We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center
Ranked #12 of 126 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We spent one week in August at the Olympic Palace and were overall pretty satisfied.
The rooms are clean and maintained in good order, the common areas are very clean as well, the pool area is excellent, the staff is extremely friendly and helpful, the food is not brilliant but ok.

It does not have the woow factor nor the attention to the little details that you would expect from a 5 stars hotel, but definitely a good 4 star.

If you can choose, reserve a room with sea view: although you won't spend much time in the room, it does make a difference. The rooms on the back face some sort of very close hill so no view at all.

There is free wifi in the hall, while it is chargeable in the rooms

There is not much to do nearby the hotel, but Rhodes town is a 15 minutes ride by car or bus.

Room Tip: Sea front room if available, the back rooms have no view at all
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank enzocas81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympic Palace H, Guest Relations Manager at Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Tripadvisor.

We are very happy to read that you had an enjoyable stay in our hotel and would like to warmly thank you for praising the good accommodation standards, leisure facilities and staff’s friendliness & helpfulness; this is the best way to reward all of us working for Olympic Palace and would like to thank you once more for doing so.

Without wishing to be unsympathetic, the hotel has an official star rating of five stars awarded by the Greek National Tourism Organization (GNTO) and felt sorry to note that this was not in line with your expectations of international five star hotel standards. From our side, we try our very best to offer the best possible product & service at the best possible price as recognized in the title of your review.
Regarding the free WiFi allowance, the hotel has introduced this policy this season but this is likely to be reviewed again for 2015. Free WiFi in rooms is something that we are looking into as well.
As far as the rooms on the back are concerned, kindly note that there is only a handful of rooms that are close to the hill and thus would like to dismiss the comment made.
Once again thank you for choosing Olympic Palace for your stay; we very much hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in our hotel in the not so distant future.

Best Regards,
Olympic Palace
Customer Services Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,477)
There are newer reviews for Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

524 - 530 of 1,477 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2014

Just back from an enjoyable two weeks at the Olympic Palace. The hotel is modern and well equipped and it's greatest asset is the staff who were always helpful and cheerful - especially the reception and restaurant staff. Our room overlooked the pool and we enjoyed an amazing fiery sunset every evening. It was exceptionally hot and we found it cooler by the beach but it would have benefited from cafe and toilet facilities by the beach.
We went on several trips with 'Manos Going' tours and would recommend boat trips to Symmi & Kalithea plus trip to mountains and butterfly valley.
The only downside was that we believed that the hotel was in, or close to, Rhodes Town. Although it is only 10 mins by taxi, or 15 on the bus , it took us over an hour and half to walk there. Rhodes old Town is delightful, especially in the evening and the next time we would prefer to stay closer to the town. That said if you want a resort holiday the Olympic has a lot to be recommended for.

Room Tip: Sea or pool view rooms better.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaisypatAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympic Palace H, Public Relations Manager at Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to read that you had found Olympic Palace to be a great hotel and that you would recommend our property to other holidaymakers looking for a resort holiday.

Thank you also for all the positive comments made; especially the ones addressed to our staff who are indeed are greatest asset.

Kindly note the resort of Ixia is the closest resort to Rhodes town, however it is still a good 4 km away from Rhodes City Centre depending on the route followed.

Once again thank you for choosing Olympic Palace for your stay; we hope you had a good holiday overall and that you would choose to visit Rhodes again in the future.

Best Regards,
Olympic Palace
Customer Services Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We have just come back from a 1 weeks stay at the Olympic Palace in Rhodes. It was absolutely excellent and cannot really be faulted in any way. The hotel is spacious, clean and spotless, the staff very friendly and helpful.
Our advice would be to make sure you book a room with a sea view. This may be a bit more expensive, but the rooms at the back of the hotel are merely facing an escarpment with no view. As you are unlikely to spend all day in your room, this may not be a problem for you, but I would recommend sea view room on one of the upper floors and as central to the hotel as possible. The hotel is built in a crescent shape, so for example you would not want a room to the extreme left facing the hotel, as the view is seriously compromised. If you like to sit on your balcony for a while in the evening as we did then a front facing room is essential.
The pools on offer are superb and it was a real pleasure to chill out on one of the readily available sun-loungers arranged around the pools. The rooms were cleaned daily and the cleaning staff would always offer a “hello” or “good morning” to you.
The restaurant facilities are superb and there is always a very full menu for both breakfast and dinner. Even the faddiest of children would find something to please them. The restaurant staff are extremely polite, friendly and helpful, and I would commend Parascos the Maitre d’ as he shows you personally to your table on each sititng, Mouri one of the Greek waitresses and Kyrie the head waiter is also highly attentive. You certainly don’t feel rushed or herded about in any way. A lot of the waitresses give a friendly smile and are Czech in the main.
We did half board, but tended to eat lunch in the poolside restaurant. Again, the food and service is superb and cannot be faulted in any way for the price. Also, the entertainments crew should be commended and again, they are very friendly and take an almost personal interest in their guests. There is usually some evening entertainment on and pool activities during the day.
Now the only slight downer is this. The hotel is a large one of several that faces the ocean. However, its located (although set well back) from the main road to Rhodes town. The beach is pebbly so we found we were better off poolside than beach side. If you want a walk of an evening there is really nowhere to go other than walking along the main road whilst being accosted by restauarant people trying to drag you in.
There are kiosk-type supermarkets close by, so water and provisions outside of the hotel are convenient and not too expensive. You need to buy the water and would not recommend drinking the tap water. But if you want a cup of tea in your room, the only milk seemingly available is over-priced (illogically) UHT milk. 1ltr was 2.60 euros.
Other than that Rhodes town is very attractive and my wife and I walked back from there after getting a taxi in and it took us about 50 minutes to walk back to the hotel at a leisurely pace. All in all for the price I would thoroughly recommend this hotel/resort for a good family holiday package.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the upper floors as central within the hotel as possible with a sea view.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Timothy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympic Palace H, Public Relations Manager at Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you ever so much for taking the time to review our hotel.
We are delighted to read that you had a fantastic stay with us and would like to warmly thank you for all the positive comments made, especially the ones addressed to our staff.
Thank you also for praising the hotel’s cuisine and the service levels; Paraschos and his team will be undoubtedly very grateful to hear your opinion on the service delivered.
Kindly note the beaches in the whole western part of the island are all with pebbles as opposed to the eastern part and can only apologize should this information was not brought to your attention at the time of booking. Having said that, we would like to assure you that the beaches in Ixia are crystal clear, as in most parts of the Island.

Once again thank you for choosing to stay at the Olympic Palace and very much hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back soon in our resort.

Warm Regards,
Olympic Palace
Customer Services Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We spent 5 days in this hotel, and we found it good value for money, the food in the hotel is diverse and everyone can find something to eat, would be happy to see more healthy options, but ok.
The hotel is a short drive from the airport.Most of it renovated, nice lobby with free wi fi, great views from 8 floor on the sunset.
We pools were great, the prices next to the pool int restaurant were reasonable, the mini golf is a nice attraction, the animation team tried they best to make everyone happy, loved the Greek night and dancing on the 8 floor, the minidisco was nice, the cabaret was a bit too much, in my opinion, since kids were watching it also.
Our room was old and not renovated, but it had two stores and a balcony, a separate living room, so it made up for the old and very humid room, the bath certainly needs renovation, and the bath floor, inside e bath was really slippery while the ceiling was too low.
Still, we enjoyed
The elevators don't have air conditioning, so it was bit annoying, also the lights in the floor are lit only in the evening, while it's quite dark. (Second floor)
The stuff is attentive for your needs, please note the pool towels , you need to keep them or a 20 eur fine is coming.
The old and new town are 8 eur drive by taxi, also a bus stop is outside the hotel.
Lots of shops and restaurants outside the hotel, most of the restaurants have playground for the little ones.
I would be happy to recommend this place since this gives you good value for your money

Room Tip: High floors with see view
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ira_Sh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympic Palace H, Guest Relations Manager at Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to bring your feedback to our attention.

We are happy to read that you had enjoyed your stay with us and that you would recommend our property to other holidaymakers; this is greatly appreciated by all us working for Olympic Palace.
The hotel is getting renovated on a yearly basis since 2009 and feel grateful that this was also highlighted in your review. We are doing the best that we can in improving the facilities as well as the services offered and feel always rewarded and thankful when our efforts are acknowledged.

Thank you also for your further feedback in regards to the Cabaret Show, the lack of air conditioning in the elevators as well as lights issue on the second floor; we would like to assure you that the points raised have been relayed to the hotel management for further evaluation.

We hope to have the pleasure in welcoming you back in our hotel in the not so distant future.

Best Regards,
Olympic Palace
Customer Services Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We stayed there for 4 nights and we had a great time, the staff is very kind and helpful, our room was sea view and very comfortable. I hope to come back soon..
You have a bus stop in the entrance of the hotel or you can share cabs for cheap..
The food is excellent and you have a lot of choice.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dubsus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

This was a lovely holiday for me and my family. My first time to Rhodes and it definitely wont be my last thanks to this place. The pool is lovely and outside bar is very useful if you want a drink and you can dip your feet in the pool while relaxing with a drink in your hand. Staff all speak good English-american so no real language barriers. We stayed half-board so we could travel around more and visit different bars and restaurants and mainly Rhodes Town. A brilliant hotel with a brilliant atmosphere. If you are looking for a bar nearby then take a left out of the hotel grounds and walk past the shops and bars until you find the 'Coconut'. That place will make you welcome and once you go once, you'll find yourself there every night for that all important cocktail:)

Room Tip: Higher floors provide brilliant views over the sea. Make sure you pay that bit extra for sea-view to...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1HolidayExpert1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Lovely hotel, lovely staff. The maître'd at the restaurant always remembered us, and how many were in our party. Am amazed at the quality of food considering the number they catered for. Staff worked constantly to bring out new trays of food and clear plates away. Pool and facilities lovely, high quality and very clean. Rooms the same. Lovely cool indoor pool was part of the spa area, but accessible to everyone. We went half board, which I would recommend. There is a poolside cafe for a snack lunch, prices ok and portions ample. Key for room safe will cost you a fiver, non returnable, but worth it for piece of mind. Two members of our party accidentally left sunglasses by the pool, and never saw them again, but that's more a reflection on the clientele than the hotel sadly. Rooftop bar more expensive than poolside, but well worth it for the views and nice bar staff. Greek night fun, cabaret by the in House entertainment team was dreadful, but I guess all humour is not international. However that team of men and women worked non stop in heat of day to provide aquarobics, stretching, darts, water polo and other games. Really made people join in, in a nice way. Great for teenagers. No wifi in room, but free in reception and it' said very large area with lovely comfy sofas. Would recommend hotel highly.

Room Tip: Worth paying a bit extra for sea facing room. The others face into the hillside. However, you don...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Hollydaze3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rhodes Town
1.0 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,828 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
#14 of 126 in Rhodes Town
1,734 reviews
0.2 mi away
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
#13 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Electra Palace Rhodes
Electra Palace Rhodes
#2 of 31 in Ialyssos
1,643 reviews
0.1 mi away
Amathus Elite Suites
Amathus Elite Suites
#4 of 126 in Rhodes Town
622 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sentido Ixian Grand
Sentido Ixian Grand
#22 of 126 in Rhodes Town
1,549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center

Address: Iraklidon Avenue, Rhodes Town 85100, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Rhodes Town
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Rhodes Town
#11 Luxury Hotel in Rhodes Town
#16 Family Hotel in Rhodes Town
#28 Romantic Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range: £69 - £1,096 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center 5*
Number of rooms: 342
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover refined elegance and genuine hospitality. Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center, with its unique architectural structure most recently renovated in 2008-12, welcoming and gracious with contemporary and chic interior design, offer's attentive service, upscale amenities, and blissful tranquility. Tastefully designed for comfort, 65% of our guest rooms are sea view with amazingly large verandas, ideal spots to take advantage of the amazing first rays of the sunlight or indulge in the enticing sunsets dipping in the Aegean Sea. Relax in our attractive and spacious gardens, or simply 'chill out' by the swimming pool, and enjoy a warm welcome from our genuinely friendly and hospitable staff. Alternatively you can take a stroll down to the beach and enjoy a swim in the crystal clear blue waters of the Aegean Sea and capture the breathtaking scenery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olympic Palace Ixia
Hotel Olympic Palace
Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center Rhodes/Rhodes Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing