We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,907)
Filter reviews
1,907 results
Traveller rating
682
726
328
111
60
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
682
726
328
111
60
Show reviews that mention
All reviews animation team pool area restaurant manager sea view air con great holiday busy road evening entertainment plenty of choice local spirits quiet pool refurbished room rhodes old town all inclusive drinks smaller pool fussy eater water polo
Filter
Updating list...
810 - 815 of 1,907 reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We have just returned from a weeks hol at the Oceanis. I went with my 11yr old and 16 yr old - first time away without hubby because he couldn't get holidays from work so I was slightly apprehensive.
The hotel has plenty of good points but there are lots of small things that if put right could make the hotel excellent.
Hotel lobby is bright and clean with plenty of seating inside and out. The bar is located in the lobby and opens at 6pm.
Our room was on the second floor and had a fantastic view of the pool and sea. it was basic but clean, bathroom a bit small and dark (door bashed onto toilet when door was opened), towels and bath mats in desperate need of replacement, on one occasion we were left 2 bath towels for 3 people and on another no hand towels. The bath mat at wasn't the best, rusty orange with bleach marks all over and not changed once during the stay. The shower curtain was awful - marked and discoloured. Quite surprised that a 4 star hotel still uses curtains.
The food at the hotel was excellent, really good choice of meats and pasta dishes Greek yoghurt lovely, lots of salad and fruit available. Food at lunch time served at pool snack bar and this can get a bit chaotic. Beer, wine and soft drinks all on tap.
Jhon(?) who runs the evening bar was brilliant, he remembers your drinks and queue moves quickly - only criticism is that you queue for your short then have to go to the soft drinks machine to fill up with mixer so queueing twice!
Entertainment is ran by 3 people who really do work hard. My daughter loved the water Zumba, boules and darts during the day. Evening entertainment is not the best but you dont have to sit and watch you can sit in the lobby or round the pool. Music is turned off at 12 prompt which is great if your room is located at the front (seaview rooms) as it can be quite loud.
Plenty of sun beds but I did have to get up early to ensure we got beds. The pool is cleaned daily but not very well - grit still on steps entering the pool and there are people waiting to get in the pool when he is cleaning it - which can be as late as 9.30am. Bins also emptied daily but again this is done when people out and around pool - would be much better if this was attended to earlier.
Handrail going into pool was broken and loose and paint flaked off bottom of pool exposing concrete on steps.
Hotel don't provide poolside towels which I found really unusual for a 4star hotel - luckily I emailed before I went asking about this but I think a lot of people where caught out because there where a few 'Rhodes' towels around the pool and some room towels - which where promptly removed by the pool cleaner.
Hotel is located on main coast road so some traffic noise but we all slept really well - very busy road which you have to cross to beach which is only small and very pebbley but sea is lovely and well worth going for a dip!
All in all we had a good break but in my opinion this is more a 3* hotel.
Management need to spend some money on maintenance, replacement towels/shower curtains, paint to bring this up to standard.
If you want a cheap and cheerful break then this hotel is good. We wouldn't return nor recommend to friends whilst in this condition.

Room tip: Apparently rooms on level 5 have been refurbished - my daughter met a friend who was staying on this floor and said there room was much nicer than ours.
Date of stay: August 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheWelshs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Terrible, worst holiday in my life. We supposed to be in hotel Ocean Blue but on the airport they told us we will stay here. Rooms were terrifying, service was bad. Food was quite good but almost no changes during week. Beach in front of the hotel was dirty.. really dirty.

Date of stay: August 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stanislav16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

I have just returned from a weeks holiday at the Oceanis Hotel in Ixia, Rhodes. The hotel is situated in a perfect location; close to the beach and a range of bars and restaurants. Rhodes town is only a short bus journey away (2.20€), alternatively you can get their by taxi (8€).

The hotel itself is as good as it looks In the pictures; with the pool area being it's most attractive feature. The hotel provides ample sun beds around the pool, which makes a refreshing change.

We had a sea view room on the third floor and the views were absolutely stunning. I would definitely recommend getting a room on the front of the hotel. The room was extremely clean and comfortable.

The dining room provided a wide variety of meals, catering to everybody's taste. Most nights we opted to eat outside on the terrace and watch the sunset as we ate.

The thing that made our holiday so special was the hotel's animation team; Camilla, Lutia and Simba, who were absolutely out of this world. They provided every aspect of the hotel's entertainment and were fantastic. They absolutely made our holiday and are a credit to the hotel.

The only slightly negative thing I have to say about the hotel is about the All inclusive package. We found the all inclusive to be quite strict. For example, ice cream was only served between 3 and 4pm and only children were allowed it.

Apart from that however a truely magnificent hotel. We will definitely be returning in the near future.

Room tip: Definitely book a room with a sea view!
Date of stay: August 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Danni L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We stayed at the Oceanis the end of June after being moved with many others from Nautica Blue hotel,I always go on trip advisor before we book and had looked at lots of reviews for Nautica Blue before deciding to book to stay there,consequently we were very disappointed to be told we were moving to a hotel I had not looked at before leaving England!
However we were pleasantly surprised,our party of four adults had a great week here,we had a sea view and although the rooms needed updating they were clean,food was good,pool was lovely although they definitely need to invest in some new/extra beds,the reception team where helpful,entertainment not great but plenty of bars within walking distance.

Date of stay: June 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunloverEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We too were worried reading reviews before we arrived. We travelled as 2 families, 4 adults and 3 teenage girls. We arrived on the 28th July and stayed for 10 days. On arrival we were pleasantly greeted and encouraged to rush upstairs and grab something to eat before the restaurant closed. We did, and the staff were very welcoming considering they wanted to finish up. The rooms are very tired, but are cleaned daily with regular changes of towels and linen. I think it is luck as to which room you get, we all got a sea view which was beautiful, however our fridge didn't work and our teenager's air con didn't work brilliantly. My husband got up early to reserve sunbeds, about 7.30am the first time, and was surprised to find plenty of free ones (although most of them are broken and there isn't much shade....we do only lie on them)! The pool area is kept clean and we all loved the pools and they weren't too crowded. My brother-in-law who ventured down to the pool just before lunch also managed to get sunbeds. The food was varied and plentiful and typically what you expect from an all inclusive. The hotel was cleaned daily and the staff were mostly friendly, especially John the barman who manages to keep the queues down on his own serving in the only bar in the hotel. The road to the beach is busy, but of course you can cross it relatively quickley. Yes, the 3 steps are steep and knackered leading to the beach, just hold onto the hand rail. After a couple of metres of pebbles, it's sandy and the sea is choppy with a lovely breeze. We went to the water park, it was typical of most other parks we've been to all over Europe, but the girls said they thought it was one of the best. We visited Rhodes town for 10 euros each way, a taxi ordered from the hotel, it was lovely there. We hired a car and visited Lindos beach which was beautiful, and stopped at a few more beaches on the way back, finishing off with Faliraki in the evening. The animation team appeared to do a good job and tried hard to include everyone (they could do with investing in a new cd with different songs though)! All in all, we had enjoyable stay.

Date of stay: August 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank manmac38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews