We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little gem in the making !!!!.”
Review of Oceanis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Oceanis Hotel
Ranked #16 of 127 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle
Level Contributor
109 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“A little gem in the making !!!!.”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

It is the start of a new season, so let’s draw a line under the past comments over quality and service, the hotel is now under new management and it shows, the hotel manager is always around the hotel talking to guests, taking on board any comments they may make, Arrived on 7th May first flights out of Newcastle, hotel quiet but became full by the end of the week.
First impressions are of a modern hotel entrance and reception, area’s open and airy, giving a feeling of relaxation, Staff on reception are attentive and happy to discuss any questions you have.
Bedrooms, are a bit dated but serve the purpose, they had started a renovation programme whilst there on floor 1 if you want peace and quiet book a room at the back otherwise sea views maybe noisy from traffic etc. Basic amenities as you would expect in a 3 -4 star hotel, rooms cleaned every day.
As it is All inclusive plenty of choice in all spirits, wines and one beer on draught, just ask at the bar, you normally ask for 2 drinks per person to cut down waiting time, but never any queue’s service was excellent, there are two bars one in the lounge opens at 6:00pm and the pool bar closes at 6:00pm all staff friendly and happy to see you, music from the animation team can be a bit loud though the day so be warned, A/I ends at 11:00pm and then you pay.
Restaurant is based on the first floor, controlled by the maître‘d who will find you a table if required, it pays to go in a bit later then the opening time to avoid the rush, we had no problem, food was typical of this type of hotel but there was a good choice with various theme nights, you need to try the dishes provided as they were a good standard from the grill bar to each serving station, again drinks on tap to help yourself.
The pool area is large but there were no issues with finding loungers, available all day, a lot have being renewed. Animation team around all day with various games to satisfy you, as mentioned music can be loud, but you either join in or not, Cannot fault the views from the pool across to Turkey.
Outside the hotel turn left and around 5 minutes’ walk, there are plenty of taverns’, sports bars and supermarket, please get along and support the local businesses
Trips and tours are available; I would recommend Symi for a day out. Local bus stops outside the hotel to Rhodes (2.40euro) or a taxi (8.00 euro) whichever you prefer.
Overall for the week great for value, and scenery, and service, under new management, who seem to understand what is required to turn the hotel into a place to visit. Going back, yes looking at next May already. Enjoy feel free to email me with any questions, videos on you tube.

Room Tip: at the back for peace and quiet. otherwise a sea view above floor 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank briansintouch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanis Hotel R, Ιδιοκτήτης at Oceanis Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
We would like to thank you very much for choosing Oceanis Hotel for your holidays and also for having taken the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We are very glad that you have had a pleasant stay at our hotel and that you were especially pleased with the helpfulness, courtesy and professionalism of our staff. It is always gratifying to receive a positive feedback. We have shared your kind words with all of them.

It has been a great pleasure to have you staying at our hotel and we are looking forward to welcoming you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,462 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    487
    565
    266
    93
    51
See reviews for
399
695
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
warton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

Under new management, Good food, the chef comes out of the kitchen to check on the food and will happily speak to people. Good staff. Clean rooms. Will be returning. Chris the Animation leader is really good and is an asset to the hotel. The car hire lady is very helpful as well.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank david p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanis Hotel R, Ιδιοκτήτης at Oceanis Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
We would like to thank you for choosing Oceanis Hotel for your holidays and also for having taken the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We are very glad that you have had a pleasant stay at our hotel and that you were especially pleased with the helpfulness, courtesy and professionalism of our staff. It is always gratifying to receive a positive feedback. We have shared your kind words with all of them.

It has been a great pleasure to have you staying at our hotel and we are looking forward to welcoming you in the near future..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

Great location in Ixia. Staff were really friendly especially Janis the barman and Spiros the restaurant manager. They have worked hard to improve this hotel and it's almost there not a 4 star yet but could be. Can't fault the staff and their wonderful welcome. Food ok but imagine there may be difficulties once hotel full

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AzureBlue2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanis Hotel R, Ιδιοκτήτης at Oceanis Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
We would like to thank you for choosing Oceanis Hotel for your holidays and also for having taken the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We are very glad that you have had a pleasant stay at our hotel and that you were especially pleased with the helpfulness, courtesy and professionalism of our staff. It is always gratifying to receive a positive feedback. We have shared your kind words with all of them.

It has been a great pleasure to have you staying at our hotel and we are looking forward to welcoming you in the near future..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Staff are very warm, attentive and always willing to help. Food was very good and never repetitive. Lots of salads, meat options, fresh fish dishes, cheese, deserts... The lists goes on!
I don't understand some of the negative reviews because it's a decent standard for the money you pay and probably a little more for what you pay. It's modern enough, plenty to do throughout the day and night. Rooms are big enough and cleaned everyday. The bathroom could do with an upgrade but was very clean. Great for families and couples looking for an all-round hotel and resort.

Room Tip: Book a sea view room and ask for the top floor. rooms 500+
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RkPsarris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanis Hotel R, Ιδιοκτήτης at Oceanis Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thank you very much for your review and your kind comments, the Oceanis Hotel is now under new ownership and new management. Will be glad to see you again..!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaunas, Lithuania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We stayed here for 10 nights. To much people, not enough sunbeds for everyone. Food was good. Small hotel's area, especially beach area. Good prices for renting a car in this hotel. I would not recommend this hotel for people, who are looking for peaceful and relaxing time, because there are too much entertainment (loud music, games and etc.)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Gintare A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanis Hotel R, Ιδιοκτήτης at Oceanis Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
The hotel is now under new ownership and new management. Has a new chef with daily menus and has a partial renovation in the winter of 2013. Sunbeds are new and the animation is under new philosophy for relaxing and pleasant vacations. We'd love to see you and see for yourself the differences..! Thank you..!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Personally I would never have gone all inclusive if it weren't for my boyfriend as I hate the kind of culture that 'you're around british people, doing british things' for the whole holiday instead of getting out and doing things and experiencing the culture. The hotel itself was of a fairly good standard, rooms were clean enough and staff we're nice but not overly helpful.

Ixia itself is a bit of a town of nothingness an literally just one tiny tourist strip, pretty much no beach and no shops.

The food in the hotel was lovely at night time but during the day was a bit of the same thing every day really, they did a barbecue which was just fatty meat really. Most of the time the salad was either brown, soggy or going off. I particularly enjoyed the breakfasts which I had peaches and greek yoghurt everyday, THAT I couldn't complain about. The toaster in the morning was very odd. It took about 5 minutes to get that done! haha. The sausages at breakfast put me off completely because they were more like extremely cheap kids hot dogs. The eggs were just dripping grease and oil.

One of the days we went out the hotel said they did a 'packed lunch' service, when we opened it, It was a bottle of water, a soft apple and a stale bap with hard cheese and brown lettuce on, I didn't even attempt to eat it.

The pool is absolutely freezing! to cool off you have to practically be pushed in to brace it! so didn't get to swim either.

Bit of a disappointment that confirmed my ideas of all inclusive hotel deals, but as I said before... You get what you pay for.

Room Tip: Try not to get a room near the pool, the 11AM drunks will annoy you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank helenasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanis Hotel R, Ιδιοκτήτης at Oceanis Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thanks for your comments. The Oceanis Hotel is now under new ownership and new management. Has a new chef with daily menus and has a partial renovation in the winter of 2013. Would be glad to see you and see for yourself the differences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

Good value for money, friendly staff, food really good you didn't want for anything. Really handy location. Pool area nice not enough sunbeds. Restaurant lovely view from balcony, cleanliness very good. Room was a little dated but met our needs. All in all a good holiday.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jenn2402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanis Hotel R, Ιδιοκτήτης at Oceanis Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thanks for your good comments. The Oceanis Hotel is now under new ownership and new management. Has a new chef with daily menus and has a partial renovation in the winter of 2013 and the sunbeds are more of last year and all new. Would be glad to see you and see for yourself the differences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rhodes Town hotels
0.8 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 127 in Rhodes Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,485 reviews
0.1 mi away
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
#10 of 127 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,952 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
#13 of 127 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center
0.8 mi away
Nathalie Hotel
Nathalie Hotel
#6 of 127 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
2.7 mi away
Mitsis Grand Hotel
Mitsis Grand Hotel
#7 of 127 in Rhodes Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oceanis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceanis Hotel

Property: Oceanis Hotel
Address: Ixia, Rhodes Town 85101, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Rhodes Town
#15 Luxury Hotel in Rhodes Town
#34 Romantic Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Oceanis Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 242
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Onthebeach, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oceanis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceanis Hotel Ixia
Oceanis Hotel Rhodes/Rhodes Town
Hotel Oceanis Ixia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing