We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good hotel, just short of excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
Ranked #13 of 126 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We traveled to Rhodes at the Amathus as an all-inclusive package holiday through First Choice, which was the most cost effective way of organising our holiday by some considerable margin. We really enjoyed our week stay at this very well appointed hotel. In particular the staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. The Amathus is not an exclusively all-inclusive hotel, however we were not aware of the proportion of all-inclusive guests to regular guests. Consequently, the way the hotel is organised is quite different from other all-inclusive hotels where we have previously stayed. Firstly, there are no coloured wrist bands. Secondly, drinks and some meals are signed for as a zero charge to your room (hence, you cannot easily discern who is receiving "free" drinks & who are actually being charged). There is local draught beer, house wine and premium branded shorts. I think that some cocktails are also included in the all-inclusive or "Premium Package" (PP) programme as the hotel calls it.
Food was buffet style as is usually the case with all-inclusive and mainly served in the 10th floor restaurant, which has both indoor and balcony terrace dining. It wouldn't win any Michelin stars but nonetheless was of a very high standard, and a considerable improvement on usual buffet fare. There were a la carte restaurants, but these were chargeable although we did have a "free" al fresco meal one evening which was acceptable, but not great. Our opinion may have been swayed as the weather was not good for eating outdoors, albeit undercover.
The main bar is on the 11th (top) floor with a fantastic panoramic view of the coast and Turkey on the horizon. The main pool and al fresco restaurant (used for buffet dining at lunchtime) is also on this floor. All is very well set out with a relaxed atmosphere, apart from some very serous and loud gurgling noises coming from the pool skimmers which was more than a little distracting when sunbathing. The are plenty of comfortable sun beds and parasols.
There are further al fresco dining, pools and pool bar at the front at ground floor level with a games area set to one side. All very attractive. However, they do play quite loud music from the bar which is mainly of the "boom-boom-boom" variety which would be more appropriate to a Faliraki disco. Again, plenty of sun beds, some with particularly comfortable mattresses. Snacks are available from the pool bar but these were chargeable. However, they are very good and modestly priced.
There is a subway linking the beach to the hotel under the very busy main road at the front of the hotel. The beach is small and gravelly. Sadly no golden sands like Lindos. There are sun beds and boardwalks, and a games area for volley ball etc. We did not find the beach attractive and in some parts quite scruffy.
Wifi is available throughout the hotel, including guest rooms. As part of our package we received a free wifi key. I don't know whether this is offered to all guests as there was a fairly hefty tariff notice at reception. The wifi connection appeared to be really quick and we had no problems with FaceTime video connections on my iPhone to friends back home.
The Amathus should be a great hotel, but it lets itself down in some areas. Parts of the hotel are looking a little unloved and becoming scruffy. Examples are: a skirting was falling off the wall in our room, the Jacuzzi shower in our room was not a pleasant experience and uplighter fittings have been replaced by the lifts on Landing 9 leaving gaping holes in the ceiling. Also, for some reason not all drinks of similar value are not on the PP. For instance white rum is, dark rum isn't. Espresso coffee is, an americano isn't (which is only an espresso with added hot water!). The PP finishes at 11.30pm, although the main bar is open until 1.00am. However, although these little niggles were a little irritating we otherwise thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a sea view room, its definitely worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trev123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,243)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,029 - 1,035 of 2,243 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2013

After plenty of reviews on rhodes hotels we decided on the amathus beach and we were not dissapointed.A lovely hotel ,happy helpful staff & great views.an upgrade to junior suite on 8th floor set us up nicely,2 balconies and amazing views up & down the bay of ixia.all very comfortable.food was good & plentiful and a great meal on the al a carte evening.big decision everyday on where to sit ...rooftop pool,pool deck or the beach ?big comfy loungers & waiter service helped.no wristbands on the all inclusive option just signed for everything & yes we did get our moneys worth.didnt make use of spa/gym but did have a look round and maybe if the weather wasnt so good then would have made use of facilities.loved it all,a great relaxing week.

Room Tip: restaurant on 10th floor so floors underneath beware of chairs scraping ,a little annoying early mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We have stayed in a few hotels in the area and this is the best so far!! The basic rooms are large and feel very spacious, the maids are very helpful and keep the rooms spotless! The beach staff are very attentative and look after you very well we will most definitely be coming back and may even upgrade to the next level!!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Taxi2raynor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

This is a superb hotel. The location is incredible. The view from the restaurant while having breakfast or dinner is truly memorable. The whole bay is visible from the restaurant as are the mountains of Turkey 12 miles away and the sunsets are spectacular.
The food is varied and of exceptional quality.
Every member of staff we met were no less than charming.
Our room was everything one expects from a 5 star hotel as were all the facilities.
The pools were great and well attended.
The sea was warm and not a cloud was seen in the sky.
The north west end of the Island is windward so there is usually a delightful breeze which makes even shopping pleasant.
The ancient Rhodes old town is only 5 minutes drive away and is very interesting and charming.
We would most highly recommend the hotel everyone.

Room Tip: Higher sea view rooms have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

The prime beach front location of this hotel providing spectacular sunsets and memorable al fresco dining on excellent and varied food and drink served by friendly and efficient staff ensured that our extended family all enjoyed a good, relaxing holiday but several issues could be improved upon and explains why I can only rate this establishment as very good and not excellent which it certainly has the capacity to achieve.
The first disappointment was on arrival in the early hours of Sunday morning to discover that the all inclusive drinks had finished at 11-30pm and there was no food on offer, though we did manage to beg a few sandwiches, then our garden view room did not inspire and lacked 5 star ambience and comfort which is not unreasonable to expect given the price we paid. The bathrooms, similarly, could also do with a little tender. loving care while it was also disappointing to discover 30 or so TV channels but only four of which were English speaking and all news channels into the bargain.
The entertainment was also slightly disappointing, especially when we discovered that the much anticipated Greek Night had been brought forward to the Saturday, meaning we missed it completely, presumably to accommodate a conference who were allocated the Pool Deck Restaurant for their function. The other entertainment provided was not especially memorable and only occurred on three nights and it is surely not unreasonable to expect that a hotel with 300 rooms or so should have something to keep the guests occupied every evening.
But the general atmosphere around the hotel did inspire and everywhere we went the excellence and professionalism of the staff shone through and they were all absolutely brilliant in caring for my disabled wife and ensuring she was treated with courtesy and respect.
The food on offer was always well cooked and presented with sufficient variety to surely cater for all tastes. One downside was that with the hotel being full and strong winds making the outdoor areas out of bounds resulted in long queues building up especially at breakfast with waits of up to 15 minutes for a table.
We did partake of the al a carte meal on one occasion and found the food and service to be excellent though it was disappointing that to book for a Lobster Evening at the Varkarola Restaurant would have cost a staggering 44 euros per person despite being on the all inclusive package.
I also found it strange why the all inclusive package did not extend to the ground floor waterfalls bar and why, for example, certain coffees of a similar price were not available on the premium package programme as it was called. Nor was I impressed with the local beer that was served up
But the outdoor areas and swimming pools (with comfortable sunbeds) were always clean and welcoming with staff who provided an excellent and speedy drinks service whether you tipped them or not while a special mention must go to the animation team who enthusiastically arranged a variety of activities and made guests constantly aware of them and ensured that the two sports that I participated in, table tennis and darts were both fun and competitive and a great way to meet new friends from across Europe.
I did sneak a look at the Elite Suites which are apparently twice the price and are superbly furnished. It is surely not unreasonable to expect that, in time, the rest of the hotel is brought up to the same standard and will then rightly deserve an excellent rating instead of just very good.

Room Tip: Rooms without a sea view appear to be a bit dingy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kencat1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Amazing Holiday
The hotel is fantastic, very clean smart and luxurious hotel. We checked in quickly. Our room was modern spacious and spotless. The staff were absoultley fantastic and are a asset to this hotel. Food was fresh, varied, plentiful and of a high quality. Drinks were available throughout most of the day including soft drinks cocktails and beers which were also of a high quality. The views from the bar are amazing, watching the sunset over Turkey just stunning. The pools were clean, we visited all 3 pools are favourite being the adult only pool. The pool staff come and take your drink orders from your sun lounger and bring them to you throughout the day, which was great. The private beach was nice but shingly and rocky while getting into the sea but sandy once you'd got in to the sea.
I had two treatments while i was at Amathus in their spa, these were the best spa treatments i had ever had, especially the Sweedish back massage, my skin was amazing after the facial also.
There seemed to be a daily problem with the beach towels that you collected from the spa area, often having to wait for them to come back from the laundry, the longest i had to wait was 30 minutes but people had waited alot longer than me.
With regards to our all inclusive package, this was great, although could have done with more information regarding what to do, and what was included in our package prior to our 'welcome meeting' im not sure if thats the travel company or hotels responsibility. When we arrived we weren't sure what drinks were available to us from the menu, but learnt from other holiday makers and a pool assitant that anything with PP next to it meant it was included in our All Inclusive Package.
Free wifi was great. Location was great.
We were 3 single ladies between 31-33 looking for a relaxing, high spec holiday where we could get to nightlife but not right in the middle of it. The location and hotel delivered 100%. Rhodes old/New town is about a 10 min bus ride away, buy your tickets from the mini mart in the hotel lobby.
Absolutley 100% would reccommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cinders79_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Both my friend and I stayed at the hotel for a week from 21st September 2013.

The check in staff were excellent, it was very quick and efficient which is what we needed as it was 1am in the morning when we arrived.

The room was very clean with a lovely sea view.

The catering / hospitality staff were fantastic, extremely helpful, polite and would help in any way if you had any issues. The staff were also very good at dealing with rude guests and unruly children in a great manner.

The food was excellent and variety was great throughout the week. We had our 1 a la carte meal for the week on the Thursday evening and this was exceptional, along with the service!

We spent every day by the roof top pool as this was away from the roadside traffic, the only thing I will say about it is I think it would be better as an adult only pool.

I would highly recommend this hotel to my friends and family and would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: The higher level rooms are much nicer as there is less road noise! We had a lovely sea view room on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peakstar18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rhodes Town
0.8 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,933 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
#14 of 126 in Rhodes Town
1,791 reviews
0.0 mi away
Amathus Elite Suites
Amathus Elite Suites
#4 of 126 in Rhodes Town
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Rodos Park Suites & Spa
Rodos Park Suites & Spa
#6 of 126 in Rhodes Town
426 reviews
37.8 mi away
Atrium Prestige Thalasso Spa Resort and Villas
0.2 mi away
Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes

Address: 100 Iraklidon Avenue, Rhodes Town 85101, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Rhodes Town
#5 Family Hotel in Rhodes Town
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Rhodes Town
#7 Business Hotel in Rhodes Town
#10 Romantic Hotel in Rhodes Town
#12 Luxury Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range: £67 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes 5*
Number of rooms: 356
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five-star Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes is the perfect place to enjoy an island escape. With forest to one side and the sparkling Aegean Sea and mountainous coastline to the other, accommodation is comfortable and spacious with the newest addition – the 37 Elite Suites – oozing style, space, sophistication and understated glamor. Along with delicious dining options, fabulous outdoor spaces and the largest and most unique spa on the island, it ticks all the right boxes. The hotel is open from April – end October each year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Splitty, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodian Amathus Beach Ixia
Hotel Rodian Amathus Beach
Rodian Amathus Beach Hotel
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes Rhodes Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing