We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“10 day holiday at the Oceanis.”
Review of Oceanis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Oceanis Hotel
Ranked #16 of 126 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2014

I stayed here for ten days with my family and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. As we arrived late at night we were pleasantly surprised to find sandwiches in the fridge in our room they were ham and cheese. The rooms were comfortable and we slept well even though they do need updating they aren't too bad. The hotel rooms and public areas were always clean and tidy and plenty of space for everyone and we never had any issues finding sun beds. The staff were incredibly friendly and would do anything to help you. The restaurant staff and manager in particular were faultless so friendly and worked very very hard. During our stay they tried hard to get to know you as individuals and not just guests one of the waitresses Francine was outstanding and always made an effort to come and say hello if she saw us. One particular highlight for us was that we made quite a lot of friends on holiday who we will keep in touch with so it was nice after the entertainment finished to go and chat to them and everyone in the hotel was friendly so you always had someone to talk to. The pool areas were spotlessly clean and tidy and we were never bothered by the children. The area around the hotel is lovely it is just a short walk into Ixia were there are a few bars and restaurants. I would also recommend going into Rhodes town during the evening as it is beautiful and a taxi booked from the hotel is ten euro's but if you flag one down it is eight euro's.The only slightly negative point was that the all inclusive package finished at 11pm as did the entertainment which we thought was very early and during the day snacks were only available at limited times throughout the day and ice creams were only free for children. However, I do believe the hotel is under new management and hope this will be resolved as we would go back to this hotel. Overall we had a fantastic family holiday at the Oceanis Hotel.

Room Tip: If you want a quieter room ask for a garden view as these face away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Rach-D18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanis Hotel R, Υπεύθυνος Ρεσεψιόν at Oceanis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Dear guests, we are happy to read that you enjoyed your holidays with us.. we are trying to improve things under tthe new management. We will forward your comments.. hope to see you again next year!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,658)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

587 - 593 of 1,659 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2014

Had a great time away with sister, both sad to be home! Little wary at first after finding out more about the location however so much better than expected! Area is quiet but larger towns only short bus/taxi ride away. Hotel was clean and friendly, and lots on the menu each day. Entertainment staff were amazing, happy to advise and go out their way for you, and getting everyone involved in games etc most of day. Thank you Chris and girls! Would be happy to return! Soph and Beck x

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Swinder10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanis Hotel R, Υπεύθυνος Ρεσεψιόν at Oceanis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Dear guests, we will be here also next year to do whatever you missed the first time!! Rhodes island is too big for only one visit ;-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

highly recommended, hotel clean and food very varied beautifully cooked. The staff were always smiling and willing to help and advise on great places to visit. Animation team full of fun and made everyone feel good and happy, thank you Chris, sterling job. Overall a great tie and will definately go again.

Room Tip: all rooms clean and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank arthy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanis Hotel R, Υπεύθυνος Ρεσεψιόν at Oceanis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Dear Sir, thank you for your kind feedback. We hope that we will see you again in the future!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We had a garden view for 14 days, all inclusive. Our 4th stay. The main reason why we’re coming back is the surfstation on the beach (surfersparadise).

Reception, common rooms and pool area seems to be as 2 years before.
Fifth floor, the only floor that has the balcony doors changed. This way the noise from the floor and the fridge was louder than from the outside one. AC was also rather quiet on the lowest settings. There is a new cupboard at the entrance, rather tiny for 2 weeks clothes. The bathroom was not renovated. Beds are soft. WIFI is still extraordinary expensive, Amathus added some password protection. We bought a 3G SIM in Rhodes town.

NICE surprise on arrival: thanks to a contact to Iris Neski at the hotel I could announce that we’ll arrive late (after dinner closed), we had sandwiches in the fridge on room.

Breakfast: fluids are still lousy at best. Hot milk is “not cold”. There is a selection of pickwick teebags. No complaints on breakfast food range.

Lunch: it moved from the pool area to the main restaurant. A bit smaller range than dinner.

Dinner: still no dresscode. Still themed evenings, repeating weekly. Local dishes are still the best, chinese was... far from china. Saturday is gala dinner, starter was shrimps, that was tops. I guess it is hard to cater that many people but a bit more attention would avoid pink pork and rubber salmon. Selection is good there is always some meat, fish, vegetarian.

Lots of fruits peach, melon, watermelon, grape, pear, sometimes a bit unripe.
Sweets are mostly pudding, jelly and whipped cream in various flavours. Some nice exceptions: “false Crème brûlée”, Sacher cake and greek evening’s baklava.
Ice is still the wholesale 6 liter, mixed after a few guests.

Updated transport costs: taxi: 8-10EUR to Rhodes town, 17EUR from the airport, 21EUR to airport, bus stop is at the next hotel, 2.30EUR per person one ride.

Kids eye view (5 year old):
Pools are OK, as she is swimmer in any depth.
Animation is OK, she became friends with the girls after a few days.

Room Tip: choose 5th floor garden view for silence
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank adamg_hu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanis Hotel R, Υπεύθυνος Ρεσεψιόν at Oceanis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2014

Dear Sir,

We would like to thank you for visiting us again.. As this was the first year of the new ownership and management we have tried to improve the things that were the most anoying to our guests.. As there are more plans for the future, we hope that the next time we will be able to surpise you!! We hope that you will have a nice winter, and to see you again next year..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Arrived late at night with three other couples from Manchester (saved £195pp flying from there versus Glasgow) only to be told that our room was under maintenance and got shipped out via taxi to a nearby hotel which as you can imagine wasn't pleasing but we were just wanting to sleep, told to come back in the morning anytime and our room would be ready so left asap as no point hanging about in the morning, the other hotel was of a similar standard perhaps marginally lower. On arrival back at Oceanis a different receptionist told us that our room was getting cleaned so we got lied to ... Had to wait until 1 to finally get into the room which was surprisingly average in comparison to the modern look of the bar and corridors etc. We were compensated with 10 hours free WiFi, safe rental for free and 2 hour delayed check out, not enough in my opinion. This situation also happened to various other couples as we witnessed from the bar. The food was nice typical holiday food always going to be something you like, and an absolutely picturesque balcony on which you could eat it. No cocktails which was disappointing but there's a cracking cocktail bar on the right hand side just further up. It was value for money considering we got it for 465 but not worth the 600+ it is normally. There's a smaller pool around the back that is completely shaded after 4 which was ideal when turning to escape the sun, also was really quiet versus the main pool which there was always enough loungers to go around. Entertainment was limited but not through fault of the animation team who even came up to us at the bar on a night off to see if we fancied a night out in falaraki. Staff were also nice, particularly the bar staff and a bus stop right outside took you to Rhodes town for a few €'s which was perfect for strolls at night. Majority of rooms have a sea views which is beautiful, wouldn't fancy being on the other side facing a hill though. Finally they offer 30min blocks of a shower room for people checking out late which has no ventilation and you couldn't swing a cat in it so if you need to use it don't expect the world, expect a sauna. Okay for guys because they can fling on shorts and dry in reception, far from ideal for females. On a whole was good for what we paid and would probably go back, would be apprehensive if we arrived at night again however. Tip: it was £20 for a sea view room and its worth every penny, its a must (unless a hill 50 foot away from you and twice the height of the hotel is your thing)

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank 92diner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanis Hotel R, Υπεύθυνος Ρεσεψιόν at Oceanis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Dear guest, we are sorry that we have troubled you on your first night here, with our maintenance issue.. Unfortunately bad things happen when you have no vacancy.. We appreciate your nice feedback even more, because we understand that it is really difficult to say something nice after a setback.. We hope that we will be able to retaliate on your next visit!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

The hotel is warm and friendly - we had a slight issue with the room not having enough storage for 3 ladies, but staff soon resolved this and we moved rooms. Food was great and varied. Staff were extremely helpful and accommodating. The restaurant manager deserves special mention for service and efficiency! Could do with more parasols available to customers and the "entertainment" needs re-vamping. Small issues that would not stop me from returning. Overall - 9/10 - we thoroughly enjoyed our time at The Oceanis Hotel - thank you.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Lynn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanis Hotel R, Υπεύθυνος Ρεσεψιόν at Oceanis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Dear madam, it is so good to hear that you and your friends finally enjoyed your vacations with us.. We hope that we will see you next year..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

The hotel staff makes all the difference ! Especially Mr. Spiros "Sparta" the dining room manager, the good and friendly Bar manager gentleman & hotel manager Mr. Bakrysioris. The hotel is kept super clean and pool area is large, pleasant and is kept in a very well condition. Food is not of the highest level, but the friendly and very welcoming attitude expressed by all the staff members easily covers up on any shortages. Internet costs much too high. The bathroom is small and needs freshening up, the bathtub is very small and uncomfortable. Amazing view from the balcony to the Mediterranean with unforgettable sunsets. Great location by the seaside and close by to the city of Rhodos. Again, most remarkable Mr. Spiros will make your dining room visits a pure joy and in general very pleasant staff ! Yoav - Sweden

Room Tip: ask for a room with view to the sea !! it's a must !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Yoav A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanis Hotel R, Υπεύθυνος Ρεσεψιόν at Oceanis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Dear Sir, thank you for your kind review. It is nice to hear that you had a joyful vacation with us. We will forward your comments to the management.. Good criticism is always welcome.. We hope to see you again in the future..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rhodes Town
0.8 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,904 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
#15 of 126 in Rhodes Town
1,780 reviews
0.1 mi away
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
#13 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Rodos Park Suites & Spa
Rodos Park Suites & Spa
#6 of 126 in Rhodes Town
417 reviews
0.2 mi away
Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center
37.8 mi away
Atrium Prestige Thalasso Spa Resort and Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oceanis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceanis Hotel

Address: Ixia, Rhodes Town 85101, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Rhodes Town
#15 Luxury Hotel in Rhodes Town
#34 Romantic Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range: £48 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oceanis Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 242
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Onthebeach, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Oceanis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceanis Hotel Ixia
Oceanis Hotel Rhodes/Rhodes Town
Hotel Oceanis Ixia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing