We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“well looked after”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center
Ranked #12 of 126 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Enjoyed this very good hotel , we were on the second floor room 210 ,a large family room ,with views of the sea to the right and pool area to the left. Restaurant staff could not have been better looking after my wife's gluten free needs and always had a smile on their faces. The hotel is on a busy road and we never made it to the shallow pebble beach, but with a bus stop outside trips into Rhodes town are easy. On a night time you can be a bit isolated ,so either go to Rhodes town or take a left turn out of the hotel to the many bars/restaurants for their much cheaper drinks. Hotel's roof top bar is nice but some how misses it's mark.

Room Tip: spent the extra couple of quid and get a room on the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LarkinB54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympic Palace H, Public Relations Manager at Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you ever so much for taking the time to review our hotel on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you felt well looked after; such reviews are the best way to reward all of us working for Olympic Palace and would like once more to warmly thank you for all the positive comments made.

Regarding our pricing policy, kindly note that we are very competitive in comparison to other hotels of our star category however (and this applies in most countries worldwide) it is not uncommon that prices found at hotels are always slightly more expensive in comparison to local bars.

As far as our roof top bar, there are plans to renovate this part of the hotel in the very near future; during the past 5 years we have carried out many renovations throughout the resort and addressed several issues that guests had brought to our attention including the WiFi network, lifts, gym area just to name a few.

Once again thank you for choosing Olympic Palace for your stay; we very much hope to have the pleasure in welcoming you back soon.

Warm Regards,
Olympic Palace
Customer Services Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,511)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

584 - 590 of 1,511 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel is very good and a good setting
Pros-
Rooms are clean
Hotel is clean
Staff is very good and helpful

Cons-
Drinks are not part of half board
If your not on sea view the mountain is nice but the balcony is tiny.
All in all enjoyed the stay with my girlfriend everything was clean and it's a good first holiday for the both of us

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Longsidejono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympic Palace H, Public Relations Manager at Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to bring your feedback to our attention.

We are delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us and would like to warmly thank you for all the positive comments made.

Kindly note Half Board basis in hotels means Breakfast & Dinner excluding drinks and can only apologize if drinks were expected to be included in your reservation (drinks are included in the All Inclusive board only).

Once again thank you for choosing Olympic Palace for your stay; wry much hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back should your future travel plans call for a trip to Rhodes.

Best Regards,
Olympic Palace
Customer Services Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

The staff is really polite and helpful and the rooms are large with nice decoration. Ill focus mainly on the negatives. The sheets every time had stains - that's unacceptable for a 5 star resort! Cleaning of the rooms could be better. The biggest dissapointment though was the swimming pool which was closing way too early: 18:00 - Rhodes is a windy island and sometimes the pool is the only option for swimming, considering the rocky beach outside.Inner pool was colder than the outer!! Plus the pool bar was very dissapointing - quality of coctails was below average and also closed too early. Spa area really poor. The restaurant closed at 21:00... No free wifi internet - this is 2014 and this is supposed to be a 5 star. Roof terrace with a nice view but very poor decoration. Large breakfast buffet but with almost the same things every morning. In conclusion i would not recommend this specific hotel for young couples , who go to sleep way pass 21.00 in the evening.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fania D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympic Palace H, Guest Relations Manager at Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to bring your feedback to our attention.

We are very sorry to read that there were some issues that caused some level of unhappiness during your stay with us and would like to apologize for any dissatisfaction felt.

Firstly we would like to take this opportunity and thank you for your kind comments in regards to our staff friendliness & helpfulness as well as for praising the hotel’s accommodation standards & decoration; this is greatly appreciated by all of us working for the Olympic Palace.

We were very much surprised with your comments in regards to our housekeeping department as we have excellent feedback for the hotel’s cleanliness on both, Tripadvisor as well as in our own direct feedback received. According to our records, a complaint has not been registered during your stay with us and can only assume that this may have been an isolated and unfortunate incident as we do not seem to have similar complaints from other guests.

We are also sorry for any inconvenience caused due to the hotel’s policy in regards to the swimming pools. However, kindly note this is not uncommon with most hotels in Rhodes as swimming pools need to be maintained and properly cleaned for the next day.

The hotel does specify in its website and all tour operators brochures that the indoor pool is heated only in May & October and can only apologize should this was not realized prior booking this hotel. Similarly our restaurant opening hours are also available online and can only apologize again for any dissatisfaction felt in regards to the closing time (which is also very common in most resorts in Rhodes).

As far as our spa area, some parts of it (WC, dressing rooms, Gym) have just been renovated in winter of 2014 and feel very surprised again with the comments made which are in direct contrast to what other guests are saying.

Please also note that the hotel’s offers free WiFi in the lobby area to all its guests and again can only apologize again should the facilities advertised where not realized prior your booking.

Once again thank you for choosing Olympic Palace for your stay; we very much hope that despite the issues raised you still had an enjoyable time with us and look forward to welcoming you back in Rhodes in the not so distant future.

Kind Regards,
Olympic Palace
Customer Services Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I have just returned from two weeks at the Olympic Palace hotel in Ixia. It is run quite well, with decent organisation. As it was June it wasn't peak time, but more people seemed to be there in the second week so things were starting to build up.

I was all inclusive, and the food was quite good. A nice selection buffet style, with salads and desserts etc. The dining room was clean and well stocked, and I liked the Greek themed buffet one night where some local dishes were served. The roof bar is nice at sunset, and the lounge bar in the lobby is tasteful and well furnished, better for chilling out. They serve Vap beer there, and it's a decent local brew.

One thing that does let the side down a bit is the "animation". If you like a bit of peace by the pool you won't see much of it, as they tend to play a very limited selection of loud dance and rap music around the pool, and also have some questionable "entertainment". On one day there were a bunch of people walking around clucking like chickens and the animation team whooping and egging them on. I'm not sure that would be my idea of entertainment, perhaps it's a European thing. Please vary the music, it is very repetitive and off-putting.

The bloke at the pool bar is friendly and the restaurant staff are nice, no complaints there. However, I would improve the evening entertainment at the roof bar. It's a bit dated and amateurish unfortunately.

The room was nice and comfortable. Because of my wife's disability we asked for a soft bed, and we were given one. Just a shame it was two singles put together rather than a double. The shower was nice, but please put a mat in the bath as it's easy to slip. The cleaners did a good job.

Overall, I would say this is a decent hotel of 4 star standard. Plenty of room for improvement, and I do hope you read my constructive criticism in the way that it is intended. The basics are good, but some details could be fine tuned.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
4  Thank MisterC001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympic Palace H, Guest Relations Manager at Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Tripadvisor as well as for bringing your feedback to our attention.

Rest assured that we receive all feedback benevolently and feel grateful when guests focus on specific problematic areas that need to be addressed; we are committed in the service delivered and always strive to rectify issues and improve our product offering.

Thank you for praising the hotel’s accommodation standards, cuisine, cleanliness as well as the helpfulness of our staff; this is greatly appreciated by all of us working for Olympic Palace.
Regarding your recommendation on adding an anti slip mat on the bath, please note that this option is available in the hotel upon request as described in the information folder provided in the room. Plain mats are always provided in all our rooms.

Thank you also for raising the issue with the animation team; Olympic Palace, as other hotels in Ixia, has very mixed guest ages as the hotel is ideal for both, young people as well as older guests that want to be close to Rhodes City.

While we fully understand the issue raised it is very difficult for any animation team to have a program that can satisfy all age groups although following your review as well as the one made from a fellow guest, we will be happy to evaluate and revise the content of the shows as required.

Once again thank you for choosing Olympic Palace for your holiday in Rhodes; we very much hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back in the not so distant future.

Best Regards,
Olympic Palace
Customer Services Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We have just returned from a 2 week all inclusive stay at The Olympic Palace, first the good points:
The staff - they were all helpful, courteous and very hard working.
The food - yes it was a little repetitive but what they did they did very well, no mean feat when you are catering for so many people.
The rooms - a good size, always kept spotlessly clean (as was the rest of the hotel), the fridge was a nice touch and the rooms at the front have a wonderful view.
The Beds - huge and really comfortable.
The location - yes the road outside is a bit busy at times but there are two crossings right outside the hotel which most drivers respected (but they will only stop if you are actually on the crossing). Ixia has a nice selection of places to eat and drink although they are a bit stretched out along the main road. Rhodes town is a short bus or taxi ride away, the buses are haphazard and usually full long before they get to the hotel but the taxis are frequent and if there are 4 of you they work out cheaper than getting the bus.

Now the bad points - well really just one bad point.

The 'entertainment' and particularly Marco
The so called entertainment often seemed to be mainly based on guest humiliation. I understand it is hard to please everyone when you are catering for such a diverse range of guests but the management should look at the type of people who stay at the hotel, they are not your 18-30 crowd or your beer swilling 15 pints and a kebab on the way home crew. They are generally mature with reasonably mature tastes.
In the two weeks we were there we saw:

Marco dressed up as an old lady with a walking stick - considering the number of guests who were older ladies with walking difficulty, this was in very bad taste.

Then in the evenings in the roof bar we had

Guests made to cluck like chickens and pretend to lay an egg.
'Winners' of the quiz or bingo told to run round and variously get shoes or shirts off of other guests (most of whom looked very awkward about the whole thing) or to run round and kiss as many other guests as they could.

In short if you are the kind of person who is looking for entertainment that is a cross between The Benny Hill Show, Butlins in the 1970's and Euro Trash then you are in luck.

The roof terrace is lovely - or it would be without the inane babbling of Marco and his cohorts, it would be nice to be able to sit up there enjoy the view and hold a conversation. Even when it was just the chap playing the electronic piano it was so loud you could not order a drink at the bar without having to shout.

I would implore the management to look at the type of people they are catering for then look at the type of entertainment they are providing.

The hotel has many good points but much of the good is undone by the 'entertainment', I would think twice about going back here - especially on an all inclusive basis as I went out almost every evening just to escape the banal entertainment.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tgen99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympic Palace H, Guest Relations Manager at Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel as well as for bring your feedback to our attention.

We are pleased to read that you were satisfied with most parts of the hotel including the accommodation standards, gastronomy, the resort’s location and the helpfulness of staff; this is very much appreciated by all of us working at the Olympic Palace.

Rest assured that your further comments have been noted and relayed to the hotel’s management for further evaluation. At this point we would like to genuinely apologize if any of the shows offended you and would like to assure you that this was not in the hotel’s or our animation team’s intention.

Olympic Palace, as other hotels in Ixia, has very mixed guest ages as the hotel is ideal for both, young people as well as older guests that want to be close to Rhodes City. While we fully understand the issue raised it is very difficult for any animation team to have a program that can satisfy all age groups although following your review there will be a further evaluation on the content of the shows.

Once again thank you for choosing Olympic Palace for your stay; we very much hope that our animation team did not spoil entirely your stay with us and that you would choose perhaps to visit our hotel again in the not so distant future.

Kindest Regards,
Olympic Palace
Customer Services Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Stayed 1 week early June 2014. Great hotel and location.
Pros- spacious rooms ( sea facing ) great lobby area and bar. friendly staff. Clean and well maintained.
Cons - Food ok , wouldn't like to do 2 weeks would drive me mad through lack of choice. Food quality ok. Which is a shame because it could be an excellent hotel. But .... the number one reason for complaint is some ( not all ) of the Russian and Israeli guests. Some of these people have clearly starved themselves for a month prior to arrival at the hotel judging by the amount of food that is taken. Its bordering on gluttony, if they ate it all then that would not be so bad , but its the waste of food that is criminal. They are rude and have no manners whatsoever.
Hotel management - take note keep on taking these people as guests and you will lose the decent guests as a consequence. Don't sell out maintain your standards.

Room Tip: Sea facing or pool facing is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jackdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympic Palace H, Guest Relations Manager at Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to bring your feedback to our attention as well as for reviewing our hotel on Tripadvisor.

We are happy to read that overall you found Olympic Palace to be a great hotel and would like to warmly thank you for all the positive comments made, especially the ones addressed to our staff.

We have made a note of your remark in regards to the buffet variety and have already relayed this to our new chef for further evaluation. At this point we would still like to note that we have very positive feedback for the hotel’s cuisine yet we will certainly look into the variety offered.

As you can appreciate most hotels are open to all nationalities and guests of various backgrounds and can only apologize should the behavior of certain guests have caused some level of dissatisfaction.

Once again thank you for choosing Olympic Palace for your stay; we very much hope to have the pleasure in welcoming you back should your future travel plans call for a trip to Rhodes.

Best Regards,
Olympic Palace
Customer Services Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Having stayed .at this hotel twice. First in May 2013 we stayed for a week and 2nd in 2014 for two weeks.
The staff was really nice and nothing was too much trouble. Mary who worked in the dinning room was really nice and very friendly.
The rooms where very clean and tidy and nice big rooms that would suite a family.
The hotel is well located in the middle of Ixa.. we have stayed on the 3rd and the 4th floor and there is also tea and coffee making and a small fridge in the rooms.

This hotel is really nice there is plenty to do with the three pools one indoor ( heated ) and two big ones outside there is also a mini golf course on the hotel site, there is also something for the kids and adult entertainment through out the day.

The food is very nice and there is always plenty to choose from.

We have been to Rhodes now three times and this is far the best hotel that we have stayed in.
This hotel is suite able for all ages and even family's with small children.

Ixa is a lovely place to stay and the Olympic Palace is smack bang in the middle, the beach is just over the road from the hotel and there is a supermarket next door and a few bars along the front in walking distant.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clare N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympic Palace H, Public Relations Manager at Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you ever so much for taking the time to review our hotel on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to read that you had an excellent holiday once again in our hotel and would like to warmly thank you for all the positive comments made.

Rest assured that we will relay your praise to Mary at the restaurant who will be very happy to know your opinion on the service delivered.

Thank you also for your further feedback on the accommodation standards and leisure facilities provided; we are constantly improving the hotel’s facilities year after year and it is very rewarding for us to know that our efforts do not go unnoticed.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Olympic Palace should your future plans call for a trip to Rhodes.

Warm Regards,
Olympic Palace
Customer Services Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rhodes Town
1.0 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,884 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
#16 of 126 in Rhodes Town
1,774 reviews
0.2 mi away
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
#14 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Electra Palace Rhodes
Electra Palace Rhodes
#2 of 31 in Ialyssos
1,681 reviews
0.1 mi away
Amathus Elite Suites
Amathus Elite Suites
#4 of 126 in Rhodes Town
637 reviews
37.7 mi away
Atrium Prestige Thalasso Spa Resort and Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center

Address: Iraklidon Avenue, Rhodes Town 85100, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Rhodes Town
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Rhodes Town
#10 Luxury Hotel in Rhodes Town
#16 Family Hotel in Rhodes Town
#28 Romantic Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range: £62 - £521 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center 5*
Number of rooms: 342
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover refined elegance and genuine hospitality. Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center, with its unique architectural structure most recently renovated in 2008-12, welcoming and gracious with contemporary and chic interior design, offer's attentive service, upscale amenities, and blissful tranquility. Tastefully designed for comfort, 65% of our guest rooms are sea view with amazingly large verandas, ideal spots to take advantage of the amazing first rays of the sunlight or indulge in the enticing sunsets dipping in the Aegean Sea. Relax in our attractive and spacious gardens, or simply 'chill out' by the swimming pool, and enjoy a warm welcome from our genuinely friendly and hospitable staff. Alternatively you can take a stroll down to the beach and enjoy a swim in the crystal clear blue waters of the Aegean Sea and capture the breathtaking scenery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olympic Palace Ixia
Hotel Olympic Palace
Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center Rhodes/Rhodes Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing