We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center
Ranked #11 of 127 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Had an amazing time staying here it definitely suites all types of people, I stayed all inclusive, with the standard all inclusive stuff you also get the safe and WiFi code from reception although the WiFi can only be used one device at a time. When we stayed we were mainly at the beach as being round the pool was too hot! Only downside is not many sunbeds there for the amount of guests and they could use up dating. The staff are very friendly and always willing to help. The rooms are comfortable and with air con a must in the heat. We had a room facing the mountain but was still nice as you could go out there at all times and not be too hot unlike the pool or sea view rooms. It was really nice to know that you can exchange your blue beach towels as and when needed.
Only negative was we tried to keep our room on as we had late flight but kept being told we had to wait till Saturday and when we tried got told no well you could of told us that on thursday! All in all had a lovely time will definitely be coming back soon

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank RachelD22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,337 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    589
    473
    182
    64
    29
See reviews for
396
644
20
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
northeast england
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Stayed here last Sept,thought i added my review but didnt so here it is.

+ great modern stylish rooms with good air con
great choice and good quality food at restaurant buffet
nice pool with bar
only 10 mins from Rhodes town
generally good service
watersports opposite
decent entertainment with nice rooftop bar

- local beach is hurtfully pebbley
can get windy on this part of the island
as previously mentioned,george the waiter is a walking disaster with no grasp of mannerism,he
spilt wine on us,not only did he not apologise,he tried to charge us for the replacement!

Overall a great hotel,with great standards,lindos/rhodes town are a great day out but beware many restaurants we went to in rhodes town were poor quality with sky high prices,lindos has the best eateries.

Room Tip: if i went again i would defo pay extra for a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank willll2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I stayed at this hotel with my boyfriend for a long weekend. We booked it in combination with a flight from Israel and got half board.

The hotel was large and very nice, the staff was helpful and prepared for the significant amount of guests (July is high season there). They were prepared and efficient upon check in and there were also available to call taxis and set us up with a car rental company that sits in the lobby. A musician played in the lobby one night, which was nice.

The location is right in between the airport and the city (15 minutes/ 10 euro cab from both) and across the street from the beach. The bedroom was large with a balcony and sea view, although the TVs were very small. We could hear some noise from other rooms. The bathroom was nice although the cleanliness level did not meet my high standards. We did not spend much time in the room so it was okay. The food was mediocre to poor quality but there was a huge variety (pasta, Asian, vegetarian, etc.) so we always found something to eat. I recommend going for breakfast only and going early to avoid lines.

The pool was nice but chairs were always reserved (usually from the morning and for the whole day!). We had a relaxing pool day in the afternoon but in the morning the entertainment staff were loud on the microphone and intrusive, constantly asking us to join activities.

Overall, we had a great vacation in Rhodes. I would recommend this hotel to families and couples for an affordable weekend getaway, but not much longer.

Room Tip: Request a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nora S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympic Palace H, Guest Relations Manager at Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to bring your feedback to our attention.

We are sorry that Olympic Palace did not prove what you have hoped it to be although are glad to read that you still had an enjoyable stay with us.

Regarding the issues raised and without wishing to be unsympathetic, your remarks about the hotel’s cuisine, the cleanliness of the rooms or even regarding finding available sunbeds are all very contradicting to what other holidaymakers are writing on Tripadvisor.

We understand of course that not all guests have the same past experiences or criteria when judging a hotel and would like to apologize at this stage for any dissatisfaction felt.

On a positive note, we would like to warmly thank you for your praises for our members of staff; this is greatly appreciated by all of us working for Olympic Palace.

Once again thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay; we very much hope that perhaps we might have the pleasure to welcome you back should your future travel plans call for a trip to Rhodes.

Kindest Regards,
Olympic Palace
Customer Services Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I recently visited this hotel for the second time - having been on a family holiday there a good few years ago. I had fond memories of the hotel from our previous stay and the return trip did not disappoint! This time I visited with my mum, her sister and a friend. Our sea view rooms were spacious, clean, air conditioned and comfortable with a fantastic view. On our second day we received a complimentary bottle of wine and basket of fruit which was a nice touch.

We spent most of our week by the pool - which had just the right amount of activity. The reps were friendly and always made an effort to chat to everyone in the morning, without imposing. They arranged various activities throughout the week but didn't force them upon you if you didn't want to take part. And we always managed to get sun loungers without having to get up at stupid o'clock, which was a bonus.

We ate in the hotel restaurant every morning and most evenings. The food was great and the staff were friendly and helpful.

As well as the 3 bars in the hotel itself there are plenty of bars and restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. Rhodes old town is only a 10 minute drive from the hotel and 10 euro in a taxi - definitely worth a visit.

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at this hotel and definitely recommend it!

Room Tip: Opt for a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahurq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympic Palace H, Public Relations Manager at Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you ever so much for sharing your experience following your recent stay at the Olympic Palace.

We are delighted to read that you had a brilliant holiday with us and that you would recommend our property to other holidaymakers; this is greatly appreciated by all of us working for Olympic Palace.

We very much hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back in our hotel next year.

Warm Regards,
Olympic Palace
Customer Services Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed at the hotel at the end of June for a week on a half board basis. It was the second time we have been on holiday here, the last time was three years ago for our honeymoon. This was the first holiday we had since. As we really liked it so much the first time, we wanted to come back.

Unfortunately though we were quite disappointed with our experience this time. We appreciate that you should not expect the same again but there was quite a difference. For our honeymoon, our room was upgraded which was a nice gesture. However, we were sold this holiday on the basis that repeat guests either get a bottle of wine or a bowl of fruit (as Thomas Cook advertised). We did not get either however, despite emailing the hotel beforehand to advise that we would be returning (as we were told to do so by Thomas Cook), From reading the other reviews, it looks like you try to make first time guests feel special but not your repeat guests which really made us feel devalued.

Reception staff treated us in an impersonal way. Whilst they were polite, there was no "welcome back" or "I hope you enjoyed your stay". We had to ask about getting a key for our safe (it's free for those on an all inclusive basis but 12 euros for half board - which we did not mind paying), and about where to put our luggage at the end of our stay while we waited for our coach transfer in the evening. The only thing the reception staff said to us when checking out was "Thanks".

Our sea view room though was really nice, mostly clean but the shower head was really dirty. I would not expect this for a 5 star hotel or even a 4 star (as rated in the UK).

Almost all the staff were lovely and polite and very efficient. However, one day at breakfast we had to wait a very long time to be seated. We have never had to wait so long. The restaurant manager was nowhere to be seen (male) or the other senior member of staff (female) who seemed responsible for seating guests. This invited the usual people who just seated themselves to do so much more easily, which was not fair on those who were patiently waiting and abiding by the restaurant's policy.

When we were seated, no one asked us if we wanted tea or coffee (as they did every other day). In the end we had to ask. As we forgot that each section is assigned waiters, when I asked the senior waitress (lovely lady) on the next row, she said it was not her table. Eventually, we discovered that there were 3 waitresses responsible for our section, not sure where they had been though! When I asked for tea, I was given milk! I had to go to the coffee machine in the end to get hot water and tea bags. It was not due to a language barrier as the other waiters/waitresses understood what I was asking. The senior waitress later give me a jug of hot water which she had left on her tray (which she didn't have to do), so kind of her. We noticed her having a quiet word with the waitresses on our section. She and the other staff had enough to do let alone someone else's job! Luckily, this only happened on the one day.

The food was a bit repetitive at times. This would have been fine as long as the same food was not served each day. We had some pasta dishes at dinner on our first day which we never had again so it would have been nice to have had these once again.

There's a room service to replenish the tea and coffee for 1 euro per day. Although we were happy replenishing our own, as it's much cheaper going to the local stores just a short walk away.

Internet access had greatly improved in terms of access since we were there in 2011, but we felt the hotel still had some way to go as the internet speed was very slow.

We booked a sea view room and were definitely happy to have paid extra for this (compared to the mountain view). The sea view is stunning: a wide view of the ocean and the balcony got a lot of sun from 10am - 3pm.

We appreciate our review seems quite negative but overall it was a lovely holiday and good value for money (for half board). We are just disappointed at the difference this holiday was compared to three years ago. We would probably come back but our next holiday will not be with yourselves. Overall we think that the hotel deserves 4 out of 5. We would like to thank those staff who worked tirelessly to ensure we had a great holiday, they worked so hard!

Room Tip: Always book a seaview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Spent 10 days at this hotel, we had a lovely room which overlooked the sea. Our room was spotless, the cleaners cleaned it every day and they were very friendly and helpful. You are given beach towels which are only changed when you ask the cleaners to change them. We went half board and the food was lovely, I was expecting to see some sea food but this was only to be found in salads or pasta dishes. The head waiter, forgot his name and his team of waiters/waitresses were all very friendly. The animation team were very friendly, happy individuals who took time out to speak to all the residents; they really took care of my little girl who loved going to the kids club every day and also to the mini disco at night. The hotel is in a good location, next door to a supermarket and other shops, bars and restaurants and across the road to a pebbly beach private beach owned by the hotel. There is a nice constant breeze as this hotel is situated on the windy side of the island. The spa area is also nice, I managed to have 2 massages, both times were great! There is a bus stop right outside the hotel and the bus to Rhodes town runs every 30mins and only takes 10 mins to get to the city centre. Rhodes old town is amazing and I highly recommend you go there during the day and night and also hire a car and go and see the Butterfly valley, Lindos and St. Pauls Bay.

Room Tip: Sea view is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christina36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympic Palace H, Public Relations Manager at Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us and would like to warmly thank you for all the comments made; this is greatly appreciated by all of us working for Olympic Palace.

We very much hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back in our hotel should your future travel plans call for a trip to Rhodes.

Warm Regards,
Olympic Palace
Customer Services Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Loved the hotel, no putting your towel on the beds by 6am, which was a godsend,always a sunbed to be had, the staff in the dining room were amazing and we found the food very good, you would have to be very picky to not find something to eat, always a good selection, special praise to the maitre de Paris and Kyriakos and Irene who looked after us during our stay. The room was comfortable and I have put a couple of pictures of the view from the back of the hotel, if you can afford a sea view have one , it is the one thing we regret not paying for. We found there was not much to walk out to , a few restaurants and a couple of bars but went into Rhodes old town a couple of evenings which broke it up, The only problem we found was the beach which belongs to the hotel, we stayed 15 minutes it was not very clean and the large pebbles inhibit going into the sea, you will need JELLY SHOES. We also thought the crazy golf was a bit overpriced two adults and two children would cost 20 euros. The towels and sheets are changed every day,and the cleaning staff were lovely. We went on two trips, one to Lindos and one to the Island of Symi, which were both good value for money, we went with Manos tours, just a quick walk up the road (turn right out of the hotel) .

Room Tip: Go for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yvonnejChardSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rhodes Town
1.0 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 127 in Rhodes Town
2,566 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
#14 of 127 in Rhodes Town
1,605 reviews
0.2 mi away
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
#10 of 127 in Rhodes Town
2,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Oceanis Hotel
Oceanis Hotel
#19 of 127 in Rhodes Town
1,490 reviews
0.1 mi away
Amathus Elite Suites
Amathus Elite Suites
#4 of 127 in Rhodes Town
566 reviews
2.2 mi away
Electra Palace Rhodes
Electra Palace Rhodes
#2 of 31 in Ialyssos
1,468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center

Property: Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center
Address: Iraklidon Avenue, Rhodes Town 85100, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Rhodes Town
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Rhodes Town
#9 Luxury Hotel in Rhodes Town
#16 Family Hotel in Rhodes Town
#28 Romantic Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center 5*
Number of rooms: 342
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover refined elegance and genuine hospitality. Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center, with its unique architectural structure most recently renovated in 2008-12, welcoming and gracious with contemporary and chic interior design, offer's attentive service, upscale amenities, and blissful tranquility. Tastefully designed for comfort, 65% of our guest rooms are sea view with amazingly large verandas, ideal spots to take advantage of the amazing first rays of the sunlight or indulge in the enticing sunsets dipping in the Aegean Sea. Relax in our attractive and spacious gardens, or simply 'chill out' by the swimming pool, and enjoy a warm welcome from our genuinely friendly and hospitable staff. Alternatively you can take a stroll down to the beach and enjoy a swim in the crystal clear blue waters of the Aegean Sea and capture the breathtaking scenery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Bookgreece.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olympic Palace Ixia
Hotel Olympic Palace
Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center Rhodes/Rhodes Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing