hacked rather than properly butchered, so the piece you pick out of the sauce could be quite meaty or could be nearly all bone. The meat for the casseroles/stews was cut into uneven lumps so inevitably some pieces were more cooked than others. Desserts seem to be a collection of various colours of blancmange-type substance, jellies, the odd pastry and chocolate "cake". Some of it tasted better than it looked, which is just a well as none of it looked attractive. The dining experience is not enhanced by the "background music" which mostly seemed to be a tenor saxophonist doing warm-up exercises, all rather depressing.
If you're doing all-inclusive, as we were, you get a choice of red or white wine (or beer or soft drink) with your meal, the white is passable with food, the red simply rough and to be avoided. The other drink to be avoided is the breakfast juice which comes in orange, grapefruit or apple, all of which are hideously over-sweetened, including the grapefruit. On an island where freshly squeezed orange juice is plentiful and cheap this is a shocking failure.
Again on the all-inc your drinks (within limits) are free, but they use local spirits. Actually these aren't bad, it's the quality of the mixers which is dreadful, post-mix orange and pineapple for cocktails? I don't think so.
So you've settled in the rooftop bar for a post dinner relaxation and what comes on at 9 o'clock? The junior disco. The animation team did a great jobs with the kids but there are only so many times you can listen to The Birdie Song without wishing to commit sudden and wilful violence on the perpetrators. It's not much better poolside in the afternoon, lying there grabbing the rays and somebody turns up the PA and assorted "modern" sounds are imposed upon you without so much as a "by your leave" or the opportunity to rapidly vacate the area.
Mornings at least are quiet, so you might want to enjoy a mid morning coffee. Well you can forget that, no drinks of any description are available until 11 a.m. until the snack bar opens (if it opens on time), and then it's out of a machine, but at least it's decent of its type.
So the hotel lacks all day service, doesn't segregate kids activities enough, serves, at best, average food so cannot be classed in any way shape or form as a five star. The one good thing it does have are friendly and helpful staff who were always a pleasure to deal with, nothing was too much trouble for them. All in all a decent place to stay and, if you enjoy buffet food, you may will have a pleasant stay.

Sent from my iPad

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank manofekent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympic Palace H, Guest Relations Manager at Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to bring your feedback to our attention.

We are happy to read that overall you had a pleasant stay and that you liked the renovation work done at the hotel; your comments are greatly appreciated by all of us working in Olympic Palace.

The lifts found at the hotel was a major issue following last year’s feedback and the hotel’s management has decided to invest a considerable amount in replacing them with new ones. Unfortunately and although an order was placed well in advance prior the season opening, the factory in Germany had delayed the delivery of the units which inevitably pushed back the installation dates. At the moment the technicians are working on the other 2 units which are due to be delivered by mid of May the latest. We do apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused; the delayed delivery was a factor beyond of our control.

Having said that, we would still like to emphasize as noted in your review that the hotel has low occupancy levels during off season and so far we had no particular complaints related to the absence of the 2 units.

As far as the cards powering the room are concerned, this is a system / practise used by many hotels worldwide; to be more precise this is a final patented product that is sold to the hotel industry on an as is basis. We do apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused during your stay with us and are going to look into possible customization options with our supplier. Thank you for bringing this issue to our attention.

We have also taken note of your comments in regards to the meat / poultry servings and have already relayed those to our chef. Rest assured that we will investigate the issue further although would like to add that overall Olympic Palace has a very strong positive feedback in regards to all its food & beverage departments.

Having said that, we would also like to add that the majority of our guests perceive the quality of the all inclusive offered to be of good standards and can only apologize should we have not met entirely your expectations.

As far as the kids disco is concerned, kindly note that this had to be temporarily hosted in the roof garden bar due to poor weather conditions; this is not a standard practice and would like to offer once again our apology for any dissatisfaction caused to this regards.

We understand that certain services may not be fine tuned as when the hotel works later on the season; something which is not uncommon to most seasonal hotels around the world and feel sadden to read of the problems encountered especially when knowing that they do not accurately represent the services aimed and delivered by Olympic Palace.

On a positive note we would like to warmly thank you for your kind words in regards to the friendliness and helpfulness of our staff as well as for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.

We very much hope that perhaps you might consider visiting us again at some point in the not so distant future.

Kind Regards,
Olympic Palace
Customer Services Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rhodes Town
1.0 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,741 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
#14 of 126 in Rhodes Town
1,682 reviews
0.2 mi away
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
#11 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Electra Palace Rhodes
Electra Palace Rhodes
#2 of 31 in Ialyssos
1,585 reviews
3.9 mi away
Elysium Resort & Spa
Elysium Resort & Spa
#1 of 20 in Kallithea
1,624 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oceanis Hotel
Oceanis Hotel
#20 of 126 in Rhodes Town
1,559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center

Property: Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center
Address: Iraklidon Avenue, Rhodes Town 85100, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Rhodes Town
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Rhodes Town
#11 Luxury Hotel in Rhodes Town
#16 Family Hotel in Rhodes Town
#28 Romantic Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center 5*
Number of rooms: 342
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover refined elegance and genuine hospitality. Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center, with its unique architectural structure most recently renovated in 2008-12, welcoming and gracious with contemporary and chic interior design, offer's attentive service, upscale amenities, and blissful tranquility. Tastefully designed for comfort, 65% of our guest rooms are sea view with amazingly large verandas, ideal spots to take advantage of the amazing first rays of the sunlight or indulge in the enticing sunsets dipping in the Aegean Sea. Relax in our attractive and spacious gardens, or simply 'chill out' by the swimming pool, and enjoy a warm welcome from our genuinely friendly and hospitable staff. Alternatively you can take a stroll down to the beach and enjoy a swim in the crystal clear blue waters of the Aegean Sea and capture the breathtaking scenery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Bookgreece.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olympic Palace Ixia
Hotel Olympic Palace
Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center Rhodes/Rhodes Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing