We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
Ranked #14 of 126 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Just back from a fabulous family holiday at the Amathus Beach Hotel. The staff were truly amazing, so helpful and friendly. Special thanks to Maria and Demi who always made us feel welcome! Fantastic pools, just perfect for children.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Heather R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,224)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

983 - 989 of 2,224 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2014

We just got back from a week of All Inclusive at this hotel and we are so happy we chose Amathus Beach over the others close by. There have been some interesting negative reviews recently but I don't think the reviewers are telling us the full story. This hotel is amazing and I'm not easy to please.

As we stepped out of our taxi we were hit by the beautiful smell of Jasmine which grows throughout the grounds of the hotel. The gardens are immaculate, colourful and look like they've been created by an artist. The porter was very helpful and took care of our luggage while we went to reception to check in.

Melina checked us in. She wasn’t the friendliest person (not at all friendly) which was annoying because the other reception staff looked so happy and pleased to help other guests. We didn’t want her to drape flower garlands around our necks and feed us cherries, just a smile and a “how are you” would have been good. However she was quick and I should point out, this was the first and only bad experience we had during the 7 day stay.

ROOM
We had room 826 on the 8th floor which was lovely. It was very clean, good size, great storage and great views of the pools and sea. When we unpacked we realised we had no adaptors for our electrical goods but reception lent us one and a plug-in mosquito repellent too, just in case. The toiletries which the hotel provides are excellent so no need to take your own.

POOLS
All of the swimming pools are special in very different ways. The roof top pool is surrounded by mature trees and has great views of the mountains. If you want to drink wine while lounging under a big old tree, this is where you want to be. The main pool on the ground floor has a fake beach and a bar with stools resting in the water (you really should try this). There is also a hammock and a large lawn area surrounded by palm trees. Our favourite pool is the next level up from the main pool and it is adults only so it was peaceful and calm with about 20 loungers. A lot of people leave their towels on the loungers at 8am and don't come back to use the loungers until 10am. A bit rude of them but we never had an issue getting a good spot. All pools have table service and they serve really good cocktails.

DINING
There is food served at every pool which isn't part of the all-inclusive package but it's so cheap and so good that it's worth it. €4.50 for the Rodian Sandwich (Feta, olives, oregano, onion, tomato) was more than worth it. Best sandwich you will ever eat. The Breakfast Buffet is great and caters for everyone. Sit outside and enjoy the early morning breeze while you drink coffee and eat whatever you want.

The lunch buffet is served next to the rooftop pool and was really good but we opted to stay at the adult pool and eat there. Not because the food is better but because we were just too comfortable to move.

The evening buffet has everything you want you just need to look at everything that is available before you start filling your plate. Don't be embarrassed about going back up a 2nd or 3rd time. The plates are small and it's better to keep going back for small amounts than loading up with things you might not enjoy.

The Pool Deck Restaurant has an evening a la carte option which all inclusive guests can have once for free and you really should do this. It's romantic, great food and the service is perfect. The staff were so polite, discreet and helpful.

DRINKING
All the bars are good. The Pool Bar is fun and lively. The Pool Deck Bar (roof) is laid back and mellow. The Rodian Bar serves killer cocktails with the best view on the sea. They all worked for us and I'm confident you will feel the same if you stay there.

ENTERTAINMENT
Staff come around throughout the day offering various lessons or activities such as Yoga, Pilates, Stretching, volleyball. We told them on the first day that we wouldn't be taking part in any of these and they respected our wishes. They still came to say hello each day and ask how we were enjoying our stay which was great.

There is evening entertainment too but that's not our thing so I can't tell you what it's like. Other guests seem to have enjoyed it so I'm guessing it's worth doing.

MUSIC
I'm not sure what to say here. The music in the public areas can be great and it can be terrible but in a funny way. Down at the Pool Bar each member of staff has their own music that they play so there is no consistency and it's not very relaxing or uplifting - it's just background noise. The Pool Deck Bar plays the same music every day so you can set your watch by it. My suggestion to the General Manager would be - Control the music from your office and play music that will appeal to all of your customers, not what your staff want to hear. In total contrast, when you enter your room the TV starts playing gentle Latin American music and it’s so nice. Maybe this should be rolled out across the hotel.

NOISE
We experienced some noise from the nearby road which isn’t too bad and is to be expected almost everywhere on this island. However there is a lot of noise from the swifts and swallows that fly around outside the hotel from about 4am. They are fascinating to watch but they can be quite loud if there are a lot of them. If you sleep with your balcony door open this will annoy you a lot but the simple solution is to sleep with it closed and the AC on. The AC is very quiet and you will sleep like a baby.

Overall we had the best holiday at this resort and I am 99.9% sure you will too if/when you visit. Just take an iPod, some headphones and get to the pool early.

Room Tip: We got a room on the 8th floor but the bungalows at the back on the 11th floor looked amazing. Set i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank beardshaw123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This was our 2nd stay at the amathus and this time we went all inclusive. The food was amazing, not your usual package holiday slop, fine foods being served and the staff could not be more courteous or helpful in the dining room and bars. Pools were excellent and drinks delivered to your lounger. Only wish we had a sea view but that's what was left. Will definitely revisit and would absolutely recommend x x

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Angelmaisie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Week away to recharge the batteries. Staff make this hotel the best, always happy to see you, greeted with smiles and nothing is too much trouble. Food is good and plenty of choice. Booked Premium Package (All Inclusive) which is very good as premium brand drinks and cocktails are included and there wasn't that many items that were extra.
Rooms are slightly dated, we were upgraded to bungalow rooms which has fabulous views but could do with updating to match the 5* status.
First rooms was not so good but reception were happy to sort it out allowing us to view another bungalow and room in the main building to make our choice.
Hotel has lots of space with three pools and pretty gardens. Bar in the evening is on the 11th floor which gives great views of the sunset.

Room Tip: Forest room in the hotel was not so good - as it says, looks over the forest and would probably have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank minniemoppins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

A wonderful hotel with a great location close to Rhodes Town, with private beach, fantastic swimming pools and sun beds, lovely food and most importantly amazing staff. Nothing was too much trouble and my 11 month old son was treated like Royalty!!!! We stayed for 14 nights All Inclusive and even though we were not flying home until 11.50pm, the hotel honoured our All Inclusive right up until we left the hotel.....even though we had checked out of our rooms at 6pm. We had a wonderful time and would definitely go back, thank you so much to all the staff you couldn't have made us feel more at home

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Anna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We have just returned from a weeks stay at the Amathus beach hotel in ixia, Rhodes. First impressions were very good, hotel is very clean and luxurious looking. Receptionists very helpful and doormen who rush to open the doors for you, take your luggage and so on. Was very pleased with our room.....at first. We were in 439 with a sea and pool view. Unfortunately we kept getting a foul sewage smell seeping from our bathroom...it was intermittent and sometimes not too bad but on one occasion it was dreadful.this was late at night and we decided to report it in the morning...sods law it had disappeared by them..... We heard other guests talking about terrible smells in the bathrooms so it seems to be an ongoing problem. The main problem with this hotel is that some guests are all inclusive and some aren't. The all inclusive guests seem to be treated as second class guests.....you had to wait for waitress service, couldn't order directly at the bar and it would take anything from ten to fifteen minutes for your order to be taken down and between ten and twenty minutes for the drinks to be served at your table.you couldn't get drunk here if your life depended on it! We had a meal at the a la carte restaurant which AI guests can visit once a week ( from next week AI guests were told that they wouldn't be able to eat in the restaurant but would be served at the pool terrace! Second class guests indeed) unfortunately my husband and I were violently I'll with sickness and stomach craps for three days after this meal. So, out of seven days holiday we only had four when we were able to leave the room and enjoy the facilities and see Rhodes. We did report this to the Thomson rep but she only showed any interest when we said we would be complaining when we got home. Can't help thinking that if service was so bad when hotel was only half full how bad will it be when the hotel is full at the height of the season? It's a shame but wouldn't use this hotel again until service and the bathrooms were improved......

Room Tip: The rooms at the back of the hotel are very dark apparently so ask for a sea view and the bars and r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bevlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theofilos L, Manager at Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Friend,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor. I am happy to read you were satisfied with the cleanliness of the hotel and the service you received from the front office team upon arrival.

Please accept my apologies for delay you experienced at the bar, I have discussed this issue with our Food and Beverage manager and we have taken actions to prevent such issues in the future. I read with great concern your comments of being sick after your meal, why you did not inform us? I can assure you that it was from some other reason than your meal, we were at 100% occupancy those days we received only praising comments for the quality of the food as usual.

I would have to disagree with you regarding your comments for the service all inclusive guests receive. We do not use bracelets to distinguish guests because we respect and treat all guests equally. We do not have self service areas in the hotel but we offer the exact same level of service to all guests. My colleagues at the bar could know if a guest is on all inclusive or a la carte board only after they take the order therefore there is no way that they would offer second class service. As far as the restaurant we offer the a la carte dinner it is only a matter of capacity and only because we want to offer better service. During your stay the number of guests on all inclusive was very low and could accommodate all guests at the Varkarola restaurant but when we exceed the capacity of that restaurant we have to open a second a la carte restaurant to accommodate all guests without any problems.

The last 3 years partial renovations are taking place and we will continue to renovate the hotel and hopefully you'll give us the opportunity to have you back. Once again thank you for your comments but wish I had known earlier so we could have done something.

Kind regards
Theofilos Lakkas
Hotel Manager
(operation@rodianamathus.gr)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Arrived home last night after a fantastic week at this fabulous hotel. Booking up today to go back next year! The staff are first class, nothing is too much trouble. Food is amazing and superb value for money. I honestly cannot praise this hotel enough, really is worth a visit and it suits all age groups as there is something for everyone.

Room Tip: sea view or one of the bungalow rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lumley14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rhodes Town
0.8 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,899 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
#16 of 126 in Rhodes Town
1,777 reviews
0.0 mi away
Amathus Elite Suites
Amathus Elite Suites
#4 of 126 in Rhodes Town
638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37.8 mi away
Atrium Prestige Thalasso Spa Resort and Villas
0.2 mi away
Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center
2.4 mi away
Rodos Park Suites & Spa
Rodos Park Suites & Spa
#6 of 126 in Rhodes Town
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes

Address: 100 Iraklidon Avenue, Rhodes Town 85101, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Rhodes Town
#5 Family Hotel in Rhodes Town
#7 Business Hotel in Rhodes Town
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Rhodes Town
#10 Romantic Hotel in Rhodes Town
#13 Luxury Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range: £64 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes 5*
Number of rooms: 356
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five-star Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes is the perfect place to enjoy an island escape. With forest to one side and the sparkling Aegean Sea and mountainous coastline to the other, accommodation is comfortable and spacious with the newest addition – the 37 Elite Suites – oozing style, space, sophistication and understated glamor. Along with delicious dining options, fabulous outdoor spaces and the largest and most unique spa on the island, it ticks all the right boxes. The hotel is open from April – end October each year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodian Amathus Beach Ixia
Hotel Rodian Amathus Beach
Rodian Amathus Beach Hotel
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes Rhodes Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing