We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be back next year x(our 5th time x)”
Review of Oceanis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Oceanis Hotel
Ranked #18 of 127 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Be back next year x(our 5th time x)”
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

Wow !!!!! 4th year on the run here ! Last year I think hotel hit rock bottom but there was always something that brought us back and so glad we did !!! Past 3 years we came as a couple but even though hotel wasn't the best we still came back bringing our 9 year old son for the first time ! So glad we did, to the new managers you are doing an amazing job definitely onwards and upwards what a difference a year makes !!!!

Rooms - obviously still some floors need improving!!! Same ones as last 3 years but you never know new managers now ! Still very clean and comfortable, tv's and channels need updating (that's not me! Was just asked to pass comment)

Food - wow what an improvement !!! All 3 meals in the oceans restaurant now so much better, staff so lovely as they always have been can not do enough for you, credit to the hotel !!! Just an improvement on the snacks and ice cream available all day for the children is an idea that's my only criticism but ,so well done xx

Pool - fab as always, new sunbeds and parasols which were definitely needed, well done , lovely breeze coming from the sea, so much needed. Pool in the back quiet but a sun trap that gets very hot we couldn't sit in it !! but now again expect kids to have quick rush in there just cos it's somewhere different! !! Sun gone though by 4 so all in shade !!x (p.s.front pool on main road but so are all the other hotels no one notices the road anyway )


Entertainment - zoey and Jennifer
absolute credits, unfortunately know they finished now, you 2 girls absolutely fab you worked so hard and never had smiles of your faces, long days and long nights but always kept it up, just a shame that the holiday makers after us won't get to meet them well done girls you were fab xxxxx and Chris can't forget you, made everyone feel welcome, Entertainment of a night was fab, had some good night's can't remember half of them but photos tell a different story thank you for all you did (beware of the music quiz those ouzka's dont do you any good!)x just a note from sambo "best people ever zoey, Jennifer and Chris miss you all x

Beach - very rocky would definitely advise water shoes but fine once your in there kids love riding the waves ha ha and most of the adults too !!!

Night bar-jannis I think this is the best barman ever!!! Always made us feel welcome as soon as he spotted us every year would come and speak truly a credit to the hotel the place would not be the same without him, apart from that yes sometimes queue can get long but thats because you get obnoxious people in front of you !(usually foreigners! !!) But if you on all inclusive after 1 day all the barmen know what you drinking x

Can honestly say oceanis is on its way up, give it a chance! We will definitely be back, well done to all the staff who have stuck with the old management and the new onwards and upwards xxx

If we have forgotten anyone then sorry (just remembered reception great job as always keep it going xxx)

Thank you to everyone YAMAS to you all, this hotel definitely on the up well done !!! xxx
YAMAS xxxxx

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Caroline N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanis Hotel R, Υπεύθυνος Ρεσεψιόν at Oceanis Hotel, responded to this review, 7 September 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for all your nice comments. It is very important for us that repeating guests may see the difference under the new management. We have made a great effort to improve our services.. and there are more to come.. So See you next year...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,494 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    500
    581
    269
    93
    51
See reviews for
409
707
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

The oceanis hotel.
When we arrived at the hotel to book in,the receptionist said that our rooms which was x3 as two other couples were there for the wedding.all had maintenance problems and we would have to go to another hotel for the night which was not very nice,and not what we booked.It was obvious they had over booked.On our return in the morning they said the rooms were not ready until mid day,so we left our cases and got a drink,at mid day they then said our rooms would not be ready till 2pm ,we were not happy to say the least.
The hotel was ok,the swimming pool at the front of the hotel was very crowded and busy,the smaller pool was better and a lot more peaceful.
The rooms were ok,but bathrooms were very very small and the shower would not fit in its holder so had to hold it for your shower.
The hotel was fairly clean and tidy.
The restaurant was nice with a good selection of food available and the staff were friendly enough.
We wouldn't stay at this hotel again as the resort was far to busy for us as we prefer a quieter location on the island of Rhodes.

Room Tip: Try to get the front of the hotel as the view is great and a gentle breeze off the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spalding
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

This all inclusive hotel was overall very good. Excellent standard of cleanliness from domestic staff, ground staff and restaurant staff. Was disconcerted by lack of discipline regarding allowing pool users to just wander through the marbled downstairs area soaking wet, very dangerous and in fact several guests had nasty falls slipping on the wet floor and kept complaining. Also did not like the fact that hawkers just freely wandered around during the evening thrusting their 'tat' in your face whilst eyeing up your bag or mobile!

Food - typical all inclusive buffet style for each meal. No shortage of choice and quantity. Cannot fault the quality of any of the food. The Chinese theme night was excellent. It was very difficult not to eat too much! The restaurant staff were all extremely pleasant, engaging and quick to clear the tables. Although this was ALL INCLUSIVE , ice creams for the children were only available for an hour in the morning and an hour in the afternoon, and it was made quite clear that only the children could have them!! There were NO FREE COCKTAILS !!!?? There were only a limited amount of alcoholic drinks available.

Rooms - basic usual holiday hotel rooms. Adequate in size, good quality of cleanliness and working air con. Beds were extremely HARD and I didn't have a very good sleep while staying there. I can only go by my room but I assume all were the same. Rooms at the back of the hotel faced a hill and the balcony did not get much sun. Safe in the room but was chargeable. No coffee/tea making facilities.

Pools - one large lazy river style pool at the front of the hotel with large waterfall and a medium sized square pool at the rear of the property. The rear pool area got very hot as it was sheltered and did not benefit from any sea breeze like the front pool. There were not enough parasols around the front pool and as a result people were doing the usual getting up at the crack of dawn to lay towels down.

Entertainment - not the best :-( I got the impression that the animation team were new or only temporary. 2 very young immature girls assisted a more experienced man who was the best of the bunch. The usual bingo and amusing team entertainment was offered but nothing fantastic. The 2 girls gave us a head ache with their screeching all day trying to motivate people to do activities but this is the norm for package holidays I think. I get the impression reading previous reviews that the team we had are not permanent as other guests seem to have had a better entertainment experience.

Free WiFi - NONE !!!! - This annoyed me. In this day and age everyone wants wifi. We picked up signals from all the other hotels on the stretch we were on and ALL the bars and restaurants offered free wi fi. We did purchase 500 minutes but the quality of the wi fi was poor and it often disconnected. It was everyones major gripe.

Location - Good. Near to Rhodes town, an absolute must in the evening. A short cab ride or local bus ride away. Opposite the beach (shingle/pebbles) lots of water sports and in both directions there are many shops and bars.

Overall - NICE HOTEL. GOOD FOOD. AVERAGE ENTERTAINMENT. HARD BEDS. NO FREE WIFI. SAFES COST TOO MUCH (39 euros), SHOULD HAVE BEEN FREE. ANOTHER 39 EUROS TO KEEP THE ROOM AFTER 12 NOON OR USE THE SHOWER ROOM. THIS WAS OK BUT SO FLIPPIN HOT!! MORE PARASOLS NEEDED.

I would visit again mind full of the hotels downfalls and prepare for them. I did not despite our niggles, want to come home. YOU CANT PLEASE ALL THE PEOPLE ALL OF THE TIME!!

Room Tip: ask for sea view, rooms at the back had no view at all, only of a hill very close to the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandrinezx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanis Hotel R, Υπεύθυνος Δημοσίων Σχέσεων at Oceanis Hotel, responded to this review, 7 September 2014
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your kind words and your honesty at the same time. It is very important to hear all opinions. We hope we will be able to provide you with our services in the future..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merseyside, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

This hotel is a great place to stay, worth every penny, the food is fantastic its different every night. The restaurant manager cant do enough for everyone. The rooms are clean and tidy and even though they say the towels get changed every two days ours got changed every day. This hotel is on the beach and also has a lively pool area. Rhodes Town is about ten mins away 8 euros in a taxis. 5 star plus

Room Tip: the sea view rooms are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 0janew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanis Hotel R, Υπεύθυνος Ρεσεψιόν at Oceanis Hotel, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Dear happy liverpool people, thank you for your nice comments!! We hope we will be able to make you more happy next time!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

I stayed here for ten days with my family and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. As we arrived late at night we were pleasantly surprised to find sandwiches in the fridge in our room they were ham and cheese. The rooms were comfortable and we slept well even though they do need updating they aren't too bad. The hotel rooms and public areas were always clean and tidy and plenty of space for everyone and we never had any issues finding sun beds. The staff were incredibly friendly and would do anything to help you. The restaurant staff and manager in particular were faultless so friendly and worked very very hard. During our stay they tried hard to get to know you as individuals and not just guests one of the waitresses Francine was outstanding and always made an effort to come and say hello if she saw us. One particular highlight for us was that we made quite a lot of friends on holiday who we will keep in touch with so it was nice after the entertainment finished to go and chat to them and everyone in the hotel was friendly so you always had someone to talk to. The pool areas were spotlessly clean and tidy and we were never bothered by the children. The area around the hotel is lovely it is just a short walk into Ixia were there are a few bars and restaurants. I would also recommend going into Rhodes town during the evening as it is beautiful and a taxi booked from the hotel is ten euro's but if you flag one down it is eight euro's.The only slightly negative point was that the all inclusive package finished at 11pm as did the entertainment which we thought was very early and during the day snacks were only available at limited times throughout the day and ice creams were only free for children. However, I do believe the hotel is under new management and hope this will be resolved as we would go back to this hotel. Overall we had a fantastic family holiday at the Oceanis Hotel.

Room Tip: If you want a quieter room ask for a garden view as these face away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rach-D18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanis Hotel R, Υπεύθυνος Ρεσεψιόν at Oceanis Hotel, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Dear guests, we are happy to read that you enjoyed your holidays with us.. we are trying to improve things under tthe new management. We will forward your comments.. hope to see you again next year!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Had a great time away with sister, both sad to be home! Little wary at first after finding out more about the location however so much better than expected! Area is quiet but larger towns only short bus/taxi ride away. Hotel was clean and friendly, and lots on the menu each day. Entertainment staff were amazing, happy to advise and go out their way for you, and getting everyone involved in games etc most of day. Thank you Chris and girls! Would be happy to return! Soph and Beck x

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Swinder10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanis Hotel R, Υπεύθυνος Ρεσεψιόν at Oceanis Hotel, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Dear guests, we will be here also next year to do whatever you missed the first time!! Rhodes island is too big for only one visit ;-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

highly recommended, hotel clean and food very varied beautifully cooked. The staff were always smiling and willing to help and advise on great places to visit. Animation team full of fun and made everyone feel good and happy, thank you Chris, sterling job. Overall a great tie and will definately go again.

Room Tip: all rooms clean and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank arthy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanis Hotel R, Υπεύθυνος Ρεσεψιόν at Oceanis Hotel, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Dear Sir, thank you for your kind feedback. We hope that we will see you again in the future!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rhodes Town hotels
0.8 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 127 in Rhodes Town
2,587 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
#14 of 127 in Rhodes Town
1,609 reviews
0.1 mi away
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
#10 of 127 in Rhodes Town
2,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center
0.8 mi away
Nathalie Hotel
Nathalie Hotel
#6 of 127 in Rhodes Town
632 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sentido Ixian Grand
Sentido Ixian Grand
#19 of 127 in Rhodes Town
1,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oceanis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceanis Hotel

Property: Oceanis Hotel
Address: Ixia, Rhodes Town 85101, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Rhodes Town
#16 Luxury Hotel in Rhodes Town
#34 Romantic Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Oceanis Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 242
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Onthebeach, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oceanis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceanis Hotel Ixia
Oceanis Hotel Rhodes/Rhodes Town
Hotel Oceanis Ixia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing